April 28, 2024, 03:46:09 PM

Author Topic: Can Bolt run faster?  (Read 864 times)

Can Bolt run faster?
« on: December 30, 2013, 03:35:07 PM »
Usain Bolt's Bio Mechanics explained by Michael Johnson
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/Wdm7xwT-vEQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/Wdm7xwT-vEQ</a>

World record holder Michael Johnson looks at the art of sprinting at his Michael Johnson Performance training facility in McKinney, Texas.Other sprinters than Bolt which are covered include Carl Lewis,Asafa Powell,Linford Christie and Maurice Greene.

Re: Can Bolt run faster?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2014, 11:15:29 PM »
Stuff like that is real cool to watch because it shows how much physics rules. When we perform a task at speed, we do whatever it takes (compensations and funky movements) to complete the task at hand (and in sprinting...who gets the rock down the track fastest wins).

After looking at the video as an armchair observer, I wondered if Bolt's turning his knee inwards was a learned compensation for his extraordinary leg length - kinda like folding his legs under him (allowing him to stay low in the early part of the race and still turn over his feet quickly). It is also quite possible that all that side-side movement could be a source of his recent back issues (and not Swedish models as our esteemed forumites might want to believe  ;D)

I have another one for you. When Ato used to run,his right leg often landed splayed way off to the side (and me in my armchair would be like "Ato! Straighten yuh right foot nah man!") Now I wonder if that quirk was due to a leg length difference (ie turning foot outward functionally shortens the leg...or it could have been something as simple as hip flexor weakness.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PwvtPJB9Ff4
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PwvtPJB9Ff4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PwvtPJB9Ff4</a>

It's a great discussion though, and that's where good coaching comes in by knowing what fine adjustments to make when, without compromising performance.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2014, 03:05:39 PM by Socapro »
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country