April 25, 2024, 11:57:15 PM

Author Topic: SWO is looking for a Moderator.  (Read 14403 times)

Re: SWO is looking for a Moderator.
« Reply #30 on: January 11, 2014, 05:43:57 AM »
@ Coops: i suspect even if members were well behaved, it does still take time to administer this site. Ah wonder how many hrs/week Flex andTallman is spend on this site?

Even when I'm on vacation I have to monitor the forum, no frequent, but sometimes. It takes a lot of commitment from both Tallman and I.

Socapro have also been doing the great job in his track section.

« Reply #31 on: January 11, 2014, 05:45:54 AM »
Bye the way what is the job description of a moderator,what is required of that person?

No offence coops, but I eh think yuh ready for de work... but I appreciate the interest brother. We need more people with your attitude. But if you really serious, send me a PM.....

;)

« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 05:54:53 AM by Flex »

« Reply #32 on: January 11, 2014, 05:54:30 AM »
Ok, I am about to close up this position soon, its has been close to a week now.

FYI - when we finally choose a moderator I dont want to hear any complaints because we did it the fair way and in a public form.

We did not get much choices therefore we have to go with what we've gotten.

Just so you guys know, ex-moderators like Palos and Bakes are always welcome back in the future if they feel they have the time to commit, we would love to have them on-board.

I would also love to have more local posters join in also but "most" not interested, the local support on and off the field have dried up badly.

Finally, thanx for all the feed back guys. I red everyone of them, TY...

« Last Edit: January 11, 2014, 06:12:55 AM by Flex »

« Reply #33 on: January 11, 2014, 12:45:48 PM »
Bye the way what is the job description of a moderator,what is required of that person?

No offence coops, but I eh think yuh ready for de work... but I appreciate the interest brother. We need more people with your attitude. But if you really serious, send me a PM.....

;)

Flex i can't and was not looking to be an administrator,number one because of my illness and two i don't think i have the experience to be one.I just wanted to know what is required or the responsibilities of an administrator,i think it's good to know because i ran and organized clubs at home and in the US and wanted to know the difference between the administration of a club and the administration of an organisation like this.Thanks for your thoughts any how.

« Reply #34 on: January 11, 2014, 12:53:42 PM »
The announcement promises to be one of the most eagerly awaited tidbits ...  ;D ... I have my money on ____.  :devil:

« Reply #35 on: January 11, 2014, 05:51:13 PM »
I'm always late but I figured I'll throw in my 5 cents because I benefit from the site and have been here, for a long long time.  Regarding AB's point of ownerships.  It really isn't that simple.  If FB was 10 people the ownership point will have merit.  But since it's 1.11billion they have to be more aware of decisions that would cause them to loose people.   SWO are at a point where they too have to be conscience of management decisions that may cause them to loose people.  I would define the relationship as posters entrusting their views to capable management.  The views create the community and the management creates the platform. 

The word is SCALABLE... Like FB, SWO can scale up or down with the understanding that if the action fails we can try something else.  So if you put someone as a moderator and it doesn't work, then it didn't work.  That stuff shouldn't be personal.  SWO should stand by their decision take responsibility and try something else.  At this level it's only a reflection of poor leadership/management if you decide to die on a hill that obviously didn't work.  But I think the community has enough grace to say hard luck dey and move on.  Regarding the system of electing moderators.  IMHO it was never an issue with the system.  SWO just choose the wrong person.  The system worked great with Eman,Palos and others.  Bakes had to much water under the bridge with various forumites.  So by extension it's your guys fault because you picked him.  Don't feel like you have to stand by that to prove anything here about your process, fairness etc.  That's not the issue.   If you want to defend Bakes you could say.

Let me apologize to our SWO community.  etc etc.  This was all my fault.....Had I seen the dialogue between Bakes and other forumites I would not have put him in that position, whereby he becomes the brunt of accusations regarding him as moderator.  I take sole responsibility for this.  Bakes is one of our treasured members, he's passionate about our site and would do anything for us.  In my opinion Bakes would have made a great moderator for us but the timing was wrong. etc etc etc

That alone may have stopped some bleeding.   

Instead I'm still hearing stuff like "Everyday people complaining about Bakes in PM"......  "If Bakes wants to come back he can"

What that says to the community is that the system of raising concerns does not work unless it's something that management wants to hear and if ya'll don't like the decisions we make you can leave.  That's not what you are saying but that's what they'll hear.   And they will stop posting and leave. 

Flex this site have a lot of love and respect for you bro...Feel free to make adjustments mid stream without the pressure of trying to appear perfect systematically.  It's impossible to know how things would go unless you try them.  Then in 6months they don't work you got to try something else.   Thank you for an awesome site and doing a great job.   :beermug: 

« Reply #36 on: January 11, 2014, 07:24:34 PM »
Preacher, yuh just raise de roof on a secular issue. Mind, eh. :devil:

It's very rare that I've found such divergent contributions to hold so much water in common. You, A.B. Trini and Tiresais added thought-provoking stuff to de mix.

Stellar.

« Reply #37 on: January 12, 2014, 07:34:08 PM »
Preacher, yuh just raise de roof on a secular issue. Mind, eh. :devil:

It's very rare that I've found such divergent contributions to hold so much water in common. You, A.B. Trini and Tiresais added thought-provoking stuff to de mix.

Stellar.

:beermug:    Brother I got so burned on not pulling the plug on an effort gone wrong.  All it's cost me is time, energy and money to try to make something work that isn't working.  Now the people I work with understand this principle.  Now they don't trip when I have to pull the plug on something that didn't work as we hoped it did.  Had to do that yesterday. 

« Reply #38 on: January 13, 2014, 11:02:39 AM »
We would like to welcome 4 new moderators.

FF and Tiresais will be new additions to the Football section.

Brownsugar will be added to the General section as she does not have a lot of time to be in the football section and could focus on the general section where the traffic is a little less.

AB.Trini will also be added to the general and NBA sections respectively.

All new moderators will be on a test run and evaluated at year end.

Thank you to all, we will forward in working with you.

« Last Edit: January 13, 2014, 11:08:15 AM by Flex »

« Reply #39 on: January 13, 2014, 11:34:20 AM »
Congrats to all new moderators!  Excellent selections Flex. :thumbsup:

« Reply #40 on: January 13, 2014, 11:35:28 AM »
I am willing to offer my services for free.
Experience with Moderation of sites includes,
1) Safelist agent for TDA (dota-allstars.com) 2years
2) Technical Support for Hardwaresupportforums.com
3) Managed and Hosted TriniDota2 League season 2 (Dota2)
4) Experience with Forums Security in general/Setup/Update Misc
5) Experience with Media Hosting and Video Editing.

I have vast experience and time daily to contribute to this site.

Edit: Congrats to the upgraded users to temp mods!

I am always around if SWO needs my services.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2014, 11:41:34 AM by sHOTTA12 »

« Reply #41 on: January 13, 2014, 11:55:06 AM »
Congrats to all new moderators!  Excellent selections Flex. :thumbsup:

Ditto.

The announcement promises to be one of the most eagerly awaited tidbits ...  ;D ... I have my money on ____.  :devil:

FF, yuh was like $$$ in a fibre mattress. :)

« Reply #42 on: January 13, 2014, 01:21:05 PM »

Brownsugar will be added to the General section as she does not have a lot of time to be in the football section and could focus on the general section where the traffic is a little less.

Congrats all  :beermug:

« Reply #43 on: January 13, 2014, 02:45:12 PM »

« Reply #44 on: January 13, 2014, 08:08:53 PM »
Thanks all. Will do my best.

and asylumseeker, don't try dat at all.  :bs:  ;D

« Reply #45 on: January 13, 2014, 08:42:26 PM »
Thanks all. Will do my best.

and asylumseeker, don't try dat at all.  :bs:  ;D

Look how small that underline iz ... it was my hunch.

« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2014, 08:54:23 PM »

Congrats and welcomed to the new members of the team.  :beermug:

« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2014, 09:34:23 PM »
Mod up it a lick.   Congrats new peeps. 

« Reply #48 on: January 14, 2014, 04:54:33 AM »
I am willing to offer my services for free.
Experience with Moderation of sites includes,
1) Safelist agent for TDA (dota-allstars.com) 2years
2) Technical Support for Hardwaresupportforums.com
3) Managed and Hosted TriniDota2 League season 2 (Dota2)
4) Experience with Forums Security in general/Setup/Update Misc
5) Experience with Media Hosting and Video Editing.

I have vast experience and time daily to contribute to this site.

Edit: Congrats to the upgraded users to temp mods!

I am always around if SWO needs my services.

This post has been up more than a week now and you just seeing this?

Anyways, I'll keep you in mind for future.

« Reply #49 on: January 14, 2014, 04:39:19 PM »
But ah thought there was going to be an election??  Ah eh get to buy some votes and engage in some voter padding..... ;D

Thanks for the opportunity Flex..... :beermug:

« Reply #50 on: January 16, 2014, 07:19:05 PM »

This post has been up more than a week now and you just seeing this?

Anyways, I'll keep you in mind for future

I completely missed this topic, however you made some great choices  :beermug:

« Reply #51 on: November 07, 2014, 03:46:08 AM »
We are currently looking for a few moderators.

Please send myself and Tallman your interest.

Thank you.

« Reply #52 on: November 07, 2014, 08:46:02 AM »
Shotta look like he have good skills the forum could benefit from... make sure allyuh hit him up this time.

« Reply #53 on: November 09, 2014, 05:12:22 AM »
Shotta look like he have good skills the forum could benefit from... make sure allyuh hit him up this time.

I sent him a PM 3-days ago, no reply.

We need active members.

« Reply #54 on: November 10, 2014, 08:23:04 AM »
What are the requirements?

« Reply #55 on: November 18, 2014, 02:55:14 PM »
 I visit the forums daily just haven't logged into to check the messages. I apologize. If I had moderation duties however my activity would be more consistent in order for me to perform my duties. I am very dedicated to the soca warriors team and this site no matter what and always available to help in any way I can.

« Reply #56 on: November 19, 2014, 06:29:35 AM »
What are the requirements?

I sent you the requirements 9 days ago, no reply

We need active members.

« Reply #57 on: November 19, 2014, 06:37:14 AM »
sHOTTA12 has been give the moderator position on a trial run, he replaces Tiresais who not longer available like he use to, therefore, cannot perform his duties and asked to step down.

Good luck sHOTTA12.

« Reply #58 on: November 19, 2014, 01:19:03 PM »
sHOTTA12 has been give the moderator position on a trial run, he replaces Tiresais who not longer available like he use to, therefore, cannot perform his duties and asked to step down.

Good luck sHOTTA12.

Congrats on assuming the poisoned chalice.  :) :devil:

Welcome!

« Reply #59 on: November 19, 2014, 01:34:46 PM »

Good luck sHOTTA12.

Congrats on assuming the poisoned chalice.  :) :devil:

Welcome!

Thank you asylumseeker.  You are one of my favorite posters on these boards!