December 06, 2024, 01:30:07 AM

Author Topic: Latas mind on other things it seems  (Read 2202 times)

Latas mind on other things it seems
« on: November 06, 2005, 02:08:49 PM »
Falkirk 0-3 Cetic

as per usual the Fellas on Setanta real hype Latas (understandably so), but the man was almost invisible and get sub after 70 mins, He had an ok first 30 mins but then faded out the game, Falkirk went 1-0 down after 40 and 2-0 by the half. The good thing....he aint get injured.  The few times Russell was on the ball you could see he is the class player on the Falkirk team, normally (when I've seen him play) he goes to get the ball when Falkirk win possesion instead of just making himself free for a pass but today there was little of the former, he just didn't get involved in the game.  They even try to put him upfront as a striker but it just wasn't happening. The commentry team said as much and suggested his mind was on the games against Bahrain. Falkirk played pretty well when after he came off but then again Celtic had already won and may have just taken their feet off the gas a bit!

Having said all that ah know he go be ready fuh the Bahrain Boys...what more motivation yuh need than to play in a World Cup!

Re: Latas mind on other things it seems
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2005, 02:15:28 PM »
Well done Latas. Yuh know your priorities. You are the most hard-to-get-injured player ever in TnT. Actually I have never heard of Latas pulling a hamsting in all these years he has been playing. Orthodox style, balance, technique, poise, judgement=No injuries. How times have changed. It was just the other day when Yorke was playng for Man U and coming home to T&T playing 50% on the field trying to avoid injury for the European Cup. NOw he playing with all and staying on limping after hard tackle. Heroes!  ;D

« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2005, 02:16:26 PM »
Thanks for the round up rodney!!

« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2005, 02:16:50 PM »
No offence to our players' club teams

BUT

For so long, we have been on the receiving end of that situation i.e. our players give their all for their clubs and come to us totally spent.

It's refreshing to see (if it's true) that for the biggest game of their lives to date....yes...maybe even for Diwght Yorke who has had his share with Man U....they are conserving their energy for the battle ahead.

Just goes to show that the World Cup is STILL the pinnacle of any player's career.  It' the same for every player whether they be from Brazil or Bahrain.

Many times I have seen our pros come back and restrain themselves playing for T&T in the hopes of not getting injured etc so that they can regain their starting place on their club team...sometimes not even come back because they were threatened by club management if they did go (I do not mean Falkirk here).

Nice to see the shoe on the other foot for once...even if it's just for this time.

« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2005, 02:18:21 PM »
Yes Palos we on de same wavelength

Don't forget, Scotland did not qualify for the World Cup and it is very painful for the commentators there to watch a player from T&T save his legs to ensure that we (and not them) are on the world stage by Nov 16th.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2005, 03:01:34 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2005, 07:28:53 PM »
Men want to wear the shirt.  There is a sense of national pride and value in this program.  Well done Latas.  Bahrain here we come.

« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2005, 08:48:30 PM »
No injuries. That is all that matter right now. Man know this is they last chance to make it on the biggest stage of world football. To pick up an injury right before ah big games ain't nice.

Check the danger

« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2005, 01:50:21 AM »
nice latas we need yuh injury free Falkirk will understand i think after all latas is the man that pulling that team

« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2005, 10:18:11 AM »
de man priorities in order.de warriors go b comin out with all guns blazin on de 12th.