March 28, 2024, 09:45:29 AM

Author Topic: The David Nakhid Thread  (Read 166724 times)

Re: Nakhid's take on things....anybody got a dictionary?
« Reply #690 on: July 21, 2006, 01:00:29 PM »
Everyman entitled to his opinion and Nahkid may have gone overboard, but he is quite correct, in my opinion. Beenie went out there with no faith in the team, just in his tactics. And the comment that Nahkid made about him regretting putting Latapy on for the last match I agree with, because it exposed his flaws. He never allowed the players play, he ensured that what was on display at the world stage was his tactics and abilities in getting these players to adhere to them.

However, I disagree with Nahkid in that i don't think he was playing for a contract but it was more along the lines of distrust.Basically the same mentality that he couldn't trust the players to express themselves within the designated structure (like we were doign all along) so instead he just took away all chances of errors by eliminating that. I could be naive, as Nahkid say he know beenie better than all of us (which is true) but he definitely showcased his own abilities as a coach more than the players were allowed to showcase their abilities and Trinidad's ability.

I know most of you in foreign but it have a video on synergy about ''Latapy, u mnake me so happy'' and at the end of the video the man had a snippet of an interview with Latas. Latas say " The only thing he wants out of the World Cup is that we go there and show them how trinis play football and stay true to our attacking nature."' Beenie deny the man his one wish.

We caught up in the euphoria of the Sweden performance still but seriously, all Beenie brought to the team was a level of professionalism and structure. he gave us the building blocks and hopefully he can build on them, but we shouldn't act like he is our saviour. Seriously, any coach of his stature would have brought that to us and in 2 years time, if Poland are out of the European Championship qualifying for playing boring football and drawign too many games, I hope we as a ppl not still praising Beenie blindly and casting aside all criticism without at least seeing there is some truth in it

Which one of those games were we able to "express ouselves"? I would invite the Beenie detractors to review those games and tell me which 1 would we have had the time and space to express ourselves? We played defend and counter attack in the first 2 games and even then we still left enough space at the back for England and Sweden to create a bag of chances only for Shaka to put down a miraculous save or for Crouch or Owen to miss. I don't understand what you mean about a coach not trusting his players. The coach organised his team as best as he could the face the teams we played. If we played the type of football you are talking about we would have been humiliated. As I said earlier we tried to possess the ball and play positively so I don't know where this talk about us not playing football is coming from.

Forget these kind of post people want to see us attacked and get about 5 then sit down on the corner and talk about how latapy hiot a man ah nice beat and make a fancy pass

« Reply #691 on: July 21, 2006, 01:47:43 PM »
I'm sorry but I disagree with those that are still finding fault with our play in th WC. Anybody remember when TT couldn't defend? We had no control in the middle? Men on the side wanted to gallery and play dribbling the ball without passing? Fact is those individual skills do not win games. This time around we saw a team that had a strong middle and took chances when they could. So what if we didn't win games, we are building a foundation, and any builder will tell you foundations have to take time to set. Next time...

« Reply #692 on: July 21, 2006, 01:57:57 PM »
its interesting how man singing a different chune, only expressing views dey hear from others, to now come and fight down what Don Leo did. Maybe we should revisit those posts made by these same fight down specialist....before they delete them.... to see what they were singing upon Don Leo's appointment, during the run against Mexico and Guatemala, leading up to the playoffs vs Bahrain, and our WC games.

Imagine man on dis board having complaints about the tactics that Don Leo use....well, we really reach yes.... because we certainly didnt have any to talk about before Leo.

« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 01:59:32 PM by Tongue »

« Reply #693 on: July 21, 2006, 02:27:43 PM »
would it have made a difference if Beenie was ah black man....say for instance Frank Rijkaard...The reason ah askin dis iz because ah sensin some racial overtones in some ah de responses....jus ah question  ???  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #694 on: July 21, 2006, 05:24:23 PM »
We lower our standards in the WC. All of the nonesense I have read prior, during and after the WC. This have to be the most stupid statement made.

So Wim me boy continue to lower our standard so we can qualify for the next WC. All future coaches do th esame so I can follow the Warriors and see the world.

Offline jose

« Reply #695 on: July 21, 2006, 05:57:12 PM »
nahkid is a goat

« Reply #696 on: July 21, 2006, 06:45:16 PM »
Whether it is Gally, Nakid or any local (like allyuh did when they played/coached), all yuh could do was mash them orp...

what the arse them could do . all nahkid could do is cause confusion well gally  ???

How can you watch a man like Latapy who dedicate over 20 years to TnT be disrespected the way he was (allyuh shut up and sit down and hail massa)and say the European (after a few months) know what he was doing.

Wow so because he around 20 years he must play...

After 3 games, Bertille had 1 point....  After 3 games Beenie had three points...  Yorke then beg Latapy to return...  After 4 games with Latapy, we gained 9 points...  Yet allyuh still claiming Beenie was the savior...

And how long did BSC have the team and how much tours etc did he go on? :rotfl:

Allyuh sick no arse, I never see a bunch ah arse lickers like allyuh, I am a man who respect 20 years of service and will never accept some phu*uing foreigner to disrespect our hero de way Beenie did and all ah allyuh who love to defend Beenhakker could say was dat Latas too old, Luis Figo was 37 and Latapy was 37, and the world has seen against Paraguay dat Latapy can still work magic...

Yes leo show them who is boss again mi eh care who vex latapy would not have made any difference i them first two games.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2006, 05:09:42 PM by triniman »

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #697 on: July 21, 2006, 11:32:41 PM »
I am convinced that if Beenhakker was black, he would NEVER have had the unquestioned freedom that transpired before and after the world cup.  Now, a foreign black man would still get more love than anyone local but still, not on the level of massa Beenie... 

Yuh evah eat in a restaurant in Trinidad or wuss yet, Tobago, and see how quick dem waitress does run to serve de foreign people before we locals?  Dat sickness from colonialism is still present now, and de jackarses who cyar understand that WE WOULD NEVER HAVE QUALIFIED WITHOUT LATAPY ARE WHAT I CALL UNGRATEFUL MUDDAH *%%^S!

Whoever want tuh cuss meh, accordin to Bush, "bring it orn", because I fedup ah de local hating, European foreign loving so called Trinis on dese forums, allyuh need help. 

Ah next jackarse telling meh Latapy wouldah make no difference and the 3.5 spots make no difference... So wait nah, if we still had 3 (like all previous coaches) and not 3.5 spots, we wouldah qualified, eh, yuh cournt?

would it have made a difference if Beenie was ah black man....say for instance Frank Rijkaard...The reason ah askin dis iz because ah sensin some racial overtones in some ah de responses....jus ah question  ???  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #698 on: July 22, 2006, 01:46:24 AM »

Life is a paradox.

Whatever Nakhid's motivation may be to say all of this is his but take a look back at our WC performance and ask yourself if what he says about how the team played is not right.
 As I said before I have never seen TT play such defensive football in my 40 odd years of watching my team.
However that being said, I remember walking out of the Dortmund Stadium in as much shock as the Swedes WOW WE JUST DREW OUR FIRST WC MATCH AGAINST SWEDEN TO BOOT !!!
It soaks in... then the euphoria.

OK we will look at that game in ten years time (god spare life) and say " What de... no attack!"
And the football purists will say that Trinidad cannot attack .. shit we played that game almost like how Bahrain plays but without the time wasting.

But you know what ? This was our first and the journey now start .

So from a footballing standpoint Nahkid has a point but from pride of competing and knowledge of  better days ahead for our football, he has sadly missed the boat.

Keep safe Nahkid and look after your family... that is your most important task in life.

Offline UPRISING

• "Justice is what de youths dem need overall..."
« Reply #699 on: July 24, 2006, 10:31:56 AM »
Whether it is Gally, Nakid or any local (like allyuh did when they played/coached), all yuh could do was mash them orp...

Allyuh call allyuhself Trinis to de bone but I see many on this board as a bunch of disloyal fakers/phu*uers.

How can you watch a man like Latapy who dedicate over 20 years to TnT be disrespected the way he was (allyuh shut up and sit down and hail massa)and say the European (after a few months) know what he was doing.

After 3 games, Bertille had 1 point....  After 3 games Beenie had three points...  Yorke then beg Latapy to return...  After 4 games with Latapy, we gained 9 points...  Yet allyuh still claiming Beenie was the savior...

But as every artist in TnT, whether musician, or athlete, yuh here today and gone tomorrow.

Beenhakker is de luckiest b!tch I ever see, de only coach to have 3.5 CONCACAF spots to work with, de only coach who Trini fraid to criticize, wuss yet de only coach to leave de World Cup whose team left as the only team to not score a goal and then be anoited a hero...

De only coach who getting paid by 2 countries and now have his assistant as head coach...

De only coach who knew up front that Latapy initially wanted to play the part of player/assistant coach and then embarrass TnT's greatest hero on de world stage and get away with it so that his assistant will be promoted to head coach...

Every other coach who grace TnT, particularly Local, all man could do is mash dem orp, now nobody could even dare question Beenie's tactics, else yuh muddah, faddah and chirren getten cuss...

Allyuh sick no arse, I never see a bunch ah arse lickers like allyuh, I am a man who respect 20 years of service and will never accept some phu*uing foreigner to disrespect our hero de way Beenie did and all ah allyuh who love to defend Beenhakker could say was dat Latas too old, Luis Figo was 37 and Latapy was 37, and the world has seen against Paraguay dat Latapy can still work magic...

Sad to say but de roots people in Trini know de truth and agree dat Beenie phu*ue up and benefit his own, is only allyuh internet-savvy-feel-allyuh-superior-cornts who love tuh kiss arse... sick phu*uers

Allyuh European Arse lickers, haul yuh muddahs cornt!

Beenhakker get away with murder and den de jackarse gov't give him a Chaconia medal after paying hundreds of thousands of US dollars....   

If dis is not a clear cut case of colonial brainwashing, I doh know what is...

Lil extreme .. but I tend to agree with the opinion that how Beene handled Latas playin time was disrespectful ....

Latas IMO ..is the greatest players to EVER wear the colors ...so for him to play 20 mins in a world cup ..is DISRESPECTFUL ....not 20 mins per game ..but 20 minutes for the TOURNAMENT?!!!! .... 

If the justification is that Latas is a defensive liability ...tactically Beene could have adjusted ...play with 2 defensive midfielders .. (take yuh pick on who..Birchall/Yorke...Whitley/Yorke ...) to cover Latas ....  there is absolutely no way that Theobald should have played as much as he did....

No sense crying over spilt milk ..WC (sadly) is over .. time for the future ...

If T&T did not attack enough ..I got enough joy out of ..1) How well ALL the African Nations played (one day there will be an African champ) 2) How poorly to US showed and 3) How beloved the Warriors were all over the world!!

Latas ..is a hero and he deserved more .. that is my only critique of Leo, tactically he could have factored Latas in....
"...de way dem deal wit Mankind all mih gyal start bawl.."

« Reply #700 on: July 24, 2006, 05:14:46 PM »

Whoever want tuh cuss meh, accordin to Bush, "bring it orn", because I fedup ah de local hating, European foreign loving so called Trinis on dese forums, allyuh need help. 

bring back bsc and hannibal najir :beermug:
jacka$$

« Reply #701 on: July 24, 2006, 07:10:55 PM »

I doh respond to tata so i leaving out the other 90% of your post.

Tell me when last we get a point in the US, or when last we come away from Mexico with a point.
Then tell me when last we get even a point from Costa Rica in Costa Rica. How come yuh wonder boy couldn't win that whole game by heself? eh? Panama, Guatemala, Mexico in Trinidad, all of that was nothing new, we did it before, but we just wan't playing how Bertille had dem playing.

How effective was Latapy against Bahrain in the first match? Where yuh was when they start him against Peru and because of him being there the whole formation was out of shape and we play tata the whole first half.

Better yet, where yuh was when he ended his 19 years of loyal service by retiring several hours before a qualifier?

I am not one to bring down players, all respect to the Little Magician, much bigger players than him get left off off World Cup side or ent even get the chance to show off what they worth. The World Cup wasn't no one player testimonial match. you need to take that number 10 glasses you seeing through.

If yuh believe the man coulda make a difference that is one thing, but yuh really need to get off that dead white horse your riding and beating like a snake because you not only sounding bitter and venomous but just downright racial.

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #702 on: July 24, 2006, 08:07:38 PM »
So now I is ah racist, ah bunch ah online people, de only people who not upset Latas eh get more play...  Everybody in TnT want to know "where was Latapy"...

Idiots like you who fall hook line and sinker for Beenie's every move.  Watch the 1st Bahrain game again, you would see Latapy had a good game and odders deserved to be pulled off.  At that time, Beenie realize he win 3 games with Latas, is time to break him down in public and let Beenie take all de credit and let Wim take over as head coach (a man with no credentials) as we all know Latas wanted to play a role in de coaching area. 

Latas should not have been benched against Bahrain but allyuh believe anything Massa do or tell yuh.  I see de game and dais my opinion, take it or leave it...

How effective was Latapy against Bahrain in the first match? Where yuh was when they start him against Peru and because of him being there the whole formation was out of shape and we play tata the whole first half.

Better yet, where yuh was when he ended his 19 years of loyal service by retiring several hours before a qualifier?

I am not one to bring down players, all respect to the Little Magician, much bigger players than him get left off off World Cup side or ent even get the chance to show off what they worth. The World Cup wasn't no one player testimonial match. you need to take that number 10 glasses you seeing through.

If yuh believe the man coulda make a difference that is one thing, but yuh really need to get off that dead white horse your riding and beating like a snake because you not only sounding bitter and venomous but just downright racial.

« Reply #703 on: July 24, 2006, 08:35:28 PM »
So now I is ah racist, ah bunch ah online people, de only people who not upset Latas eh get more play...  Everybody in TnT want to know "where was Latapy"...

Idiots like you who fall hook line and sinker for Beenie's every move.  Watch the 1st Bahrain game again, you would see Latapy had a good game and odders deserved to be pulled off.  At that time, Beenie realize he win 3 games with Latas, is time to break him down in public and let Beenie take all de credit and let Wim take over as head coach (a man with no credentials) as we all know Latas wanted to play a role in de coaching area. 

Latas should not have been benched against Bahrain but allyuh believe anything Massa do or tell yuh.  I see de game and dais my opinion, take it or leave it...

mr man latapy and leo talk before the bahrain game leo said latapy you cannot run fro 90 minutes lataoy replied i was thinking the same thing . EVEN LATAPY SUPPORTED HIS DECISON TO BENCH HIM IN THE BAHRAIN GAME in an interview..midnight whayuhsay is on ah them people who just jess go to see lalatpy play even if we lorse once latapy  do ah spanner he get his money worth.
everything is massa and slavery fuh this clown i feel whayuhsay the panelist on i9.95
« Last Edit: July 24, 2006, 08:39:00 PM by triniman »

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #704 on: July 25, 2006, 01:18:50 AM »
Letters from de Guardian....

As ah say, is only de online jackarses who friad to question Massa, de roots people in TnT know de trute...  Half ah allyuh probably eh touch de soil in a while, I suggest yuh go home and take a dip in de sea, reconnect with yuh people because allyuh lost!

http://www.guardian.co.tt/letters.html

Fix Warriors with attacking coach

HAVING played, coached and refereed the game of football for over 40 years, I add my two cents worth to the way forward for our Soca Warriors.

Firstly, I congratulate coach Leo Beenhakker (and his technical staff) for putting T&T on the world stage in the little time he had at his disposal. He did a good job considering.

I do not usually watch a football match twice, but so impressed was I with the Ghana vs Brazil game that I watched the rerun on television the same night!

The Ghanaians attacked in droves, breached Brazil’s defence on several occasions, had Brazil on the ropes, but their finishing let them down. I predict that they will be a force to reckon with in 2010!

Even though they lost they played the beautiful game the way it was meant to be played.

Did England play that way? Did Holland? Did the Swedes? No! It was always very tight in defence, string a few passes across the field, and then hit that long balls with one man in front holding up the ball until help arrives. Reminds me of the Alibey era and the Strike Squad.

That is what frustrated Rooney, as the sole striker, into committing that foul against Portugal. So said Michael Owens.

Did T&T play any differently? No! With a coach with that style, there is little or no room for attacking players. When you are called to coach a team, you look for your best players and then you build your plans around them. If you are defensive-minded and your best player is attack-minded, you will have no place for him on your team. That is what happened to Russell Latapy.

So Leo is gone and is replaced by his assistant, a defence-minded coach. Would he want an attack-minded player like Latapy on his team?

A football friend told me that Beenhakker met a banged-up Soca Warrior maxi (front and back mash up). We used to get goals in the first 15-20 minutes so he fixed the back. He Just did not have time to fix the front! Do you agree? I do not!

Check Leo’s record. He is great at defence period! If we want to score goals in 2010 I say hire Ratomir Dujkovic, Ghana’s coach, with Latapy as his assistant. I read where he is undecided about his future. Grab him fast! He is attack-minded. I am sure with Wim Rijsbergen as head coach another Latapy will never see the light of day.

Imagine your best player never even got a look-in for two full games. How could the Soca Warriors produce magic without the “Little Magician?”

Notice, it was only when he came on against Paraguay that Birchall got a shot off and Dwight too. The whole face of the game changed.

I do not always agree with “Gally” but he is right in saying that Beenhakker was afraid of Latapy because if you are in a defensive mood, Russell is so influential that he can go out there and change your plans. So the safest thing to do is to keep him on the bench.

That is not the way to treat your best player, a play maker, and one with great vision on the field. Not after you called him out of retirement and he made crucial plays and scored a crucial goal in the qualifications. Play him and build around him.

Please find us a coach that is attack-minded and one who will embrace the likes of Latapy’s style, with Russell as his assistant. Time to fix the front of the Soca Warriors’ maxi!

Lawrence Percival

Morvant

« Reply #705 on: July 25, 2006, 06:25:33 AM »
Just reading the article, it seems Nakid take a swipe at his mentors. Big A is somewhat obvious and like he saying they sell out to Jack and the organization of TTFF & FIFA, fo rtheir own gain.
Ahhh Nakid welcome to the real world.

« Reply #706 on: July 25, 2006, 06:31:28 AM »

As ah say, is only de online jackarses who friad to question Massa, de roots people in TnT know de trute...  Half ah allyuh probably eh touch de soil in a while, I suggest yuh go home and take a dip in de sea, reconnect with yuh people because allyuh lost!

HAVING played, coached and refereed the game of football for over 40 years, I add my two cents worth to the way forward for our Soca Warriors.

Firstly, I congratulate coach Leo Beenhakker (and his technical staff) for putting T&T on the world stage in the little time he had at his disposal. He did a good job considering.

I do not usually watch a football match twice, but so impressed was I with the Ghana vs Brazil game that I watched the rerun on television the same night!

The Ghanaians attacked in droves, breached Brazil’s defence on several occasions, had Brazil on the ropes, but their finishing let them down. I predict that they will be a force to reckon with in 2010!

Even though they lost they played the beautiful game the way it was meant to be played.

Did England play that way? Did Holland? Did the Swedes? No! It was always very tight in defence, string a few passes across the field, and then hit that long balls with one man in front holding up the ball until help arrives. Reminds me of the Alibey era and the Strike Squad.

That is what frustrated Rooney, as the sole striker, into committing that foul against Portugal. So said Michael Owens.

Did T&T play any differently? No! With a coach with that style, there is little or no room for attacking players. When you are called to coach a team, you look for your best players and then you build your plans around them. If you are defensive-minded and your best player is attack-minded, you will have no place for him on your team. That is what happened to Russell Latapy.

So Leo is gone and is replaced by his assistant, a defence-minded coach. Would he want an attack-minded player like Latapy on his team?

A football friend told me that Beenhakker met a banged-up Soca Warrior maxi (front and back mash up). We used to get goals in the first 15-20 minutes so he fixed the back. He Just did not have time to fix the front! Do you agree? I do not!

Check Leo’s record. He is great at defence period! If we want to score goals in 2010 I say hire Ratomir Dujkovic, Ghana’s coach, with Latapy as his assistant. I read where he is undecided about his future. Grab him fast! He is attack-minded. I am sure with Wim Rijsbergen as head coach another Latapy will never see the light of day.

Imagine your best player never even got a look-in for two full games. How could the Soca Warriors produce magic without the “Little Magician?”

Notice, it was only when he came on against Paraguay that Birchall got a shot off and Dwight too. The whole face of the game changed.

I do not always agree with “Gally” but he is right in saying that Beenhakker was afraid of Latapy because if you are in a defensive mood, Russell is so influential that he can go out there and change your plans. So the safest thing to do is to keep him on the bench.

That is not the way to treat your best player, a play maker, and one with great vision on the field. Not after you called him out of retirement and he made crucial plays and scored a crucial goal in the qualifications. Play him and build around him.

Please find us a coach that is attack-minded and one who will embrace the likes of Latapy’s style, with Russell as his assistant. Time to fix the front of the Soca Warriors’ maxi!

Lawrence Percival

Morvant

Trying to compare trinidad to ghana  :o  Again another peron who think latapy is a saviour if you notice we started with almost  the same team against england as we did against bahrain (when we needed goals). The only exeption was theobald ,sancho and hislop ,i notice one ting dih yuh running out of arguments

« Reply #707 on: July 25, 2006, 08:42:36 AM »

Lawrence Percival

Morvant

Doh fool yuhself....yuh making it seem like the whole of Trinbago supporting your line of thinking.

« Reply #708 on: July 25, 2006, 08:48:07 AM »
He to deep for me he have my head hurting with all them words ah have to dig deep down into the subconscious with his writing paps. I'm not going to get into that Latas should or shouldn’t have played crap. Breenhanker played who he thought was most suitable at that time to keep up with the pace of the opposing team ability to attack. Defense as some previously said is part of the game... so if that is what we had to do for 90 min then so be it.  Ok... let say we had the team go play "football...football" as he say nah like we Trini style with flare and thing real beat and show of for the world that we have talent and skills and we geh like reale goals them teams break records on we with like 6 and 7 goals ah game and thing ah wonder what he will ah say. ::) Yuh see that is why you all thee way in down they because ah yuh stupid mouth... who wants to be living with reale bomb dropping by man window. He probably shell shocked!
The ball is like a magnet if you continue to knock itit will attract, and then you can attack.  Get it?

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #709 on: July 26, 2006, 12:16:01 AM »
And another local hater reveals himself...

Trying to compare trinidad to ghana  :o  Again another peron who think latapy is a saviour if you notice we started with almost  the same team against england as we did against bahrain (when we needed goals). The only exeption was theobald ,sancho and hislop ,i notice one ting dih yuh running out of arguments

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #710 on: July 26, 2006, 12:18:32 AM »
And you obviously have not touched the soil recently...

Get out of cyberspace, go home and feel the pulse of de people, not this online dream allyuh so called experts livin....

Doh fool yuhself....yuh making it seem like the whole of Trinbago supporting your line of thinking.

« Reply #711 on: July 26, 2006, 01:23:53 AM »
And you obviously have not touched the soil recently...

Get out of cyberspace, go home and feel the pulse of de people, not this online dream allyuh so called experts livin....

psssssshttt I've been livin here all my life and I still think your a moron...

Offline zandolie63

« Reply #712 on: July 26, 2006, 02:05:06 AM »
Amazingly after reading all the posts I musts ay...I sat next to David in 3rd and 4th form in CIC, and the person who wrote that article is an entirely different person than I remember in Saints.  He may be in war torn situation right now, but I have served the US military for almost 20yrs with 4 tours in the "war"and I am probably an entirely different person too.  My point is experiences shape our outlook and therefore our opinions.  Mr. Nakhid seems to be bitter, I haven't kept up on his shenanigans since I left Saints, but if he played the ass with people and run off his mouth then the life lesson he should have learned is to keep it shut...evidently a lesson he hasn't learned.

I disagree with his position and I say position because with all his comments in the article it don't look like he have one.  He says in the past that Leo is the best coach.  He says in the article that Leo sell out the side for a better job.  He talks about the fact that Leo save the magician for the last game, maybe so, but Russell would have given us the win we needed to go out strong against the weakest team in our group.  I agree that Lats should have been used earlier though, because our play in the middle third and forward got a little better when he came on.  Nakhid  need to pick a position, stand by it and then learn he lesson and keep his mouth shut.

David Nakhid backs Soca Warriors.
« Reply #713 on: October 12, 2006, 04:43:09 AM »
David Nakhid backs Soca Warriors.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Former Trinidad and Tobago national football team captain and two-time Caribbean "Footballer of the Year" David Nakhid yesterday voiced his support for the embattled "Soca Warriors" as they dispute their share in income generated by the country's appearance at the 2006 Germany World Cup.
The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) claimed they received just under $18.3 million in sponsorship and marketing money and the players were entitled to only $141,102-once expenses were deducted. The players did not accept that figure last week or the T&TFF's stance that expenses be subtracted from their bonus.
The players met T&TFF general secretary Richard Groden yesterday morning to continue discussions.
Nakhid, who had several run-ins with the T&TFF as a player and assistant coach, claimed the organisation was being true to form.
"The info I have is only from the newspapers and from the outside," Nakhid told the Express, "it seems that (T&TFF special advisor) Jack Warner and the TTFF are pretty much double billing everybody.
"You can most surely verify this but the government was billed for a variety of expenses and now they are taken out again from the sponsorship money."
Nakhid, as captain, played a key role in threatened strike action over unpaid salaries on the day of the 1994 Caribbean Cup final in Port of Spain. The T&TFF bowed to the uprising and, with Brazilian legend Pele looking on, the national team recorded an emphatic 7-2 win over Martinique. It remains the largest victory in the final of the regional tournament.
"Our strike at the 94 Shell Cup was one of solidarity and bettered the conditions of local players," said Nakhid. "We went on to produce one of our best performances... So I hope, above all, the actions taken by the players will improve their lot and of course enable them to get the money that was promised to them."
Nakhid, who worked as assistant coach and scout for much of the 2006 qualifying campaign, might be the only member of the technical staff who did not receive financial reward for his effort. He admitted that he was upset about the failure to recognise his work despite the controversy which marked his departure.
The Lebanon-based former standout player joined Bertille St Clair's technical staff in late 2004 and continued to work under his Dutch replacement Leo Beenhakker up until the final Concacaf qualifier against Mexico. In Warner's biography, From Zero To Hero, the FIFA vice-president credited Nakhid for the recruitment of Beenhakker who once coached him in Switzerland.
But Nakhid's relationship with Beenhakker and the T&TFF broke down last October after a flare-up between Nakhid and the Dutchman's compatriot and assistant Wim Rijsbergen, who has since inherit the post of head coach. Rijsbergen and Nakhid came close to blows on the eve of a crucial qualifier away to Panama and the Trinidadian alleged that he was insulted by the national coach because of his Muslim religion.
The T&TFF fired Nakhid a week later and he was subsequently accused by Warner of spying on the Warriors for their final rival, Bahrain. Nakhid filed a lawsuit against Warner, T&TFF press officer Shaun Fuentes and the Newsday for slander and the matter is still before the local court.
Nakhid, who also played in one World Cup qualifier, claimed that he was still owed money by the T&TFF for his work while he blamed Warner for blocking him from being rewarded by the government although other players and coaches who did not travel to Germany were paid.
He said that his name was recommended for financial reward by the players' committee when the team returned from Germany but was struck off by the T&TFF. National goalkeeper Shaka Hislop confirmed that Nakhid's name was on the initial list handed to the T&TFF.
"I have not been paid a single cent owed to me by the TTFF for my work with the team," said Nakhid. "Moreover, Jack and the T&TFF decided that they had the power to veto any compensation to me by the government by taking my name off of the list presented to them by the players committee."

Re: David Nakhid backs Soca Warriors.
« Reply #714 on: October 12, 2006, 05:38:00 AM »
Ah find he take long to make public comments. This situation is tailor-made for him.

« Reply #715 on: October 12, 2006, 06:11:16 AM »
Ah find he take long to make public comments. This situation is tailor-made for him.

Ent?  Daz he raison d'etre right dey.

« Reply #716 on: October 12, 2006, 06:45:46 AM »

Ent? Daz he raison d'etre right dey.

:o

Papa yo,, yuh sure is vancouver or Quebec yuh livin?

Nakhid have he own axe to grind oui.....payback for all de waste down and slander he get.....he have legit coattails to ride this time however

Maybe he go play Han (Red) Solo

« Reply #717 on: October 12, 2006, 07:18:54 AM »
this man like baccanal boy.  Has he ever been involved in anything and not had some big break up scene?  steups

Offline dombasil

« Reply #718 on: October 12, 2006, 07:25:33 AM »
Yeah, but he predicted this would happen.

« Reply #719 on: October 12, 2006, 08:20:09 AM »

It probably took ah little while longer for lisana to find him!!

Lisana pushing to much ting in my opinion, of all the people to contact for a comment, he went and find Nakhid.