March 28, 2024, 10:19:49 AM

Author Topic: The David Nakhid Thread  (Read 166736 times)

The David Nakhid Thread
« on: April 01, 2005, 11:22:18 PM »
Interestin to see he comments wit respeck to wukkin wit Latas doh.

Nakhid: Beenhakker one of the best.
By: Kern De Freitas.

Former Trinidad and Tobago football captain and assistant national coach David Nakhid has described newly-appointed T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker as one of the best he has ever encountered.
Nakhid, who played under the Dutch national at Swiss club Grasshoppers, said Beenhakker's experience can be an advantage to the T&T Warriors, who are bottom of the six-team CONCACAF standings in final round qualification for the 2006 World Cup.

"He's one of the greatest coaches, probably ever," Nakhid said of 62-year-old Beenhakker, "and we have to try and benefit from his experience."

Asked whether he felt the new coach will produce better results, Nakhid was optimistic that the team could improve under Beenhakker's stewardship, saying it would augur well for the future, adding: "This is football-time will tell."

Nakhid also felt the national team needed to improve, not just in the troublesome midfield, but in a holistic way, adding that the marked improvement in their performance against Costa Rica on Wednesday directly resulted from the fact that former coach Bertille St Clair had more time to work with them leading up to the game than the previous two final round matches.

Asked how he felt about working with former teammate Russell Latapy, who has also been named as an assistant coach, Nakhid replied: "It's business as usual. Everyone has to be a professional and work for the good of the team."

Nakhid was optimistic of T&T's chances of qualifying for the World Cup finals in Germany next year.

"Well, of course we need to do well against Panama, we need to get three points. We still have a good chance (to qualify). If I didn't think we did, I wouldn't have stayed. I would have offered my resignation."
« Last Edit: April 02, 2005, 03:42:55 AM by Flex »

Offline nobody_s angel

Do we really need Nakhid as a Player?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2005, 06:27:33 PM »
New coach same problem. Do not get me wrong I have nothing against the man - YET - but can someone please tell me what is so special about David Nakhid that both BSC and Beehakker must put this guy on the field. I like the idea of Nakhid being an assistant coach, I am glad that he will be there to pass his knowledge and experience on to the team, but once again I must remind people that this is not the over 40 world cup.

I know that not only Nakhid might want to prove his critics wrong but I think that this lack of trust and confidence in the youths is what is bringing, not only this team down but the country on a whole. Give the new blood a chance. It was the new blood that drew the cricket game in Guyana. Nakhid needs to coach the younger ones and have them develop the skills that he has, that makes BSC and Beenhakker believe that he ought to be both assistant coach and player.

I believe that the coach isn't the only one responsible for what I think is a questionable move in player selection. Nakhid is responsible for his own decisions. Nakhid can let the coach know that he thinks that at his age he might be better off in a coaching position. Unfortunately he (Nakhid) doesn't believe this. He might have to take a page out of Latapy's book. Latapy turned down the offer to return as a player and reportedly picked up the one as an assistant coach. Now, that is brains and class.

New blood
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2005, 06:56:31 PM »
Give the new blood a chance.

We definitely behind in dis area. Look at de States. Arena fade out men like Pope, Cobi, Earnie Stewart etc.

Look at how much men over 30. We all know dat age is not de sole determinant of ability and performance but we killing de growth of de youngsters.

David Nakhid - 41 in May
Shaka Hislop - 36
Ian Cox - 34
Anthony Rougier - 34 in July
Dwight Yorke - 34 in November
Clayton Ince - 33 in July
Arnold Dwarika - 32
Angus Eve - 32
Jerren Nixon - 32 in June
Cyd Gray - 32 in November
Dennis Lawrence - 31 in August
Marvin Andrews - 30 in December
Avery John - 30 in June

Re: Do we really need Nakhid as a Player?
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2005, 07:06:30 PM »
He might have to take a page out of Latapy's book. Latapy turned down the offer to return as a player and reportedly picked up the one as an assistant coach. Now, that is brains and class.

Well we shall see how long Latas will remain as assistant coach before Leo drops him like he did with Nakhid.  I feel his appointment was just a ploy by the TTFF to get his tail down to Trinidad again.  After all shouldn't the coach himself pick who he wants as his assistants, not the TTFF?  Once Latas reach home and spends time with the team again, he might have a change of heart and decide to play again.  At least this is probably what Jack and them are hoping.  If not Leo will probably ask him to step aside anyway.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2005, 07:10:03 PM by arrow »

Offline nobody_s angel

Re: New blood
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2005, 07:16:05 PM »
 we killing de growth of de youngsters.

For real.

Thanks for the ages too :'( it just sad.

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2005, 07:35:23 PM »
I asked over and over where is the long term plan and commitment to the growth and development of football in this country?

Everyworld cup campaign, we operate in a sense of panic, and urgency. There seems to be no systematic planning  to bring solid goals to fuition.

Why are we sensing that experienced players past their best years are the way to go? Where is the blend of  experience and youth? where are our Roonies?

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2005, 08:33:12 PM »
Nahkid may be the man to communicate ideas on the field.

He is very witty, bright articulate and he have a degree just like Shaka.

P.S........for those who dont know he can speak 4 or more languages fluently. This is a reason maybe he can be used as well.

But Leo talking English good so I doe think that may be a problem, he just might not understand slang. But You need a older head like Nahkid to keep the young boys in check.

« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2005, 09:09:01 PM »
I honestly dont think Beenhakker is against giving new blood a chance. Based on the post about Beenhakker's meeting with the PFL coaches it appears that the man, especially with his experience, is not as closed minded as that.

His move to make Nakhid a player may be for 2 reasons:

1. Based on the tapes he saw of the past few games, the performances were mediocre enough for him to think that Nakhid may be able to make an impact in the SHORT TERM while he gets to know new players ...

2. He wants to bring in his own assistants who he is accostumed working with and who can implement his plan - so there was not room for Nakhid as an assistant ...

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2005, 09:45:43 PM »

Don't forget Beenhakker was Nahkid's coach at Grasshoppers.

He has to implement something in the very short term and he knows what he is getting with Nahkid...the previous coach had him on the team too so he might be inclined to have him available.

I doh think Latapy seeing Piarco airport anytime soon.

And I think we jumping the gun too fast.  Allyuh know Leo team before he even choose it or wha?  Is psychic on dis site!   :D
The man didn't even look at all the players yet and allyuh bawling bout old age.  I feel is cuz it have nuttin else going on now to talk about.  Somebody tell Bertille to go have an exclusive interview with Andre "pussy cat" Baptiste to keep we occupied in the mean time.   ;D

« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2005, 10:09:05 PM »
I jes waiting to see what kinda magic dis coach go pull out he hat with dese players.

If he make dem start playing better and winning I go be plesantly surprised.

« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2005, 11:03:56 AM »
This Coach is in a funny position,at the moment he has to work with what's given to him,he don't know anyone besides Nakid that's why he is inclined to go for Nakid,i agree with those who said may be is he that ask for Bsc to be his assistant Coach because Bertil has knowledge of the players.Don't expect much changes,but as i said i would go for youth and more home based.

« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2005, 11:18:38 AM »
I remeber bak with simones tall man that he said when next world cup qualifying comes  along he dont want to have an over 30 squad.

Offline Lightning

« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2005, 11:30:05 AM »
What problem are we trying to solve?  The immediate need for 3 points? Player development? Giving new(younger) players a chance to prove them selves?

If we can define Mr Beenhaker's mandate we might gain more insight into his decision making.
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2005, 12:01:31 PM »
He was hired by Jack for 3 points in the next match and hopefully about 9 more after that.

« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2005, 12:12:52 PM »
Lightning,
It was first called Project 2006, now it's called Journey to Germany or something like that. So wha' yuh tink? ;D

Offline Lightning

« Reply #15 on: April 08, 2005, 12:59:20 PM »
Good. So we have established that his job is to earn sufficient points to qualify.  To earn results with little to no preparation time (he's is not the only one in this boat), he will look to players who:

• Have had proven success in high pressure - high intensity situations.  He will trust the veterans to lead by example, implement his vision for the game and perform at their highest level insert Nakhid, Yorke, Latapy, Hislop

Have the physical, technical, tactical, an mental/personality ability to perform effectively under in those situations. He will expect them to take their cues from the veterans and perform creditably insert other players selected

Once he's selected the players he should put them in a position to be successful as a unit. Given his experience in the professional ranks, one would expect that he knows well enough to do the job required and get as maximize the potential of the team. 

He can only control the preparation to the extent he has the players at his disposal. When the game starts its the players who have to perform.

« Last Edit: April 08, 2005, 01:07:48 PM by Lightning »
I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.

jusme

« Reply #16 on: April 08, 2005, 01:37:51 PM »
well to be devil's advocate:

it's not as if all them men whose ages are listed are ever getting picked for the squad simultaneously anyway.  They are all in the mix yes, but there are also a lot of ppl in their mid 20s and younger in the mix: jones, glen, theobald, smith, rojas, sealy, sam, edwards, d. king, tiger, nigel pierre etc.

Many countries with veteran teams have had success on the world stage: Croatia in 98, Czech Republic last year, Portugal from 1998 to last year, as well as the germans who basically had the same nucleus for three world cups.

also it's not a strict either or scenario where picking a set of veterans for the next 7 games going to necessarily put us in a hole 4 years from now.  I mean if the admin get their acts together the current U-23s and U-20s should have sufficient exposure over the next few years anyway regardless of what come with the senior team in the next few months.

jusme

« Reply #17 on: April 08, 2005, 01:45:28 PM »
don't mean to be like alberta trini in responding to my own comment, but I forgot to add my two cents to the actual question posed.

No, I don't think Nakhid is useful as a player.  Not because he old, but because I see him in digicel and I was extremely unimpressed.  just my opinion.  maybe leo knows something I don't know.  He is the big shot coach.

« Reply #18 on: April 08, 2005, 02:16:48 PM »
Leo hasn't seen him play in over 10 years.  Who says he's going to pick Nakhid on the final world cup squad anyway?  The way I read it he basically said I want Nakhid around the team but I don't want him as my assistant coach, so let's see what he can offer as a player instead.  His place is by no means guaranteed.  Nakhid hasn't even decided if he wants to play yet.

« Reply #19 on: April 08, 2005, 11:16:14 PM »
Yes, Nakid has decided that he wants to play, that is why he suit up and play in some games already.

« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2005, 12:05:10 AM »
Did Nakhid say yes to Leo yet?

Check the TV6 link
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_tv6?id=70989236

« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2005, 09:19:06 AM »
Let's get one thing straight: If one chooses to follow up on ones posting is that aganist protocol?

jEEZAM  Sometimes ones thinking may change, maybe modified according to the level of responses. So if I choose to respond tuh meh damn post so be it.

As for this 'post' It would seem to me that a blend of youth, experience would suffice. The real test is in the level of physcial fitness, endurance and conditioning of the athletes.

« Reply #22 on: April 09, 2005, 10:36:36 AM »
Damn ....ah nearly geriatric team ... How we really expect to compete if nearly half the team on Viagra

« Reply #23 on: April 09, 2005, 10:58:28 AM »
A player is only as good as the overall team. Given the experience and the fact that most of these playesr have battled before for this country, I would think they should be hungry to once more have the opportunity to see Trinidad qualify for the World Cup and from a personal level, close out their careers with a World Cup appearance.

So do we need these players ? Of course if they have proven worth, ccoud still contribute, could still be a factor in the outcome of the game, then why not?

« Reply #24 on: April 09, 2005, 03:53:37 PM »
Beenhaaker wants his peeps working with him. Calling on nakhid to play is his way of saying thanks but no thanks. But whatever just so long as BSC has returned to his former job and has stopped drawing money under false pretenses.

« Reply #25 on: April 09, 2005, 05:21:26 PM »
My uncle has a freind who grew up with bsc who spoke with him after he got fired on the phone about a week ago.BSc just interested now on getting he money to pay fuh his mercedes benz oh i think he cuss warner to

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #26 on: April 09, 2005, 05:26:23 PM »
U sure its the benz or his medical bills. ;)

« Reply #27 on: April 09, 2005, 08:41:38 PM »
If the goal is to qualify, then we need the older heads, whether they all play or all play at the same time on the field is for the coach to decide... An overage Latas is still better than anyone I have seen who has tried to fulfill his role. I watched the T&T vs Crica from the gold cup this morning and BSC pattern of subs he has used is really crazy... Imagine with 5 mins left in the game we up 1-0 and he take of Latas and ring on Rahim and take off eve and bring on the dribble master who never score a goal at senior level and is not known for his defensive skills Evans Wise..  Even the commentator had to comment on what is BSC thinking.. Anyway, whilst Nahkid is way past his prime.. If we are leading 1-0 in a wcq game with 5 mins left, I would probably prefer Nahkid with his experience and a newbie who may be a better player but does not have the exeperience... ;D

David Nakhid to serve as ‘Warriors’ scout.
« Reply #28 on: May 25, 2005, 03:14:59 PM »
Leo says T&T a little closer to being ready for Panama.
By: Shaun Fuentes.
[/color]

National football coach Leo Beenhakker says he was not particularly happy with the wayward finishing in Wednesday’s 4-0 defeat of Bermuda but has hinted that he is well aware of how the “Warriors” will approach their June 4 World Cup qualifier against Panama.
Less than two weeks before the big clash at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, T&T warmed up with a comfortable 4-0 win over the visiting Bermudans and will get a second chance to do more damage to the inexperienced side and hopefully sharpen up further when they clash again at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium from 6pm on Friday.
Speaking after the match in which he attained his first win since taking over as coach, Beenhakker was not particularly pleased.
“Well no I was not particularly pleased but we got a win and this match gives us some guarantees for the matches against Panama and Mexico. We worked hard in the camp and you can see we are getting better little by little. It was a useful match for us especially in relation to last week’s match against Lima. We tried to play more in front and get more time in the box. We had several good chances and even though we didn’t make use of them, that could happen now, it’s not a problem.
“This is just a game to take us one step ahead,” Beenhakker said, adding that he was not concerned over the low rating of the Bermudans.
“We try to play with more possession and play football from  behind. We also try to use every player and get on front based on football and not with the long ball coming back as soon as you play it down there. We are trying to understand each other very well.”
When asked whether he has put a team together for the match against Panama by a local reporter, Beenhakker replied without giving any details of the actual squad.
“Yes I know how we are going to play on the 4th. I still have more than a week to go and I will work with all of the players. I will build a team that will be ready to play every match because we have the Gold Cup so the focus is not just the Panama game but right now you can say that the most important game is the Panama one. I know more or less all the overseas players. I had my first impression with Brent Sancho, Marvin Andrews and Kelvin Jack today (in training). I know them and that’s  a big advantage.
"This Friday we will give an opportunity to the other players in the camp in Friday’s game and then we start our final preparation on Monday. From my side it’s clear how we have to play Panama and with what team we have to do that.”
Finally asked about whether he now has confidence in the team’s chances following the win on Wednesday, Beenhakker said: “ I had confidence from the first day here because if I didn’t then I would not come over here. Little by little we are doing better. We still have a long way to go before we play at the level of Milan or Liverpool or I don’t know who but everyday you see some players picking up some details and playing better individually and then we are getting it better as a team. And if it’s enough to beat Panama and Mexico, I don’t know but at least we are playing more like a team now.”
Leo Beenhakker to coach local coaches.
By: Walter Alibey - Newsday.
[/color]

Local football coaching is to benefit from seminars to be conducted by national coach Leo Beenhakker. According to Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation president Oliver Camps on Wednesday, these seminars have been planned with the hope of Dutch coaching staff transferring their knowledge, both practical and theoretical, to local coaches. The long-serving football administrator told Newsday that the seminars would be organised and arranged by technical director Lincoln Phillips. But he said, however, such seminars could not be carried out at this point in time, and would have to wait until after the World Cup qualifying campaign.
The local football boss made it clear that Beenhakker could not and must not be distracted by anything apart from the World Cup qualifying series. Camps said,  “Right now I want the coach to focus only on taking this country to the World Cup and nothing else.” He said the Dutch coach would have a lot more time when this country has qualified for the World Cup finals in Germany next year. Trinidad and Tobago are bottom of the six-team chart with just one point from two matches. But the forthcoming round-three qualifier against Panama, June 4 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium is expected to not only begin their climb up the standings, but instil some hope back into the hearts of local fans, with a string of victories. Camps said the seminars would be opened to all local coaches so they could have a chance to improve themselves.
Mathematically Trinidad and Tobago could move into third position with a victory over the Panamanians, but they would need the assistance of some of the other qualifying teams. For instance, a win for the Warriors would take them to four points, while the results of the other games could help them maintain that position going into the fourth round. The call for the coaching seminars came after plans to utilise ex-national captains Russell Latapy and David Nakhid as player/coach with the current squad has not materialised. But Beenhakker requested and brought his own assistants, after Lebanese-based Nakhid accepted the invitation, but Latapy declined, and has since re-signed as player/coach at Scottish club Falkirk, who won promotion to the Premier Division.
News from the 26th of May 2005.
David Nakhid to serve as ‘Warriors’ scout.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

David Nakhid has been appointed as a National Senior Team scout to serve from within the Technical Staff assigned to work under Team head coach Leo Beenhakker with immediate effect.
The appointment was agreed upon after Beenhakker made the offer to Nakhid on Tuesday and a meeting will be held with TTFF Special Advisor Jack Warner on Friday to finalize the terms and conditions of the new position.
As a result of this, Nakhid, a former National Captain, is no longer available to the current “Warriors” outfit as a player.
The 41-year-old midfielder said he had no qualms over having to give up his role as a player and is ready to scrutinize T&T’s upcoming opponents.
“The coach  spoke to me and he explained the situation. He did make the offer open to me saying that he would like me to be a scout for the team but he also said he still felt I could make a contribution as a player and the choice was up to me,” Nakhid told TTFF Media.
“I thought about it and it was a hard one to decide on, particularly when you know you can do it as a player but then up came the chance to make a valid contribution to the effort to get to the World Cup. It also means that I could continue my football in Lebanon and still be involved with the national team which is something I cannot turn my back on.
“I think as more time passes on, the team is becoming a stronger unit and all of the guys realize how important it is for them to make an honest and worthwhile contribution and for me, this new position will give me an opportunity to stay involved and be part of what will be history created by us when the team gets to the next World Cup,” Nakhid added.
 He is expected to take up his first assignment on June 4, the same day T&T takes on Panama at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
Beenhakker commented on the latest development regarding Nakhid.
“It is something that we discussed and I respect his decision. I was the one who offered him a chance to make a contribution as a player and now something different has come up whereby I felt David could make a significant contribution and we have agreed upon this,” Beenhakker said.
Meantime, Beenhakker will have a second outing against Bermuda when they clash with the “Warriors” in a second friendly at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium from 6pm this Friday. The match will be the first game of a double header with the Pro Bowl Final playing off between CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh and Vibe CT 105 W Connection.
Birchall, Edwards sparkle in Warriors win.
By: Nigel Simon.
[/color]

English-born midfielder Christopher Birchall and Carlos Edward both had outstanding performances as T&T warmed up for its June 4 Concacaf World Cup Qualifier against Panama with a 4-0 shut-out of Bermuda at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on Wednesday night.
In a match which was completely dominated by the Leo Beenhakker-coached line-up, Birchall, Edwards and to a lesser extent, Kenwyne Jones, Aurtis Whitley and defensive duo Dennis Lawrence and Anton Pierre all staked claims for a spot on Beenhakker’s 18-man roster for the qualifier against the Panamanians.
However, the same cannot be said of Coventry City striker, Stern John, who apart from his 65th minute goal, had a nightmarish performance in front of the Bermudans goal.
John’s dilemma began as early as the 13th minute when he failed to connect with a pin-point low right sided cross by Edwards six yards out from goal, after the latter had worked a clever one-two with Birchall down the right flank.
One minute later, the improving Leslie Fitzpatrick collected a short corner from Birchall, and with acres of space in front of him, he unleashed a powerful volley at goal which Bermuda’s goalkeeper Nigel Burgess went full stretch to his left to pluck out of the air.
Edwards again picked out John with a right sided centre after robbing a defender of the ball, in the 24th minute but with ‘keeper Burgess and the goal at his mercy, John somehow managed to clip the ball over the bar.
Six minutes later, John blasted over bar from a Jones feed inside the 18-yard box.
With all the chances falling to John, the question was whether T&T would break the deadlock before the half, which they eventually got through an own goal.
The go-ahead item came in the 33rd minute when defender Kentoine Jennings turned the ball into his own net past Burgess, when he attempted to cut out another centre, which was intended for John.
At the other end of the field, T&T goalkeeper and team captain Clayton Ince was almost a spectator for the night and was mostly called into action by his own defenders.
Two minutes into the second-half, Jones scored his first goal for the T&T senior team and the second of the match, when he ran onto a through ball from Edwards, ten yards into the Bermuda half, held off a weak challenge from defender Stevie Astwood and slotted the ball past Burgess on his near post.
John came close to ending his drought in the 50th minute, but his goalward chip was cleared off the line.
Despite his own poor form, the Coventry striker had a hand in his team’s third goal as he headed down a right sided corner from Birchall to the feet of Dennis Lawrence, which left the lanky defender with the easy task of dragging the ball over the line.
After squandering an open chance in the 58th minute when he just had to pick his spot with keeper Burgess stranded, John ended his drought with a 65th minute item.
He ran onto a through ball from Birchall and chipped the ball into the bottom left hand corner of the goal past the advancing Burgess to the delight of the 3,000 spectators on hand.
Edwards, John, Birchall and second-half substitutes Brent Rahim and Gary Glasgow all had chances to add to their team’s tally, but failed to beat substitute goalkeeper Daniel Johnson.
Both teams will meet again Friday at 6 pm in the first match of double-header at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella. In the feature match from 8.15 pm defending champions of the T&T Professional Football League Pro Bowl, Vibe CT 105 W Connection will put its title on the line against CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.

T&T:

Clayton Ince (capt); Anton Pierre, Dennis Lawrence, David Atiba Charles, Marlon Rojas (Glenton Wolfe 46th); Leslie Fitzpatrick (Densill Theobald 46th), Carlos Edwards, Christopher Birchall, Aurtis Whitley (Brent Rahim 80th); Kenwyne Jones (Gary Glasgow 62nd), Stern John.

Subs not used: Brent Sancho, Ian Cox, Duarance Williams.

Bermuda:

Nigel Burgess (Daniel Johnson 77th); Kentoine Jennings (capt), Maurice Lowe, Kofi Dill, Domico Coddington; Jelani Scott (Seion Darrell 80th), Jahnai Raynor (Logan Alexander 58th), Khris Frick (Rohann Simons 46th), Stevie Astwood; Damon Ming, Aljame Zuill (Cecoy Robinson 65th).

Subs not used: Cecoy Robinson, Rohaan Simons, Kyle Lightbourne.

T&T fans up-close

Patriot Report.

Touches Report.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2005, 02:42:41 PM by Flex »

Offline Youth Baller

Re: David Nakhid to serve as ‘Warriors’ scout.
« Reply #29 on: May 25, 2005, 10:09:50 PM »
Haaaa , Nakid ras like d Knock u get against Alianza Lima end yuh carrier. Congrats big man on a well played football carrier with many achievements.