March 28, 2024, 04:07:51 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Iran Game (8-Jun-2014)  (Read 22407 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Iran Game (8-Jun-2014)
« on: January 28, 2014, 10:04:43 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Iran game at the Arena Corinthians, Sao Paulo, Brazil (3:00pm Brazil Time) on the 8th of June 2014 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

Closed Door Game.

Possible Online Streams.

Closed Door Game.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic FC).

Defenders:

Justin Hoyte (Millwall), Gavin Hoyte (Dagenham & Redbridge), Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Kruoja Pakruojis), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen), Yohance Marshall (Central FC).

Midfielders:

Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk), Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Andre Boucaud (unattached), Kevan George (Columbus Crew), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava), Joevin Jones (W Connection), Densill Theobald (Caledonia AIA), Marcus Joseph (Point Fortin Civic FC), Kevin Molino (Orlando City).

Forwards:

Rundell Winchester (Central FC), Willis Plaza (Central FC), Trevin Caesar (North East Stars), Kenwyne Jones (capt) - (Cardiff City).

Iran Squad

Goalkeepers

Daniel Davari (Eintracht Braunschweig), Alireza Haghighi (Sporting Covilha, on loan from Rubin Kazan), Rahman Ahmadi (Sepahan), Sousha Makani (Foolad Khuzestan).

Defenders

Khosro Heidari (Esteghlal), Hossein Mahini (Persepolis), Steven Beitashour (Vancouver Whitecaps), Pejman Montazeri (Umm Salal), Jalal Hosseini (Persepolis), Amir Sadeghi (Esteghlal), Mohammad Reza Khanzadeh (Zob Ahan), Ahmad Alenemeh (Naft), Hashem Beikzadeh (Esteghlal), Ehsan Hajsafi (Sepahan), Mehrdad Pooladi (Persepolis).

Midfielders

Javad Nekounam C(Al Kuwait), Andranik Teymourian (Esteghlal), Reza Haghighi (Persepolis), Ghasem Hadadifar (Zob Ahan), Bakhtiyar Rahmani (Foolad), Alireza Jahanbakhsh (NEC Nijmegen), Ashkan Dejagah (Fulham).

Forwards

Masoud Shojaei (Las Palmas), Mohammad Reza Khalatbari (Persepolis), Mehdi Sharifi (Sepahan), Reza Ghoochannejhad (Charlton), Karim Ansarifard (Persepolis, on loan at Tractor Sazi), Sardar Azmoun (Rubin Kazan).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: June 07, 2014, 03:04:28 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Iran Game (8-Jun-2014)
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2014, 11:33:36 AM »
straight out of left field

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2014, 11:38:14 AM »
Manners for them too

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2014, 02:17:09 PM »
This'll be another tough game - good match though.

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2014, 05:01:40 PM »
Let's hope the scouts are impressed with some of our players,especially if we put on a great performance...even beat Iran.

« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2014, 05:09:01 PM »
Definitely, there's some ranking points in beating a team 40 points ahead of us!

« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2014, 05:33:42 PM »
I wonder if J-Lloyd go get a run?

« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2014, 05:49:30 AM »
I wonder if J-Lloyd go get a run?

If he's fit I can't imagine him not playing

« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2014, 06:18:40 AM »
I love Jlloyd Samuel, but no, he to old man, we need to build a team.

« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2014, 06:36:43 AM »
I love Jlloyd Samuel, but no, he to old man, we need to build a team.

He could help us get to the World Cup at least, and tbh in 2018 he'll still only be 35, which is really pushing it but he might still be good as a defender then.

« Reply #10 on: January 29, 2014, 06:43:11 AM »
Samuel is an active pro. I expect he'll be considered like any other active pro. Fortunately, we have a wise head who will make that decision.

« Reply #11 on: January 29, 2014, 07:59:07 AM »
Jlloyd could be an important part of our team for this match;I'm sure his knowledge of the Iranian players will be much needed,and helpful.

« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2014, 11:22:13 AM »
T&T TO PLAY IRAN IN WORLD CUP WARM UP IN SAO PAOLO
TTFA Facebook Page

Trinidad and Tobago will be going to Brazil after all. An international friendly between this country Men's National Senior Teamand Iran’s National Senior Team was today confirmed to take place in Sao Paolo, Brazil on June 8th.

This game will follow T&T’s June 4th friendly international against Argentina in La Plata and there are ongoing discussions to get a third game on the schedule for that period.

The game against Iran resulted following initial discussions between Iran's head coach Carlos Queiroz and the TTFA and an international match agent.

“This is another massive game for our national team,” said TTFA President Raymond Tim Kee.

“I think the match comes at a really good time and will be a fantastic opportunity for our current national senior team to experience playing such a game just mere days before the start of the World Cup and in the country where all the action will be taking place. I am excited by this and it will allow our country’s national flag to be flown in Brazil which is always a very proud moment.

“This game will hopefully go a long way in helping prepare our players for our upcoming Caribbean Cup campaign later this year and for our 2018 Russia World Cup campaign,” Tim Kee added.

Tim Kee expressed gratitude towards Sport Minister Anil Roberts, the Ministry of Sports and Sportt for their ongoing support to the Senior team and other TTFA-related matters such as the other national teams and development programs.

Iran is currently the number one ranked team in Asia and 34th on the FIFA World rankings. This will be their fourth World Cup appearance, having qualified for the 1978, 1998 and 2006 Finals.

Iran will compete in Group F alongside Argentina, Nigeria, and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Along with the warm up game against T&T, Iran will also Belarus on May 18th, and Montenegro on May 26th.

-END-

Warriors to oppose Iran
T&T Newsday

click on pic to zoom in

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago football team, dubbed “the Soca Warriors”, will be heading to Brazil, not to compete in this year’s FIFA World Cup but to face Iran in a friendly international at Sao Paolo on June 8.

The game will take place at the Arena Corinthians, Sao Paulo (scheduled to be completed by April 15), which will be hosting the World Cup Group A opening match between hosts Brazil and Croatia (on June 12).

The Stephen Hart-coached TT outfit will only have four days to prepare for their matchup against Iran, as they are carded to face hosts Argentina in a friendly meeting on June 4 in La Plata.

According to a media release from the TT Football Association (TTFA), this game arose after initial discussions between the local governing body, an international match agent and Iran coach Carlos Queiroz (the former Portugal, United Arab Emirates, South Africa and Real Madrid tactician and Manchester United assistant).

“This is another massive game for our national team,” said TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee.

“I think the match comes at a really good time and will be a fantastic opportunity for our current national senior team to experience playing such a game just mere days before the start of the World Cup and in the country where all the action will be taking place. I am excited by this and it will allow our country’s national flag to be flown in Brazil which is always a very proud moment.

“This game will hopefully go a long way in helping prepare our players for our upcoming Caribbean Cup campaign later this year and for our 2018 Russia World Cup campaign,” Tim Kee added.

Tim Kee also continued his expression of gratitude towards Sport Minister Anil Roberts, the Ministry of Sport and the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago (SPORTT) for their ongoing support to the various national teams and the TTFA development programmes.

Iran to play soccer friendly with Trinidad and Tobago
ShanghaiDaily.com

TEHRAN, Feb. 2 (Xinhua) -- Iran will play Trinidad and Tobago in a soccer friendly to warm up for the 2014 World Cup, Tehran Times daily reported on Sunday.

Carlos Queiroz's team will play the international soccer friendly on June 8 in Sao Paolo, Brazil just before the start of the FIFA World Cup.

"This is another massive game for our national team. I think the match comes at a really good time and will be a fantastic opportunity for our current national team to experience playing such a game mere days before the start of the World Cup and in the country where all the action will be taking place," said president of Trinidad and Tobago Football Association Raymond Tim Kee.

Iran is also scheduled to play friendlies against Guinea on March 5, Belarus on May 18 and Montenegro on May 26, according to the report.

Iran has been drawn in Group F of the 2014 World Cup along with Nigeria, Argentina and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Iran will face Nigeria on June 16 in Curitiba's Arena da Baixada.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 07:02:51 AM by Tiresais »

« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2014, 11:39:01 AM »
Steups I will be in Sao Paulo on the 9th  >:(  :cursing:

« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2014, 11:41:52 AM »

$100 change fee

« Reply #15 on: January 29, 2014, 11:43:21 AM »

$100 change fee

This. Totally jealous if you get to go :(

« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2014, 09:41:19 AM »
Charlton just bought an Iranian striker, so you'll get to see our striker play against T&T :)

edit: Added another news article
« Last Edit: February 07, 2014, 07:03:23 AM by Tiresais »

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2014, 05:01:24 PM »
A lil opposition research for SH ...  ;)

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lIIgzsEJmwk&amp;list=UUfSmih7jbHe1batrHr7i5bw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lIIgzsEJmwk&amp;list=UUfSmih7jbHe1batrHr7i5bw</a>
Iran v South Korea

Nine (9) starters from this game appear on Queiroz's current provisional roster:

Goalkeeper:  Ahmadi

Defence: Heidari (#2); Hosseini (#4); Montazeri (#15); Sadeghi (#7); Beikzadeh (#19)

Midfield: Nekounam (#6); Teymourian (#14)

@ Forward: Masoud Shojaei (#7) 

NB: I haven't viewed the complete game yet  ... the players are categorized according to the positions in the media release announcing the 28-man provisional squad.

Queiroz's favoured formation: 4-3-3
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 05:02:07 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2014, 05:09:49 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/bSoIt0Yq0HI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/bSoIt0Yq0HI</a>
Iran (in white) v Lebanon

« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2014, 05:38:33 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/PXYFha71fxw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/PXYFha71fxw</a>
Iran v Qatar

Queiroz was serving a suspension for this game. His assistant Manuel Vingada was on the sidelines. Queiroz was in the stands.

Players in common:

Ahmadi
Heidari
Hosseini
Sadeghi
Nekounam
Shojaei
Teymourian
Montazeri
Beikzadeh

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Argentina Game (4-Jun-2014)
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2014, 10:32:42 AM »
Havent seen a thread for the Iran game, so I will post here, its intriguing that we will come up against the coach who was on a shortlist for our TD job...
the reports back then were that both Pfister and Quiroz were in the runnings, then Quiroz took the Iran job as Pfister got T&T.
Just another confirmation of what money can buy you.

Pfister was on $50,000 USD a month, and that got us knocked the fack out by Guyana.
Iran paid Quieroz $$166,666.66 USD a month, and that got them to top their group with South Korea and qualify directly.

Until we get our house in order financially, we will always be in a  mode of hopefulness rather than expectancy. Plain and simple.

And sometimes we wonder why our players look so unfit in international games...

Re: Re: Thread for the T&T vs Argentina Game (4-Jun-2014)
« Reply #21 on: May 29, 2014, 11:39:03 AM »
The Iran thread. I will make a comment in response to your comments ... on that thread.

« Reply #22 on: May 29, 2014, 11:45:35 AM »
 Jomal Williams & alvin jones of w connection   are training with the squad ... :beermug:
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/zBQdXmVelZg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/zBQdXmVelZg</a>
« Last Edit: May 29, 2014, 11:49:03 AM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #23 on: May 29, 2014, 12:15:13 PM »
Havent seen a thread for the Iran game, so I will post here, its intriguing that we will come up against the coach who was on a shortlist for our TD job...
the reports back then were that both Pfister and Quiroz were in the runnings, then Quiroz took the Iran job as Pfister got T&T.

Pfister was on $50,000 USD a month, and that got us knocked the fack out by Guyana.
Iran paid Quieroz $$166,666.66 USD a month, and that got them to top their group with South Korea and qualify directly.

Until we get our house in order financially, we will always be in a  mode of hopefulness rather than expectancy. Plain and simple.

We have to be very careful regarding how we approach the balance between affordable compensation, merited compensation, sustainable compensation and deliverable value on compensation. 

As you likely appreciate, no level of compensation is guaranteed to yield a successful outcome. Even so, how formulaic is it that football is an arena in which one gets what one pays for?

Certain variables seem to render WC qualification more likely than unlikely, and I dare say that we might be attaching too much investment in the notion that compensation is definitively a controlling variable in that outcome. Other human resource and infrastructural variables must precede investment in compensation under any analysis.

I think the issue you raise is not a simplistic issue, and it strikes me as a compelling area for inquiry mapped out with data.

However, we have to apply very critical thought to the notion of escalating compensation. In the context of our national landscape (even assuming we had the deepest of pockets), my position is that there's a problematic that must be sensitive to our social reality.

You make the contrast between Pfister and Queiroz ... there are other coaches who have failed and yet received hefty compensation. What's the post-mortem then?

How much has Pfister's previous successes cost? Please consider that the heir apparent situation at Man U would probably never have materialized had Queiroz stayed there. In my view, he's a brand name coach because of the clubs with which he's been associated (and this drives his "value") but he has in fact never really delivered at the international level. On the record, Pfister, although less glamorous, can probably stake a better claim. For less.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2014, 12:22:04 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #24 on: May 29, 2014, 12:21:32 PM »

We have to be very careful regarding how we approach the balance between affordable compensation, merited compensation, sustainable compensation and deliverable value on compensation. 

As you likely appreciate, no level of compensation is guaranteed to yield a successful outcome. Even so, how formulaic is it that football is an arena in which one gets what one pays for?

Certain variables seem to render WC qualification more likely than unlikely, and I dare say that we might be attaching too much investment in the notion that compensation is definitively a controlling variable in that outcome. Other human resource and infrastructural variables must precede investment in compensation under any analysis.

I think the issue you raise is not a simplistic issue, and it strikes me as a compelling area for inquiry mapped out with data.

However, we have to apply very critical thought to the notion of escalating compensation. In the context of our national landscape (even assuming we had the deepest of pockets), my position is that there's a problematic that must be sensitive to our social reality.

You make the contrast between Pfister and Queiroz ... there are other coaches who have failed and yet received hefty compensation. What's the post-mortem then?

How much has Pfister's previous successes cost? Please consider that the heir apparent situation at Man U would probably never have materialized had Queiroz stayed there. In my view, he's a brand name coach because of the clubs with which he's been associated (and this drives his "value") but he has in fact never really delivered at the international level. On the record, Pfister, although less glamorous, can probably stake a better claim.

good talk, good post..  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: May 29, 2014, 12:23:42 PM »

hart will do just as good a job with an advisor like beenhakker at his side for much less... :beermug:

« Reply #26 on: May 29, 2014, 01:36:49 PM »

I have a different view concerning why our players look so unfit in international games ...it is in the second half of games that this is most noticeable...that being so after our teams spend most of the first half running behind the ball and/or chasing after opponents who can keep possession for long periods. When we do get the ball we dont seem to be able to keep possession for very long and often give up possession within two passes. Now no coach can get us fit enough unless we address the problem of lack of the ability as a team to keep possession of the ball.

« Reply #27 on: May 29, 2014, 01:39:45 PM »
I also agree that from what Hart has been able to accomplish so far that he is in for the long haul. It is amazing how he has transformed the same players into a much better unit. Players are actually playing better for T&T than their club teams this time around which was not the case in most instances before he arrived. Beenie was able to achieve the same thing ......

« Reply #28 on: May 29, 2014, 04:00:31 PM »

Even if TT had picked Quieroz, it may not have made a difference. Jack had Otto played one warm up game against Indian. The entire preparation for the WC was shoddy. Jack hand-tie the man with his political baggage. We should have had a rigorous preparation. We had the players. Our players lacked confidence. We lost the WC in Bermuda not GT. We should have won that game, and could have won it.

« Reply #29 on: May 29, 2014, 06:30:28 PM »
Jomal Williams & alvin jones of w connection   are training with the squad ... :beermug:
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/zBQdXmVelZg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/zBQdXmVelZg</a>

I didn't make them out, what numbers?

Good job Hartie..

And if all de seats eh sell on de plane, take them on de trip, even if them eh play.

Good additions.

:applause: