March 28, 2024, 07:16:22 AM

Author Topic: Opening Trinis  (Read 3104 times)

Opening Trinis
« on: February 19, 2014, 03:57:32 PM »
How many Trinidadians have opened the batting for the WI in a Test match.

NOT TALL MAN!!!

Re: Opening Trinis
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 10:12:21 PM »
How many Trinidadians have opened the batting for the WI in a Test match.

NOT TALL MAN!!!

Borath, ah seem to recall BCL opening one time, wuld have to do research to fig out others

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 11:17:13 AM »
Hint 1...................there are 11 such batsmen.

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2014, 01:31:15 AM »
 A. Gantuame
J Carew
B Davis
B Julien
S Ragoonaught
A Barath
R Gabriel
P Simmons
V Stollmeyer
D Haynes
G Greenidge

Stollmeyer I ent sure Haynes and Greenidge ah make them honorary Trinis

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2014, 02:17:39 AM »
A. Gantuame
J Carew
B Davis
B Julien
S Ragoonaught
A Barath
R Gabriel
P Simmons
V Stollmeyer
D Haynes
G Greenidge

I am unaware of Julien openıng an inning for the WI in a Test match. Prove it.

Haynes and Grennide were Bajans not Trini.
V Stollmeyer played one test and didn't open.
Gabriel never played Test cricket.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2014, 08:28:25 AM »
A. Gantuame
J Carew
B Davis
B Julien
S Ragoonaught
A Barath
R Gabriel
P Simmons
V Stollmeyer
D Haynes
G Greenidge

I am unaware of Julien openıng an inning for the WI in a Test match. Prove it.

Haynes and Grennide were Bajans not Trini.
V Stollmeyer played one test and didn't open.
Gabriel never played Test cricket.

A. Gantuame
J Carew
B Davis
B Julien ( opened twice...once against Aus in the 75/76 away series...not sure about the other)
S Ragoonaught
A Barath
Lendl Simmons
P Simmons
D. Ganga
D. Ramdin
B. Lara
D. Murray
« Last Edit: February 23, 2014, 08:32:21 AM by Michael-j »

« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2014, 02:35:26 PM »
Michael J, you right about Julien, second TEst 1976 tour of Aus.

Please prove your point about DR, Murray and Lara.

In addition you have three more names to go. (This is a slightly trick question).

« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2014, 03:37:38 PM »

In addition you have three more names to go. (This is a slightly trick question).

Correction, only two more names to go. I thought R Holder (born in TT) was an opening bat for the WI. Looked like I was wrong.

« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2014, 10:03:04 PM »

Correction, only two more names to go. I thought R Holder (born in TT) was an opening bat for the WI. Looked like I was wrong.

I have four names on my list that I eh see mention yet.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2014, 04:07:08 AM »

D. Murray. ( A total of 5 innings as an opener....eg: 1972/73 home series against AUS @ QPO)
D. Ramdin   (Opened just once.   2007/08 away series against S. Africa . 2nd test, 2nd innings @ Newlands)
B. Lara      (Opened 2 innings. 1994/95 away series against India. 3rd test, 2nd innings @ Mohali....not sure about the other)

I give up on the others. Over to Tallman  now...

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2014, 06:39:18 AM »
I'll give it another go....

Dwayne Bravo   (1 innings. 2007/2008 home series against Sri Lanka. 1st test, 2nd innings @ Providence.)

L. Constantine  (1 innings. 1930/31 away series against Aus. 4th test, 2nd innings @ MCG)

And how did I forget this one.....Jeffery Stollmeyer.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2014, 06:48:55 AM by Michael-j »

« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2014, 07:43:34 AM »

This is de list I had:

Nyron Asgarali
Adrian Barath
Bryan Davis
Joey Carew
Hammond Furlonge
Daren Ganga
Andy Ganteaume
Lendl Simmons
Phil Simmons
Suruj Ragoonath
Clifford Roach
Jeffrey Stollmeyer

« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2014, 03:48:00 PM »

This is de list I had:

Nyron Asgarali
Adrian Barath
Bryan Davis
Joey Carew
Hammond Furlonge
Daren Ganga
Andy Ganteaume
Lendl Simmons
Phil Simmons
Suruj Ragoonath
Clifford Roach
Jeffrey Stollmeyer

Congrats TM,

I never heard of this flippin Furlonge in my life.
And thanks to Michael J for the additional trivia.

« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2014, 05:27:15 PM »
Never heard of that Furlonge either. Just goes to show, you don't know everything about TT.