April 28, 2024, 01:34:31 PM

Author Topic: W Connection Weekly Spotlight - Players/Coaches/Management  (Read 3023 times)

Offline soccerrama

W Connection Weekly Spotlight - Players/Coaches/Management
« on: February 25, 2014, 09:35:23 AM »
W SPOTLIGHT: DANEIL CYRUS

Name: Daneil Cyrus

Nationality: Tobagonian (Trinidad & Tobago)

Birth Date: December 15

Title/Position: Defender/Stopper

Player Number: 4

Years with WCFC: 2012-present

1.  Who is your favourite local footballer of all time?
Dennis Lawrence.

2.  Who is your favourite international footballer of all time?
Yaya Touré from Manchester City.

3.  What are your favourite sports beside football?
Cricket.

4.  How did you get started in organized football?
I started playing football in Tobago with local team Stokely Vale. From there I made it on to the Under 15 National Team and later on the Senior National Team.

5.  What do you like about W Connection?
It is a serious club and provides a professional atmosphere in order to prepare you for the professional football world.

6.  What advice would you give to a young player who wants to become a professional footballer?
Hard work brings success. You have to be on football 24/7 and let absolutely nothing prevent you from achieving your goals.

7.  What have been your greatest achievements as a player?
Qualifying for the Under 17 World Cup in the game against Jamaica.

8.  Do you have any game day rituals?
 Before the game I hang out with my teammates at camp and in the dressing room. After Coach gives the team talk I go to a quiet spot and rest for 20 mins in order to focus on the game.

9.  What do you hope to achieve this season?
I hope to win the League seeing that I never won it. I also hope to win as many trophies as possible and to receive an overseas contract. 

10.  What do you enjoy doing in your free time?
Hanging out with friends and my teammates.

11.  What is your favourite music genre and who are your favourite music artists?
Dancehall and Vybz Kartel.

12.  Name one place you would like to visit if given the opportunity.
Spain.

13.  What are your favourite foods/meals?
Saltfish and dumpling.

14.  What are your favourite movies/TV Shows?
Goal.

15.  Give one word to describe yourself as a person.
Humble.

16.  What are your pet peeves?
Lying and people making a fool of me.

« Last Edit: March 03, 2014, 07:48:28 AM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

Re: W Connection Weekly Spotlight - Players
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2014, 09:37:06 AM »
Name: Silvio Spann

Nationality: Trinidadian (Trinidad & Tobago)

Birth Date: August 21st

Title/Position: Midfielder

Player Number: 7

Years with WCFC: 1999-present

Russell Latapy.

Xavi from FC Barcelona.

Basketball and Cricket.

I got started in football through my dad Leroy Spann.

I like the club's professional approach to football and the fact that we are a family oriented club.

6.  What advice would you give to a young player who wants to become a professional footballer?
I would say to that person to be a professional footballer you have to be prepared to make a lot of sacrifices to get where you want to be.

The one that stands out the most would be qualifying for the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

Well on game days I always find time to do some reflecting.

This season I am aiming to play more than 12 league games with more than 10 goals overall.

Spending time with my wife and kids.

11.  What is your favourite music genre and who are your favourite music artists?
I like different genres once the words of the songs are positive and have a good beat. My favourite artists include Positive, Jah Cure and Israel Houghton.

Jerusalem.

Roti, pelau, calallo, stew chicken and coleslaw.

Fast & Furious 1-6; Transformers 1-3; Martin (TV show); King of Queens (TV show).

Positive.

Disrespecful and negative people.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2014, 09:39:04 AM »
Name: Gerard Williams

Nationality: Kittitian (St. Kitts & Nevis)

Birth Date: June 4th

Title/Position: Captain/Defensive Midfielder

Player Number: 3

Years with WCFC: 2007-present

Eligah Joseph (St. Lucia), George Isaac (St. Kitts) and my father Gerard Williams Snr. who played for the St. Kitts National Team.

Steven Gerrard from Liverpool FC.

Cricket.

I started playing football in Primary School and then made it on the St. Kitts' National Team. From there I got the opportunity to come to W Connection.

At W Connection we not only learn how to play football but Coach takes the time to teach us everything about the game.

You have to be dedicated to the game and you need to be serious because football is pain & joy.

Winning the League for the first time in 2011/2012.

Before the game I find a space by myself in the dressing room where I focus on the game, my role & functions.

I would like to win the League as Captain and I would also like to receive Player of the Year for both the Club & League.

Spending time with my family and watching movies.

Reggae and Sizzla.

Spain.

Fish broth. 

Lion King 1-3.

Tenacious.

People being racial as we are all members of the human race.

17.  What do you miss about your homeland?
My family and friends.

18.  What do you like about Trinidad & Tobago?
To me Trinidad is now home so everything.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2014, 09:40:29 AM »
Name: Joevin Jones

Birth Date: August 3rd

Title/Position: Defender/Midfielder

Player Number: 10

Years with WCFC: 2009-present

Kevin Molino.

Cristiano Ronaldo from Real Madrid FC.

Cricket.

I have been involved in football from a young age. As a young boy I would be in the Savannah playing and then I started Ron La Forest’s Football Coaching School. From there I played on Defence Force's youth team and Mucarapo Secondary School's football team. Finally I ended up here at W Connection FC.

I like that the club is firstly a professional club and it is also very organized. I also like that the club helps in furthering the professional careers of players.

Sacrifice, always have your head on and work hard to achieve your goals.

Scoring 20 goals last season and winning two trophies.

Well usually I am jovial but when we get into the tunnel I get serious and start focusing on the game.

This season I hope to score more than the 20 goals that I scored last season, win the League, win more trophies and acquire an overseas contract. 

Spending time with my family and friends.

Soca and Machel Montano.

France.

Crab and dumpling.

Tears of the Sun and all the Rambo movies.

Happy.

Disrespecful people.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2014, 09:42:14 AM »
W Connection FC Player Listing 1999-2014

Please note that this listing comprises only of players who were members of the W Connection Senior team

The following is a list of players who have passed through the W Connection FC organization through the years 1999-2014. The list is arranged in alphabetical order of last names (surnames). Next to the names you will see players' countries of origin. Players' names in bold represent those who are presently associated with W Connection FC Senior squad. #WCFC #15Years #WHistory #TTFootball #Celebration

A
Abbott, Vernus - ST. LUCIA
Agripino, Fabiano Marco - BRAZIL
Alexander, Kellon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Almas, Christian - BRAZIL
Andrade, Rafel Goncalves Assuscas de - BRAZIL
Andrews, Lyndon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Aquillera, Romauld - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Arambru, Ander -
Araujo, Renato Lucas Leite Ferreira de - BRAZIL
Archibald, Julani - ST. KITTS & NEVIS
Arcia, Hashim - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Arias, Eder Gilmar - COLOMBIA
Ayres, Jamal - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

B
Bangura, Alusine - SIERRA LEONE
Bartholomew, Matthew - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Bass, Bevon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Beckles, Kerwin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Belfon, Addison - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Belgrave, Collin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Benjamin, Akeem - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Benjamin Jr, Neil - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Benjamin, Tousha - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Borde, Marc - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Britto, Jerrel - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Britto, Rennie - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Brown, Anton - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

C
Calderon, Shane - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Campbell, Aaquil - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Carreto, Luciano Rodrigues - BRAZIL
Carrington, Reynold - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Celestine, Michael - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Charles, David Atiba - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Charles, Errol - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Charles, Damien - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Clarence, Jamal Juma - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Clarke, Anthony - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Clement, Kevon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Conteh, Abdulah - SIERRA LEONE
Cudjoe, Jason - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Cummings, Kerron - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Cupid, Kern - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Cupid, Kyle - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Cyrus, Daneil - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

D
DaCosta, Douglas - BRAZIL
DaCosta, Murilo - BRAZIL
Daniel, Ishmael - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Davis, Kendell - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Da Silva, Danilo Augusto - BRAZIL
Da Silva, Emerson - BRAZIL
Da Silva, Jose - BRAZIL
Delia, Mirko - ITALY
DeLeon, Brenton - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Delice, Samuel - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
De Oliveria, Ricardo Severino - BRAZIL
De Oliveria, William - BRAZIL
De Souza, Jose Luiz - BRAZIL
Diaz, Stanley Jose Carlos - USA
Diaz, Camilo Ortega Andres - COLOMBIA
Diaz, Lyndon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Dos Santos, Felinto - BRAZIL
Dos Santos, Paulo Roberto - BRAZIL
Dos Santos, Waldini Andre - BRAZIL
Downing, Aaron - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Drayton, Devon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Dwarika, Arnold - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

E
Elliot, Devaughn - ST. KITTS & NEVIS
Ellis, Dwayne - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Ellis, Kegan - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Elva, Titus - ST. LUCIA

F
Figueroa, Alejandro - COLOMBIA
Fitzpatrick, Leslie - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Fletcher, Rawle (Deceased) - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Frederick, Kurt - ST. LUCIA
Frederick, Ryan - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Frias, Jonathan - DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

G
George, Jefferson - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Gomez, Milton - COLOMBIA
Gordon, Mickaeel Jem - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Goulart, Gefferson DaSilvia - BRAZIL
Granger, Curtis - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Grovsenor, Jelani - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Guadagnucci, Eduardo - BRAZIL

H
Harvey, Christopher - JAMAICA
Hector, Hughtun - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Hue, Jermaine - JAMAICA
Hunte, Ronnie - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Hutchinson, Colvin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

I
Isaac, George - ST. KITTS & NEVIS

J
Jack, Kelvin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
James, Brian - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
James, Rolston (Deceased) - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Jean, Earl - ST. LUCIA
Jermott, Kerwin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Jerome, Randolph - GUYANA
John, Jamal - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
John, Wesley - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Johnson, Jerron - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Jones, Alvin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Jones, Joevin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Jordao Jr, Joao Ananias - BRAZIL
Joseph, Eligah - ST. LUCIA
Joseph, Velencius - ST. LUCIA
Julien, Sherwin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

K
King, Derek - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

L
La Reservee, Hugo - SOUTH AFRICA
Lastic, Francis - ST. LUCIA
Lee Yaw, Jerome - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Leon, Clyde - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Lewis, Anderson - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Lewis, Bevon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Lewis, Leonson - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Lloyd, Miguel - DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
Lopez, Yhon Stiven Reyes - COLOMBIA
Lozano, Yefer Stevn Rubiano - COLOMBIA

M
Manoel, Jose Maria - BRAZIL
Mansano, Joao Guilherme - BRAZIL
Marcano, Jason - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Marchan, Andre - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Marcussi, Henrique - BRAZIL
Mark, Sheldon - ST. LUCIA
Marshall, Anthony - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Mason, Stokley - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
McKnight, Teba - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
McVane, Jonathan - ST. LUCIA
Mendez, Jason - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Michel, Gabriel - HAITI
Mitchell, Devon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Modeste, Kelvin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Morris, Don - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Mulraine, Travis - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

N
Narvarro, Keryn - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Nelson, Kelvin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Neto, Acacio Jose Dos Santos - BRAZIL
Neto, Francisco - BRAZIL
Noray, Andell - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

O

P
Pacheco, Andrei - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Paul, Tremain Shayn - ST. LUCIA
Parris, Anthony - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Peltier, Johan - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Periera Jr, Renato Rodrigues - BRAZIL
Phillip, Marvin - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Pierre, Zaine - ST. LUCIA
Pollard, Charles - GUYANA
Prosper, Peter - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Q
Quashie, Andre - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Quow, Keon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

R
Regis, Rene - ST. LUCIA
Richards, Damani - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Rijssel, Stefano - SURINAME
Rique, Addae - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Rivers, Kemuel - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Roach, Akeem - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Russell, Leslie Joel - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

S
Samaroo, Vijay - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Santana, Paulo Roberto - BRAZIL
Santos, Celio Guilherme da silva - BRAZIL
Santos, Igor - BRAZIL
Sato, Luciano Hikiu - BRAZIL
Scarlett, Robert - JAMAICA
Scotland, Kurt - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Scott, Dwight - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Seabra Jr, Jose Luiz - BRAZIL
Smith, Isiah - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Smith, Kerron - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Spann, Silvio - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Stanley, Iyiaka Okechukyu - NIGERIA
Stewart, Shaquille - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Suite, Jason - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Sylvester, Aquelius - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

T
Telsuma, Chrismonor - HAITI
Thomas, Nickcolson - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Thomas, Husani - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Thompson, Oneil - JAMAICA
Trojano, Oscar - COLOMBIA
Toussaint, Andre - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

U

V
Viana, Ronaldo Aporicido - BRAZIL
Vieira, Luciano Jose - BRAZIL
Viveros, Christian Felipe Ocoro - COLOMBIA

W
Walters, Benner - ST. LUCIA
Webb, Wesley - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Whitley, Aurtis - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Gerard - ST. KITTS & NEVIS
Williams, Ian - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Jan Michael - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Jeromie - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Jomal - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Keith - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Kenaz - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Mekeil - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Williams, Pernal - ST. LUCIA
Winchester, Shahdon -TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Woodley, Kevon - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Wolfe, Glenton - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Woo Ling, Matthew - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Wright, Charlie - SIERRA LEONE

X
Xavier, Alvin - ST. LUCIA

Y

Z
Zanette, Diego Fernando -

« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 12:39:53 PM by soccerrama »

« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2014, 12:08:42 PM »
Good stuff. Good thread. Gracias.

« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2014, 02:11:32 PM »
Good stuff :)

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2014, 03:50:39 PM »
Some photos taken from DirecTV WConnection Facebook page
A walk down memory lane

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2014, 04:02:49 PM »
Photos from DirecTV WConnection 15th Anniversary Mass

« Last Edit: February 25, 2014, 04:44:12 PM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

Re: W Connection Weekly Spotlight - Players/Coaches/Management
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2014, 07:50:55 AM »
W PRESS RELEASE
March 3, 2014 at 9:23am
More exciting news for the W Connection family!

We would like to extend congratulations to our President and CEO Mr. David John-Williams who has been appointed to the Caribbean Professional League Task Force. This task force has been set up to examine the feasibility and sustainability of a future Caribbean Professional League. The inaugural meeting will be held in Los Angeles, California later this month.

CARIBBEAN PROFESSIONAL LEAGUE TASK FORCE

CHAIRMAN

Dr. Yves Jean-Bart
President, Haitian Football Federation 

MEMBERS

Dr. The Right Honourable Keith Mitchell
Prime Minister of Grenada 

The Right Honourable Edward Seaga, ON, PC
Former Prime Minister of Jamaica and Chairman of the Jamaican National Premier League 

Mr. Damien Hughes
General Secretary, Caribbean Football Union

Mr. Simon Firth
Partner, Maples and Calder, Cayman Islands

Mr. Don Garber
Commissioner, Major League Soccer

Mr. David John Williams
Owner/President, W Connection Football Club, Trinidad and Tobago 

Mr. Decio de Maria
President, Liga MX

Mr. Randy Harris
President Barbados Football Association

Mr. James Johnson
Senior Manager Member Associations, FIFA

Mr. Shaka Hislop
Football Commentator and Former Trinidad & Tobago National Team Captain   

SPECIAL ADVISORS

The Premier League

Mr. Jefferson Slack
Senior Vice President, Global Business Development, IMG

Mr. Kieran Foley
Group Head Marketing, Digicel

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2014, 04:55:22 PM »
Name: Kurt Frederick

Nationality: St. Lucian

Birth Date: April 27th

Title/Position: Defender

Player Number: 2

Years with WCFC: 2010-present

Valencius Joseph (St. Lucia).

Éric Abidal from AS Monaco FC.

Basketball.

I started off playing basketball but after watching my father and brother playing football I decided to give it a try. I ended up liking it and played at Primary School, made it on the U15 National Team (St. Lucia), the Senior National Team (St. Lucia) and finally here at W Connection FC.

The club has very good rules. I also like the way that Coach talks to us and treats us. I never had a Coach talk to me about football like he does. Also the way Presi (the President) deals with us.

I would simply teach them everything that I know about the game.

Coming to Trinidad to play professional football. It has always been my dream to play professionally.

On game days I usually stay in my room and listen to music.

I hope to win the League, the Pro Bowl, Lucozade Goal Shield and qualify for Concacaf Championship.

Relaxing and liming with my girlfriend.

Reggae and Soca. My favourite artistes would be Bob Marley and Bunji Garlin.

Brazil.

Ground provisions. 

Karate.

Peaceful.

Noise.

My family.

I enjoy going tot the rivers and Maracas Beach.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2014, 04:57:05 PM »
Name: Mekeil Williams

Birth Date: July 24th

Title/Position: Defender

Player Number: 15

Years with WCFC: 2011-present

Russell Latapy.

Thiago Silva from Paris Saint-Germain.

Basketball.

My father started me off at St. Francois U10 team. From there I went on to Trendsetter Hawks, Jabloteh U14, St. Anthony’s College, Ma Pau and now W Connection FC.

The professionalism of the club and the environment provided. The manner in which things are done and the treatment of players also.

Always work hard, believe in yourself, show confidence, don’t give up, be true and dedicated to the game.

Going to the U20 World Cup in 2009, my debut for the Senior National Team and playing in Poland & Denmark.

I sit down in a quiet place and just picture myself playing the game.

Hoping to win the League and qualify for Concacaf Championship.

Going to Carenage to spend time with my teammates Joevin, Alvin and Cyrus.

Dancehall and Rap. Mavado and Vybz Kartel for Dancehall and Drake for Rap.

Argentina.

Dumpling and saltfish

Shottas. 

Easy-going.

Crime (senesless killings).

« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 04:58:46 PM by soccerrama »

« Reply #12 on: March 17, 2014, 05:04:41 PM »
No Soca!!!! How he go be on my team?

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2014, 04:14:34 AM »
Deeks, it show de kinda kids we have in T&T now.

Vybz Kartel is a f00cking criminal.

No wonder our country in a mess.

No love for we own.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2014, 11:05:17 AM »
Name: Christian Viveros

Nationality: Colombian

Birth Date: November 16th

Title/Position: Defender/Midfielder

Player Number: 25

Years with WCFC: 2006-present

Eligah Joseph and Earl Jean (St. Lucia).

Ronaldinho from Clube Atlético Mineiro and Xavi from FC Barcelona.

Basketball.

I started playing football at school and then with a club in my hometown. Then I came to Trinidad to play with W Connection FC.

The club is organized and professional.

Train hard, work hard, be disciplined, stay focused and show respect.

Scoring against Pumas in Mexico during the Concacaf Championship game.

Try to be focused, listen to some music and to what Coach says.

I hope to win the League and the remaining cups.

Watch movies and go to the mall.

Salsa, Reggae and Hip Hop.

England or Italy.

Macaroni pie and chicken. 

Fast & Furious.

Friendly.

People who lie.

My family and friends mostly.

The people.

« Last Edit: April 05, 2014, 11:09:44 AM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #15 on: April 05, 2014, 11:11:35 AM »
Name: Jerrel Britto

Birth Date: July 4th

Title/Position: Forward

Player Number: 12

Years with WCFC: 2011-present

Dwight Yorke.

Wayne Rooney from Manchester United.

Cricket.

I started off at Coaching School and from there I played with Queens Royal College as well as Jabloteh. I also played on the U15, U16, U17, U20 and U23 National Teams.

Mainly the organisation of the club and how it is ran by the owners.

Work hard and train hard.

Winning the 2011/2012 Pro League title with WConnection.

I sometimes watch my sister's dance videos for inspiration.

I would like to win the League, obtain an overseas trial and sign a contract.

Play video games and spend time with my family.

Gospel and my favourite artist would be Deitrick Haddon.

France.

Lasagna.

Scarface for favourite movie and Family Guy for favourite TV show. 

Funny.

Persons who carry themselves in a disrespectful manner.

« Last Edit: April 05, 2014, 12:17:32 PM by soccerrama »

« Reply #16 on: April 05, 2014, 11:27:36 AM »
Thanks again for the interviews :)

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #17 on: May 20, 2014, 02:31:43 PM »