I still think Glenn is a dunce as a player but I cyah deny his pace...its actually frigtening.....back in the day I'd also put Leonson Lewis up there as well as Marc Overmars...and Andrei kanchelskis but I think nuff men forget about a younger Giggs .......who coulda deal with Giggs in his prime?
big man yuh more than entitled to yuh opinion..but if yuh doh mind..list a couple reasons for the statement yuh make when yuh say"I still think Glenn dunce as a player".
Basically he plays with his head down alot and he doesnt raise his head as a player to see where the support is or the space his runs are predictable and basically if you took his pace away his shortcomings as a player would be highlighted he hugs the ball alot and he doesnt show variety as a striker like dropping off for the ball then going in space and such.....it's no coincidence that he has been changing teams he every season he speed does attract yuh but his team play and attitude reveals the kind of player he really is ...but at the end of the day his pace is still frigtening........and if he comes up against a defender who can match him for pace ala ashley cole what then
"Basically he plays with his head down alot and he doesnt raise his head as a player to see where the support is or the space his runs are predictable and basically if you took his pace away his shortcomings as a player would be highlighted he hugs the ball alot and he doesnt show variety as a striker like dropping off for the ball then going in space and such....." metrostars game report May 12, 2004:
Glen's game-tying goal earned the MetroStars a tie as the visitors overcame a two-goal deficit late in the match. In the 90th minute midfielder Eddie Gaven curled in an early cross from the right, finding Glen cutting sharply at the near post. The Trinidadian left Onstad helpless to make the stop as he stepped over the incoming ball, flicking it inside the near post with the inside of his trailing foot.
"I was calling Eddie for the ball and I knew I just had to get a touch on it," Glenn said after the game. "I am not sure why I back-heeled it, but it was just instinct."
quoted from metrostars game report May 22,2004
cornell glen on his goal:
"My finishing was poor this week in training, so when Lisi played me the ball I just told myself to keep it simple and just hit it with the inside of my foot. I was just concentrating on getting the team the goal in any way possible."
quoted from metrostars game report July 13, 2004:
The Metros doubled their lead in the 35th minute with an attack that again originated on the right flank. Cornell Glen played a skillful ball over the top of the defenders that found Galvan Rey alone with Rough Riders' goalkeeper Dan Sirota. Galvan Rey took one touch and ripped a shot that beat Sirota to his right to give the Metros a 2-0 lead .... Two minutes later, the MetroStars almost extended their lead to two goals for the second time in the game, in the 82nd minute. Glen controlled the ball deep within MetroStars territory and in a very skillful run, evaded Rough Rider defenders, until he slid a ball across the 18-yard box to Kenny Arena. Arena controlled the ball, and fired a shot that just missed the frame. This proved to be the last scoring opportunity of the match for either team, and the Metros held on for the 2-1 victory
--
from de game reports i've provided above (
http://metrostars.mlsnet.com) that doesn't sound like a dunce player that hugs de ball, plays wit his head down or constantly makes predictable runs...I remember Bob Bradley(ex Metrostars head coach),Colin Clarke(FC Dallas head coach), Greg Andrulis(ex Columbus Crew head coach) all saying(in their own words) that" it's not just his speed....his ability to unsettle and take on defenders,shoot with or use either foot and read the game is what makes him(Cornell) a quality striker...if yuh have a better resume than any of them coaches..please send it to me ...i would love to see it

.As for yuh comments about 'changing teams every season' for yuh information Cornell had no control over being traded to FC Dallas in 05'...his contract was one of de many things that had to be sacrificed to make de Youri Djorkaeff signing all the more possible( creating salary cap space etc.)..moving on to his time at Dallas...he pick up a ankle injury on March 1,2005 which sideline him for the remainder of de 05' pre-season and de early part of the 05' regular season(therefore he was obviously not able to cement his place in the team's starting line up for that upcoming season)then realising that he(Cornell)wasn't going to be healthy in time for the start of the 05' season..Dallas FC went out an signed Carlos Ruiz...so with him on the way an talks of another striker being signed..it became obvious that his playing minutes at Dallas were gonna be numbered(if any at all)....so doing what he figured was best for him and his carreer he asked for a trade..Columbus one of the many teams that showed interest in him during the off-season made that trade possible...another thing..i also notice in yuh statement yuh talk about 'he attitude and team play does end up showing what kind of player he really is'...I would like to know if and when have you ever been a teamate of Cornell Glen???In closing all i will say is" big man...PLEASE...before yuh open yuh mouth an rinse off a whole set ah outahtiming statements regarding de player in question....do yuh research and if you want any of he game tapes (international or club) so that yuh could witness he transition and growth as player from compre days to present...jus link meh an i will hook yuh up.