April 25, 2024, 07:50:10 AM

Author Topic: Who are some of the sentimentally best players you've seen..  (Read 2304 times)

Who are some of the sentimentally best players you've seen..
« on: March 13, 2008, 06:05:07 PM »
To explain the question, I am giving my answer... Russel Latapy

I am not speaking of the player who gets all the top awards, who is glossing the magazine covers or who is on the back pages of the news every sunday...

I am talking about that player who, when you go to the stadium or watch and TV is undoubtedly the best player on the pitch.. The player who does warm yuh heart just to watch him play..

I would think every country has their Latapy..  Ghana has their Abedi Pele, Egypt has their Hassan, Jamaica has their Boyd..

Which players are sentimentally best for you?

Re: Who are some of the sentimentally best players you've seen..
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2008, 06:16:43 PM »
When ah was ah boy---Zico

Now..nobody ah get too old and cynical

But to be honest every now and then ah does pop in T&T v Sweden on DVD...and STILL I watchin this game on the edge of mih seat, is like mih brain expectin ah different outcome

so soca warriors and Zico

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2008, 07:08:02 PM »
ian rush,karl heinz rumminigge,rossi and ardilles.and without ah doubt MARADONA.

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2008, 08:01:33 PM »

But to be honest every now and then ah does pop in T&T v Sweden on DVD...and STILL I watchin this game on the edge of mih seat, is like mih brain expectin ah different outcome

Thank you Dutty, now that I know that I am not alone I will admit that I does watch that game over and over again.
I does still jump and hold meh head when Glenn hit the bar. BTW I was a big Zico fan too.

« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2008, 08:31:55 PM »
Nov 16 2005 and June 10 2006. Now celebrate dem days like meh bday

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2008, 08:34:49 PM »
Careca and Leonson Lewis

My boyhood heroes and my sentimental favorites

« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2008, 08:35:22 PM »
Socrates, Falco, Junior and everyone on dat team from 86. Ah not goh lie but ah tink football in the 80's and 90's was much more enjoyable tuh watch than the stuff playn out tuh day. Especially the major tournaments. Ruud, Marco, Rijjkard, Diego, Karl Heize, Litbarski, Gerd Muller, Papin, Kempes, Passerella, Shumacher, Tigana, Platini, Kerwyn Ingram, Troy Garcia, my 3 brothers. Those are the players dat deepen my love affair wit football. Ah doh tink any of the players today compared tuh those players from those eras.

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2008, 08:45:12 PM »
 Hutson Charles, rush, Mcgrath and dalglish

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2008, 08:56:35 PM »
Russell Latapy and Rivaldo

still making the number 10 a measure of greatness

« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2008, 08:58:24 PM »
Ian Clauzel, Mario Kempes, Rivaldo, Karl Heinz Rumminigge and the whole damn german team from 1974. Not to mention Russel Latapy for the best  23 minutes of football I ever enjoyed. To this day Germany is still my favourite European team.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2008, 08:59:59 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2008, 10:21:09 PM »
Luis Figo & Rivaldo - probably my favorites of all time.

« Reply #11 on: March 14, 2008, 06:46:36 AM »
Other than TnT players (specifically Hutson Charles and Dexter Francis) it has to be Mark Hughes, favourite player of all time.

« Reply #12 on: March 14, 2008, 07:46:54 AM »
Stern John , Ronaldinho, Luis Figo, Rui Costa, Javier Zanetti, Hagi (Romania), Okocha  and Iván de la Peña 
« Last Edit: March 14, 2008, 07:48:29 AM by Jah Gol »

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2008, 08:21:46 AM »
Cruyff, Ian(bound to score) Rush, Scifo, Plantini
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2008, 08:29:16 AM »
From T&T: Latas, Hutson Charles and Dwarika
International: Karl Heinze Rummeniege, Mario Kempes, Lotha Matheus

« Reply #15 on: March 14, 2008, 08:33:32 AM »
Russell Latapy...raises my pores just thinking of the player...
ah guess thats why i have a "LATAPY 10" tatto on my arm

« Reply #16 on: March 14, 2008, 08:39:22 AM »

Thank you Dutty, now that I know that I am not alone I will admit that I does watch that game over and over again.
I does still jump and hold meh head when Glenn hit the bar. BTW I was a big Zico fan too.

Phew, thank God it's not me alone that does that.

For me it would be
Zidane
Cantona
Ronaldo (the original one)
Zola
Henry

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2008, 08:46:45 AM »
TnT : The marvelous Marvin Faustin (meh first inspiration to be a defender, get de baddest fade and kick ball like Carlos Alberta , Brian Williams (he have heart oui...) Latas... no explanation...

World: Uwe Seeler, Das Kaiser, Lothar Mattheus...

Club: Ryan Giggs, Gary Pallister, Roy Keane, Mark Hughes... Alan Shearer...

Sentimental Gesture: I never score that much, but when I score I does do the Hutson Charles celebration. One of de best goals I personally see. (goal against the US)
« Last Edit: March 14, 2008, 08:53:17 AM by forever trini »