March 28, 2024, 06:29:13 AM

Author Topic: Trivia: Tobago Ballers  (Read 13920 times)

Trivia: Tobago Ballers
« on: November 07, 2005, 12:02:20 PM »
Tallman (or anyone else)

Apart from Dwight, C. Hutch., and Cyd, who are some of the prominent ballers to originate from the sister isle?

Also, what is the maximum number of Tobago ballers to have played on a national team?  WC qualifying or otherwise
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 02:33:55 PM by Tallman »

Re: Trivia: Toabgo Ballers
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2005, 12:12:23 PM »
wasn't Denoon and arab nelson from tobago?
keeper granville

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2005, 12:14:28 PM »
Best footballer for me from Tobago...excludin Dwight but not my much....was

Wendell Moore.  BIG BIG BALLA DAT!  Shoulda play way more than he did for T&T

If is anybody have justifiable cause to complain about being "marginalized" in T&T football is players from Tobago.

« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2005, 12:16:20 PM »
Colvin Hutchinson from the Strike Squad.  Aston Villa were interested in him first, but due to his age they went with Dwight instead.   

He was a big player from Tobago.

« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2005, 12:18:28 PM »
wendell moore was a good one
outside of dwight and well cyd gray of course Hutchinson was baaaad, wrong timing, yorke latapy take all the spotlight.

« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2005, 12:34:07 PM »
wendell moore was a good one
outside of dwight and well cyd gray of course Hutchinson was baaaad, wrong timing, yorke latapy take all the spotlight.

Terry Williams was in the early 80's

« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2005, 12:36:53 PM »

If is anybody have justifiable cause to complain about being "marginalized" in T&T football is players from Tobago.

:rotfl: :rotfl: like ah geh under yuh skin wid da one or wha?? :rotfl:

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2005, 12:42:34 PM »
What about Roy "National" Wright, ah short man with real pase, from ate seventies and early eighties. He played 3rd division ball in Switzerland right up into his late thirties. i think his last club was Winterthur FC.

By the way, it looking like "Time Fuh Germany"

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2005, 12:44:26 PM »

Per Dwight's book, Wendell was his football idol growing up. I played with Wendell in Florida, even with bad knees he was a sick baller. We once beat a side 14 - 1, Wendell scored 10.

« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2005, 12:46:42 PM »
now i have looked at our performances of tobago secondary schools at national level they holding they own. i have seen tobagonians getting there fair share on national youth teams . the 2001 u 17 team had about 5 bagonians in the squad and 3 were starting( we also had d skipper)
tobago football suffers from a skill drain our footballers get schols to american colleges and either never return or lose their love 4 d game.remember otis burris he captained joe public when semi pro now start he was about twenty one of the best sweepers i have seen. they all dissappear
burt fitwilliams made bout 3 appearancesin 2003. crab connection skipper ( warren butler) from bago too he also has some national caps

« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2005, 12:51:49 PM »
Best young footballer I have seen in T&T is Keon Daniel.

« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2005, 12:52:20 PM »

Honestly...yuh did.  But I over dat now.   ;D

« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2005, 12:58:41 PM »
Best young footballer I have seen in T&T is Keon Daniel.
tru dat but he losing he head he hanging with the wrong crowd on d wrong cloud

Offline scooby

« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2005, 01:07:10 PM »
well if you say wendell moore you know foootball and not wearing football diaper. Wendell was a classic never made it big with break in got in England but he had excellant vision as mid feilder, he was a better than David Nakhid, while I am on the case of Mr Nakhid do guys think he was really that good. For me personelly I think was a good professional and took the game serious but compared to others he rarely made a penetrating passes, square passes all day.  What do you think

« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2005, 01:08:10 PM »
Tallman (or anyone else)

Apart from Dwight, C. Hutch., and Cyd, who are some of the prominent ballers to originate from the sister isle?

Also, what is the maximum number of Tobago ballers to have played on a national team?  WC qualifying or otherwise

reposting and editing...some kinda tech prob.

In addtion to the names mentioned...Wendell Moore..John Granville...Richard Goddard, who is presently a GK in Canada...looked very promising for the U-23s in 1999...but seems to have fallen off the map.

« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 05:53:51 PM by vb »

« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2005, 01:15:56 PM »

Honestly...yuh did.  But I over dat now.   ;D

my apologies...lehwe jes focus in de RED for tru!!

Re: Trivia: Tobago Ballers
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2005, 02:47:06 PM »
have to say had some ballers from bago get screwed, why i don't know.

heard keon daniel is the real deal
all yuh might not know this guy i saw a skinny youth form bago play in SC lefty real good player one fo the bestt bago men i ever seen named BERT WILLIAMS-quick as heck strong left foot.  but could use soem pounds.  Now he was good.

Offline royalian

« Reply #17 on: November 07, 2005, 05:31:23 PM »
Warren Butler had potential, was a great striker, even had a trial with English club, Birmingham i think (?), but was too injury prone. playing with crab connection now

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2005, 05:51:34 PM »
 carlton "Squeakie" Hinds  is another player from tobago ..he played a long time ago
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #19 on: November 07, 2005, 06:00:31 PM »
allyuh remember " zico "  manswell.....it have plenty manswell footballers in bago...but zico was seen by an ac milan scout on holiday in bago....the man took zico to milan where he spent like 6 months i think....but it did not work out.....

Offline fivers

« Reply #20 on: November 07, 2005, 06:02:06 PM »
that youth bert williams is now going by fitzwilliams. bertille called him and gave him a run. one of bago best. played for university of newhaven. made all american. he playing pro in canada now

best that i have seen, desides york, wendell, terry williams, shunneal, buckie moses guys,culvin hutchinson

the thing is, i have seen a lot of tallent pass through Tobago, but a lot of the more talented ones never went to high school and therefore did not get the exposure for the national team. Wish we had a coach like Beenie in them times. He has an eye for tallent.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 08:16:02 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #21 on: November 07, 2005, 08:01:18 PM »
i remember Hassel Thom..he was kinda good in U17 or something..also i think a fella who get shot a couple years ago was from Tobago too..was a striker..cant remeber he name though but i think it was close to Ralston?

« Reply #22 on: November 07, 2005, 08:47:06 PM »
Had a Mohammed fella used to play fuh Signal Hill back in de day.  He was bad.

Offline prodigy23

« Reply #23 on: November 07, 2005, 09:05:02 PM »
Rodrick Anothny, he was d under 17 captain in 2001, he used to be on connection pro- team until he broke his leg, dunno if he still plays 4 them though.

« Reply #24 on: November 07, 2005, 09:45:12 PM »
Here is a list of Tobago-born players who have represented T&T at the senior level:
Dwight Yorke, Colvin Hutchinson, Wendell Moore, John Granville, Warren Butler, Dwayne Jack, Cyd Gray, Rolston James, Marvin Raeburn, Hayden Fitzwilliams, Devon Leacock

I'm sure Richard Goddard and bigsnakes could add to de list.

carlton "Squeakie" Hinds is another player from tobago ..he played a long time ago
As far as I know, Squeakie was from Moruga.

« Reply #25 on: November 07, 2005, 10:03:50 PM »
Rolston James is the man name
Tallman ent he get killed in a holdup or something sometime ago?

« Reply #26 on: November 07, 2005, 10:07:42 PM »
Rolston James is the man name
Tallman ent he get killed in a holdup or something sometime ago?

Yes, he was fatally shot during a robbery at his home in Aranjuez on December 16, 2002.

« Reply #27 on: November 08, 2005, 12:00:56 AM »
Makan Hislop is an excellent young player as well.

Den yuh had Devon Leacock and de young forward who did get ban fuh cussin or lashin some referee.  He was prolific but nuff bad behaviour.

« Reply #28 on: November 08, 2005, 03:14:13 AM »
If you want to count Ian Cox as well, his parents from Tobago..

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #29 on: November 08, 2005, 07:45:38 AM »
As man I could give the names of many I remember, but not of those I've seen once or twice, or players my dad have told me about.

Yorke...will always be the benchmark of footballers out of the Caribbean (represented his native country)

Colvin Hutchinson...Probably the most skillful player (could have been a Latapy clone)

Wendell Moore...It was always said he was better than Yorke. He just never went the way of the professional athlete.

Bert 'stregge' Fitzwilliams...No left-footed player in Tobago was better.

John Granville...Personally I wish he was around me all the time. Goalkeeper to goalkeeper coach. What more could I wish I had? Unfortunately I never saw him play, but I guess 50,000+ Tobagonians couldn't be wrong in saying...he was that good.

Rolston* (sp) James...Powerful, strong, and skillful enough as a striker to be rated one of the best strikers in the PFL before he was killed (RIP Cibby)

Cyd Gray...It seems as though he's only beginning to show some of his potential. Thank God.

Keon 'Schilacchi' Daniel...The last time I saw him play was las Christmas at the annual Coaching School Foreign-Based vs Coaching School Local Match. I tell you..de boy smooth and he left foot wicked. Now can he push his talents past his laziness? Hopefully.

Kevin Nelson...Probably the most unlucky Tobagonian I know. He's been all over the world and never really got a break. He still pushes on though. Hopefully those Aussies fall in love with him and keep him there.

Henry 'Bucky' Ceasar...Maybe behind Yorke the best striker Tobago has ever produced. Over-powering with both left and right guns; I don't know of any keeper (Trinidad or Tobago) that willingly stood in front the goal while he prepared to shoot. Very Prolific scorer that should have been given a fair chance ($$$ and a Trinidad bias made things very difficult unfortunately).

Warren Butler...Individual skill was tremendous. Individual professional attitude was lacking. He could have been T&T's next Yorke. It never worked out that way.

We could throw into the mis 'Arab' Nelson, the quartet that went to the Youth World Cup in '91 (don't know the names but Yorke was the captain), Devon Leacock, Makan Hislop, Frankie Mohammed, Dwayne Jack, Marvin Raeburn, Roy Wright (I didn't know we had a baller playing pro in Switzerland in the 70's and 80's) but these are players I've never seen or know too little about to make any assessments.

Lata, blessings and enjoy the day.
Luv yuh T&T Always
Richard G.

T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3