April 18, 2024, 09:36:26 PM

Author Topic: 2014 Commonwealth Games Thread: Wed 23 July — Sun 3 Aug 2014, Glassgow, Scotland  (Read 49596 times)

I thought the heat was 1:40 TT time.

Offline STMB

Hmmm, wonder if they sat Lendore out to use him in the 4x100m heats given his exploits this year and the DB injury?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 12:47:42 PM by STMB »

Hmmm, wonder if they sat Lendore out to use him in the 4x100m heats given his exploits this year and the DB injury?
That will be a dotish thing to do when we have the services of Bledman, Burns, Sorrillo and Thompson to help us qualify for a good lane in the Finals. We should not take the risk of using weaker sprinters on any of the 4x100m relay legs and end up not qualifying for the Final with a good lane draw.
Why should we do a foolish experiment like that in the 4x100m relay by using Lendore who is not an established 100m sprinter on one of our 4x100m relay legs?

Hopefully Lendore is being kept fresh to anchor our 4x400m relay to gold in the final.
Based on splits in the heats with a tired Jehue running the slowest split, I would run our 4x4 relay team in this order in the Final if Quow is still injured as seems to be the case.
T&T 4x400m Relay Team line-up in Final: Lalonde > Solomon > Hewitt > Lendore = CWG 4x400m relay Gold!!

Talking about the 4x400m relay, I thought that Grenada would have been fielding a 4x400m relay team for these CW Games?

I was looking forward to Kirani James possibly doing his best to reel in Lendore on the Final leg if Grenada had fielded a team that qualified for the Final.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 01:38:10 PM by Socapro »

Offline STMB

That will be a dotish thing to do when we have the services of Bledman, Burns, Sorrillo and Thompson to help us qualify for a good lane in the Finals. We should not take the risk of using weaker sprinters on any of the 4x100m relay legs and end up not qualifying for the Final with a good lane draw.
Why should we do a foolish experiment like that in the 4x100m relay by using Lendore who is not an established 100m sprinter on one of our 4x100m relay legs?

Hopefully Lendore is being kept fresh to anchor our 4x400m relay to gold in the final.

Talking about the 4x400m relay, I thought that Grenada would have been fielding a 4x400m relay team for these CW Games?

I was looking forward to Kirani James possibly doing his best to reel in Lendore on the Final leg if Grenada had fielded a team that qualified for the Final.

Was pondering on his absence in the 4x400m heats; you would think that after such a long layoff since NCAAs that he would want to get a race under his legs before the final.

Regarding his 4x100m anchor leg performances, they look to be of better quality than most of T&T's 100m talent (minus Bledman and Thompson), and even tired Sorillo's or a fresh Burns's at this stage of the games, if it were absolutely necessary.

Was pondering on his absence in the 4x400m heats; you would think that after such a long layoff since NCAAs that he would want to get a race under his legs before the final.

Regarding his 4x100m anchor leg performances, they look to be of better quality than most of T&T's 100m talent (minus Bledman and Thompson), and even tired Sorillo's or a fresh Burns's at this stage of the games, if it were absolutely necessary.

I agree that Lendore should have run the 4x400m Heats to get the rust out but don't agree that adding him to the 4x100m relay team would improve that relay team.
Don't forget we won silver at the World Relays in Bahamas in May with our 4x100m relay team running in this order: Bledman > Burns > Sorrillo > Thompson
I believe that is our 4x100m Relay A team at present so if none of those guys are injured and available then there is no need to give anyone else a run including a fit Darrel Brown or Deon Lendore.
Lets give Bledman, Sorrillo & Thompson a chance to redeem themselves after they all failed to make the CWG Final in their pet event.

Regards our 4x400m relay team, based on their splits in the heats with a tired Jehue Gordon running the slowest split, I would run our 4x4 relay team in this order in the Final if Quow is still injured as seems to be the case:
T&T 4x400m Relay Team line-up in Final: Lalonde > Solomon > Hewitt > Lendore = CWG 4x400m relay Gold!!
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 01:54:16 PM by Socapro »

Well my feed never showed the 1600 metre heats. Ah vex.

This young English woman who won this race (Jodi Williams). I remember her from World Juniors few years ago. I think her parents are Trini.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxnMb3t_Dvs
Her dad is my dad's cousin... He's from Tobago, her mom is English
I think that makes you two 3rd cousins?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jodie_Williams

i thought her mom was trini
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/othersports/article-1301644/Jodie-Williams-sprint-sensation-ready-world.html

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mmhPwRjbVEg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mmhPwRjbVEg</a>
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 04:36:48 PM by Socapro »

Walcott breaks NR record.

Keshorn Walcott 85.28m Breaks NR Javelin Throw Co…: http://youtu.be/vPZf3F3bNAA

Keshorn Walcott 85.28m Breaks NR Javelin Throw Commonwealth Games 2014
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vPZf3F3bNAA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vPZf3F3bNAA</a>
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 04:35:01 PM by Socapro »

trini man know how to throw real wood.  Well done KW, mash dem up in de final  :beermug:

This young English woman who won this race (Jodi Williams). I remember her from World Juniors few years ago. I think her parents are Trini.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxnMb3t_Dvs

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jodie_Williams

i thought her mom was trini
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/othersports/article-1301644/Jodie-Williams-sprint-sensation-ready-world.html

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mmhPwRjbVEg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mmhPwRjbVEg</a>

I think both Wikipedia and the Daily Mail got it wrong.

As Jodie's 3rd cousin Chelsealife explained the Trini connection is on Jodie's Dad side rather than on her Mom's side as her Dad is from Tobago. Her Mom is a British born Black.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 07:36:46 PM by Socapro »

Offline REC

Deon Lendore is not at the CW games!

Josane Lucas 7th in the 100 hurdles. TT 4x100(men) time was 38.33. JA 38.99. Eng. 38.78. The women 4x100 have to step up their time in the final. And good luck to the women in the 4x400 final.

ah has she ever been to Tobago ?

How would I know that? Ask her 3rd cousin Chelsealife and he might be able to answer that question.

And does it matter if she has been to Tobago or not? She has been reppin Britain as an athlete since she was a young teenager and has no interest in switching to T&T and rightly so.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 08:12:26 PM by Socapro »

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?

How would I know that? Ask her 3rd cousin Chelsealife and he maybe able to answer that question.

And does it matter if she has been to Tobago or not? She has been reppin Britain as an athlete since she was a young teenager and has no interest in switching to T&T and rightly so.
No she has never been here as yet. But i am sure that she hasnt got the slightest interest in reppin T&T, not on the agenda @ all lol

What allyuh think. 2 golds, ah siver and a bronze tomorrow?

Well the Media Release from TTOC included Deon Lendore in the 4x400m relay squad so maybe they should have updated the public that he did travel with the team.

IMMEDIATE RELEASE: TTO GLASGOW 2014 COMMONWEALTH GAMES TRACK AND FIELD TEAM
Friday, 27 June 2014 13:01 (TTOC.org)

The Trinidad and Tobago Commonwealth Games Association (TTCGA)/Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) can confirm the Trinidad and Tobago Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games track and field team is as follows:

WOMEN (18 Athletes):

Deandra Daniel-High Jump

Cleopatra Borel and Annie Alexander-Shot Put

Annie Alexander- Discus

Michelle Lee Ahye, Kai Selvon and Kamaria Durant-100M

Michelle Lee Ahye, Reyare Thomas-200m

Shawna Fermin, Romona Modeste and Domonique Williams- 400m

Alena Brooks-800m

Pilar McShine-1500m

4x100M- Michelle Lee Ahye, Kai Selvon, Kamaria Durant, Reyare Thomas, Lisa Wickham and Deborah John

4x400m- Shawna Fermin, Alena Brooks, Romona Modeste, Domonique Williams, Janeil Bellille and Josane Lucas

Tonya Nero- Marathon

Josanne Lucas and Deborah John- 100m Hurdles

Janeil Bellille-400m Hurdles

Ayanna Alexander-Triple Jump

MEN (25 Athletes):

Richard Thompson, Keston Bledman and Darrel Brown-100m

Kyle Gereaux, Jereem Richards and Rondell Sorrillo-200m

Lalonde Gordon, Renny Quow and Jarrin Solomon-400m

Wayne Davis, Mikel Thomas and Durel Busby-110 hurdles

Jehue Gordon and Emanuel Mayers- 400m Hurdles

Jamal James and Kendis Bullard- 800m

Kyron Blaise-Long Jump

Kashief Daniel- High Jump

Quincy Wilson- Discus

Robert Collingwood-Shot Put

Keshorn Walcott- Javelin

4X100M Relay-Keston Bledman, Richard Thompson, Darrel Brown, Marc Burns, Rondell Sorrillo and Emmanuel Callender

4x400m-Relay- Lalonde Gordon, Jarrin Solomon, Deon Lendore, Reny Quow, Jereem Richards and Zwede Hewitt

Officials (13):

Manager- George Commissiong

Coaches- Lester Osuna, Arlon Morrison, Gunness Persad, Gerard Franklin, Ismael Lopez, Michelle Pennie, Robin Brereton and Paul Voisin

Medical- Verne Alleyne, Ian Sharpe, Brent Elder and Dr Anyl Gopeesingh.

Without Deon Lendore on the 4x400m team and also with Quow injured we will be lucky if they can still medal.

Regards Keshorn, unless he can reproduce his PB or better tomorrow gold is not guaranteed for him either.

4 medals is possible tomorrow but more likely 3 and we will be lucky if any of them will be gold.

My predictions for tomorrow:-

Medal for Keshorn in the Men's Javelin Throw Final but gold is not guaranteed unless he can produce another PB.

No medal for our Women's 4 x 400m Relay team in Final but they will do well to place in the top 5 and run a SB or even a new NR time.

Medal for our Men's 4 x 400m Relay team in Final but without Lendore and Quow in the squad no gold medal unless Britain or Bahamas mess up.

No medal for our Women's 4 x 100m Relay team in Final unless Kai Selvon who was missing in the Heats was being rested and will be brought back into team for the Final. If Kai Selvon is on the team then a bronze medal might be possible but without Kai and MLA we will do well to place in the top 5.

Silver or Bronze for our Men 4 x 100m Relay team in Final if they do their jobs but a new SB might be required. JA will win the gold easily unless they mess-up badly.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 09:49:50 PM by Socapro »

Without Deon Lendore on the 4x400m team and also with Quow injured we will be lucky if they can still medal.

Regards Keshorn, unless he can reproduce his PB or better tomorrow gold is not guaranteed for him either.

4 medals is possible tomorrow but more likely 3 and we will be lucky if any of them will be gold.

Medal for Keshorn in the Men's Javelin Throw Final  but gold is not guaranteed unless he can produce another PB.

No medal for our Women's 4 x 400m Relay team in Final but they will do well to place in the top 5 and run a new PB time.

Medal for our Men's 4 x 400m Relay team in Final but without Lendore and Quow in the squad no gold medal unless Britain or Bahamas mess up.

No medal for our Women's 4 x 100m Relay team in Final unless Kai Selvon who was missing in the Heats was being rested and will be brought back into team for the Final. If Kai Selvon is on the team then a bronze medal might be possible but without Kai and MLA we will do well to place in the top 5.

Silver or Bronze for our Men 4 x 100m Relay team in Final if they do their jobs but a new SB might be required. JA will win the gold easily unless they mess-up badly.

I was thinking the same. We need Kai to run. Also, we need Josanne to run in the 4x400. If she does, we might be lucky with a 4th.. or even better.

If this 4x100 pulls off a medal, it will show that we have depth. There are about 3 top women that are missing. Just imagine when we are at full strength in this event. We will rival JA.. But then of course there is UK's and US's b team (Nigeria)..

Medal for Keshorn in the Men's Javelin Throw Final  but gold is not guaranteed unless he can produce another PB.

No medal for our Women's 4 x 400m Relay team in Final but they will do well to place in the top 5 and run a new PB time.

I was thinking the same. We need Kai to run. Also, we need Josanne to run in the 4x400. If she does, we might be lucky with a 4th.. or even better.

If this 4x100 pulls off a medal, it will show that we have depth. There are about 3 top women that are missing. Just imagine when we are at full strength in this event. We will rival JA.. But then of course there is UK's and US's b team (Nigeria)..

Talking about Nigeria I didn't realize till these Commonwealth Games that so many US athletes had Nigerian parents or family connections.
Maurice Greene is doing a good job to get so many of them to run for their parents country which has suddenly turned Nigeria into an athletics  sprint force.

Talking about Nigeria I didn't realize till these Commonwealth Games that so many US athletes had Nigerian parents or family connections.
Maurice Greene is doing a good job to get so many of them to run for their parents country which has suddenly turned Nigeria into an athletics  sprint force.

Lots of Nigerian Brits too.

Ghana will be the next one to follow in Nigeria foot steps. Track and field just got more competitive.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 10:21:35 PM by gawd on pitch »

Lots of Nigerian Brits too.

Ghana will be the next one to follow in Nigeria foot steps. Track and field just got more competitive.

Lets hope T&T can raise our game in spotting and supporting talent both at home and abroad or we will start to regularly lose out on possible medals to countries like Nigeria and the like.

Offline REC

The word is that Quow will be in the final line up!

Look at this type of begging attitude. Why does it matter if this talented ENGLISH girl has ever been to Tobago?
« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 08:59:31 AM by Sando prince »

We haven't produce the consistent necessary results in all men and women sprints over the years to even THINK we are better country in sprints than Britain or Nigeria. First we must produce the results before start all this type of comparing talk about how is it Nigeria and Britain is better than us, as if we are superior track country to them  :D     

Stop with the damn wishful thinking
« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 09:31:09 AM by Sando prince »

We should  develop what we have at home. We always want ready made talent. We dont want to do the necessary hardwork for local athletes. The Exception to the rule is Jehue Gordon and Walcott. Most of our TF Olimpic medals has come from athletes who excel their talents in the US collegiate TF system. Is the powers that be ready to do that for the rest of our locals, like Jehue and Keshorn? As long as giving resources for sport comes with notion that their must be an alliance with which ever party in power, is ridiculous. Thus our athletics will go nowhere. And I keep stressing that the other half of TT must get their children involved in other sports. How do we know one of them may be a potential gold medalist? Mannie Ramjohn and Mannie Dookie is like ancient history.  Because of this attitude, our talent pool is artificial set to some of the small islands in the Caribbean.

Offline STMB

BOTSWANA'S MONTSHO TESTS POSITIVE FOR BANNED STIMULANT METHYLEXANEAMINE AT COMMONWEALTH GAMES

They better check Nijel Amos, Makwala (2013 - 10.40; 20.21; 45.86 to 2014 - 19.96; 44.01 same day); and Seribe too (2012 - 46.57; 2014 - 45.21)

Offline STMB

I knew something was up when he no-showed in the heats.

Not impressed with his decision at all unless he has some legitimate excuse. His schoolmates Shamier Little (USA at WJC); Bellille (TTO); and Bralon Taplin (Grenada) at CWG are all representing their countries. So he can't even run a relay? What impact would that have on his 2015/2016 campaigns?
Steups!!

I hope he can say no to Texas A&M when they urge him to add the 200m (outdoors) to the 400m, 4x100m and 4x400m duties next year during his senior year.
Steups again!!

We should  develop what we have at home. We always want ready made talent. We dont want to do the necessary hardwork for local athletes. The Exception to the rule is Jehue Gordon and Walcott. Most of our TF Olimpic medals has come from athletes who excel their talents in the US collegiate TF system. Is the powers that be ready to do that for the rest of our locals, like Jehue and Keshorn? As long as giving resources for sport comes with notion that their must be an alliance with which ever party in power, is ridiculous. Thus our athletics will go nowhere. And I keep stressing that the other half of TT must get their children involved in other sports. How do we know one of them may be a potential gold medalist? Mannie Ramjohn and Mannie Dookie is like ancient history.  Because of this attitude, our talent pool is artificial set to some of the small islands in the Caribbean.

:beermug: I have been saying this for a long time