April 27, 2024, 04:09:36 PM

Author Topic: Dana Seetahal murdered  (Read 40114 times)

Re: Dana Seetahal murdered
« Reply #120 on: May 11, 2014, 09:14:19 PM »
The farce continues- these people does want to accuse the opposition of trying to destabilize them, well ah think this government has done a good job of destabilizing them selves- darn they were never stable to begin with.  Look how confusing this report is- they hold some people but nothing becomes of it? Like what is the real story here?
More news - this time
Trinidad Express
Cops: No arrests yet in Dana’s murder
Story Updated: May 11, 2014

Senior officials in the Police Service and the Ministry of National Security yesterday denied media reports that suspects had been arrested on Saturday night in connection with the death of senior counsel Dana Seetahal. It was widely reported yesterday that four people had been arrested in Diego Martin and Arima during a series of police exercises on Saturday night, in connection with the senior attorney’s killing eight days ago. However, while sources have confirmed that four persons were indeed detained during exercises, senior officials, including Minister of National Security Gary Griffith, acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams and Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP) Wayne Dick, have all firmly denied that they were held in relation to police enquiries into the senior counsel’s death. This therefore means that even though today marks eight days since Seetahal was brutally killed along O’Connor Street, Woodbrook, her killers are still at large. “Contrary to any reports, as of this time, no one has been held, detained, arrested, and certainly not charged in relation to the investigation into the death of the senior counsel. I have been in communication with the investigators on a daily basis, and I can assure you with full confidence and accuracy, that at no time has anyone been held by the police. What I can tell you is that the investigation is still ongoing and at this point it has reached a crucial, but sensitive stage,” explained Griffith. The acting Commissioner chastised the media, saying that due to the incorrectness, the reports were only causing more “trauma” to an already traumatised public. “Right now my head is busy with thoughts on the media for the misinformation which has been sent out into the public domain. The information I heard and read yesterday is false, and all it is doing is inflaming the public. The country is already going through a traumatic moment with the death of a prominent member of society, and with the misinformation which was circulated, this trauma is only worsening,” Williams said. ACP Dick, in a brief interview with Express, said he was not aware of the developments as reported throughout the media. However, he reiterated previous calls from the police for the public and the media to exercise patience, saying that as soon as he was aware of any significant developments, he would personally call the various media houses and inform their representatives himself. The senior policeman did reveal that “progress was being made” and that enquiries were being conducted, even up to late yesterday, for a fruitful outcome. Griffith also told the Express he has been liaising with international policing organisations regarding potential assistance into the enquiries. “As of this time, I don’t think our Police Service needs foreign assistance yet, as I believe they are on top of their game. That said, should it become necessary, I have already been liaising with the relevant international organisations, and they have indicated their willingness to assist,” Griffith said. Around 12.05 a.m. on May 4, Seetahal was gunned down along O’Connor Street, Woodbook, in her Volkswagen SUV. Less than 15 minutes prior, the senior counsel had left the Ma Pau casino, made her way on to French Street, then on to Wrightson Road, before turning on to Hamilton Holder Street. Upon reaching the vicinity of the Woodbrook Youth Facility, Seetahal was attacked by unknown gunmen. It is believed that one of the vehicles pulled in front of her blocking her path, while another pulled alongside her and its occupants opened fire on the senior attorney, before they both fled the scene. During the course of these incidents, her vehicle slowly made its way about 20 feet north on to O’Connor Street. Seetahal has since been cremated following a ceremony on Thursday at the Aramalaya Presbyterian Church in Tunapuna which saw an overflowing of mourners headed by President Anthony Carmona, and included Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Chief Justice Ivor Archie, among several politicians, judges, magistrates, and members of the public, who all came out to say their final farewell to the vibrant and outspoken senior counsel.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2014, 10:05:15 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #121 on: May 11, 2014, 09:22:20 PM »
CTV REPORTS

T&T's National Security threat level has been reduced from Amber to green. This was confirmed by Minister of National Security Gary Griffith. The Minister says however this reduction has little to do with the status of the Dana Seetahal murder investigation.

LAWD FADDER WHEN WILL THIS NIGHTMARE END.

« Reply #122 on: May 12, 2014, 10:25:58 AM »
I wonder what's the latest with the the police officer who tipped off a suspect that he's being wanted? Haven't heard anything about that since, shouldn't that at least be obstruction of justice? Anyway this investigation is starting to drag, it's been over a week and nothing.....

« Reply #123 on: May 12, 2014, 09:31:09 PM »
Almost everything this PP government does is for pappyshow!
It is sickening and embarrassing!  :-[

« Reply #124 on: May 12, 2014, 11:08:23 PM »
Ah cyar help to think some where  behind this -  this lady may have known or started to suspect real big name colleagues were being paid large sums from the treasury- just a sneaking hunch after reading about her life and her principles- it it a possibility  that colleagues close to her and some who jump out first to proclaim friendship  could be ...........ummmmmm I eh want to believe that possibility . boi reading between the lines makes for real investigative  skills ; Look nah in a strange twist of fate her sister from what I read may have access to financial audit and could trace all who have big  money and accounts by all kinda means- revenge here could be ah real BITCH- never a dull day without DRAMA in TNT.

If motive for this killing  and I speculate is to cover something bigger could you imagine if this woman had the last breath and knowledge to decipher what and who was behind it all?

"Et tu, Brute?" (pronounced [ɛt ˈtuː ˈbruːtɛ]) is a Latin phrase meaning "and you, Brutus?" or "and you too, Brutus?". The phrase is often used poetically to represent the last words of the Roman dictator Julius Caesar to his friend Marcus Brutus at the moment of his assassination. The quotation is widely used in Western culture to signify the utmost betrayal by an unexpected person, such as a friend.

They say keep your friends close at hands and yuh enemies closer- following this case has been intriguing to say the least- interesting discovery is that the article from the Newsday proclaiming that the police had arrested a suspect  did not have a journalist name attached to,it. How could a newspaper publish such  an article without an author?

This whole issues is turning out to be utter madness in the land we. Ah get ah email about ah Facebook page call Speak out TNT - I eh have access to it but ah hear it have an article that call out some big names and big money that pass fuh so with this prison gate. Ah go have tuh try tuh maco  we.

« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 11:34:04 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #125 on: May 13, 2014, 02:17:03 PM »
A.B you know what you are saying there I thought about it , one man i do not trust is that AG guilt could make you say some things sometimes.

« Reply #126 on: May 13, 2014, 02:18:35 PM »
Inter-American body calls for full probe into her murder
Story Created: May 12, 2014 at 9:52 PM ECT
Story Updated: May 13, 2014 at 8:51 AM ECT
 • WASHINGTON
The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) has called on law enforcement authorities in Trinidad and Tobago “to fully investigate and prosecute” those responsible for the murder of prominent Senior Counsel, Dana Seetahal.
Seetahal, a former state prosecutor and magistrate, was shot and killed on May 4 as she made her way home from a casino.
The body of the 58-year-old former president of the Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago was cremated last Thursday.
The IACHR said it appeared Seetahal’s murder could be linked to her work as prosecutor in several high profile cases.
“The IACHR calls to mind that it is the State’s obligation to proactively investigate acts of this nature and punish intellectual and material authors. In particular, the Commission calls the State of Trinidad and Tobago to conduct an investigation that takes into account whether Seetahal’s murder was committed in retaliation for her work as a prosecutor.
“The Commission also urges the State of Trinidad and Tobago to immediately and urgently adopt all necessary measures to guarantee the rights to life, integrity, and safety of human rights defenders in the country, particularly of justice operators,” the IACHR  said.
 The IACHR, an autonomous body of the Organisation of American States (OAS), said it also “notes that an assault against a justice operator because of his or her functions is a particularly serious matter, not just because it is assault upon a justice operator’s person but also because it has the effect of intimidating and instilling fear, which can spread to other justice operators.
“The risk is that cases involving human rights violations could go unpunished,” it said, adding “in this sense, acts of violence and other attacks perpetrated against human rights defenders not only affect the guarantees that every human being must enjoy, but also seek to undermine the fundamental role that human rights defenders play in society and leave all those for whom they fight defenseless.
“The work of human rights defenders is essential to building a solid and enduring democratic society, as they play a leading role in the pursuit of the full attainment of the rule of law and the strengthening of democracy.”

Previous Article
No one for Dana

« Reply #127 on: May 16, 2014, 10:04:35 PM »
Imagine the notion of turning police to " bounty" hunters with the suggestion toay them the reward for doing what they suppose to be doing?  Where is the logic here? So in all cases police who supposed to be trained and have a duty to do will only garner results if they are given a sizeable monetary reward? Wow look at incentive tuh wuck?  Well studies have shown money is not the sole motivation for job performance.

In this case, sadly we may have to bring in some foreign investigators - darn shucks we tried that before with the juice case and that yielded the same results- faith in a system faith in leadership has failed us once more and sadly the corrupt and the evil (live) prevail once more - our beloved nation is bleeding with crimson tears from the natives who continually succumb to utter incompetence. Shame shame that we have to endure this madness.

« Reply #128 on: May 16, 2014, 10:10:09 PM »
Isn't that the the suggestion of some business people? But I agree that the reason they are police is that they arrest people for wrong doings.

« Reply #129 on: May 16, 2014, 11:22:34 PM »
Ah cyar help to think some where  behind this -  this lady may have known or started to suspect real big name colleagues were being paid large sums from the treasury- just a sneaking hunch after reading about her life and her principles- it it a possibility  that colleagues close to her and some who jump out first to proclaim friendship  could be ...........ummmmmm I eh want to believe that possibility . boi reading between the lines makes for real investigative  skills ; Look nah in a strange twist of fate her sister from what I read may have access to financial audit and could trace all who have big  money and accounts by all kinda means- revenge here could be ah real BITCH- never a dull day without DRAMA in TNT.

If motive for this killing  and I speculate is to cover something bigger could you imagine if this woman had the last breath and knowledge to decipher what and who was behind it all?

"Et tu, Brute?" (pronounced [ɛt ˈtuː ˈbruːtɛ]) is a Latin phrase meaning "and you, Brutus?" or "and you too, Brutus?". The phrase is often used poetically to represent the last words of the Roman dictator Julius Caesar to his friend Marcus Brutus at the moment of his assassination. The quotation is widely used in Western culture to signify the utmost betrayal by an unexpected person, such as a friend.

They say keep your friends close at hands and yuh enemies closer- following this case has been intriguing to say the least- interesting discovery is that the article from the Newsday proclaiming that the police had arrested a suspect  did not have a journalist name attached to,it. How could a newspaper publish such  an article without an author?

This whole issues is turning out to be utter madness in the land we. Ah get ah email about ah Facebook page call Speak out TNT - I eh have access to it but ah hear it have an article that call out some big names and big money that pass fuh so with this prison gate. Ah go have tuh try tuh maco  we.

Ah wonder if she was one of them that figure out which big player using the CG to get they stash in.

« Reply #130 on: May 31, 2014, 11:15:12 AM »
ah guess solving this murder suffers the same faith as many others despite the assurances from the Prime Minister and the Police. we cyar find murderers in ah 1,980 sq miles place smaller than Delaware. 

« Reply #131 on: May 31, 2014, 05:24:34 PM »
ah guess solving this murder suffers the same faith as many others despite the assurances from the Prime Minister and the Police. we cyar find murderers in ah 1,980 sq miles place smaller than Delaware.

Don't be surprised the same government involved in it.

« Reply #132 on: May 31, 2014, 06:04:18 PM »
Maybe we should bring in the foreign Trini:

From Digital Divide newsletter

Trini makes US Top Cop list
By Donstan Bonn

Advertisment

Scott Pulchansingh and US Attorney General Eric Holder

How does one go from being born in a rural district of a third world country to being honoured by the president of the United States of American (USA) at the White House.

For Trinidadian-born Scott Pulchansingh it happened because of his commitment to duty and the bravery displayed in the carrying out of his duty.

Pulchansingh was one of 17 law enforcement officers from the Boston Police Department who were presented with the TOP COPS Awards® by US president Barack Obama in a ceremony at the White House on May 20.

Born in the village of Endeavour in Chaguanas and a past student of Presentation College Chaguanas, Pulchansingh was honoured for the role he played in the captured of Dzhokhar and Tamerlan Tsarnaev after the pair shot and killed 26-year-old Sean Collier, an MIT police officer.

The Tsarnaev brothers were the principal suspects in the setting off of two bombs during the running of the Boston Marathon on April 15 last year, which led to the death of three persons with hundreds injured.

Pulchansingh shared with Digital Divide a brief account of the Tsarnaevs apprehension and his subsequent nomination to TOP COPS®:

“After responding to the slaying of Officer Collier we actively searched for the Tsarnaev brothers.

“Along with members from the Youth Violence Strike Force (commonly called The Gang Unit) we chased the Tsarnaev brothers in Watertown and were engaged in a firefight. During the chase shots were fired and bombs were tossed out the window at us.

“I searched Tamerlan Tsarnaev after his brother ran him over for a suicide vest,” Pulchansingh said.

He said as a result his department honoured him with the Schroeder Brothers Memorial Award last December and nominated him for Top Cops®.

Scott Pulchansingh with his wife and two children
He added that though he was elated upon learning of the top cop award and the acknowledgement from his colleagues he was still remembering those who paid the ultimate price and the survivors who continue to struggle with a life of normalcy.

Pulchansingh, who has 19 years’ service as a law enforcement officer, said he loves what he does.

“After migrating to the US in 1985 I became a Health Inspector with the city of Boston and a Constable, during which time I worked closely with the Mayor’s office and all agencies including the Police Department. I would later become a full time member of the Boston Police Department.

When asked if he finds his career to be satisfying he replied, “I would say doing a job that makes you happy is important. I go to work to help others and impact their lives positively and I get my satisfaction from the outreach I am able to generate.”

Pulchansingh added that while there were many notable events during his years as an officer, serving the citizens of Boston and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts on a daily basis and preventing youths from joining gangs and seeking alternate options to improve their lives is what he enjoys.

“Law enforcement is a respected career and like many other professions, it’s what you put into it is what you shall reap. I'm well respected in my profession by my peers and superiors and I am mindful that a great communicator is a great listener,” he said.

He added that young people today should seek out role models in the field of their choice and focus primarily on education.

In delivering the feature address President Obama said: “The 53 officers, detectives, patrolmen, special agents, and troopers that we celebrate today are America’s finest -- the best of the best. They hail from different parts of the country, and different events brought them here today. But they share one important thing in common. When the moment came -- when the shooting started, or a bomb went off, or a hostage was taken, or a child screamed for help -- they did not hesitate. They went into action. They ran toward the danger -- not away from it. And they risked their lives to save the lives of others.
“Having said that, even if these guys won’t admit it, there is something special about them. Some of the officers here today sustained serious injuries in the line of duty. They were shot or stabbed. Some lost friends, even a partner. Some are still recovering.

“So what these officers do is dangerous. They do it because it’s important. Maintaining the public safety is the foundation of everything that is good that happens every single day in America. It’s why parents can send their kids to school and adults can head off to work, and community centres and houses of worship can open their doors to one and all, and businesses can start and thrive. And that’s why people can cast their votes and express their views without fear. It’s one of the reasons people travel and do business in these United States.

“And that’s why Americans everywhere owe a debt to our nation’s law enforcement. So on behalf of all the American people, thank you. God bless you. God bless your families, and God bless the United States of America.”

In addition to President Obama, US vice president Joe Biden, Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson and Attorney General Eric Holder were among the dignitaries present at this year’s TOP COPS Awards® ceremony.

Editor’s Note: The TOP COPS Awards®, since being inaugurated by the National Association of Police Organisations (NAPO) in 1994, have paid tribute to outstanding law enforcement officers in federal, state, county, tribal and local agencies from across the country for actions above and beyond the call of duty during the preceding year.

The Schroeder Brothers Memorial Medal is named in honour of Detective John D. Schroeder, who was shot dead in the line of duty on November 30, 1973, and his brother Patrolman Walter Schroeder, who suffered a similar fate on September 24, 1970.

It is the highest award given by the Boston Police Department and it is awarded once a year at the Annual Awards Presentation Ceremony to an officer whose conduct in some situation is judged by the Department Awards Board to be the highest form of valour exhibited during the previous year. It is accompanied by a Letter of Commendation from the Commissioner setting forth the reasons for the award.

« Last Edit: May 31, 2014, 06:06:11 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #133 on: June 01, 2014, 05:39:58 PM »
I know this Trinbagonian woman she was a lieutenant in the NYPD, when she retire I asked her if she was given the job as COP of T &T if she would take ?

She said the only way I would take that job is if I could come with my own staff .   

« Reply #134 on: June 01, 2014, 07:44:38 PM »
I know this Trinbagonian woman she was a lieutenant in the NYPD, when she retire I asked her if she was given the job as COP of T &T if she would take ?

She said the only way I would take that job is if I could come with my own staff .   

:beermug: having worked in d organization the system worse than d staff.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2014, 07:47:23 PM by weary1969 »

« Reply #135 on: June 06, 2014, 06:42:39 PM »
So tell meh nah mr minister and Mrs, PM - all yuh ask allyu head man to leave no stones unturn- that all yuh sure tuh get the bad men and toady ah read the COP stating ' the police eh have nothing to report' like the investigation reach ah stalemate.

All the talk and  affronting ; we go get them' we have  identity from video tape; we go call in foreign investigators- now all things cool down:

PRESS - MEDIA like they manners allyuh arses as well- One man get buff up and threaten and all yuh done with ACCOUNTABILITY!!!!!

What happen to PRISONGATE investigation?

Juice CAN? and all teh USA DEA agents wha happen they liming in ah room 201?

The chicken ganja- wha happen?

And this lady's death? no motives? all ah reading is that all the initial hype was speculative- about prison set up lawd allyuh good with propaganda- People making fools out ah the press- and it eh have real journalist with substance to CALL people out?

all kinda talk about high tech policing equipment - yuh think that alone go do it?  yuh eh think them police need high tech policing techniques/ some ah them need to know what it takes to hold that position. All kinda talk was reported about police man leaking information firt about an alleged suspect in the murder then another police leaking information about the journalist- WHAT EVER REPRIMAND DID THESE OFFICERS RECEIVE/ Instead I read where the COP denounce the threat by saying the man look fur that(sic).

LOOK NAH LOCAL MEDIA allyuh see the piece the foreign journalist come and do? allyuh cyar go there I understand is allyuh life at stake but hear nah allyuh eh feel like a steady  dose of leading DAILY PUBLIC DEMANDS fuh answers go help? nah tell meh all yuh MEDIA  HOUSES eh done sell out as well!!!!!

When will the bleeding stop? when will the public be safe walking the streets ? when will the soldiers be on the streets in every nook in every cranny stopping every car disrupting  the rouge elements till we purge this land of the corrupt elements among us?

« Reply #136 on: June 06, 2014, 07:30:41 PM »
Dude, TT finest are working deligently to find the killers.

« Reply #137 on: June 06, 2014, 08:07:01 PM »
I have no doubt bout that- just make it evident AND MY BEEF IS WITH THE HOW THE MEDIA picks and choose WHO TO PUT THE HEAT ON.
Secondly the lack of action aganist apparent incompetent and immoral leadership in positions that should be exemplars .

« Reply #138 on: June 25, 2014, 01:54:59 AM »
US envoy: Dana’s hit ordered by foreign player...
Drug cartel has strong T&T ties
By Curtis Williams (Guardian)

Special state prosecutor Dana Seetahal was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation with operations in T&T, says the United States Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield. Speaking from Washington, DC, in a teleconference with Caribbean journalists yesterday, Ambassador Brownfield said: “Those in Trinidad would know that I visited your country two months ago and two days after I left there was the brutal murder of Ms Dana Seetahal. She was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation.”

Asked by the T&T Guardian to elaborate on this suggestion, Brownfield, who has responsibility for international narcotics and law enforcement affairs, said: “I stand by everything I have said. This was clearly not a crime of passion. “It was not a crime of opportunity where someone felt they should steal her handbag and then found they had to shoot her.

“This was a well planned and orchestrated hit. “This is not something you plan easily. It is organised crime with an international player that has a crime organisation with presence in T&T.”

On May 4, Seetahal was shot dead just outside the Woodbrook Youth Facility on Hamilton Holder Street as she was on her way to her apartment at One Woodbrook Place after leaving the Ma Pau casino on Ariapita Avenue, Port-of-Spain. Residents reported hearing a volley of gunshots followed by screeching tyres. By the time they contacted police and ran outside to check, they found Seetahal slumped over the steering wheel of her light blue Volkswagen Touareg. She was pronounced dead at the scene.

Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams has publicly said the police knew how and why Seetahal was killed but thus far, 53 days after her killing, no one has been charged with her murder. Yesterday, Brownfield said Seetahal’s murder could not be seen as “just another statistic,” explaining that Seetahal had partnered with the US government on several issues, had been the beneficiary of a Fulbright scholarship from the US government, and was, in his words, “a star, a woman of tremendous courage.”

Reached in England last night National Security Minister Gary Griffith said he preferred not to comment.

« Reply #139 on: June 25, 2014, 09:11:47 AM »
US envoy: Dana’s hit ordered by foreign player...
Drug cartel has strong T&T ties
By Curtis Williams (Guardian)

Special state prosecutor Dana Seetahal was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation with operations in T&T, says the United States Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield. Speaking from Washington, DC, in a teleconference with Caribbean journalists yesterday, Ambassador Brownfield said: “Those in Trinidad would know that I visited your country two months ago and two days after I left there was the brutal murder of Ms Dana Seetahal. She was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation.”

Asked by the T&T Guardian to elaborate on this suggestion, Brownfield, who has responsibility for international narcotics and law enforcement affairs, said: “I stand by everything I have said. This was clearly not a crime of passion. “It was not a crime of opportunity where someone felt they should steal her handbag and then found they had to shoot her.

“This was a well planned and orchestrated hit. “This is not something you plan easily. It is organised crime with an international player that has a crime organisation with presence in T&T.”

On May 4, Seetahal was shot dead just outside the Woodbrook Youth Facility on Hamilton Holder Street as she was on her way to her apartment at One Woodbrook Place after leaving the Ma Pau casino on Ariapita Avenue, Port-of-Spain. Residents reported hearing a volley of gunshots followed by screeching tyres. By the time they contacted police and ran outside to check, they found Seetahal slumped over the steering wheel of her light blue Volkswagen Touareg. She was pronounced dead at the scene.

Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams has publicly said the police knew how and why Seetahal was killed but thus far, 53 days after her killing, no one has been charged with her murder. Yesterday, Brownfield said Seetahal’s murder could not be seen as “just another statistic,” explaining that Seetahal had partnered with the US government on several issues, had been the beneficiary of a Fulbright scholarship from the US government, and was, in his words, “a star, a woman of tremendous courage.”

Reached in England last night National Security Minister Gary Griffith said he preferred not to comment.

tell us something we don't know TT Guardian...

« Reply #140 on: June 25, 2014, 09:15:49 AM »

why would ex pats come back home and risk their lives with corrupt local police officers, that would set them up? you think she is putting her family at risk? plus if she brings her staff, then she will get real fight down from the locals...

if ex pats were allowed to run the nation then it would make a difference but the powers that be would not allow that to happen.. things running too smoothly and they don't want to lose that money to an ex pat..

« Reply #141 on: June 25, 2014, 02:39:25 PM »
The 2nd part of that article is missing from Flex's post but here it is....

Drug, crime problem growing

Pointing out that there was a correlation between the increase of drugs flowing through the region and the crime and violence on the regional streets, including those of T&T, US Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield said the increased use of the Caribbean as a trans-shipment point for drugs had led to the increase in murders. He predicted that the level of violence was likely to get worse over the next few years, warning that even arms of the State can be challenged.

He added: “Drug traffickers have to have the firepower to defend their turf. They eventually have to be prepared to take on institutions of the State, whether that is the police, border guards, customs or the Judiciary.” Brownfield said drug cartels were well organised and targeted countries where there were weaknesses, which could range from poorly paid public officials to unprotected borders.

He repeated his statement, reported in the T&T Guardian last month, that the US estimated the quantum of drugs being trans-shipped through the Caribbean to the US had increased, saying it had risen between 2011 and 2013 by over 300 per cent. He listed three major routes in the Caribbean. The first, he said, was through Jamaica and then onto the United States, the second through the Dominican Republic/Haiti and the third through the eastern Caribbean.

Brownfield said the US government was partnering with Caricom governments to help deal with the crime challenge, including the challenge of guns coming into the region from the US.

He said the reality was that the US had its own laws relating to gun control but had put in place a system where law enforcement could trace a gun in real time, determine if it was in the country illegally and if the ballistics showed it had been used in any other crime. The ambassador admitted that was not enough but said the US was operating in a situation where its legal system was different from those in the region.

On the issue of extra-judicial killings, he said if there was evidence that the police service was involved in such killing in any country, by law, the US would have to discontinue co-operation with the organisation. He explained that was currently the situation with the St Lucian police and that was why co-operation with that country had been suspended. Brownfield said that was unfortunate because the move not only hurt St Lucia but the region as a whole.

Allegations of extra-judicial killings have been made against the T&T Police Service by members of the public after the recent spate of police shootings. So far this year, 29 people have been killed by the police in T&T.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

A Drug Cartel being responsible for Dana's murder sounds plausible so until the ones directly responsible for Dana's death are held and brought to justice drug cartel relate crimes and execution style killings will get worse in T&T.

The young black boys who are caught up with gang related shootings and killings in Laventille and other areas are not the ones bringing in the guns and the drugs and making big profits from the deaths of poor people in sort after "ghetto" areas.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2014, 02:42:19 PM by Socapro »

DANA MURDER PLOT
« Reply #142 on: June 26, 2014, 09:04:12 PM »
DANA MURDER PLOT
By Nalinee Seelal Thursday, June 26 2014 (T&T Newsday)

The Dana Seetahal murder investigation reached a critical high point yesterday with the revelation that two men — one of them a witness to the killing — coming forward to provide details of the plot and the actual assassination of the prominent attorney.

In fact, Newsday has been told by highly credible sources the statements that were given by the two men to a special team of investigators, and which were recorded, will enable police to bring closure quite soon to the probe which is already 53 days old. A $3.5 million reward has been posted for information from anyone which could lead to an arrest and conviction in the matter.

The two witnesses, one of them from Tobago and the other associated with a Trinidad-based religious organisation, are said to have provided investigators with a clear picture of why Seetahal was assassinated, who ordered the hit, who executed the killing and how many persons were involved.

Sources confirmed to Newsday yesterday that the two men decided to come forward and assist the police because they felt that their lives are now in danger. Newsday also sought to ascertain if the two men who are now providing the information are in protective custody but it has been confirmed that they have opted to not seek any protection.

Newsday was told that one of the men went as far as confessing to the officers that he was actually present when Seetahal was murdered, but he is reported to have said that he was not the shooter. The other indicated to investigators that while he was not on the scene on the night of the killing, he was privy to the plot to execute the Senior Counsel.

According to well-placed sources, the shooter in Seetahal’s killing is not in hiding but is under constant surveillance by law enforcement officers.

Newsday reported exclusively last week that the United States Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) are in the process of cleaning up video footage capturing the killing. Crime investigation officers of the United Kingdom are also assisting local authorities in their efforts to solve the murder. Minister of National Security Gary Griffith has already stated that the police have no problem using foreign assistance to bring closure to this investigation.

Most of the investigations is said to have already been completed, and Newsday has been reliably informed that when the processed video footage is delivered to ACP Wayne D!ck at least seven persons are to be detained in connection with the high profile murder.

Seetahal was driving her vehicle along Hamilton Holder Street in Woodbrook, Port-of-Spain, after midnight on May 4 following a casino night out when she was attacked and killed. Her vehicle was sandwiched between a panel van and a Wingroad wagon. A gunman is said to have alighted from one of the vehicles and fired four shots which ended the Senior Counsel’s life. Late yesterday sources revealed to Newsday that Seetahal’s killing had no international connection.

« Reply #143 on: July 08, 2014, 07:25:50 PM »
She would have been 59 today.........2 months plus now, no arrest........hhhhhmmmm let me go back to World Cup football eh......when its done I have to find something else to distract me..........

« Reply #144 on: August 05, 2014, 07:16:29 AM »
Keep the fire burning fuh Dana!

This is a front-burner issue in the war of conscience in Trinidad & Tobago. Doh sleep on it. It's the vertical axis to the horizontal axis of political instability.

In time to come, we will suffer for our collective inaction.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2014, 07:18:07 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #145 on: August 06, 2014, 11:56:33 PM »
Keep the fire burning fuh Dana!

This is a front-burner issue in the war of conscience in Trinidad & Tobago. Doh sleep on it. It's the vertical axis to the horizontal axis of political instability.

In time to come, we will suffer for our collective inaction.

Well said, we cannot sleep on this!

« Reply #146 on: August 14, 2014, 12:26:47 AM »
More conspiracy theory:

Ah wonder what  stance madam DS honourable QC  would have taken with this Constitutional reform?  All things fall into place- if this construction was being drafted for some time did she have strong opposition to it? Ummmmm

Next since her passing, what ever became of the litigation surrounding the AG  role  with the prison gate lawyers issue?  Ummm that gone by the wayside too? I thought the PM had ordered a probe or investigation into that as well?  U,mmmmmm?

Either people have short term memories or  the propaganda machine putting up one deflection after another to avoid some deeper issues of corruption?

Is one set ah conspiracy I does be reading about every day but why the media eh hammering at these issues? Ah boi the payroll must be massive. Ummmmmm silence the detractors ummmmm

What is becoming what has become of TNT? Bleeding for restoration of sanity good will harmony peace and kindness-  let no one rest until justice  regains his sight until everyone refrain from casting blind eyes to the vile  evil and morally corrupted elements in society.

socafighter

Dana’s Seetahal killer unmasked and killed...
« Reply #147 on: August 22, 2014, 10:24:40 PM »
Dana’s Seetahal  killer unmasked and killed

Darren Bahaw
Published: Guardian
Friday, August 22, 2014

FLASHBACK: Crime Scene Investigators at the murder scene of Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal at Hamilton-Holder Street, Woodbrook, in May. PHOTO: ROBERTO CODALLO

The man who pumped five bullets, at close range, into the head and body of Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal has been identified as one of three men killed in a police shootout at Freeport on Wednesday. Senior police officers who are directly involved in Seetahal’s murder probe confirmed yesterday that David “Junior” Baker, 28, was one of the key suspects involved in the well-planned assassination.

The officers spoke on the strict condition of anonymity as they were not authorised to disclose the sensitive information relating to the case. Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) Glenn Hackett offered no comment when questioned about Baker’s involvement in Seetahal’s murder yesterday. But police said Baker’s death has not seriously  affected their investigations into the murder.

Commenting on the development, Seetahal’s sister, Susan Francois, the director of the Financial Intelligence Unit, said: “If he (Baker) was one of the persons involved then I would hope the police would move speedily to get the others involved and bring them to justice.
“Do they want a repeat of the Selwyn Richardson result?” she asked.
Richardson, 59, a former attorney general and minister of national security, was shot dead by two hitmen in his Cascade driveway on June 20, 1995.

Two men identified as his assassins, Jamaat al Muslimeen members Abdul Quadir and Curtis Felix, were both themselves murdered days after Richardson’s killing. No one has ever been brought to justice for Richardson’s killing.

Seetahal, 58, who worked closely with the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions as the lead prosecutor for several high-profile cases, was ambushed shorly after midnight on May 4 along Hamilton Holder Street, Woodbrook, as she made her way to her One Woodbrook Place apartment.

She also worked closely with the United States Embassy giving advice on key proposals to reform the criminal justice system.
Seetahal’s murder sent shockwaves across the criminal justice system, crippling key office-holders with fear and prompting acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams to assemble one of the most diverse and experienced investigative teams to solve it.
Williams is on record as saying Seetahal’s murder is the number one priority of the Police Service. The team includes personnel from the Homicide Bureau, Criminal Gang Intelligence Unit, Cyber Crime Unit, Special Branch and the Strategic Services Agency. The investigators are being assisted by data analysts and other technical experts, including agents from the US Federal Bureau of Investigations and other experts from the United Kingdom.

Within hours of Seetahal’s murder CrimeStoppers offered a $1 million bounty for information leading to the successful arrest and prosecution of those responsible. That figure was increased to $3.5 million by the Government. That reward remains unclaimed.

Details of hit

Investigations have so far revealed that Seetahal was followed after she left the Ma Pau casino on Ariapita Avenue, Woodbrook, and was ambushed near the Woodbrook Youth Facility and killed.

Police said a panel van, which had been parked near the youth facility blocked her path, and two men, one armed with an assault rifle and another with a handgun, walked up to her Volkswagen Touareg.

The man with the machine gun fired several shots in the air, leaving behind close to 15 spent 5.56 ammunition shells, while the other, now identified as Baker, stood near the driver’s door and fired repeatedly at his target.

Forensic analysis revealed that the shots were fired so close that gunpowder residue was found on Seetahal’s face and clothing.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 10:36:08 PM by socafighter »

Re: Dana’s Seetahal killer unmasked and killed...
« Reply #148 on: August 22, 2014, 10:49:19 PM »
[/color]

The man who pumped five bullets, at close range, into the head and body of Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal has been identified as one of three men killed in a police shootout at Freeport on Wednesday. Senior police officers who are directly involved in Seetahal’s murder probe confirmed yesterday that David “Junior” Baker, 28, was one of the key suspects involved in the well-planned assassination.

Insp Alexander: Dead Freeport bandit not Dana’s killer
Story Created: Aug 22, 2014 at 9:28 PM ECT
Story Updated: Aug 22, 2014 at 9:28 PM ECT

Despite reports yesterday that 28-year-old David Baker, who was killed in a shoot-out with police on Tuesday night in Freeport, was fingered as the shooter in the killing of senior counsel Dana Seetahal in May, police sources maintained this was not the case and investigations were still ongoing into the attorney’s murder.

Among those who spoke out against the Guardian report was head of the North Eastern Division Task Force, Insp Roger Alexander.

“This person, the person involved in this, I can say openly now, that the information that the police has...there is no information on what was printed today in a newspaper report. I am not taking away from anybody, I understand and appreciate journalism in this country, but just because something is printed doesn’t make it so. Once you say a senior officer in your story, people will believe the story to be true, but that doesn’t necessarily have to be so,” Alexander said.

Other sources conceded that Baker’s name came up when investigations began into Seetahal’s death, but the Express was told there was no direct evidence to link Baker to the murder.

Baker, police said, was indeed a murder suspect, but for other homicides committed in the Northern and North Eastern Divisions and that was the reason that officers of the North Eastern Division Task Force, led by Alexander and Cpl Sunil Bharath, made their way to the Freeport home on Tuesday.

Baker, a father of two, was killed alongside Reuben Richins, 23, and 19-year-old Kareem Edwards.

At about 7.30 p.m., officers attempted to execute a search warrant at Koorban Ali Drive, Calcutta No 1, Freeport in search of Baker.

When they entered the house, police said, they were greeted by gunfire.

The officers returned fire and the three men were shot. They were rushed to Couva Health Facility where they were pronounced dead on arrival.

Police say they recovered a revolver and three rounds of ammunition, as well as a Ruger .45 and two rounds of .45 calibre ammunition. They also found two bullet-proof vests which had a security logo.

However, relatives of the three men have maintained the police opened fire on the trio unnecessarily, killing them in cold blood.

Today marks 111 days since Seetahal was killed by unknown assailants while driving her Volkswagen SUV along Hamilton Holder/O’Connor Street, Woodbrook.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Insp-Alexander-Dead-Freeport-bandit-not-Danas-killer-272378131.html

« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 10:52:22 PM by Sando prince »

Re: Dana’s Seetahal killer unmasked and killed...
« Reply #149 on: August 24, 2014, 11:36:00 AM »
What is the latest on this?