April 18, 2024, 04:08:00 PM

Author Topic: Dana Seetahal murdered  (Read 39921 times)

Dana Seetahal murdered
« on: May 04, 2014, 01:51:53 AM »
Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/BREAKING-NEWS---Dana-Seetahal-murdered-257834591.html

By Alexander Bruzual

At about 12:05 a.m. senior counsel Dana Seetahal was in her Volkswagen SUV proceeding north along Hamilton-Holder street, Woodbrook when upon reaching the vicinity of the Woodbrook Youth Club two vehicles pulled alongside her causing her to come to a stop.

One of the vehicles, a Nissan Wingroad, then drove ahead a short distance and pulled across the road, blocking it. The other vehicle which was described as a panel van pulled alongside and the occupants of that vehicle pulled out their firearms and opened fire on the SUV.

The two vehicles then sped off and made good their escape.

Residents of the area, on hearing the gunshots contacted the police and emergency health services. However, despite their swift response, when they arrived the senior counsel and Express columnist was dead --- slumped along her driver's seat.

The first responders notified their seniors and a party of officers including ACP Wayne Dick, Senior Superintendent Ishmael David, Acting ASP Williams, Inspector Thomas, Inspector Veronique,
Inspector Lawrence, and Inspector Rampersad, among others, visited the scene.

Crime scene investigators recovered several 5.62 shells at the scene.

Police are currently working on two theories as a result of this killing. The first, and most prominent, is that because of the nature of the incident it was a "hit" arising out of the Senior Counsel's involvement in the Vindra Naipaul-Coolman case.

The other theory is that she allegedly was on her way home after spending some time in a casino. Up to moments ago officers were said to be still at the casino conducting inquiries.

Ag Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams, when contacted by the Express a short time ago, said he was shocked.

"It's shocking. Crime is a concern especially violent crime. It's a shocking incident, one you least expect.

"I had a conversation with her at around 12.45 pm on Saturday and everything was fine.

"We need to work as a country together", Williams said.

The top cop said he had been apprised of the killing, and head of Homicide ACP Wayne Dick has been in constant communication with him.

Williams assured there will be a thorough investigation, and that his officers are on the scene doing a basic investigation.

Re: Dana Seetahal murdered
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 02:13:09 AM »
This is sad but maybe it will take high profile people like this being murdered before our politicians get serious about reducing crime and murders.

But then again are our politicians setting a good example regards not encouraging crime?

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2014, 03:34:18 AM »
Unsurprising, but still no less than another societal low. Opens an immediate void in civil discourse and independent thought. RIP.

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 04:01:56 AM »
Sigh.

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2014, 08:47:29 AM »
This is just plain madness occurring for a small nation with all these murders. I actually wake up everyday expecting to hear someone got murdered, hoping it's not any of my family members. Change the system of politics and only then you will see a change in the country. Only The Lord knows, if I had the funds, I would campaign for a change in the system. People continuously blame the government for everything, yet they vote for the same damn people over and over and expect something different when their party wins.. Madness!!

« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2014, 09:20:27 AM »
they ever found selwyn richardson's killer/s?      we all know they will probably never find seetahal's killers.   some of my friends on fb talking about colombia and mexico and how we on a path to get like those places...i really ent know what to think oui

« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2014, 10:32:36 AM »
This is so distressing to hear... not only was Dana Seetahal a brilliant lawyer, but she was an excellent journalist as well.  Crime in Trinidad is out of control and law enforcement remains woefully impotent or unwilling to do anything about it.  I'm just stunned by this news.

« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2014, 11:30:51 AM »
Shocking news... Will it have to get even worse before action is taken? And if action is taken, will it be of any effect, or just another bunch of raids and business as usual after?

« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2014, 11:56:58 AM »
The criminals know that too many of our politicians and police officers are corrupt and also criminals themselves and so they know they are unlikely to pay for their crimes just like most of our politicians are criminally raping the country of its money and resources and are likely to get away with it while trying to blame the opposition party and claiming they were just as bad or worse than us.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2014, 12:23:31 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2014, 01:03:28 PM »
they ever found selwyn richardson's killer/s?      we all know they will probably never find seetahal's killers.   some of my friends on fb talking about colombia and mexico and how we on a path to get like those places...i really ent know what to think oui
We are not on a path..we are already there..but those who have orchestrated the murder and assassination of this Independent thinker have already spoken by accusing others of this crime.

« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2014, 01:05:01 PM »
How long before a new election?  I cyah remember it being this bad under PNM.  To much death in T&T.  These wicked spirits getting permission to do these things.

« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2014, 01:14:37 PM »
How long before a new election?  I cyah remember it being this bad under PNM.  To much death in T&T.  These wicked spirits getting permission to do these things.
This Gov't will never call an election....I wonder how many Guyanese and Surinamese will gain citizenship before next election. We have people who are intellectually and morally bankrupt running the country.

« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2014, 01:23:41 PM »
This Gov't will never call an election....I wonder how many Guyanese and Surinamese will gain citizenship before next election. We have people who are intellectually and morally bankrupt running the country.

Help me understand the Guyanese and Surinamese reference.  I would like more insight.  Speak plainly. 

« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2014, 01:48:57 PM »
Another sad. Blow to tarnish our nation- blame? When the SOE  exercise had the so called criminal elements  under lock and key and two weeks later they walked free - one wonders at the mockery of a system who used the stringent measures at its disposals that resulted in a lot of sound and fury signifying nothing- now today we are witnessing the apparent liberty that these criminal elements are making just so bold face just so almost sneering at the law enforcement to do something.
It is appalling and disheartening to read day in and day out of these wanton killings- blame ?

It is a societal  plague that has encompassed our nation of epidemic proportion without any seemingly available antidote. Rampant murders on our streets communities and our land has an aura of callouses existence- it is a sad day when people begin to see this as a norm - blame ?
 Where does the blame lie? It is unreasonable to expect the law enforcers to be present and visible 24/7 in all cornea of our communities-  these people who are committing these gruesome crimes are not without accessories or others with knowledge of- why is it that people are living with and know about yet does not have the moral or ethical fortitude to take preventative actions to deter the actions of others?- blame?
 There is a collective thinking that has tainted segments of our society to live with and amongst those who dare live a life of violence-  where did we go wrong? What led to this moral decay? How could we see things and know things in our neighbourhood yet be paralyzed by fear to report?
Why is it that each day one could almost predict the headline and live with a constant fear that innocent lives could be lost at a moment's notice.

Growing up long time the threat of a " buss head"  was a big deal today it appears that threats are passé and that the reality of a violent death is norming. Some people are quick to dismiss many of these murders to " gang association" or drugs- what is it when it is high profile individuals? Are  we back in the wild Wild West  who hired "gunslingers" were part of how business was conducted?

It is shameful that we don't have enough. Harsh measures to deter the actions of these perpetrators of criminal activities- that people who engage in these criminal activities could do so without the fear of persecution? Blame?  Are there elements in our legal judiciary law enforcement,  government, that are connected to nefarious activities that assist in the perpetration of criminal activities? Blame? It makes you wonder ?  When so called big crime happens like the juice can episode and still no transparent  information is revealed as to the people behind this ? Ummm? Now this  killing? Motive? Will we ever know what or who is really behind our nation's decay? Who do we blame?

My TRinidad and Tobago is not the place I use to know and yet there are so many things that are positive  in the land- Complex issues are not solved with simple solutions- as a people it appears that our faith and trust in those entrusted to safeguard our well being has being dismantled-  our leaders does not inspire faith or belief that the moral yardstick would strike out at those who chose to live alive of crime.  What will it take? Money spent and time spent on ensuring that a minister picture be posted in every police station is not a measure to reduce crime- narcissistic and self aggrodanizing seems to be what some leaders are perpetuating as oppose to seriously looking at practical solutions - it's another sad day in the streets of our nation.

« Last Edit: May 04, 2014, 01:51:55 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2014, 02:27:25 PM »
Another sad. Blow to tarnish our nation- blame? When the SOE  exercise had the so called criminal elements  under lock and key and two weeks later they walked free - one wonders at the mockery of a system who used the stringent measures at its disposals that resulted in a lot of sound and fury signifying nothing- now today we are witnessing the apparent liberty that these criminal elements are making just so bold face just so almost sneering at the law enforcement to do something.
It is appalling and disheartening to read day in and day out of these wanton killings- blame ?

It is a societal  plague that has encompassed our nation of epidemic proportion without any seemingly available antidote. Rampant murders on our streets communities and our land has an aura of callouses existence- it is a sad day when people begin to see this as a norm - blame ?
 Where does the blame lie? It is unreasonable to expect the law enforcers to be present and visible 24/7 in all cornea of our communities-  these people who are committing these gruesome crimes are not without accessories or others with knowledge of- why is it that people are living with and know about yet does not have the moral or ethical fortitude to take preventative actions to deter the actions of others?- blame?
 There is a collective thinking that has tainted segments of our society to live with and amongst those who dare live a life of violence-  where did we go wrong? What led to this moral decay? How could we see things and know things in our neighbourhood yet be paralyzed by fear to report?
Why is it that each day one could almost predict the headline and live with a constant fear that innocent lives could be lost at a moment's notice.

Growing up long time the threat of a " buss head"  was a big deal today it appears that threats are passé and that the reality of a violent death is norming. Some people are quick to dismiss many of these murders to " gang association" or drugs- what is it when it is high profile individuals? Are  we back in the wild Wild West  who hired "gunslingers" were part of how business was conducted?

It is shameful that we don't have enough. Harsh measures to deter the actions of these perpetrators of criminal activities- that people who engage in these criminal activities could do so without the fear of persecution? Blame?  Are there elements in our legal judiciary law enforcement,  government, that are connected to nefarious activities that assist in the perpetration of criminal activities? Blame? It makes you wonder ?  When so called big crime happens like the juice can episode and still no transparent  information is revealed as to the people behind this ? Ummm? Now this  killing? Motive? Will we ever know what or who is really behind our nation's decay? Who do we blame?

My TRinidad and Tobago is not the place I use to know and yet there are so many things that are positive  in the land- Complex issues are not solved with simple solutions- as a people it appears that our faith and trust in those entrusted to safeguard our well being has being dismantled-  our leaders does not inspire faith or belief that the moral yardstick would strike out at those who chose to live alive of crime.  What will it take? Money spent and time spent on ensuring that a minister picture be posted in every police station is not a measure to reduce crime- narcissistic and self aggrodanizing seems to be what some leaders are perpetuating as oppose to seriously looking at practical solutions - it's another sad day in the streets of our nation.

Man you're missing the whole point this wasn't random....the fact that it is known that 2 vehicles were involved means there was either an eyewitness or she was on the phone... the fact that no mention of robbery motive makes it less than random....I don't know crap about guns but those shell casings indicate a military type assault weapon

« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2014, 02:33:33 PM »
Man you're missing the whole point this wasn't random....the fact that it is known that 2 vehicles were involved means there was either an eyewitness or she was on the phone... the fact that no mention of robbery motive makes it less than random....I don't know crap about guns but those shell casings indicate a military type assault weapon

That was far from a random killing and anyone who believes that needs to put on their thinking cap before commenting.

« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2014, 02:33:42 PM »
The woman get blast up like 'Training Day'  Meps thanks for that resource.  Have there been in any opinion influx of criminal elements from Guyana and Suriname? 

« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2014, 02:38:36 PM »
Who ever said this act was random? From what I read about the Mo and the specific target in the news articles, it would suggest otherwise.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2014, 02:40:24 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2014, 03:17:56 PM »
no random killing. a hit plain and simple. ordered by a suit. a suit that had vested interest in her death. an interest that was so crucial to

him/her that warranted her removal from the living world by any means. any means. alot was riding on her death to these people. who do

they use? contract and sub contract and sub sub sub contract this dirty work to the anti-social, morally bankrupt individuals in society. suits

have their henchmen who they would have already equipped with money, guns, contracts etc and who know where in the underworld to hire

or exploit. death penalty aint stoppin the actual low level perpetrators of these sorts of crimes with police detection and conviction rates so

disgustingly low. western division PCs etc know whats the deal but decide to hush their mouths and cash their cheques at the end of the

month and hope to make it out that career path fast and financially healthy.

« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2014, 04:23:54 PM »
the country like a friggin run away train !!!!
« Last Edit: May 04, 2014, 05:50:02 PM by royal »

« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2014, 05:46:47 PM »
 :thinking:

Panday: A failed State
« Reply #23 on: May 04, 2014, 07:49:12 PM »
Panday: A failed State
..."It seems to me that the whole country needs to be protected in some way or the other"

By SUE-ANN WAYOW
Story Created: May 4, 2014 at 3:54 PM ECT (T&T Express)

"My God! What is this country coming to?"

Those were the first words from former prime minister Basdeo Panday when told of senior counsel Dana Seetahal's death today.

When the Express told Panday that his former legal colleague Seetahal was murdered, Panday was astounded.

He said: "I am shocked beyond words. I do not know the reason for this killing but if it has anything to do with the fact that she was doing her duty as a lawyer, all I can say is I don't know what this country has come to, not is coming anymore, but has come to. "

Panday said Seetahal was an exemplary lawyer.

" As a lawyer, we did not do any cases together but as a legal colleague we got along very well . She was a very good lawyer, I think she was determined, I think she is intelligent and she has done quite a lot of cases successfully, " he said.

Panday said if Seetahal, a prominent lawyer could be killed, nobody was safe in the country.

Seetahal was a State prosecuor in the Vindra Naipaul-Coolman trial that resumes today.

Security has since been given to Justice Malcolm Holdip and other attorneys involved in the trial.

Panday said: "It seems to me that the whole country needs to be protected in some way or the other. If a lawyer who is doing a case can be killed because of that, I don't know, she might have been killed for another reason, if that is the reason, then you got to guard everybody. This country has reached to a level that is incomprehensible, it has sunk to a level which is unbelievable. We are now really a failed State."

And Seetahal's colleague, senior counsel Israel Khan said Seetahal will be sorely missed.

He said: "I am very saddened and I am shocked and astonished. We were very close. We graduated together. We were at law school together and she was in my law chambers for about 10 years."
« Last Edit: May 04, 2014, 07:51:42 PM by Socapro »

$1 million reward in Dana Seetahal murder
« Reply #24 on: May 04, 2014, 07:55:41 PM »
$1 million reward in Dana Seetahal murder
By Alexander Bruzual
Story Created: May 4, 2014 at 3:17 AM ECT (T&T Express)

A $1 million reward is being offered by Crime Stoppers for information leading to the arrest and conviction of those involved in the murder of attorney Dana Seetahal. At about 12:05 a.m. senior counsel Dana Seetahal was in her Volkswagen SUV proceeding north along Hamilton-Holder street, Woodbrook when upon reaching the vicinity of the Woodbrook Youth Facility two vehicles pulled alongside her causing her to come to a stop. One of the vehicles, a Nissan Wingroad, then drove ahead a short distance and pulled across the road, blocking it.

The other vehicle which was described as a panel van pulled alongside and the occupants of that vehicle pulled out their firearms and opened fire on the SUV. The two vehicles then sped off and made good their escape. Residents of the area, on hearing the gunshots contacted the police and emergency health services.

However, despite their swift response, when they arrived the senior counsel and Express columnist was dead --- slumped along her driver's seat.

The first responders notified their seniors and a party of officers including ACP Wayne Dick, Senior Superintendent Ishmael David, Acting ASP Williams, Inspector Thomas, Inspector Veronique, Inspector Lawrence, and Inspector Rampersad, among others, visited the scene. Crime scene investigators recovered several 5.62 shells at the scene. Police suspect that because of the nature of the incident it was a "hit" arising out of the Senior Counsel's involvement in the Vindra Naipaul-Coolman case.

Ag Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams said:  "It's shocking. Crime is a concern especially violent crime. It's a shocking incident, one you least expect. "I had a conversation with her at around 12.45 pm on Saturday and everything was fine. "We need to work as a country together", Williams said. Williams said he had been apprised of the killing, and head of Homicide ACP Wayne Dick has been in constant communication with him. Williams assured there will be a thorough investigation, and that his officers are on the scene doing a basic investigation.

PM: Dana's death must not be in vain
« Reply #25 on: May 04, 2014, 08:14:04 PM »
Are these yet more empty pretty words from our PM?

PM: Dana's death must not be in vain
...This outrageous act of brutality cannot be concluded by mere expressions of regret and sympathy

By Multimedia Desk
Story Created: May 4, 2014 at 2:54 PM ECT (T&T Express)

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has issued a statement regarding the murder today of senior Counsel Dana Seetahal. The following is the statement is Persad-Bissessar -

It is with profound sadness and shock that I learned of the tragic death of a dear friend and colleague, Senior Counsel Dana Seetahal.

It is a reprehensible act which has robbed us all of one of our nation's best and brightest daughters. Even those who never met Dana Seetahal would recognise her through the life she lived and the proud legacy now left.

There is an abyss of loss and sadness for this brutal removal of a sister, friend, legal luminary and fearless, independent thinker on national issues.

As Prime Minister, I am resolutely committed to meeting the viciousness with which Dana Seetahal's brilliant life was cut down on the terms she would have wanted and fought so courageously and fearlessly for every day. Dana Seetahal would have uncompromisingly sought justice and made her voice known.

Dana Seetahal would have made her tragedy an impetus and symbol for sweeping changes. Dana Seetahal would have fought with her last breath to ensure justice was served. By our response, let us preserve that legacy.

This outrageous act of brutality cannot be concluded by mere expressions of regret and sympathy.

I have enjoined with the Minister of National Security to ensure that every resource of the law enforcement machinery of the state is utilised in relentless pursuit of apprehending those involved in this most dastardly and heinous act. Further, I have convened an emergency meeting of the National Security Council of which I am the Head.

Yet, further I have spoken with the Honourable Chief Justice Mr. Ivor Archie and we have agreed to meet in order to devote urgent attention to necessary reforms in the criminal justice system and security issues connected there with.

Dana’s tragic passing brings to an end the work and life of a legal and academic giant whose contributions to our nation were far from complete. The legal profession, and indeed our country and region have lost a truly remarkable daughter of Trinidad& Tobago.

As a lawyer, her success and the high regard she earned from her colleagues were testaments to her determination to boldly uphold and defend the rule of law. As a former Independent Senator, she demonstrated the highest principles and values of independent thinking, grounded in her love and passion for the future of our country.

Dana also served her country and our citizens as a Magistrate, as President of the Law Association, as a State prosecutor, and as Assistant Solicitor General. Indeed, she was also a leading advocate for education and as a Fulbright Scholar and Lecturer at the Hugh Wooding Law School, became a guiding light to many young graduates.

She earned a sterling reputation as a leading opinion maker on national issues of law, constitution and criminal justice.

For the role she played in Parliamentary, legal and indeed national leadership, Dana will always be remembered fondly. We have lost someone who never allowed herself to be defined by the change she advocated, and whose courage and boldness will always stand as an inspiration for today’s and tomorrow’s legal professionals.

I send my most heartfelt condolences to her family and closest friends and wish them on behalf of the nation, God’s blessings and guidance in this time of deep grief and loss.
May her soul rest in peace.

« Reply #26 on: May 04, 2014, 08:43:08 PM »
Do we have video monitoring at street intersections.   Maybe some legislation needs to be passed requiring all businesses to have proper surveillance outside their store, every traffic light etc. 

« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2014, 12:47:56 AM »
That million $$$ reward sends the WRONG message !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 01:12:07 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2014, 04:48:11 AM »
T&T in shock and disbelief: Fearless prosecutor Dana Seetahal gunned down
By Ria Taitt Political Editor

WHY?

Trinidad and Tobago trembled and the region reeled from the assassination early yesterday of Dana Seetahal, well-respected senior counsel (SC), an outspoken independent senator during her time in Parliament, and well-read Express columnist.

Jurists all up the Caribbean were texting Trinidadians to find out if it was true and the Trinidad and Tobago legal community staggered in disbelief.

Why did this happen? was the question everyone was asking.

It was the first assassination of a senior member of the criminal justice system, a major blow which threatens to reverberate throughout the system and strike it at its very heart.

Seetahal, 58, a fearless prosecutor who had prosecuted attempted-coup leader Abu Bakr in the past and successfully won the lawsuit which enabled the State to sell the former insurgent’s property, was currently prosecutor in another high-profile case—the murder trial of Vindra Naipaul-Coolman.

The mood of the country yesterday was one of overwhelming fear, worry and insecurity.

People were talking about it everywhere—in the churches, in the marketplace, on the streets.

Entertainer Machel Montano, whom Seetahal had defended recently in an assault case, sat on the pavement, holding his head and crying at the murder scene.

So shaken was the country that some people went so far as to say the last time the society had experienced this “what-the-hell-is-going-on-here?” kind of shock was when they saw Yasin Abu Bakr on their television sets on July 27, 1990.

No doubt about it—Trinidad and Tobago was disoriented, troubled and traumatised by the wanton act which occurred at Hamilton Holder Street at approximately 12.05 yesterday morning.

The obviously carefully-planned hit was executed, from all appearances, with precision, using military assault rifles.

Seetahal did not stand a chance as she drove from her regular “stress-reliever”—Ma Pau casino in Woodbrook—to her home at One Woodbrook Place, minding her own business.

No one could have survived the onslaught that she faced. The wea­pons of war employed by the assassins were designed to do maximum damage in a military setting, capable of penetrating the outer frame of her vehicle as well as a bullet-proof vest, not that she wore one.

Those who knew her personally and those who knew her by her “fame” as a lawyer, speaker, author and columnist, had the same thoughts, the same scenes being played out in their heads over and over yesterday.

They kept imagining how it all went down. How, in The Godfather style, her car was blocked from the front and behind. How scared and alone she must have felt as her life flashed before her in a terrifying instant before her body was riddled with bullets; 15 shots—five pierced her head, some of the others hit her upper torso.

What a horrible moment! What a tremendous loss!

Dana Seetahal touched a wide constituency of people—lawyers and judicial officers, politicians and parliamentarians, journalists and a broad cross-section of friends and, most importantly, a family of siblings, nieces and nephews.

Anyone who has passed through any of the law schools in the Caribbean in the last ten years learned criminal practice and procedure at the criminal bar from Dana Seetahal.

Her book, Commonwealth Caribbean Criminal Practice and Procedure, is a must-read, a virtual gospel for law students in the Commonwealth Caribbean. The best-seller is into its third edition.

As news of the murder trickled in from around 1 a.m., and then around 2 a.m. flooding the online versions of the daily newspapers and the social media, the country lost its capacity to sleep.

An emotional Pamela Elder, president of the Criminal Bar Association, said: “I just put my pillow over my head and screamed; screamed for the loss of Dana and for our country.

“We have lost a formidable advocate, who worked hard and tirelessly for the criminal justice system. We worked on opposite sides but there was no bitterness, because of our love for the system. Sometimes we might have disagreed... but eventually we worked it out because we understood that the ultimate goal was the good of the criminal justice system.”
Wayne Sturge was equally shaken, alternating between sorrow and anger.
“We used to call her ‘Sweetahal’. She was the life of the coffee shop where the lawyers hung out during court time.”
Seetahal’s incisive analysis was always sought by those in the media fraternity. She endeared herself to us media practitioners by her willingness to clarify complex legal issues and to offer her robust insight.

Fellow Express columnist and attorney Gillian Lucky said: “She always shared knowledge. She never kept it to herself.”

“Dana loved hanging out, liming, laughing and doing things that normal, down-to-earth persons would do. And she valued a good conversation,” another close friend stated.

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar summed it up this way: “There is an abyss of loss and sadness for this brutal removal of a sister, friend, legal luminary and fearless, independent thinker on national issues.”

Seetahal was also interested in children’s issues and rights.

She had only recently taken pro bono the case of two young girls who were sent to the adult women’s prison because the State could not find accommodation for them in any other facility.

So the key question remains: did the death of this beloved attorney, Dana Seetahal, relate in any way to her job that she was so passionate about?
The country has grown accustomed to witnesses being murdered or intimidated.

But as Trinidad and Tobago processed the news of Seetahal’s death and its possible implications, the population wondered whether our nation had entered a new and more dangerous realm and whether new floodgates had been opened.

And if this is indeed so, what does it mean for those engaged in upholding the criminal justice system?

Trinidad and Tobago has taken the assassination of Dana Seetahal very hard indeed.

« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2014, 05:53:41 AM »
May you rest in peace Ms Seetahal, you were a servant of the soil.

The seeds were planted years ago and coming into fruition now - a country is held hostage now.