July 26, 2024, 07:49:58 PM

Author Topic: Allyuh know this fact about Ron Laforest  (Read 11841 times)

Allyuh know this fact about Ron Laforest
« on: April 02, 2005, 08:46:44 AM »
Ron LaForest, another former national striker who once scored a hat trick against Arsenal with Pat Jennings in goal, was reassigned to coach the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic team.

Players long time was Boss...Dwight Yorke is the only other Trinbagonian to repeat such a feat.i.e score Hattrick against the gunners.

Source: http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/3505796
« Last Edit: September 12, 2005, 11:11:53 AM by Tallman »

Re: Alyuh know this fact about Ron Laforest
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2005, 08:55:36 AM »
Ron La had to be one of our best strikers ever. It is a shame that the international football landscape wasn't as open back then as it is now. It would have been nice to see those guys get opportunities in Europe and abroad.

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2005, 09:37:21 AM »
very true. I was at that game and ASL played very well against a Liam Brady led Arsenal.

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2005, 01:30:01 PM »
OBSERVER SUPER OLD!! U WAS AT D GAME???

« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2005, 02:39:54 PM »
Ron LaForest, another former national striker who once scored a hat trick against Arsenal with Pat Jennings in goal....

Ah wonder if it accurate. Ah was digging around and ah find out dat Arsenal play ASL in 1982, but Arsenal beat dem 3-2. Observer say he was at de game, but he didn't say what de score was. It would be good tuh clear up dis matter.

« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2005, 02:49:27 PM »
Tallman, do you store all this information that you collect?

It would be a really good resource for anyone who wanted to chronicle T&T football history.

« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2005, 02:58:04 PM »
Tallman, do you store all this information that you collect?

I mostly store information relating to de national senior team. An excellent source of information on T&T football is The Story of Trinidad and Tobago Football 1893 - 2000 by Valentino Singh

« Reply #7 on: April 02, 2005, 03:07:43 PM »
Damn I had no idea that such a record existed.

Thanks Tallman, I will have download those files.

« Reply #8 on: April 02, 2005, 03:58:43 PM »
Ron LaForest, another former national striker who once scored a hat trick against Arsenal with Pat Jennings in goal....

Ah wonder if it accurate. Ah was digging around and ah find out dat Arsenal play ASL in 1982, but Arsenal beat dem 3-2. Observer say he was at de game, but he didn't say what de score was. It would be good tuh clear up dis matter.

ASL won 3-2

« Reply #9 on: April 02, 2005, 04:02:15 PM »
ASL won 3-2

Thanks. Dat mean Valentino Singh had de score back tuh front.

« Reply #10 on: April 03, 2005, 03:07:06 AM »
I was at dat game.

It was the first time i ever saw ASL in action. and the only time I got to see the famed Sammy Lellwyn.

It was a wet turf and Asl had the Gunners under manners.

Pat Jennings was in goal, later that year he would star in goal for N. Ireland in the 1982 WC.

But on dat day Asl made him look oridinary.

John Granville was at the other end and he was outstanding.

One of the goals that Ars. scored was a penalty. Grnv. flung himself to the left made contact with the ball, but it hit the side bar and went in.

ASL won 3-2.

Peace,

« Reply #11 on: April 03, 2005, 08:34:03 PM »

Pat Jennings was in goal, later that year he would star in goal for N. Ireland in the 1982 WC.

Fellas check dah date. When in '82 was dah game played? Could it have been '83?

« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2005, 01:37:45 PM »
Doc it was before the 82 World Cup.

I remember becz a few months later Jennings looked so good for NI.
especially against hosts Spain, when they shocked them 1-0 and knocked them out of the WC.

Jennings was the essence of composure that day.

So the game was between Jan and May of 1982...prob. during break in the Eng. season..

Peace,

« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2005, 02:02:07 PM »
vb:

The reason I was asking is because that time was during the English League season, unless they had a winter break. I left TT in August '82, and know for sure That game wasn't played when I was home. .... Try some Gingko, it may help  ;D ;D

« Reply #14 on: April 04, 2005, 02:11:20 PM »
Can anyone else who saw the ASL v Arsenal game give the approximate date the match was played?

ASL vs Arsenal
« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2005, 10:41:30 AM »
Can anyone else who saw the ASL v Arsenal game give the approximate date the match was played?

I didn't see de game, but I found out it was played on May 18th, 1982.

Re: ASL vs Arsenal
« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2005, 04:34:44 PM »

I didn't see de game, but I found out it was played on May 18th, 1982.

Doc,

doh tell meh de blank allyuh Bago ppl when de game get play?

You didn't even know about it :)  :devil:

Re: Allyuh know this fact about Ron Laforest
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2005, 08:10:49 AM »
I did not see that game , but that year I think in August, ASL played Spurs. ASL lost 1-3.
ASL score in the 1st half, I think Ron La. Alan Brazil come on in the second half and score a hattrick in about 15 mins the coach, take him off right after because he was suffering from a hangover.
Spurs had greats like Ardiles and Steve Archibald in the team.
Whatever happen to Arther Suite?

Offline davyjenny

« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2005, 10:50:15 PM »
I did not see that game , but that year I think in August, ASL played Spurs. ASL lost 1-3.
ASL score in the 1st half, I think Ron La. Alan Brazil come on in the second half and score a hattrick in about 15 mins the coach, take him off right after because he was suffering from a hangover.

his address is in the streets of t&t.
the impossible lies in a person determination

« Reply #19 on: September 14, 2005, 03:08:17 AM »
What do you mean ? The man is a vagrant ?

???

« Reply #20 on: September 14, 2005, 06:27:28 AM »
I also remember going to that game but I remember the field (de Oval) being totally waterlog to point of almost being unplayable (de rain came down right before kick-off and just kept coming down).  Water was up to a couple of inches high on the corner post down towards the pavilion side.  De Oval being a cricket pitch was nice in de middle with de slope but a mess on the corners.  Arsenal did not play much if any ball on dat day (a caribbean vacation) but credit has to be given to how well ASL played.

It had one piece of action that stays with me to this day.  Ron La pick up the ball in the mini flood by the corner post and with a defender on him proceed to juggle de ball along the goal line since he could not play it on de ground and end up taking a volley at goal (it went overbars).  De Oval went off with that play since meh boy leave de defender totally mesmerized by the corner post.

The National team in dem times had Ron La and Berta (Bert Neptune) in de forward line.  If yuh wanted to see men take on defenders and go to goal, yuh had to see dem men in their prime.  Dem men in de prime would make half-a-slab look like a boy amongst men.  De funny thing is dat de National team use to get good licks in dem times from teams such as Suriname.

« Last Edit: September 14, 2005, 03:29:07 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #21 on: September 14, 2005, 01:46:36 PM »
 T&T does really produce quality..Go T&T

« Reply #22 on: February 08, 2011, 07:04:57 AM »
I also remember going to that game but I remember the field (de Oval) being totally waterlog to point of almost being unplayable (de rain came down right before kick-off and just kept coming down).  Water was up to a couple of inches high on the corner post down towards the pavilion side.  De Oval being a cricket pitch was nice in de middle with de slope but a mess on the corners.  Arsenal did not play much if any ball on dat day (a caribbean vacation) but credit has to be given to how well ASL played.

It had one piece of action that stays with me to this day.  Ron La pick up the ball in the mini flood by the corner post and with a defender on him proceed to juggle de ball along the goal line since he could not play it on de ground and end up taking a volley at goal (it went overbars).  De Oval went off with that play since meh boy leave de defender totally mesmerized by the corner post.The National team in dem times had Ron La and Berta (Bert Neptune) in de forward line.  If yuh wanted to see men take on defenders and go to goal, yuh had to see dem men in their prime.  Dem men in de prime would make half-a-slab look like a boy amongst men.  De funny thing is dat de National team use to get good licks in dem times from teams such as Suriname.

I think You mixing up games.
When ASL played Spurs they lost 2-0.
TT however, drew 2-2 with them.

The ball juggling by Ron La on a water logged QP) pitch was against Man U.
It was (to my recollection) about ten metres from the corner flag on the line. Ron La had a man marking him hard. He start to raise the ball on the line and then swivel and send it into the box. A player picked up on it and scored. A great effort against Man U no less. The game was blown off due to the horrendous nature of the pitch with MU leading 2-1. I believe ASL lost the replay 4-0.

« Reply #23 on: February 08, 2011, 08:51:51 AM »
This thread is de bess

Confusion like hell sprinkled with hyperbolised flashbacks and some heroic history...and of course a davyjenny curveball

I wouldnt truss none ah allyuh identifin ah man in a police line up oui :devil:

« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2011, 10:00:43 AM »
This thread is de bess

Confusion like hell sprinkled with hyperbolised flashbacks and some heroic history...and of course a davyjenny curveball

I wouldnt truss none ah allyuh identifin ah man in a police line up oui :devil:

I cah blame yuh  ;D

But I was at all three games. So I go stick to my story ;-)

« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2011, 04:57:14 AM »
This brings back some memories of the ALL Black English team which was played at the oval,same scene the oval was like a swimming pool,the game was blown off after about 15-20 minutes

« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2011, 07:43:37 PM »

Spurs had greats like Hoddle, Crooks and Archibald ...Ardiles was not there ... He left England for a period as a result of the outbreak of the Falklands War in 1982, thus missing most of the 1982–83 season. I still remember Hoddle's corner kicks from a 90 degree angle ...and his crosses from the right side to pinpoint a single forward among a mass of defenders ...amazing !!!
man had skill like sand !

« Reply #27 on: February 10, 2011, 07:48:32 PM »
Ron LaForest, another former national striker who once scored a hat trick against Arsenal with Pat Jennings in goal, was reassigned to coach the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic team.

Players long time was Boss...Dwight Yorke is the only other Trinbagonian to repeat such a feat.i.e score Hattrick against the gunners.

Source: http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/3505796

Ron La scored the first official goal in the national stadium ...he immediately pointed one finger to the sky ...knowing no one could ever break that record ....Ron was and is a records man ..de man have albums dating back to his youthful days at belmont .... His joy was to cut out anything about himself that appeared in the newspapers ... He  used to want to score to read about it next day ... we had a chat about that once ....

« Reply #28 on: February 10, 2011, 07:53:06 PM »
This the attitude a strker must have. Some people had a hard time dealing with him outside of football. He is one of them that I have to say born the wrong time.

« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2011, 08:12:38 PM »
This the attitude a strker must have. Some people had a hard time dealing with him outside of football. He is one of them that I have to say born the wrong time.

Ron was the complete forward ..he scored goals from his head to his toe ....he could dribble and would often taunt defenders during the game ...one time he was playing against a young team in his old days and he was taunting a young defender who was giving him back talk ...except Ron was walking off and the defender was following him talking back at him ...it was almost too late when the defender realised that Ron had taken him out of position ...if not for his astute coach he would have paid the price ...Ron only laughed and remarked ...he eh ready yet !

One time vs Caroni ( leroy Spann's team ) in the Premier league ( Suite League ) Ron put his foot on the ball and challenged anyone to come and get it ...a la Garrincha ..... he was a total showman ...and still is ... we dont have that type of entertainment anymore ...man get serious and coaches have coached out the bravado in our football ...