March 28, 2024, 07:49:51 AM

Author Topic: Armoured APC's and SUV's coming to T&T soon.  (Read 2394 times)

Armoured APC's and SUV's coming to T&T soon.
« on: May 12, 2014, 06:30:51 AM »
20 heavily armoured vehicles to fight crime
By Denyse Renne (Express).

FIREPOWER

Over 20 specially outfitted armoured vehicles will arrive in Trinidad and Tobago soon to assist the country’s law enforcement in the fight against crime.

Sources say the vehicles — 20 armoured sports utility vehicles (SUV), along with 15 armoured personnel carriers (APC), are being outfitted with safety gear designed to withstand various forms of attack.

The vehicles will also have speciality equipment inclusive of GPS, gun ports and computerised systems, which will be linked to various national security agencies.

Sources told the Express that representatives from the Defence Force have visited the United States to view the vehicles, while National Security Minister Gary Griffith held talks with representatives from the United Kingdom.

The source told the Express, in choosing an APC, one needed to look at the size and make of the vehicle.
Such vehicles, the source said, needed to be road-worthy and should also allow for proper navigation into tracks within T&T.

The 20 SUVs, the source added, are just for the time being, citing that, following the arrival of this fleet, more will be on the way.

These SUVs will be used by specialised units within the Police Service, as well as task forces, while the APCs will be strictly for military use in “hotspot” areas.

The vehicles were purchased through the National Security Ministry and sources say advertisements for the procurement were not placed.

Sources within the security ministry say the ministry has the option of not going through the tendering process if the equipment needed is for an emergency.

The cost of the vehicles is estimated to be in the millions, sources say.

Contacted for a comment yesterday evening, Griffith admitted he is looking at acquiring the vehicles.

Asked whether the SUVs will be used by Government ministers, he denied this.

“The vehicles are not for Government officials. They are for law enforcement,” Griffith said.

He said private security companies use armoured vehicles and therefore the purchase of the vehicles by Government is “a precaution”.

“You put things in place to avoid things happening in the future.”

Asked whether security intelligence agencies had information that some sort of disturbance would take place in T&T, thus the decision taken to purchase them, Griffith said: “Of course not.”

He explained: “You can’t have law enforcement going into terrain with only bullet-proof vests and are exposed in vehicles.”

Adding that the vehicles will be used as protection for law enforcement agencies, mainly the police and Defence Force, Griffith said these agencies need to have the vehicles for extra protection “in the fight against crime”.

Stating that his job is not to come up with crime plans, Griffith said, ensuring that security agencies are well equipped and modernised to perform their duties is of paramount importance to him.

The National Security Minister said the APCs are fully armoured, tactical and “very military”, adding these vehicles will be used by the army and the national security operation group.

“The plan is to fight fire with fire and go into the ultimate hotspot areas and take the fight back to the so-called gang leaders who actually have the impression that certain areas and communities belong to them.

“We will be going in very hard with clinical precision with a special operation group,” Griffith said.

Re: Armoured APC's and SUV's coming to T&T soon.
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 07:41:57 AM »
I thought he said we need intelligence to fight crime that is equiment.

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2014, 09:16:52 AM »
Sounds like they getting ready for war!

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2014, 10:12:22 AM »
I feel 2015 will be a troublesome year for this mess of a democracy we living in......I won't put nutten past this gov't........if I am proven wrong so be it......but dey money tusty.....and have no legs to stand on for re-election.....and dat is a dangerous combination

d seetahal killin makes me even more worried....someting 'bout dat whole ting jus eh rubbin me right.... dais all ah goh say

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2014, 10:34:09 AM »
I feel 2015 will be a troublesome year for this mess of a democracy we living in......I won't put nutten past this gov't........if I am proven wrong so be it......but dey money tusty.....and have no legs to stand on for re-election.....and dat is a dangerous combination

d seetahal killin makes me even more worried....someting 'bout dat whole ting jus eh rubbin me right.... dais all ah goh say

:thumbsup:

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 11:16:09 AM »
War or wah which one Gary which one ? tell we nah man

« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2014, 11:37:08 AM »
These SUVs will be used by specialised units within the Police Service, as well as task forces, while the APCs will be strictly for military use in “hotspot” areas.

So, we can expect to see them parked on the highways with their flashing blue lights, right next to the state of the art rapid response vehicles that sit and watch drivers constantly breaking the law. (Maybe they run on special gas that isn't available in T&T?)

Stating that his job is not to come up with crime plans Hmm, so who's job is that? Minister of Housing? Maybe, Gender Affairs? Tourism? Someone must have a plan?

« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2014, 12:43:03 PM »

So, we can expect to see them parked on the highways with their flashing blue lights, right next to the state of the art rapid response vehicles that sit and watch drivers constantly breaking the law. (Maybe they run on special gas that isn't available in T&T?)

Stating that his job is not to come up with crime plans Hmm, so who's job is that? Minister of Housing? Maybe, Gender Affairs? Tourism? Someone must have a plan?

but he is d man dat say  dey had a plan :rotfl: :-\ :'( tv6 or whoever should show dat f**ker d tape .................hypocritical lying piece of shit

« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2014, 12:59:28 PM »
They had more plans than Town and Country Planning when they wanted d wuk now is not his role. RUN THIS FRAUD OUT OF TOWN.

« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2014, 05:57:15 PM »
Weary these people making plans to win the next general elections by any means necessary .

« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2014, 07:48:39 PM »
is because they have dread pothole in the road...they need something dat could take the bumps.

its just another method for capt crunch to thief money before the party  get kick out.

« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2014, 08:28:42 PM »
Weary these people making plans to win the next general elections by any means necessary .

YEP

« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2014, 10:36:29 PM »
Sounds like another. Charade to deflect from something else- what really going on  in this place? Is like one story after another-
Story synonym -LIE
Mis directions untruths misleading information propaganda - and what is all this covering up? Which ISSUE is really at the core and which minister stands to lose out BIG.? I eh know but ah feel this "prison gate lawyer"  thing is somehow connected to all what going on?
 Something going on and yuh could see a whole bunch ah dominoes tumbling.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 10:43:28 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2014, 10:52:21 PM »
Pappy show government with no intention to deal with crime because they themselves are just as bad as the criminals and the criminals know that. How can Satan correct sin anyway?   :-\

Stop spending money on war toys
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2014, 11:23:49 PM »
Intelligent letter in the T&T Express about this.....

Stop spending money on war toys
Story Created: May 12, 2014 at 9:00 PM ECT

This purchasing of expensive armoured vehicles, helicopters and general paraphernalia suited to outfitting the military for a small war (Express, May 12) cannot come cheap.  Which country will we be fighting?  Venezuela? Colombia? Cuba?

I would have thought that paying the families that have been moved because of the highway to Point Fortin would be  top priority rather than parking up helicopters and SUVs while waiting for the odd skirmish with local bandits.  Unlike the millions spent on exotic animals and construction of boardwalks there is nothing amusing about these deadly war toys.

Some of those millions should be spent on a state-of-the-art prison complex.  After you round up all of the alleged bandits (throw your mind back to the State of Emergency) where are you going to keep them?  Or is there an unspoken plan to just kill off everybody?  And anyway, what is the latest on the Carrera  island prison?  Articles and letters have began surfacing with regard to the homicide rate—that all murders and violent crimes should be put at the feet of the Opposition and independent senators blocking the passing of the Bail Bill.

It is beginning to seem (allegedly) that the Partnership is preparing to “attack with full force” in order to save their “political windmills’’ in 2015.

Lynette Joseph
via e-mail
« Last Edit: May 12, 2014, 11:26:48 PM by Socapro »