March 29, 2024, 05:54:48 AM

Author Topic: Brave Warriors fall to Argentina.  (Read 4810 times)

Brave Warriors fall to Argentina.
« on: June 05, 2014, 01:57:21 AM »
Brave Warriors fall to Argentina.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Despite holding arguably the world’s best player, Lionel Messi, at bay, T&T’s Soca Warriors left the Estadio Monumental Vespucio Liberti, Buenos Aires, with a 3-0 loss against an unspectacular Argentina, last night.

Rodrigo Palacio opened for the home team in the final play of the first half, before Javier Mascherano and Maxi Rodriguez completed the easy win with a pair of scrappy second half goals for Argentina, which is deep into preparation for the this month’s Fifa World Cup.

The odds were always stacked against T&T, but the Warriors held their own both defensively and in attack, creating one third of the total corners, despite Argentina’s dominance in possession.

Playing in its first international for the year, coach Stephen Hart’s players provided solid defensive play but was never able to settle in possession.

Even after being written off by many prior to kickoff, T&T did well to hold Argentina for 45 minutes, but succumbed to a headed goal by Palacio from a corner in first half injury time, moments before Messi mis-kicked an effort with just goal keeper Jan Michael Williams to beat.

It was one of several poor misses from Messi, who along with Ezequiel Lavezzi had a night to forget.

Williams was again beaten minutes after the restart from a close ranged effort by Mascherano, who connected with a ball, which came off the post from a Messi free-kick just outside the penalty area. T&T conceded the foul after Carlyle Mitchell body-checked the Barcelona ace in a yellow-card offense.

Argentina’s third goal, which came in the 64th minute, was as a result of T&T’s defense being beaten on the half-way mark. Palacio ran onto a clear pass through an open defence before he managed to pass it off for Rodriguez to finish.

Despite the possession being shared at a more even rate at that point, the momentum dropped with both teams seemingly satisfied with the final result.

T&T was not embarrassed and looked generally positive throughout against a team comprising players from the world’s top clubs.

The Soca Warriors will play its next friendly international against another team preparing for the World Cup, Iran, on Sunday, in Sao Paolo, Brasil.

Final Score

Argentina 3  v  Trinidad and Tobago 0
Palacio 46
Mascherano 51
Rodríguez 64

Teams

Argentina: - 1.Sergio Romero, 3.Hugo Armando Campagnaro, 15.Martín Demichelis (23.José María Basanta 46th), 16.Marcos Rojo, 17.Federico Fernández, 5.Fernando Gago (6.Lucas Biglia 46th), 7.Ángel Di María (8.Enzo Pérez 63rd - Yellow 72), 14.Javier Mascherano (19.Ricardo Álvarez Puig 70th), 10.Lionel Messi (capt), 18.Rodrigo Palacio (13.Augusto Fernandez 76th), 22.Ezequiel Lavezzi (11.Maxi Rodríguez 56th).

COACH: - Alejandro Sabella.

Trinidad and Tobago: - 21.Jan-Michael Williams, 2.Justin Hoyte, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 12.Yohance Marshall, 19.Carlyle Mitchell (Yellow 49) (17.Gavin Hoyte 71st), 3.Joevin Jones (13.Rundell Winchester 86th), 8.Khaleem Hyland (Yellow 37), 14.Andre Boucaud (Yellow 26) (5.Kevan George 71st), 23.Lester Peltier, 7.Ataullah Guerra (10.Kevin Molino 60th), 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (11.Willis Plaza 77th).

COACH: - Stephan Hart.

Venue: - Estadio Ciudad de La Plata.

MATCH STATS

Argentina  v  Trinidad and Tobago

17 (5)  Shots (on goal)  6 (2)
12  Fouls  13
10  Corner kicks  5
Offsides  0
69%  Time of Possession  31%
Yellow Cards  3
Red Cards  0
Saves  4

Attendance (APPROX): - 40,000.

ARGENTINA 3-0 T&T: - Goals and Highlights

RELATED NEWS (Bleacher Report)

Argentina vs. Trinidad & Tobago: Score, Grades and Post-Match Reaction
By Jerrad Peters (World Football Staff).

Right from the opening kick-off the pattern of the match was established. The Albicelestes were going to control possession and look to complete ambitious pieces of buildup play while their island rivals looked to hit them on the break.

Messi, who missed a handful of chances, pulled his first shot just wide of the target after only 11 minutes, and nine minutes later he and Angel di Maria combined to set up Ezequiel Lavezzi, who couldn’t quite connect at the far post.

Di Maria, who was Argentina’s most encouraging player of the night, then chipped a delightful pass to Rodrigo Palacio, but the Inter Milan forward mistimed his run to the corner.

Trinidad and Tobago, meanwhile, might have scored twice if not for the wits of Hugo Armando Campagnaro and Martin Demichelis, the latter of whom raced back into his own end to poke the ball of Kenwyne Jones’ boot with only the goalkeeper for the Cardiff City striker to beat.

But from there it was all Argentina, and when Messi was denied by Yohance Marshall at point-blank range it seemed only a matter of time before they would open the scoring.

Finally, in the second minute of first-half stoppage time, Palacio turned in a corner kick and the two-time World Cup winners were on their way.

They doubled their advantage just six minutes after the restart.

Messi, who had lined up a free-kick from about 19 yards, hit the upright with his effort but watched as teammate Javier Mascherano, almost accidentally, deflected the rebound past Jan-Michael Williams.

At this point there was no doubt about the outcome, and in the 65th minute Palacio hunted down a long pass, rounded Williams, did well to keep the ball inside the playing area and then cut it back to substitute attacker Maxi Rodriguez, who made no mistake with his first-time effort.

Both managers took the opportunity to experiment after that, and Argentina boss Alejandro Sabella introduced Enzo Perez, Ricardo Alvarez and Augusto Fernandez in short order.

By the time Messi ran himself just offside in the 78th minute, the hosts knew they had done enough, and at the final whistle they were well worth the three-goal cushion at Estadio Monumental.

Post-match reaction

Lionel Messi addressed the press after Wednesday's victory over Trinidad and Tobago, per the Daily Mail.

“We ended the game well. The main thing was to avoid injuries and catch some rhythm and confidence for what's ahead.

”The Barcelona maestro also spoke to the omission of his friend, Ever Banega, from Argentina's World Cup squad.

“Players who didn't make final squad? It was hard, Ever [Banega] is a close friend of mine, but coach has to make decisions.

Messi held scoreless as Argentina beat T&T.
theguardian.com

Lionel Messi, looking to score his first World Cup goals since 2006 in Brazil this month, went scoreless as Argentina cruised to a 3-0 win over Trinidad and Tobago.

Messi missed several chances in the first half, was repeatedly fouled and hit the post with a free kick from which midfielder Javier Mascherano tapped in Argentina's second goal. Rodrigo Palacio, replacing the injured Gonzalo Higuain, headed the opener on the stroke of half-time and substitute Maxi Rodriguez completed the win in the 64th minute.

Prolific for Barcelona, Messi has only one goal to his name at two World Cups, scored in a 6-0 rout of Serbia and Montenegro on his tournament debut at the 2006 finals in Germany. He went goalless in five matches at the 2010 finals in South Africa.

"We finished strongly, Trinidad and Tobago were opponents who closed up at the back like some teams in the group will do [at the World Cup]," Messi told reporters.

Argentina, looking to win their third world title at the June in Brazil, cruised to victory after squandering a string of first-half chances with Ezequiel Lavezzi, replacing Sergio Agüero who was unwell earlier this week, the biggest culprit.

Palacio finally made the breakthrough, heading in an Angel Di María corner at the near post in the second minute of first-half stoppage time after Trinidad gave away the corner preventing Messi from scoring.

The pick of the goals was the third with Palacio racing onto a long ball out of defence, touching it past goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams then pulling it back to Rodriguez who blasted it home from a tight angle past two defenders.

Concerned not to lose any of his players to injury, coach Alejandro Sabella took defender Martin Demichelis off at half-time after he had taken a knock on his ankle when stopping striker Kenwyne Jones. Another concern for Sabella was Palacio, who came off 15 minutes from the end after twisting his ankle.

Messi was paid a curious tribute as players shook hands before kick-off, with Trinidad's Ataullah Guerra making a flamboyant bow in front of Argentina's captain.

Argentina play a final warm-up at home to Slovenia in La Plata on Saturday before meeting Bosnia, Iran and Nigeria in Group F in Brazil.

« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 01:50:57 PM by Flex »

Re: Brave Warriors fall to Argentine.
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2014, 03:20:51 AM »
T&T head coach, Stephen Hart, gives his reactions after a 3-0 defeat to Argentina
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/LCjIjcuFxxs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/LCjIjcuFxxs</a>

T&T Fans and Rhythm Section at Argentina vs T&T
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/0g-LO1Cfv4o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/0g-LO1Cfv4o</a>

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2014, 05:31:27 AM »
Rel noise from we lil contingent. ..would have been nice too see the team acknowledge the fans!

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2014, 06:16:38 AM »
On a personal level, I told our 5 Central boys "Do one thing against Argentina so you will be remembered - that will be shown in the highlights. Jan, make one save, Plaza & Winchester get off one shot, Tullah make one pass, Yohance make one tackle"
Well, Plaza and Winchester never got a chance, if Jan had made contact with the ball when he rushed out for the 2nd goal, that was his moment. Yohance blocked Messi from scoring 4 feet out. I guess Tullah made his moment before the game started!

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2014, 08:16:55 AM »
Good.

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2014, 10:33:23 AM »
So I was watching sportscenter last night and saw this, checkout the #6 play and listen to the broadcasters.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/TIZMcIGKBaM#t=54" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/TIZMcIGKBaM#t=54</a>

« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2014, 11:17:14 AM »
Yeah, I heard that from Scott Van Pelt last night... wasn't impressed.  But say what, is up to us to prove them wrong.

« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2014, 11:32:36 AM »
hence the reason it makes it worst when players bowing to other players...

« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2014, 01:40:08 PM »
good showing in the first half but total disarray in the 2nd. argentina come with all they big horse though.

this T&T team have to be the tallest one i ever see yes. all ah dem is 6 foot and up. messi look like a midget running through them.

« Reply #9 on: June 06, 2014, 01:59:34 AM »
Messi: T&T were not bad opponents
T&T Newsday Reports.

AFTER 90 minutes of pulsating action against Trinidad and Tobago in an international friendly encounter on Wednesday night, Argentine superstar Lionel Messi has expressed his appreciation for the quality of the opposition.

The game at the Estadio Monumental Stadium in Buenos Aires was used by the Argentines ahead of their campaign in the FIFA World Cup in Brazil starting on Thursday of next week. Argentina expectedly won the match convincingly 3-0 but the Barcelona star who is now considered the best player in the world, failed to score on Wednesday as he was ably kept at bay by the TT defence.

And after the match Messi, who captained the South American powerhouse during the encounter, spoke to live television cameras immediately following the final whistle saying, “We finished strongly but Trinidad and Tobago were opponents who closed up at the back like some teams in the group will do (in Brazil).”

He added, “I think the match was a good one. We scored the first goal late in the first half but we were strong and the (Argentina) team looked good in many parts of the match. Trinidad and Tobago were not a bad team.”

“They had some players who were strong and also fast. We are preparing for the World Cup and these kind of games are good for us” Messi added.

As Messi spoke to reporters as he exited the field, some of the TT players who did not take the field during the 90 minutes had the opportunity to get up close to the player who will now lead his team into another friendly against Slovenia this weekend.

T&T midfielder Ataullah Guerra, who grabbed headlines for the way he greeted the Barcelona star during the meeting of the teams, said he had no regrets over his action. Guerra appeared to have conceded defeat even before the match had started with his gesture to bow to the Argentina ace as he greeted him before the game got going.

And when quizzed about it Guerra said, “He is a football God. This was an amazing experience for all of us. Just to be on the same field with him was great.”

“To see the way he controlled the ball was something we will never forget. I think we all learned a lot from this game today. I thought my greeting to him was a mark of respect also and he seemed to appreciate it. There was no problem with that,” the Central FC and former Finnish-based professional said.

« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2014, 03:34:15 AM »
Anybody have a copy of the full game, please?

« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2014, 04:29:11 AM »
Anybody have a copy of the full game, please?

in french tho...unfortunately no selwyn melville

http://livefootballvideo.com/fullmatch/world/friendlies/argentina-vs-trinidad-and-tobago

Offline LKMaryTrini

« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2014, 09:07:57 AM »
Better scorline than what it could have been. Firstly, how can the backline be so high up and stretched when you are playing against the likes of Messi abd di Maria?Out of position most of the night. Not sure why Molino doesn't start and I don't want to hear about acclimation/jet lag. Had several days to deal with it. He has to be consistently starting for TnT. Too good to be warming bench. Lastly, you never bow to an opponent before a game. That's not respect, that's disrespecting yourself. You can kiss his behind ater if you want but not before. That's a problem for our players, they are not around enough top flight players to understand what being a true professional is about.

« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2014, 09:10:02 AM »
so when them karate men bow to each other before a fight, thats not respect?

Sometimes I think we forget a virtue called humility.

« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2014, 10:12:26 AM »

Nah daz disrespecting and lowering yuhself lmao

« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2014, 11:10:52 AM »

steups yuh in shit..have many different types of bows in karate each meaning a different thing...e.g. one popular bow basically sayin i come in peace but ready for war

doh equate groupie-ism with martial arts symbolism

« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2014, 11:15:03 AM »
I wonder if somebody had done that to Yorke or Latas (doh them was not in d class of Messi) would be our take on d situation?

Offline LKMaryTrini

« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2014, 12:05:24 PM »

Trini, notice when they bow in karate, both men/women do it. Respect for each other. It was a weak move but I don't blame him, needs more experience at a higher kevel to understand.

« Reply #19 on: June 06, 2014, 12:15:49 PM »

steups yuh in shit..have many different types of bows in karate each meaning a different thing...e.g. one popular bow basically sayin i come in peace but ready for war

« Reply #20 on: June 06, 2014, 12:17:37 PM »
I wonder if somebody had done that to Yorke or Latas (doh them was not in d class of Messi) would be our take on d situation?

really, what make you think they not in he class? if yorke and latas was playing for brazil they would be recognized 1000 times more but bc they are from a small island they didn't get the recognition they deserved... argentina is a name brand.. like nike is to shoes...

« Reply #21 on: June 06, 2014, 12:29:01 PM »

Men who bringing martial arts into the discussion doh understand the principles involved in the bow.  It's a sign of respect for the artform and for the warrior across from you as you about to engage in mutual combat, back then, to the death.  In other words, "nothing personal brother, but if I have to kill you I will."  Guerra bow to Messi because "he's a football God".  End of talk.

« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2014, 12:29:11 PM »

really, what make you think they not in he class? if yorke and latas was playing for brazil they would be recognized 1000 times more but bc they are from a small island they didn't get the recognition they deserved... argentina is a name brand.. like nike is to shoes...

So there you have it folks!!  York and Latas in the argument for best ever club players and are in fact in the same class as Messi as stated by our own village jackass Controversial :rotfl:

« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2014, 03:59:05 PM »
Kenwyne Jones and Khaleem Hyland give their reactions to the 3-0 loss against Argentina.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/0CcplS8JrP4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/0CcplS8JrP4</a>

Central FC defender Yohance Marshall gives his views after a solid performance versus Argentina
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TY3vj7znz6k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TY3vj7znz6k</a>

Lester Peltier reacts to the 3-0 loss against Argentina
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4Z6ZfC_YvTk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4Z6ZfC_YvTk</a>

Post-match interview with goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams following the loss to Argentina.
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/YdGD_iR0T08" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/YdGD_iR0T08</a>

« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2014, 04:24:26 PM »

FYI neva was referring to their ability as players. But not surprise u did not get it as is u so busy provin that we are a superior being.

« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2014, 04:36:42 PM »
Just want to say given the circumstances: not having been together for awhile, limited practice and just providing a practice for these qualifying teams, we held our own. Having said that, there are lessons and experience to be had from teams that provide  this exposure  for our players:-

What do our players need to have to be considered in the same professional tier as the ones we played?-

Showing respect and humility is one thing- but performance on the field is the defining quality that separates us from the opposition- what have our players taken away from this game that we could expect differently in their next performance?

Do we have the quality of potential players who could rise to this level and play at a consistent level?

So where did we break down? defensive lapses?  leaving the goal keeper to make some insane runs? jittery goalkeeping- the likes of which I have not seen from JM for some time. You would think the man left bricks in he shorts on that field. :laugh:

You learn to win you learn from defeat and you improve one game at a time. Games like this should be a measuring yard for us in terms of  providing players , and the coaches with what it  takes to  make it to this level and to be playing to the standard of  this tier of professionals.

I think at times, our players, especially the home base have not yet cultivated a professional ethos, professional discipline nor the attributes to aim consistently to achieve at the highest degree. Good enough eh good enough no more ( as long as there are men like Shabs with axe to grind and he espionage ways to serve teams like Guyana ) we have to assert a level of play to join the ranks of the top three in CONCACAF.

Kudos to our own ' Hart' for the job as Coach - question is he also the technical director? Also kudos to the local assistant coaches. NO EXCUSES NONE for the treatment of  the coach and team personnel who had to fly later- Take some ah them govt' party people off fust COME ON put priorities where it should.
Next game leh we see what we team go bring. Hit THEM WITTH SOCA BOIS!!!!! WE READY WE READY WE READY