April 25, 2024, 01:37:57 PM

Author Topic: 'Soca Warriors' ends South American tour winless.  (Read 4535 times)

'Soca Warriors' ends South American tour winless.
« on: June 08, 2014, 02:07:49 PM »
Irani lesson for Soca Warriors.
By Inshan Mohammed.

Following its 3-0 loss to Argentina 4-day ago, Trinidad and Tobago today has yet suffered another defeat as the Soca Warriors crashed 2-0 to World Cup bound team Iran at the Corinthians training complex in São Paulo, Brazil.

The Stephen Hart coached team has now finished their mini South American tour winless but got a much needed exercise and will no-doubt learn and build from the experience of playing two World Cup teams on foreign soil.

Final Results

Iran 2 v T&T 0
Haji Safi 45+
Ghoochannejhad 54

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago: - 21.Jan-Michael Williams (vice-capt), 2.Justin Hoyte, 4.Sheldon Bateau (17.Gavin Hoyte 72nd), 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 12.Yohance Marshall, 8.Khaleem Hyland, 23.Lester Peltier (16.Marcus Joseph 85th), 10.Kevin Molino (20.Trevin Caesar 80th), 14.Andre Boucaud (5.Kevan George 63rd), 7.Ataullah Guerra (3.Joevin Jones 63rd), 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (11.Willis Plaza 76th).

Unused Subs: - 18.Densill Theobald, 19.Carlyle Mitchell 15.Curtis Gonzales, 13.Rundell Winchester.

COACH: - Stephen Hart.

Iran: - 12.Alireza Haghighi, 2.Khosro Heydari (9.Alireza Jahan Bakhsh 80th), 4.Jalal Hosseini, 15.Pejman Montazeri, 23.Mehrdad Pooladi (13.Hossein Mahini 65th), 3.Ehsan Haji Safi, 5.Amirhossein Sadeqhi, 6.Javad Nekounam (capt), 14.Andranik Timotian (11.Ghasem Hadadifar 80th), 21.Ashkan Dejagah (7.Masoud Shojaei 80th), 16.Reza Ghoochannejhad (10.Karim Ansari Fard 80th).

COACH: - Carlos Queiroz.

Venue: - Corinthians Training Complex, Brazil.

Full report to follow.

« Last Edit: June 09, 2014, 06:37:10 AM by Flex »

Offline Dynamite Warrior

Re: 'Soca Warriors' ends South American tour winless.
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2014, 03:36:08 PM »
Hopefully in the next 2 months some of our players find new clubs.  Kenwyne, Hyland, Boucard, Justin, Mitchell & Abu Bakr have stuggled for playing time this season. In the Argentina game it showed especially with the two CMs.

I hope that the TTFA finds a way to convince DeLeon to join because i think he can help the team. He's been playing as a deep playmaker at times this season and i think he could help this team keep possession.

Reintroducing Primus and Shahdon will help this team alot. This way we can move Bateau back to the middle and Winchester can take that LW spot that Joevin doesnt seem to want.

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2014, 04:25:18 PM »
Respectable results considering our depth,players and preparation. Holding teams down is one aspect of the game however it appears that we are lacking in scoring and mounting any kind of attacking pressure on teams of this WC calibre.

Iran beats Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 in last World Cup warm-up
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2014, 04:54:08 PM »
Iran beats Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 in last World Cup warm-up
By Ronald Blum (Associated Press)

Iran defeated Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 in a World Cup warm-up on Sunday played in a stadium that was empty apart from a few journalists.

Ehsan Haji Safi scored late in the first half and Dutch-born Reza Ghoochannejhad, who plays for English Championship team Charlton Athletic, added a goal early in the second.

Iran dominated on a windswept field in northeast Sao Paulo, with about two dozen media looking on at the practice facility where the Iranians have been working out.

Haji Safi put Iran ahead in the second minute of first-half stoppage time after Trinidad failed to clear a corner kick by Fulham's Ashkan Dejagah. Ghoochannejhad doubled the lead from about 10 yards about five minutes into the second half.

Javad Nekounam's penalty kick early in the second half was saved by goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams after Dejagah was fouled in the penalty area.

Iran opened its World Cup preparations with three warm-ups in Austria, 0-0 draws against Belarus and Montenegro, then a 1-1 draw with Angola.

Getting ready for its fifth World Cup appearance and first since 2006, the 43rd-ranked Iranians open against Nigeria on June 16, then play Argentina and close the group stage against Bosnia-Herzegovina.

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2014, 05:44:04 PM »
so be it...lets keep working

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2014, 07:26:57 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/g850D6RRwFE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/g850D6RRwFE</a>

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2014, 12:59:40 AM »
coach seems a bit disappointed in the interview...... personally im impressed with the defence and the middle i still think we need some tenacity in the attacking third

« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2014, 08:20:47 AM »
coach seems a bit disappointed in the interview
He always sound exasperated.

« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2014, 11:22:48 AM »
still think we need some tenacity in the attacking third

Dude, you not only think that, you know that

« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2014, 11:23:17 AM »
still think we need some tenacity in the attacking third

shotta, you not only think that, you know that

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2014, 12:13:59 PM »
KJ too comfortable. But i feel is lack of gametime together was our downfall against Argentina. We need to try hard 4 De Leon for midfield as well to add competition

« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2014, 12:58:46 PM »
Of course Hart go be exasperated...them fellas ent learning.

Dunceeness hard to cure, especially if you work hard in training, you talk bout it, you tell them what to do...yuh shout at them from the sidelines and then yuh see dem balls up right infront yuh face. Worse yet yuh lapse twice in the space of a few days

They accustommed getting goal end of first half and right after the break....men concentration off or they fitness off.

I did not mention the Honduras and Jamaica games as we kept clean sheets however the 2-2 draw with el salvador was Harts first game so I give him the bly, but if you read the match report it was d same old.

Lets go in chronological order shall we...

1)Haiti 2 (16 & 53 min) vs TT 0

2)Mexico eked out an intense 1-0 win over Trinidad and Tobago at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta last night to advance to the semi-final of the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The Warriors conceded a somewhat soft goal in the 83rd minute

3)T&T 3 v Saudi Arabia 1
Jones (Primus) 4   Hazazi (Al Shehri) 47
Jones (Unassist) 5
Boucaud (Molino) 85

4)Final: - T&T 3    v    UAE  3
Willis Plaza 56   Habib Fardan Abdualla 9
Kenwyne Jones 87-Pen    Ali Ahmed Mabkhout 37
Kevin Molino 92    Ahmed Khalil 54

5)Argentina 3  v  Trinidad and Tobago 0
Palacio 46
Mascherano 51
Rodríguez 64

6)Iran 2 v T&T 0
Haji Safi 45+
Ghoochannejhad 54

« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2014, 02:05:00 PM »
good post Touches.

« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2014, 02:29:30 PM »

Dunceeness hard to cure, especially if you work hard in training, you talk bout it, you tell them what to do...yuh shout at them from the sidelines and then yuh see dem balls up right infront yuh face. Worse yet yuh lapse twice in the space of a few days

They accustommed getting goal end of first half and right after the break....men concentration off or they fitness off.

I did not mention the Honduras and Jamaica games as we kept clean sheets however the 2-2 draw with el salvador was Harts first game so I give him the bly, but if you read the match report it was d same old.

I went to de training session prior to de Haiti game and saw it with my own two eyes. De session was intense. Dey worked tirelessly on transitioning from defense to offense while guarding against counter attacks. Also worked on speed of play. Dey look nice. When game time came around, everything from training went out de window.

We really need to be playing regularly.

« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2014, 02:58:01 PM »

I went to de training session prior to de Haiti game and saw it with my own two eyes. De session was intense. Dey worked tirelessly on transitioning from defense to offense while guarding against counter attacks. Also worked on speed of play. Dey look nice. When game time came around, everything from training went out de window.

Definitely, concentration is the issue and that's helped by experience and familiarity

« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2014, 03:49:04 PM »
When game time came around, everything from training went out de window.

Allyuh really feel a week training go have them fellahs ready for Arg and Iran. Maybe against St. Vincent and Grenada.We need about 4 more decent games to get in sync. Some of them like Hoyte new. TTFA has to come with a plan to get us going offensively. We had nothing going forward. Nothing. We have to practice more.

« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2014, 03:52:59 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/fHj45diVfwo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/fHj45diVfwo</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/kaWydW_dPyQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/kaWydW_dPyQ</a>

« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2014, 05:55:01 PM »

Definitely, concentration is the issue and that's helped by experience and familiarity

The first thing to go is the last thing you learnt.

Offline Dynamite Warrior

« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2014, 06:02:49 PM »
I really like the General Secretary he seems like he has a structured plan for success.

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2014, 05:53:24 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/fHj45diVfwo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/fHj45diVfwo</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/kaWydW_dPyQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/kaWydW_dPyQ</a>

Sheldon talk good, lets hope he is not just a talker.

Jones talk like the way he play, lame.

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2014, 09:24:49 AM »
Alyuh remember what happened to the U20 women in the game vs Costa Rica?

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/cRk336JRe-4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/cRk336JRe-4</a>

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2014, 05:11:14 PM »

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2014, 06:41:39 PM »

Cyah really vex with that first one too much.

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2014, 07:21:54 PM »

Them Hoyte fellas must be shaking they head. I hear the TTFA can't even afford cones for training.

« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2014, 08:12:29 AM »
1st goal a stunner, 2nd goal well worked.

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2014, 09:21:58 AM »
T&T Head Coach, Stephen Hart, reflects on the Argentina and Iran games, and looks forward to the 2014 Caribbean Cup.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/2EkHv-VF9PA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/2EkHv-VF9PA</a>

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2014, 10:52:39 PM »
That was like 6 one touch passes in the build up for the 2nd goal

« Reply #27 on: June 12, 2014, 04:54:01 AM »
That was like 6 one touch passes in the build up for the 2nd goal

Yea there's a limit to how well a team can respond to such excellent, quick play