March 28, 2024, 09:45:12 AM

Author Topic: Does a strong league makes a strong national team.  (Read 2745 times)

Does a strong league makes a strong national team.
« on: June 19, 2014, 03:37:45 PM »
Look at England, they have one of the strongest leagues in the world and they national team suck, not just this world cup, but since the 1990's they do so badly.

Spain too, even though they had a good 3 years, they done.

The whole of Belgium team play in de EPL

Turkey league rated high and them eh qualify.

La Liga
EPL
Bundesliga
Seria A
Ligue 1
Brasileirao
Argentina Primera
Dutch Eredivisie
Liga ZON Sagres
Russian Premier League
Mexico Liga MX
Turkish Super Lig
Ukranian Premier League
Czech Republic Gambrinus Liga
Belgian Pro League
Colombian Primera A
Uruguayan Primera Division
Superleague Greece
Romania Liga I
Peruvian Primera Division

It goes to show you that, we could make all de excuse of we league but they only is HALF of the problem.

Anyhow, allyuh this man here real lucky.

Re: Does a strong league makes a strong national team.
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 03:41:33 PM »
England's problem is mentality and youth coaching that veers away from technical ability and towards physicality (at least historically). The strength of the EPL simply helps to mask a number of these deficits until we reach quality opposition. If we had to qualify with S American teams we'd not even make the playoff (Uruguay being the qualifying team for that the past 3/4 world cups)

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2014, 03:43:44 PM »
England does not have a top 10 world class striker. Rooney is good but he is not in the top 10 when it comes to the world stage and he may not even be in the top 20.

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2014, 04:23:34 PM »
England does not have a top 10 world class striker. Rooney is good but he is not in the top 10 when it comes to the world stage and he may not even be in the top 20.

Rooney's an odd-job, a luxury. He plays when he wants to, where he wants to, relying on the odd piece of flair. He's not a good dribbler, not a good passer, not a good crosser, and has a good shot permeated with moments of brilliance. Like the England team, we forget how plainly average he is because every now-and-again he performs at the highest level.

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2014, 04:26:12 PM »
The best players in EPL are not English.

« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2014, 04:37:40 PM »
The best players in EPL are not English.

Agreed, although each team has either a backbone and/or prospects of English birth.

« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2014, 05:37:41 PM »
a strong league can result in a strong team but it is different in netherlands, playing for the national team is the highest, yea playing for ajax or psv is great, world class but when you dawn that jersey for the Oranje, the players take it to the next level...

imho, the uk puts club before country, playing epl is made out to be bigger than playing for the nation, the supporters are more patriotic.. some trini players have the same mentality, they feel club football is above the world cup and national football, they play to get caps and advance their career, i understand they need to survive but playing in the world cup should be what you strive for and playing for your nation you should raise your game, regardless of the lack of monetary incentives

Offline toonmili

« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2014, 09:20:01 PM »
Agreed. You can tell the teams that don't think international football is the highest honour. Look at Cameroon.  Sucked. 

« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2014, 09:53:43 PM »
Agreed. You can tell the teams that don't think international football is the highest honour. Look at Cameroon.  Sucked. 

That is not true with the African countries.

« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2014, 08:33:17 AM »

the economist had a chart out last week showing the percentage of the population that would watch at least 30 mins of the world cup on tv. now, this measure will skew based on access to tv however the country with the lowest percentage was cameroon at just over 20%. highest was japan at 90%. europe and south america were between 85-90%. north america was just under 80%. india and china were 25-30%.

toonmili have a point - football doh seem to rate in cameroon at least.

« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2014, 08:47:18 AM »

the economist had a chart out last week showing the percentage of the population that would watch at least 30 mins of the world cup on tv. now, this measure will skew based on access to tv however the country with the lowest percentage was cameroon at just over 20%. highest was japan at 90%. europe and south america were between 85-90%. north america was just under 80%. india and china were 25-30%.

how many people don't have sets in cameroon and how many people enjoy playing football as opposed to watching it?

« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2014, 09:04:41 AM »

Inaccurate and disingenuous.

1 World Cup and 2 European Championships are nothing to sneeze at. And the strength of their league had everything to do with that.

« Reply #12 on: June 20, 2014, 10:21:06 AM »

1 World Cup and 2 European Championships are nothing to sneeze at. And the strength of their league had everything to do with that.

As I pointed out, Spain had a period if success, before that they were null.

MLS is not even in the top 30 league and USA as a national team is ranked in the top 20 and number one in CONCACAF and the Mexican league is ranked higher.

2 and 2 is not always 4.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 10:23:45 AM by Sam »

« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2014, 12:54:23 PM »
also it depends on region and performance..TT make 2006, Colombia,Chile, Belgium, Romania, Russia, Greece, Scotland, Finland, Vietnam didn't...
send for more Cristal

« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2014, 04:25:49 PM »
IMHO England are generally not successful because the national side (since about 1998, 94 was a manager trying things he wasn't competent at) tends to play a significantly different style to what is the norm in the national league. This does not mean the players are not talented just that the players are not very versatile. Capello seemed to want an Italy Mk II. Hodgson went even more extreme at the Euros but was essentially using the same players. He made a significant change for this WC but looks like the players couldn't adapt effectively enough.

When I say style I don't meant formation BTW. Almost all the successful nations play a style similar to what is the norm in their leagues. The Dutch, Germans and Spanish are most noted among the European sides. Spain came a cropper because teams began to sus Tiki-Taka last season and only one of the big three (Who supply the bulk of the team) stuck with the 'possession football' game. The national side were a bit to overconfident or just blind to notice this and failed to tweak / adapt.

Just an opinion
« Last Edit: June 20, 2014, 04:28:00 PM by Rodney »

« Reply #15 on: June 21, 2014, 02:42:19 AM »
we don't need a strong league we need a proper development program

« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2014, 05:30:04 AM »
How do we get  what we need?

« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2014, 09:18:41 AM »

As I pointed out, Spain had a period if success, before that they were null.

MLS is not even in the top 30 league and USA as a national team is ranked in the top 20 and number one in CONCACAF and the Mexican league is ranked higher.

2 and 2 is not always 4.

yeah but Sam them rankings is a joke sometimes.  Look how France manhandled the Swiss yesterday. I would say that a good league + a proper youth development program is essential. I not sure what Costa Rica does for youths but they have a fair amount of players who have played/are playing abroad.  Dely Valdez bringing through a decent lil squad over in Panama, watch and see if them fellas doh push hard for 2016.

« Reply #18 on: June 22, 2014, 12:43:02 PM »

how many people don't have sets in cameroon and how many people enjoy playing football as opposed to watching it?

Boss, tv cheap nowadays. Hell, man watching world cup on dey phone. Is 2014. Cameroon cyah be bothered to go down by de corner and watch their team at the local shop.

« Reply #19 on: June 25, 2014, 04:46:37 PM »
How do we get  what we need?

with money, through sponsorship, revenues from the fed, the govt and so forth, then when you have that you need an organized unit to execute