April 24, 2024, 02:33:13 AM

Author Topic: Euro U21 championship  (Read 2825 times)

Euro U21 championship
« on: June 10, 2007, 10:49:10 AM »
holland vs israel..............holland really need ah better uniform dread.

but anyways they leading 1 nil after 30 mins

Offline biga84

Re: Euro U21 championship
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 11:08:32 AM »
where u watching the game?

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 11:12:40 AM »
espn ...direct tv so maybe its espn international

Offline JayTheWrecker

Nani
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 01:40:53 PM »
i'm watching PortugalU21 vs Belgium U21 on Sky and this kid looks rubbish. Who bought him again??? okay i know who bought him but I'm just stunned they paid as much as they did for him, he's got absolutely nowhere near the level of ability Ronaldo had at the same age yet they've paid even more than they did for him. To pay £17m for this rubbish is simply staggering

p.s.
there is one thing that he is better at than Ronaldo, and that's diving!!
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

Re: Nani
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 01:57:02 PM »
Umm f**k you and one game can determine his class??

You absolutely do not know anything about football

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2007, 01:59:14 PM »
Small Mag, don't ever swear at me again
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2007, 02:02:19 PM »
Small Mag, don't ever swear at me again
edit

dont talk shit again then

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2007, 02:27:01 PM »
p.s.
:o
dat I find impossible
but maybe explains the higher price tag ;)
many penalties in the future :devil: :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2007, 02:56:30 PM »
jay get cuss  :devil:  :D

« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2007, 07:19:59 PM »
Serbia 1-0 Italy: Fancied Azzurri crash

AMSTERDAM, June 11 (Reuters) - Serbia upset favourites Italy after Dejan Milovanovic struck a low drive to secure a 1-0 win in their European Under-21 Group B clash in Nijmegen on Monday.

Italy impressed with their attacking form at the De Goffert stadium and looked stronger through much of a fast-paced game but it was Serbia, the highest scoring team in the qualifiers, who broke the deadlock in the 63rd minute.

The Italians tried hard to carve out an equaliser but failed to find the net despite a series of opportunities.

England U21 0-0 Czech R: Lita penalty woe

Leroy Lita missed a late penalty as England Under-21s drew a blank against the Czech Republic in their opening match of the European Championships.

Stuart Pearce can take heart from drawing all his opening games with England as a player at major tournaments and reaching the next stage twice.

However, he also knows Italy and Serbia over the next week are likely to offer a tougher challenge than the Czechs.

Pearce, no stranger to penalty misery, had put his players through a practice shoot-out last week after the 5-0 friendly win over Slovakia, but Lita failed to score from the spot after netting at Carrow Road.

David Nugent and Kieran Richardson missed England's best chances in open play of the Group B opener in Arnhem, and a first defeat since 2005 looked possible when the Czechs hit the woodwork and created chances on the break.

With seniors boss Steve McClaren believed to be watching on in the stands, Pearce ended up playing with two strikers but Lita could not take his opportunity.

Despite losing players to injury and being considered rank outsiders, the Czechs have pedigree in the tournament after winning in 2002 when Petr Cech was the hero in goal.

They had the first genuine chance at the Gelredome, when indecision in the England midfield led to Frantisek Rajtoral playing through Jan Kysela, with Scott Carson needing to save with his legs on his return from seniors duty in Estonia.

England then settled into their 4-5-1 formation that was deployed by Peter Taylor during qualification and kept by Pearce for the finals when Taylor concentrated on club matters at Crystal Palace.

UEFA even mistakenly named Taylor as coach on the team-sheet, along with David Bentley who pulled out of the squad with fatigue last week.

U2 and Madonna had packed out crowds while playing concerts at the stadium but, with plenty of empty seats for the Group B opener, it was a much more subdued start to England's finals campaign.

Fussy refereeing by Zsolt Szabo did not help. Nugent picked up a yellow for a careless tackle, while Richardson was booked for finding the back of the net after play had been pulled back.

Skipper Nigel Reo-Coker fired a drive over the crossbar before almost getting on the end of a Nugent cross after the Preston striker had made progress on the left.

Nugent then had a shot saved himself, stumbling as he volleyed towards goal after a long ball from Leighton Baines had been held up by James Milner.

Czech Republic remained a threat on the counter-attack and Gary Cahill, deputising for Anton Ferdinand after the West Ham centre-back failed to recover from a groin problem, had to throw himself in front of a Kysela shot to block his effort.

Cahill went into Szabo's book early in the second period for a rash challenge, with both sides then going close as they looked to break the deadlock.

Richardson missed a header from point-blank range after Milner's cross had been flicked on by Nugent, while Lubos Husek went on a charging run through the middle before playing Martin Fillo through on goal but the substitute cleared Carson's crossbar.

Carson was then required to acrobatically tip Daniel Pudil's free-kick onto the post, with the pace of the game increasing slightly.

Pearce brought on Wayne Routledge for Richardson, and then changed the shape of the team by bringing on Lita for Milner and playing with two strikers.

Ashley Young, who had just been booked for a trip near his own penalty area, tried to make an impression at the other end but his cross was deflected behind for a corner after an exciting run on the left.

Nugent was gifted a chance to open the scoring with 19 minutes left when Husek misplaced a pass, but the England striker flashed wide after running through on goal.

Mark Noble was brought on for Tom Huddlestone, with England getting their chance for the winner from the penalty spot with three minutes remaining. Roman Hubnik handled in the area, but Lita flashed wide from 12 yards.

« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2007, 07:22:15 PM »
i'm watching PortugalU21 vs Belgium U21 on Sky and this kid looks rubbish. Who bought him again??? okay i know who bought him but I'm just stunned they paid as much as they did for him, he's got absolutely nowhere near the level of ability Ronaldo had at the same age yet they've paid even more than they did for him. To pay £17m for this rubbish is simply staggering

p.s.

judging a player based on one game....hmmm...Probably not the wisest move. Even the best players look like absolute shite from time to time.

« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2015, 02:04:36 PM »
Anyone taking in the 2015 edition?

Denmark and Germany are through to the semis. England is losing to Italy, Sweden is even with Portugal at the moment. Incredible first goal volley by Italy

« Reply #12 on: June 26, 2015, 02:10:12 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/wE2eXU0Jd8c#t=15" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/wE2eXU0Jd8c#t=15</a>

Portugal score in the 82' to go ahead 1-0. As a result, the goal would eliminate Sweden and put Italy in to the next round. HOWEVER, then Sweden scores in the 89' to put Sweden back in, and Italy out. What you see above is how both teams resolved the final minutes of the game.

I witnessed something similar (but not as exaggerated as this) during this year's South American U20 qualifying group stage. That match between Paraguay and Peru, also ended 1-1 with both teams scoring within minutes of each other for a share of the points. Having scored first, Peru were positioned to join ARG at the top of the group with 9 points, but once Paraguay equalized ... both teams were shooting for 7 points at the expense of Ecuador (who were on 6 points with no games in hand and knocked out off the tournament as a result); and Paraguay played things conservatively from there on.

The sad thing is that Ecuador had a decent team but had screwed around when they faced Peru. Peru scored against the run of play and ended up cutting Ecuador's throat twice! (In that game and then in the pact with Paraguay described above).

Scoring early and often is one way to nix these affairs.

Justice has a way of working things out ... of the four teams that eventually qualified for New Zealand, ARG is the only one that did so coming out of that group. URU, COL, and BRA all emerged from the other group (which was more competitive).
« Last Edit: June 26, 2015, 02:15:27 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2015, 11:57:47 AM »
Pre game, was all about how Portugal can't score.

I guess they was playing dead to ketch Germany

« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2015, 12:00:29 PM »
Germany get bobolized.

« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2015, 03:23:50 PM »
Italy have a fella named Berardi who plays for Sassuolo.  Ruthless player.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2015, 03:35:29 PM by Peong »

« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2015, 09:34:43 AM »
Yuh have to give this Swedish team credit! They demonstrated a lot of character in pulling off a couple "great escapes" to advance through the rounds. To ultimately cap those escapes by winning is more than was expected.