March 28, 2024, 01:44:26 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.  (Read 128058 times)

Re: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.
« Reply #60 on: December 13, 2014, 03:05:14 PM »
 Set up a donation like the women did (it had great success)

« Reply #61 on: December 13, 2014, 03:42:34 PM »
Question ?  As an option is it not possible  to have  venezuela's  under 20's  come over to TnT  in order to play a couple of warm up  games which should serve vital for  our team's preparation,  as venezuela being   close in proxmity to Trinidad??   or even a camp in venezuela ...  i sure hope something useful works out  before the team leaves for jamaica ....!!

VEN is gearing up for competition too. CONMEBOL U20 tourney is approaching. However, VEN did lose to MEX in the CAC final ... so could be something there to be had for us. However, these things typically take time to organize and it's likely they have a pre-competition regimen that's mapped out through now and mid-January.

Either way $ has to be spent ... Going there or accommodating them, so not easy for us.

« Reply #62 on: December 13, 2014, 08:41:30 PM »
So if the FA cannot meet its obligation in any form, what is their purpose? It seems that nothing can be done without the government coming to the rescue financially in every situation the FA face.

I wonder if the FA presented a feasibility plan on becoming self-sufficient or even moving the dependability on the government from a primary position to a secondary one? I would be nice to know the proposed timeline.

« Reply #63 on: December 14, 2014, 09:45:36 AM »
Mickey Mouse FA.

« Reply #64 on: December 15, 2014, 08:12:22 AM »
Jerren is fire. He went to Europe with Region III and scored some nice goals, and he scoring for Union on a regular basis. He tall (much taller than he father), fast like he father and can score.

Should be a great addition.
Soft though!  probably better suited for the U-17 team.

When you say soft what really do you mean?

« Reply #65 on: December 16, 2014, 05:59:37 AM »
What a shame, the TTFA continues to fail.

Now the under 20 team will be unprepared, they will go to Florida and play 2 games and rush of to Jamaica to play 3 more, so 5 games in one 15 days and if they make it out of the group, they will have nothing left in their tank.

The current TTFA is dull and poorly run.

« Reply #66 on: December 16, 2014, 07:40:33 AM »
Jerren is fire. He went to Europe with Region III and scored some nice goals, and he scoring for Union on a regular basis. He tall (much taller than he father), fast like he father and can score.

maybe he not physically ready is what he trying to say

« Reply #67 on: December 16, 2014, 11:59:45 AM »

I think he mean mentally

Online Tallman

Young Boyz Off To Four-Team Tournament In Venezuela
« Reply #68 on: December 16, 2014, 02:37:45 PM »
Young Boyz Off To Four-Team Tournament In Venezuela
Jamaica Gleaner

Jamaica's Under-20 Reggae Boyz are scheduled to depart today for Venezuela to compete in the Copa Simon Bolivar Tournament.

The young Reggae Boyz will use the tournament to gain further preparation for the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship in Jamaica next month.

Jamaica will begin their campaign in the Copa Simon Bolivar tournament against Panama tomorrow.

Jamaica's other matches are against Peru on Friday and hosts nation Venezuela on Sunday.

The team will return home next Monday.

For the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, host nation Jamaica has been drawn in Group A with Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, USA, Panama and Guatemala.

Group B comprises defending champions Mexico,Haiti, Canada, Cuba, Honduras and El Salvador.

The tournament qualifies four teams to the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand from May 30 to June 20.

« Reply #69 on: December 16, 2014, 02:41:44 PM »
Good luck to the Caribbean teams!'

Also, always admired JA usage of limited funding using the closer countries to scrim against.

Offline SWF Reporter

TTFA blames falling oil prices for scrapped U-20 tour to Mexico
« Reply #70 on: December 16, 2014, 07:36:37 PM »
Oil prices blamed for scrapped tour; Mexico and T&T U-20 teams left in lurch
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

The national under-20 football team was forced to scrap its December tour to Mexico due to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association’s (TTFA) inability to raise the $780,000 needed to fund to trip.

The teenaged “Soca Warriors”, who are the Caribbean Cup champions, are preparing for CONCACAF action in Jamaica next month as they continue their bid to qualify for the New Zealand 2015 FIFA Under-20 World Cup. And head coach Derek King was crushed that his squad will miss such vital preparation.

The Warriors were due to leave for Mexico tomorrow while their tour included two games against the Mexico national under-23 team and one exhibition match against either the Club America or Pachuca senior team.

“Training has been good and the boys were looking forward to playing Mexico who won the last two CONCACAF under-20 tournaments,” said King. “Knowing that Mexico is always the powerhouse in CONCACAF, these games would have been a good measure for (our) players and staff and we were all really excited to not only play against them but in Mexico too.

“We were told (the Mexico trip) was 100 percent sure. So we are really disappointed.”

The TTFA announced a $1.6 million profit today from the FIFA Women’s Play Off contest between the “Women Soca Warriors” and Ecuador on December 2. However, although the Ministry of Sport is supposedly willing to pay $200,000 towards the Mexico trip, general secretary Sheldon Phillips offered little hope that the football body would meet the deficit.

“What we were looking at is basically putting some (of that revenue) back into the women’s game,” Phillips told Wired868. “The amount required for the Mexico trip was close to $700,000 and that would not have been covered by (revenue from) the women’s game.”

King, an ex-national youth and senior team defender and Pro League Coach of the Year with Joe Public, said the aborted tour would not only affect Trinidad and Tobago’s preparation but Mexico’s as well. And he complained that the TTFA was not doing enough for its national teams or the country’s reputation in the game.

“Mexico would be very disappointed because they could have played anybody but they agreed to schedule us and now we cancelled at the last minute,” said King. “So what happens when we need to do something with Mexico again?

“We got the support from the local clubs who released their players although their season is going on and some players took the sacrifice to leave their university early to come here and train. But I feel as if the (TTFA) didn’t push hard enough to make this happen.

“We have to be thankful to the (Sport Ministry) for their assistance but they are not obligated to fund football. The association really didn’t work to make this happen.”

TTFA administrator William Wallace said there was another issue affecting the football body’s ability to raise money from the Government: falling oil prices.

Wallace inherited general secretary Sheldon Phillips’ responsibilities for team budgets and liaising with the Government after Phillips and his former marketing official, Darren Millien, were implicated in an alleged $400,000 licensing fee scam revealed exclusively by Wired868.

And Wallace said the cost of the Mexico trip would normally be easily absorbed by the Ministry of Sport. He told Wired868 that Permanent Secretary Richard Oliver called all sport bodies to an emergency meeting yesterday where the Government’s financial situation was laid bare.

“(The Ministry of Sport) hasn’t gotten a release of funds from the Ministry of Finance and they used their (existing) money to pay off the debts with the senior team,” said Wallace. “All sporting bodies were called into an emergency meeting yesterday to discuss the current situation with regards the drop in oil prices and the expectations and so on.

“So we have to revisit all the requests sent to them and tailor them in a more realistic way. There are no funds there at this point in time.”

Wired868 tried unsuccessfully to get confirmation of the meeting from the Ministry of Sport.

The current national under-20 squad is believed to be Trinidad and Tobago’s most gifted youth team in this millennium. St Ann’s Rangers striker Kadeem Corbin was the 2014 Caribbean Cup’s MVP while Naparima College midfielder Jabari Mitchell and Shiva Boys’ Hindu College attacker Levi Garcia earned rave reviews at the tournament.

The young Warriors are grouped with the United States, Panama, Aruba, Guatemala and hosts Jamaica in a new format that will see each team play five group matches. The Group A and Group B winners will qualify automatically for the New Zealand World Cup while the second and third place teams from each group will enter a play off for the final two berths.

And while teams like Canada and the United States played more than a half dozen international friendlies over the past six months against outfits like England, Russia and Ireland, King may have to make do with practise matches against local Pro League teams instead.

Wallace is working on raising funds for a seven-day pre-tournament camp in Fort Lauderdale, which, together with the CONCACAF competition, would cost roughly TT$1.5 million. He hopes to receive TT$1 million from the Ministry of Sport, despite its financial issues, and raise a further TT$500,000 from the private sector.

“I am waiting over the next 48 hours to see what happens with Fort Lauderdale and the under-20 tournament,” Wallace told Wired868. “The hope is that the government will fund our airfare, daily allowance and accommodation for additional staff in Jamaica while the corporate sector will fund the actual camp in Florida…

“We can’t name our potential sponsors yet but (the fund-raising drive) has been a collective effort from myself and friends outside of the TTFA.”

King suggested that the excitement and passion generated by the women’s team was an example of what sport can bring to Trinidad and Tobago if properly harnessed. He hopes the private sector pays heed.

“We hope the corporate sector comes on board and assists because this is the future of Trinidad and Tobago’s football,” said King. “The Canada and US teams have toured Europe and Panama and Guatemala and so on are investing in their youth. Our players need that international exposure to challenge on this level.

“So we really hope we get that support at least for that week before we head to Jamaica.”

« Last Edit: December 19, 2014, 06:35:56 AM by Flex »

« Reply #71 on: December 17, 2014, 12:03:11 PM »
J’ca open against Paraguay in ‘Copa’
Trinidad Express Reports

\\\\\ KINGSTON

Jamaica’s national under-20 football team was enroute to Venezuela yesterday to participate in the Copa Simon Bolivar tournament after a fortnight of training. The Jamaicans, who are using the tournament as preparation for next month’s CONCACAF Championship, will tackle Paraguay in their opening fixture today.
“The squad has been together for the past two weeks and we (coaching staff) have seen improvement week by week,” said coach of the Jamaica U-20 team Theodore Whitmore. “It will give us a feel of where the team is at. We will play against international opponents and that is very important ahead of us hosting the CONCACAF Championship”.
Jamaica plays Peru in its second encounter on Friday and concludes against hosts Venezuela on Sunday before returning home next Monday. The cities of Kingston and Montego Bay will be the venues for the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship which kicks off on January 9 and runs until January 24.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #72 on: December 17, 2014, 04:29:23 PM »

I think he mean mentally
Correct! (per RIII staff associates of mine)
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

Re: TTFA blames falling oil prices for scrapped U-20 tour to Mexico
« Reply #73 on: December 18, 2014, 09:57:28 AM »
A lot of these articles on our youth teams should at least carry the names of the squad who are in training
Let the public get familiar.

« Reply #74 on: December 18, 2014, 12:40:04 PM »
Sad to see great hopes dashed and smashed willy by the lack of understanding (by some, not all) of what's at stake.
Keep up the crucial reporting tempo Lasana (believe it or not, aka "yuh f**ker") Liburd.
Some people will resent every bone in your body (follow the money to understand this) but know that we are very grateful for your tireless work.

« Reply #75 on: December 18, 2014, 12:52:51 PM »
 While it is all well and good to have the training camp in Mexico.. If the Association can't afford it then what is the alternative? I've said time and time again there is more important issues in the country right now besides football. For eg. Officers still using hand written reports, there is still a shortage of medical facilities and equipment like fire trucks and ambulances. The Officers are still using books to check warrants, there is no computer network available, they have to depend on smart phones instead of a laptop in the police cars.

While football is important for us, we can't be that selfish to reserve money into sport when the greater needs are looming.

That said, the National team should recognize that second place, not qualifying and playing like tomorrow there will be another chance isn't enough. The national teams should reward the TTFA, the government  and make the most of what they have, because things could be alot worse. They simply not good enough to keep throwing resources into getting them better and it's not getting them anywhere.

This doesn't mean "give up on them" or "stop supporting them", it simply means let them achieve something before investing further. Second place isn't good enough. The under 20 team have potential though, they are the only ones who deserve anything at the moment.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2014, 01:27:46 PM by SWO_TNTFAN »

« Reply #76 on: December 18, 2014, 03:43:23 PM »
The under 20 team have potential though, they are the only ones who deserve anything at the moment.

How did you determine that they have potential and are the only ones deserving of

« Last Edit: December 19, 2014, 12:04:02 PM by SWO_TNTFAN »

« Reply #77 on: December 19, 2014, 12:58:16 AM »
Falling Oil Prices...........

From dumb to dumber..........

« Reply #78 on: December 19, 2014, 12:04:07 PM »
The under 20 team have potential though, they are the only ones who deserve anything at the moment.

How did you determine that they have potential and are the only ones deserving of

Again this is my personal opinion- The senior teams have tried (We all saw the efforts) but they are simply not good enough, that said, focusing on the youths and the grassroots programs gives the younger generation a chance the older ones have squandered.

I have to give you credit elan, you are a die hard supporter and challenge my every word. I have to admit you deserve credit for atleast having the spine in efforts to stand up for what you believe in, if only there were more men like you- we would be champions.

I should interview my mom- as much as I try to get her to watch some of the National team games- she refuses. I refuse to give the exact words used to describe our Senior teams but it ain't pleasant. Until these men and women start producing results to silence the critics they will continue to struggle to get the support needed to maintain the struggles that are currently plaguing the program. And everytime I convince her to watch - they fail and she cuss me. I don't blame her, because disappointment hurts the fans more than it hurts the players - or so it seems, because when u visit our athletes facebook etc, they are celebrating, partying when everyone else in mourning - we lost something we can't get back.

Let's fight to build the future National teams without wasting resources on ones who are capable but not committed.

And it seems like quote is messing up for me again.. I edited your topic instead of quoting.. ZZZZ second time this has happen. I apologize sincerely.

One of my colleagues at work said that they (US) found a way to drill into the rocks and there is enough oil in Texas for four hundred years. So buckle up. Prices for gas in USA atm is 1.89 usd per gallon, the lowest it has been since the Obama Administration, reports suggest it will get even lower by the end of June next year.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2014, 12:31:16 PM by SWO_TNTFAN »

« Reply #79 on: December 19, 2014, 01:22:03 PM »

If you read the actual article you would see that no one has blamed the missed camp on falling oil prices.  Allyuh keep falling for Lasana's sensationalism.  The drop in government revenue is the reason for the missed camp, but it certainly didn't help matters.

One of my colleagues at work said that they (US) found a way to drill into the rocks and there is enough oil in Texas for four hundred years. So buckle up. Prices for gas in USA atm is 1.89 usd per gallon, the lowest it has been since the Obama Administration, reports suggest it will get even lower by the end of June next year.

Your colleague need to double-check his facts... there is only enough oil for about 54 years in the entire world.  Not sure where all this gas in Texas supposed to be coming from.  Second, the average price of gas is $2.47 per gallon.  Point me to where that $1.89 per gallon is being sold so I could go fill up.

« Reply #80 on: December 19, 2014, 01:33:26 PM »

If you read the actual article you would see that no one has blamed the missed camp on falling oil prices.  Allyuh keep falling for Lasana's sensationalism.  The drop in government revenue is the reason for the missed camp, but it certainly didn't help matters.

Your colleague need to double-check his facts... there is only enough oil for about 54 years in the entire world.  Not sure where all this gas in Texas supposed to be coming from.  Second, the average price of gas is $2.47 per gallon.  Point me to where that $1.89 per gallon is being sold so I could go fill up.

I will check, you know how people like to exaggerate sighs

« Reply #82 on: December 19, 2014, 04:33:01 PM »
seems legit  :beermug:

« Reply #83 on: December 19, 2014, 06:11:29 PM »

I still believe this Young Warrior team has been together long enough and can play well enough to qualify for the next Youth WC. Looking forward to see the future of TnT national football give it their best next month

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #84 on: December 20, 2014, 12:14:15 PM »
I made it all up, Bakes?
Quote: Wallace said the cost of the Mexico trip would normally be easily absorbed by the Ministry of Sport. He told Wired868 that Permanent Secretary Richard Oliver called all sport bodies to an emergency meeting yesterday where the Government’s financial situation was laid bare.

“(The Ministry of Sport) hasn’t gotten a release of funds from the Ministry of Finance and they used their (existing) money to pay off the debts with the senior team,” said Wallace. “All sporting bodies were called into an emergency meeting yesterday to discuss the current situation with regards the drop in oil prices and the expectations and so on.

“So we have to revisit all the requests sent to them and tailor them in a more realistic way. There are no funds there at this point in time.”

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #85 on: December 20, 2014, 12:14:47 PM »
And speaking of making things up...

Fraud! TTFA accused of fabricating quotes from national women’s player Tasha St Louis that congratulated the football body over treatment of “Women Soca Warriors”
http://wired868.com/2014/12/20/sham-ttfa-allegedly-faked-congratulations-from-women-warriors/

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #86 on: December 20, 2014, 12:17:39 PM »
By the way, thanks very much Dreamer. The naysayers don't bother me. If I am inaccurate, they can sue. If they don't like me pointing out their flaws, they can stop repeating them.
Too many people think we just have to accept things the way they are. I don't. It is a waste of time for anyone to try bribing or bullying me to play ball. I have faced both before.

« Reply #87 on: December 20, 2014, 12:45:53 PM »
The other day yuh claim yuh doh pay me no mind... "yesterday was yesterday" or what?

I made it all up, Bakes?
Quote: Wallace said the cost of the Mexico trip would normally be easily absorbed by the Ministry of Sport. He told Wired868 that Permanent Secretary Richard Oliver called all sport bodies to an emergency meeting yesterday where the Government’s financial situation was laid bare.

“So we have to revisit all the requests sent to them and tailor them in a more realistic way.
There are no funds there at this point in time.”

I didn't say you made it up, I accused you of "sensationalism"... or do you not know what that word means?  Your headline claims that the "TTFA" blames the missed camp on falling oil prices.  The reality is that the Government is the one who told Wallace and [representatives of] other sporting bodies that due to the drop in oil prices they have to adjust their expectations.  Just another in your pattern of misrepresentations, nothing new.

As for the "sham"... it remains to be seen who's lying, Phillips, Fuentes or St. Louis.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2014, 01:04:06 PM by Bakes »

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #88 on: December 20, 2014, 12:53:16 PM »
TTFA representative says they cannot get funds because the Gov't is slashing funds due to falling oil prices. And I am the one guilty of misrepresentation?
Keep up the spin Bakes. By the way, why not have Sheldon come out himself and say whether Tasha St Louis or Vernetta Flanders gave those quotes? Prefer to operate in the shadows and create mischief through a half bake?

« Reply #89 on: December 20, 2014, 12:59:48 PM »
I don't want to get in alyuh backanal eh.. but "does it matter who's lying? Mr.Fuentes should of verified the quotes before posting them period.

Pretty sure the other two will give the old "I didn't do it, go talk to this one, send people in circles so they have time to formulate a good lie to cover it all up" and so forth. I have no faith in any sort of investigation by the Government or any local parties because .. well u do the math.

TTFA will not feel hard done by this at all - get use it this sort of thing, because you all put them there.