April 25, 2024, 01:48:38 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.  (Read 129127 times)

Re: TTFA blames falling oil prices for scrapped U-20 tour to Mexico
« Reply #90 on: December 20, 2014, 01:07:45 PM »
TTFA representative says they cannot get funds because the Gov't is slashing funds due to falling oil prices. And I am the one guilty of misrepresentation?
Keep up the spin Bakes. By the way, why not have Sheldon come out himself and say whether Tasha St Louis or Vernetta Flanders gave those quotes? Prefer to operate in the shadows and create mischief through a half bake?

The TTFA representative made it clear to you he was reporting what the government representative told him.  You reported it as though it was his position that he was stating himself.  But then again, I forget, you's ah blogger, not a journalist.  Unfair to hold you to journalistic standards.  You need to change yuh name to Lieburd.  Phillips is his own man and can speak for himself.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2014, 06:58:24 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #91 on: December 20, 2014, 01:11:26 PM »
Take it easy bakes.. guys please keep it clean!

« Reply #92 on: December 20, 2014, 01:14:46 PM »

What is your problem??

« Reply #93 on: December 20, 2014, 01:19:41 PM »

What is your problem??

Alyuh having a heated discussion and it's entertaining - doh call the man names nah man :) i not responsible if he chop u later ok.

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #94 on: December 20, 2014, 01:22:56 PM »
Do you mean that readers could get the impression the TTFA is in the oil drilling and selling business Bakes? Readers like you perhaps?
So far we know who is to blame when the TTFA is criticised. It is either Wired868 or Native Spirit or the 2006 World Cup players or the Pro League clubs or Brent Sancho or W Connection or Central FC or Jamaal Shabazz or the executive committee or Nissi Tours or David Atiba Charles or the Sport Ministry or the Sportt Company or the Ministry of Tourism or the old Permanent Secretary or the new Permanent Secretary or the private sector or the public sector...
It sure ent president Raymond Tim Kee or general secretary Sheldon Phillips. Right Bakes?
Carry on...
« Last Edit: December 20, 2014, 01:35:23 PM by SWF Reporter »

Offline SWF Reporter

« Reply #95 on: December 20, 2014, 01:23:58 PM »
That shows the level of his intellect and maturity TNTFAN. I'm not surprised a bit.

« Reply #96 on: December 20, 2014, 01:44:21 PM »
Alyuh having a heated discussion and it's entertaining - doh call the man names nah man :) i not responsible if he chop u later ok.

You don't have anything productive to do with your time or what?  Where did I call anybody names? The forum is perfectly capable of policing itself without you trying to be Miss Manners in every conversation.  If you really want to get involved then don't do so selectively.

...Prefer to operate in the shadows and create mischief through a half bake?

« Reply #97 on: December 20, 2014, 01:46:22 PM »
That shows the level of his intellect and maturity TNTFAN. I'm not surprised a bit.

LOL... you's kicks yes.  You in no position to question anything about anybody, lacking in ethics and credibility as you are.

« Reply #98 on: December 20, 2014, 01:57:32 PM »

You don't have anything productive to do with your time or what?  Where did I call anybody names? The forum is perfectly capable of policing itself without you trying to be Miss Manners in every conversation.  If you really want to get involved then don't do so selectively.
Bakes, it's Christmas and I will always have time to spend with you guys. This forum is small with each and every one of you contributing to it. I just don't want things to escalate to a point where something drastic happens to deter you guys from putting in the hard work day in day out. Both of you are good contributors and dispute the Association ethics etc there is no reason why we can't find a way to communicate without making it personal.

That said anymore slack talk or personal attacks etc will lead to this topic been closed until an administrator is online to review it or until you both cool down.

« Reply #99 on: December 20, 2014, 11:09:27 PM »
Bakes go get at high blood pressure from this TTFA    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Re: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.
« Reply #100 on: December 21, 2014, 02:24:25 PM »
This team would have better success if they go into camp with the Army for fitness and go under an old coach like Selris Figaro or Ron LaForest.
This team will get NOWHERE  with this coach ...I guarantee it.

« Reply #101 on: December 21, 2014, 02:26:10 PM »
Why should the govt fund football?

« Reply #102 on: December 21, 2014, 09:16:16 PM »
Peru 5-1 Jamaica

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Sr1L0ay29h0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Sr1L0ay29h0</a>

« Reply #103 on: December 22, 2014, 07:13:31 AM »
Since we couldn't make it, Mexico decided to play Toluca's U-20 squad. Toluca lost 3-0. They will play Pumas' U-20s today.

« Reply #104 on: December 22, 2014, 09:33:18 AM »
Since we couldn't make it, Mexico decided to play Toluca's U-20 squad. Toluca lost 3-0. They will play Pumas' U-20s today.

so any back up plans yet  for the under 20 yet

Will Jamaica Keep U-20 Championship Hosting Right? Decision Today
« Reply #105 on: December 22, 2014, 10:59:34 AM »
Will Jamaica Keep U-20 Championship Hosting Right? Decision Today
Jamaica Gleaner

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is expected to know today if the country will lose the right to host next month’s CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

CONCACAF has expressed dissatisfaction with the readiness of the National Stadium to host some of the matches in the tournament, and a final inspection of the venue is expected to be conducted today to determine whether the tournament will be shifted from Jamaica.

JFF president Captain Horace Burrell says he received information on Thursday that if everything is not ready by Monday, Jamaica could lose the hosting rights.

Burrell says on several occasions the Independence Park Limited (IPL) which manages the complex, had given assurance that the venue would be ready for the championship.

Major Desmon Brown, general manager of IPL said that the playing surface is ready but his team is working on getting the all the lights in the tower in working order.

Twelve countries, divided into two groups, are down to compete in the January 9 to 24 tournament.

Group A includes hosts Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Aruba, Panama, the United States and Guatemala.

Group B contains Haiti, Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Honduras and El Salvador.

Matches are scheduled for the National Stadium and the Montego Bay Sports Complex.

The CONCACAF Under-20 Championship qualifies four teams to the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand from May 30 to June 20.

« Reply #106 on: December 22, 2014, 12:14:02 PM »
The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) is expected to know today if the country will lose the right to host next month’s CONCACAF Under-20 Championship

... and a final inspection of the venue is expected to be conducted today to determine whether the tournament will be shifted from Jamaica.

This is 11th hour nonsense.

I know we probably doh have flights paid and hotels booked yet etc. but certainly others do? Although the senior tournament wasn't held in Kingston, I thought this issue wouldn't come up at all!

If it comes to that, what next? Visa issues? Or will we be looking at Honduras since they gearing up for the 17s shortly in 2 stadia same city.

The tournament is essentially TWO WEEKS away ... ascertaining viability of facilities at this juncture is incredulous. Imagine a WC being considered for reassignment on short notice. SMH.

« Reply #107 on: December 22, 2014, 12:14:49 PM »
Ah here the under 20 camp in jepordary..

MoS dont want to come up with the funds.

So I heard.

« Reply #108 on: December 22, 2014, 12:17:16 PM »
Wha really in jeopardy is performing at our level best.

« Reply #109 on: December 22, 2014, 01:51:50 PM »

I still believe this Young Warrior team has been together long enough and can play well enough to qualify for the next Youth WC. Looking forward to see the future of TnT national football give it their best next month

Them fellas went for ah run during the camp and men vomiting like they just started training.

« Reply #110 on: December 22, 2014, 03:16:49 PM »

So I heard.

if these guys qualify that sports minister better not show his face ....

« Reply #111 on: December 23, 2014, 10:14:44 PM »

So I heard.

deja vu

Sport Ministry blanks regional U-20 champions

By Ian Prescott ian.prescott@trinidadexpress.com

FOUR DAYS before departure to a World Cup qualifying tournament, the Ministry of Sport has informed the men’s Under-20 national football team that it will not fund the trip to Jamaica for the CONCACAF Championship due to run from January 9-24.

It leaves the Caribbean men’s Under-20 champions in similar position to that faced by the senior women’s team recently—going into World Cup qualifying without any funding.

The first batch of players were due to leave for the 12-team tournament on December 27. Contacted yesterday, Under-20 team manager William Wallace reluctantly revealed that the team might have no choice but to drop out of the tournament,  and possibly face Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and FIFA sanctions.

“All that I am willing to say is that I had a meeting with the PS (Permanent Secretary) and he indicated that they don’t have any money to fund the trip,” Wallace said. “I am at a loss where we go from here.”

Coached by Derek King, the junior Soca Warriors qualified for the 12-team final leg of World Cup qualifying by playing unbeaten and winning the Caribbean tournament  with a 3-0 victory over Haiti in the final on September 19 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. 

St Ann’s Rangers striker Kadeem Corbin was named tournament MVP. The Caribbean champs joined the United States, Canada, Costa Rica, Mexico, Guatemala, Aruba, Haiti, Cuba, host Jamaica, Honduras and El Salvador in the final round of CONCACAF zone qualifying, from which the top four nations qualify for the  2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

“ I haven’t given up,” Wallace continued. “I asked that the visa for the boys be done, should something work out. Our original travel date which was the 27th and 28th (December), because we were going up in two batches. If we get 

through, it will have to be pushed back now.” 

Recently, the team cancelled a proposed overseas pre-tournament camp to Mexico due to similar funding problems. However, Wallace said they had been previously assured of funding for the Jamaica tournament by the Sport Ministry.

“We were told all they would have been able to help us with was tickets and what we would have had to spend in Jamaica. Now they are saying there is no money to do that,” Wallace declared.

“Getting around this is very difficult. Right now everything is in limbo. It is not a tournament that you can just cancel. It’s not a friendly match. You can’t just walk from a tournament.”

Wallace added that the latest development had left them in extreme difficulty.

“The budget went in some time now and we have been at the Ministry visiting. They asked us to submit other documents, which we did,” stated Wallace. 

“Yesterday, I actually wrote a letter to the PS asking for us to have some discussions on the matter since time is upon us, and we needed to finalise whether it was yea or nay.”

« Reply #112 on: December 24, 2014, 07:56:48 AM »
lord have mercy ....

« Reply #113 on: December 24, 2014, 08:02:42 AM »
Should the U17s be concerned? How will they make it to Honduras?

« Reply #114 on: December 24, 2014, 08:09:49 AM »
Should the U17s be concerned? How will they make it to Honduras?

SHELDON PHILLIPS MAY HAVE TO  USE THE WOMEN WCQ PROFIT .
« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 11:10:28 AM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #115 on: December 24, 2014, 08:55:05 AM »
Burrell 'positive' of hosting CONCACAF U20 Championship
Jamaica Gleaner

Local football governing body, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), appears likely to remain as hosts of next month's Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Associations of Football (CONCACAF) Under-20 Championship at the National Stadium in Kingston, following a final inspection done on Monday night.

The JFF appeared to be in danger of losing the privilege of hosting the championship after the regional body had expressed displeasure following some inspection done months ago at the venue.

However, after an inspection done by Kevin Messam - a representative of CONCACAF - things look good for Jamaica.

Messam flew into the island on Monday at 7:20 p.m. and immediately went to the National Stadium, where he was met by Major Desmon Brown, general manager of Independence Park Limited (IP) and his technical team.

"The inspection was done and we're awaiting a report that will be submitted to the JFF and then to us (IPL)," Major Brown told The Gleaner yesterday morning.

"It looks favourable," he added, of Jamaica's chances to remain hosts of the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, set to run January 9-24 in Kingston and Montego Bay.

"The light metre intensity was tested to see the level of lighting and it looks positive," Brown informed.

Meanwhile, president of the JFF, Captain Horace Burrell, was positive about the inspection done two nights ago.

EVERYTHING INTACT

"The inspection was done by Mr Messam of CONCACAF, and the IPL staff, led by Major Brown, was there and everything is intact for the staging of the championship next month," Captain Burrell told The Gleaner.

"Mr Messam arrived here last night (Monday) and went to the National Stadium right away. They turned on the light and the inspection lasted about an hour. So based on indications, we will be hosting the championship," the JFF boss added.

"We expect to get a report within the next 24 hours (by today). There seems to be much improvements and we are expecting a positive response from CONCACAF tomorrow. I'm optimistic about it," he said.

Meanwhile, Jamaica's Under-20 team that participated in the Copa Simon Bolivar tournament in Venezuela lost all three games in the South American country.

The team, coached by Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore and his assistant Lenworth 'Teacher' Hyde, suffered defeats to Paraguay (1-3), Peru (1-5) and hosts Venezuela (0-4) in the tournament used as a warmup for the CONCACAF Championship.

Twelve countries are down to compete in the January 9-24 tournament. Group A includes hosts Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Aruba, Panama, the United States and Guatemala. Group B contains Haiti, Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Honduras and El Salvador.

Matches are scheduled for the National Stadium and the Montego Bay Sports Complex in St James. Both venues will host Group A matches. However, the Montego Bay Sports Complex will host all the action in Group B.

The tournament will crown the CONCACAF Under-20 champions and qualify four nations to the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in New Zealand in 2015.

« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 08:57:42 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #116 on: December 24, 2014, 12:56:00 PM »
SPoRTT came through after all for the young Warriors.

Offline SWF Reporter

T&T U-20 campaign back on; Sportt Company funds young Warriors
« Reply #117 on: December 24, 2014, 02:53:25 PM »
U-20 campaign back on; Sportt Company funds young Warriors
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

The Trinidad and Tobago national under-20 football team will be financed to compete at next month’s CONCACAF Championship in Jamaica after all.

Sportt Company acting CEO Adrian Raymond and Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) official William Wallace confirmed today that the government will fund the youth’s team travel and accommodation to Jamaica as well as its trip to Fort Lauderdale for a pre-tournament camp.

Wallace said that, in a Monday meeting, the Ministry of Sport’s Permanent Secretary Richard Oliver informed the local football body that there was no funding available to send the young “Soca Warriors” into action.

By Tuesday afternoon, the government had amended its position though as the two parties agreed to dip into the subvention allocated for the national senior team, which is managed by the Sportt Company.

“I spoke to the PS who said they have no money,” Wallace told Wired868, “and I asked him, since we have a subvention for the senior team, can we use money from that?

“Yesterday I got a call from the Ministry of Sport saying that the PS had approved our airfare and accommodation in Jamaica.”

Raymond confirmed that Oliver had approved the payment via the Sportt Company.

“The PS sent a note to us yesterday asking us to make a draw down, so we are doing that right now,” said Raymond. “We are trying to organize for the flights and right now we are just waiting on an invoice from Caribbean Airlines. So it will happen today or first thing on Monday.”

Raymond assured the sporting community that, although the country is bracing for a tough economic period, the government will do its best to protect sport’s National Governing Bodies (NGB).

“We are looking to cut costs wherever we can cut costs,” said Raymond. “(But) the last area we would look at cutting is the NGBs, specifically when it comes to teams representing the red, white and black in tournaments. We are just asking the NGBs to very judicious in terms of (travelling) contingents.

“There are people who go (on overseas tours and tournaments) because they are nice to have and there are people who are absolutely necessary…

“This (under-20 football) team has to participate and they will go. I don’t know if they will make the Saturday fly out but they will certainly go.”

The young Warriors were due to head for the United States on Saturday but, even if the Sportt Company makes the necessary arrangement on Christmas Eve, they still won’t keep their initial schedule. The players do not have visa appointments until next Monday.

“I put a hold on the visa (applications) when I heard the funding was a trouble because that is about $17,000,” said Wallace. “There was a definite ‘no’ from the PS on Monday that there were no funds. So we were then hoping to train here and travel to Jamaica directly and we wouldn’t need visas for that.

“So I put a hold on it until I was sure about the funding. Not knowing put a spoke in our planning.”

Meanwhile, the national under-20 players and staff are trying to stay focused despite missing out on a camp in Mexico and suddenly being informed that their entire camp was in jeopardy.

Head coach Derek King said the team trained this morning at the Hasely Crawford Stadium and will now have two days off for the Christmas period before returning to the training ground at 8 am on Saturday.

“The sessions have been good and you are seeing the intensity because all our players are here except (goalkeeper Johan) Welch who will join the team in Miami,” King told Wired868. “This is the future of Trinidad and Tobago’s football. Regardless of the situation, we are going there to do well.”

At present, King has 27 players in training and the squad is so competitive that there was no room for San Juan North Secondary stand-out striker Brent Sam or his school teammate and defender Josiah Trimmingham. United States-based midfielder Andre Fortune and prolific St Anthony’s College striker Kwesi Allen failed to make the cut as well.

“Sam has ability but his problem is he doesn’t like to train,” said King. “His attitude towards football is not there (yet) And Trimmingham’s level has dropped since the Caribbean Cup.”

The new additions to the Caribbean Cup champions are: versatile WASA FC defender Justin Garcia and the United States-based contingent of Leland Archer (College of Charleston), Duane Muckette (University of South Florida), Ricardo John (Virginia Tech), Brendon Creed (Temple University), Rashad Hyacinth (Belmont University) and Adrian Welsh (St John’s University).

The final 20-man team will be announced on Saturday but King hinted that Creed, who has trained in central defence but can also play in central midfielder, and Muckette, a robust and clever midfielder, might have already forced their way into the CONCACAF team.

“Creed is very solid and is a leader,” said King. “Muckette, (Levi) Garcia and (Kadeem) Corbin have been playing very well too.”

Corbin was the MVP of the Caribbean tournament while the then 16-year-old Garcia (L) was the competition’s hottest property. Wired868 understands that Garcia, who is now 17, is on the verge of a move to Europe but agent Dion Sosa is remaining tight-lipped as his prospective employer tries to facilitate his move as a minor.

There are six players who competed in the 2014 Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) competition in the current training squad.

Goalkeeper Aaron Enil lifted the National and North Zone Intercol trophies this year with Mucurapo East Secondary while defender Martieon Watson, playmaker Jabari Mitchell and striker Nicholas Dillon won the Premier Division and Big Four titles with Naparima College. St Anthony’s College playmaker Matthew Woo Ling and Garcia (Shiva Boys Hindu College) also played school football this season.

The CONCACAF under-20 tournament consists of five group matches in 12 days, which runs counter to the FIFA bylaw for the welfare of players. Faced with a similar situation in the senior Caribbean Cup last month, the CFU allowed teams to travel with 23 players which allowed more liberal rotation.

King said CONCACAF refused a similar request for the upcoming youth tournament. It means the fittest squads with the most strength in reserve will have a significant advantage in the gruelling competition. The top four nations will advance to the New Zealand 2015 Under-20 World Cup in May.

“We need players who can play in more than one position,” said King. “The 20 we select will more or less be players who can play in more than one position so it gives us an opportunity to rotate.”

Trinidad and Tobago national under-20 shortlist:

Goalkeepers: Johan Welch (Houston Dynamo Juniors), Javon Sample (Central FC), Christopher Biggette (St Ann’s Rangers), Aaron Enil (Mucurapo East);

Defenders: Shannon Gomez, Martieon Watson, Maurice Ford (all W Connection), Justin Garcia (WASA FC), Brendon Creed (Temple University), Leland Archer (College of Charleston), Jesus Perez (North East Stars);

Midfielders: Aikim Andrews, Akeem Garcia, Jabari Mitchell (all W Connection), Neveal Hackshaw, Keon Joseph (both North East Stars), Kevon Goddard (Central FC), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Matthew Woo Ling (St Anthony’s College), Duane Muckette (University of South Florida), Levi Garcia (Shiva Boys HC), Kishun Seecharan (unattached);

Forwards: Kadeem Corbin (St Ann’s Rangers), Nicholas Dillon (Central FC), Ricardo John (Virginia Tech), Rashad Hyacinth (Belmont University), Adrian Welch (St John’s University).

Technical Staff:

Derek King (head coach), Hutson Charles (assistant coach), Michael Maurice (goalkeeper coach), Stephen Hart (technical advisor), Douglas Archer (manager), Wayne Cunningham (assistant manager), Terrence Babwah (doctor), Michael Taylor (physio), Sharon Joseph (trainer), Michael Williams (equipment manager), Shaun Fuentes (media officer).

« Last Edit: December 27, 2014, 08:05:00 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T U-20 campaign back on; Sportt Company funds young Warriors
« Reply #118 on: December 24, 2014, 03:06:35 PM »
What the frig? They playing games or what? Sportt and the MoS playing games??

« Reply #119 on: December 24, 2014, 04:19:48 PM »
Why 4 goalkeepers?

Or okay
« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 05:36:03 PM by elan »