April 24, 2024, 01:55:35 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.  (Read 129014 times)

Re: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.
« Reply #480 on: January 18, 2015, 05:03:01 PM »
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T’s 1-0 loss to Panama

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/k-QkQ0Iv24w" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/k-QkQ0Iv24w</a>

Offline Fensic

« Reply #481 on: January 18, 2015, 06:13:35 PM »
Ah had ah epiphany de udder day reading how both Jamaica AND T&T doing Caribbean-style maths tuh show how it still possible to make the world cup despite all the evidence to the contrary. Since dat day I eh feeling nuttin but sadness fuh dis Under 20 team. Tuh get put in ah tournament when your skills only so good and preparations for de tournament questionable? Steups. Den have endless expectations on yuh shoulders is patently unfair, but dat is de Trini way. I see flashes ah brilliance in terms of ball movement with dis team dat I eh see yet in the senior team. I also see poor choices dat suggest is 'me first' and not the team.  Too many of the same mental mistakes and failures in basic Football 101 that will kill we every time.

Control, dribble, pass. Do dem well and consistent and yuh on yuh way.

My epiphany simple and as long as I remember it, no blood vessels bussing an killing mih because mih expectations go be realistic from now orn.

We could argue till we blue in de face about skill, on-field decisions, dis an dat related tuh football even what it say about de bigger society. it eh go make no difference. As long as the powers that be fail to realize winning is not something dat does come as ah result of 'good luck' then we doomed to mediocrity. In udder words, a mindset change. Who see dat happening anytime soon?

Watch dem Jamaicans. They starting to realize the importance of playing quality opponents to give dey players exposure and experience. Just like they dominate Track and Field, watch dem figure out the formula to dominate regional football. Nineteen eighty-nine coming. Again. Starring de same bobolee.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2015, 06:15:14 PM by Fensic »

« Reply #482 on: January 18, 2015, 07:09:23 PM »
Here nah I get banned fuh negative comments so I will be positive...it is nice to see a coach leading by example ..cool under pressure, professional in every way , able to motivate and push his team..demonstrates his level of self discipline by maintaining his own physical fitness and outward appearance.

I am impressed with the confidence he shows in his gk who leads from the back. The gk is a quiet leader who is never ruffled, his strong calm demeanor inspires his defence thereby giving them the impression the he is the man between the sticks and nothing is going past him on any day. The young keeper's technical and tactical abilities cannot be seconded because his game intelligence, judgement, athletic abilty is without question the best I have seen in goal keeper's of his age group.

The coach's strategic and tactical objectives are so simple and clear for the players to execute it's just unfortunate that lady  luck and poor officiating have not been good to  us, otherwise we would have achieved the desired results.

The work and preparation put in by the staff, TTFA, Raymond Chin Fee and Lasana Bird has to be applauded. Kudos to them.. I  am very happy to see that we have a very bright future for our senior team because this U20 team is nothing short of great potential and talent ..big things in the future for  this young gk...big things..

« Reply #483 on: January 18, 2015, 07:10:26 PM »
What I find funny is some members finding comfort in T&T failures by recognizing Jamaica is also failing. Who the f*ck cares if Jamaica, Mexico, Cuba or Panama is failing or succeeding!

Worry about why T&T cannot get our shit together for YEARS now. Why our football mentality from youth to senior is weak and the weakness show itself when playing against Non-Caribbean teams.

We have a youth league for what purpose if players cannot do the basics for 90 mins? When will we recognize the importance of preparation before important tournaments? When will we as fans demand more from our players and coaching staff? When will we get serious about our football?

« Last Edit: January 18, 2015, 07:15:32 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #484 on: January 18, 2015, 07:19:58 PM »
The team is a well prepared team and has shown it can play football for 90 mins it's just bad luck...bad luck..

« Reply #485 on: January 18, 2015, 07:21:31 PM »
What I find funny is some members finding comfort in T&T failures by recognizing Jamaica is also failing. Who the f*ck cares if Jamaica, Mexico, Cuba or Panama is failing or succeeding!

Worry about why T&T cannot get our shit together for YEARS now. Why our football mentality from youth to senior is weak and the weakness show itself when playing against Non-Caribbean teams.

We have a youth league for what purpose if players cannot do the basics for 90 mins? When will we recognize the importance of preparation before important tournaments? When will we as fans demand more from our players and coaching staff? When will we get serious about our football?

:applause: :applause: :applause:

Re: CONMEBOL U-20 Tourney
« Reply #486 on: January 18, 2015, 07:53:56 PM »
2 goals by Gio Simeone as Argentina swept away Peru. Simeone ... as in son of Diego. However, the real name to remember is Leo Suárez. This game was a textbook exercise in how an unforced, self-imposed goalkeeping error could condemn a team to the margins. It's sure to be on a YouTube blooper video shortly.

Uruguay dismantled Brazil by eventually being superior in every area of the field, by playing cohesively, and by adhering to a script that focused on excelling in the simple things. They won balls in the air, dominated multiple 1 v 1 battles, minimized errors, counter attacked with intent (minimal passes to get the ball forward and economical movement) and punished with the limited chances created.

A cynic would argue they were playing at home ... and there would be something to that. If these 2 teams meet again, I think Brazil wins. In individual positions, you could see Brazil has another bag of tricks. One of their central defenders has the potential to be a player of long tenure on the senior team. Yuh can't miss him. He didn't set a foot wrong until conceding a free kick that resulted in a goal. Different angle that call might not have been made by the ref.

Brazil wasn't consistently devoid of ideas, but they lacked luck when they came close (a ball glancing past the post and a long range effort somewhat inconveniently parried over by an attentive keeper). Uruguay played with assertive, compact lines that were well-rehearsed and clearly very organized. In fact, their rendition was a manifestation of what their senior team does when successful. Ideally, that's what you want ... national teams from top to bottom on a similar script to ease transitions as some players age out. Uruguay had an aged squad at the WC, and already have JNT players who will be in 2018 qualifying ... For instance, a far cry from what Schafer has said about his Jamaican charges.

Other noteworthy thing was more leadership by the players on the Uruguayan side compared to the Brazilians. They drove each other vocally and through sensible effort. Brazil was not there.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2015, 08:36:33 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #487 on: January 18, 2015, 08:03:02 PM »
some people are unhappy with the results ..some people are of the belief we are not well prepared or our programs aren't well organized but this is far from the truth. We have a football infrastructure that is on par with many  of the better football nations in the developed world.

We have a sophisticated youth developmental program which identifies and develops the best talent from U9 to U20..the people involved are well qualified and hold all of the required training the the field.

We are doing quite well ..just because the results don't reflect that doesn't mean we aren't  one of the best in the region...we are..the players who  are developed in the US for the National programs are of superior quality than those locally based .

Our development program is augmented by members of this site who help recruit and make recommendations on all aspects relating to Trinidad football.

We really have a good thing going...and who are we to say otherwise.

« Reply #489 on: January 18, 2015, 08:44:22 PM »
From the senior team right on down- we have seen this script before. We could all point fingers but at times despite the coaching efforts, our players seem to lack DISCIPLINE!
Discipline in approaching the game
Discipline about personal and professional development
Discipline in developing  the skills required for growth in the sport
Discipline in playing the game and the position
DISCIPLINE DISCIPLINE DISCIPLINE; Until then is more licks

« Reply #490 on: January 18, 2015, 09:55:24 PM »
The coach in particular is highly disciplined and would not tolerate indiscipline within his team ...so to say that the players lack discipline is not fair to them.

The players are disciplined.

« Reply #491 on: January 18, 2015, 10:26:45 PM »
I am sure Uncle Tim and Shell-done saying, "Phew, thought they would want to overthrow us with these results by our flagship U20 team but is like dey go have civil war among themselves blaming the coach, keeper, Flex, Tallman, Gally, Bertille, socawarriors website for this loss. We get orf scotch free. Horner wha yuh drinking, ..... 2 more gin and coconut water fuh de road. Leh we lash a nex' rongs before de madam call we nah. As long as we eh have to give a single press conference about this we good laughing all the way to de bank. Hee hee".

Most of the problems are off the field that will always result in on the field problems. Jess basic examples:
1. "Dah goalkeeper is de worst. How King cyah see that". Need international pre-tournament games to compare keepers under pressure to see who really is the least liability.
2. "The players eh ready". True they are not fully ready. Insufficient preparation. For all sports, you get out what you put in.
3. Jamaica scored on us in the last minute, damn!! Concentration, especially in the 89th minute, depends on match fitness which depends on pre-tournament scheduling of matches.
4. Coach is de worse. Might be. Maybe not. One way we would know for sure about the coach is when he is seen playing in international games with Central American pedigree.
5. Discipline and team shape depends a lot on match fitness too.

Maybe we have to put pressure on the TTFA to:
1. Establish, articulate (and circulate) the goal for the different squads. What have they got to lose by doing so?
2. Along with the coaches, identify the timetables of preparation and the minimum starting dates for preparation and number of practice games for each tournament.
3. Do the math and see how much money that will cost. Release the data to the newspapers so we can share the burden and let the sports ministers respond long in advance.
4. Do the math and see how much money has to be raised by all means possible, even if it means to ask funds-hustlers like FS.
5. Have your plan, goals and "grand-strategy powerpoint show" ready for marketing, branding and for stakeholders in private sector, sports ministry to buy into. Show them (in case they don't know) what's in it for them.
6. Get those necessary games for team preparation. That is the constant that is always lacking in our tournament disappointments.

All the stakeholders must share in the pressure to get the team exposed to enough games that will weed out our mistakes or weed out the players that reveal that they are prone to catastrophic errors.
We must lobby harder. Pressure does sometimes buss pipe. The most "impossible" task to remove Jackula was achieved, so this task of forcing administrative goal setting cyah be seen as impossible too.. There must be yardsticks by which we judge sports administrators who have responsibility. One way is to see how much they have addressed the agreed-upon objectives. This always seems lacking. They are hoping that we don't know how to make them accountable.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2015, 10:57:53 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #492 on: January 19, 2015, 06:53:51 AM »
some people are unhappy with the results ..some people are of the belief we are not well prepared or our programs aren't well organized but this is far from the truth. We have a football infrastructure that is on par with many  of the better football nations in the developed world.

We have a sophisticated youth developmental program which identifies and develops the best talent from U9 to U20..the people involved are well qualified and hold all of the required training the the field.

We are doing quite well ..just because the results don't reflect that doesn't mean we aren't  one of the best in the region...we are..the players who  are developed in the US for the National programs are of superior quality than those locally based .

Our development program is augmented by members of this site who help recruit and make recommendations on all aspects relating to Trinidad football.

Thank you sir! The TTFA may well give you a call as you seem to be just right down their mental street!  :frustrated:

« Reply #493 on: January 19, 2015, 10:34:14 AM »
I dont think it boils down to goal difference. A Trinidad & Tobago win against the USA would equal the overall point totals, and Trinidad would earn the tiebreaker against the U.S. by virtue of head-to-head competition.

« Reply #494 on: January 19, 2015, 12:11:07 PM »
Good luck in this final game guys. I know we are masters of last minute solution. mr. King let us see how you will motivate these youth to pickup  to go the next round.

« Reply #495 on: January 19, 2015, 01:14:09 PM »

I personally find you're being facetious..but if you enjoying yuhself carry on..no harm done

« Reply #496 on: January 19, 2015, 01:48:03 PM »
The hunt could still yield something. Error elimination and determination. Not easy, but within reach.

I'm observing that decision-making even for elite players is a cancer. Within decision-making, I'm including the concept of responsibility. More than one of us can be game changers. Take the responsibility.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 01:49:45 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #497 on: January 19, 2015, 02:33:31 PM »
Wiki:

The twelve teams shall be divided into a group stage consisting of two groups (A, B) of six teams each. The group winners qualify automatically for the Final and the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup, while the runners-up and third place teams are reseeded amongst each other and play a repechage play-off for the last two CONCACAF slots at the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup..

CONCACAF have stated that on each match day, three matches will be played at the same stadium (described as a "triple header").

Tiebreaking criteria

The regulations state that:

"At the end of group play, and should two or more teams finish tied on points (including ties among third place teams), the manner in which teams will advance to the next round will be resolved as follows and in the order indicated:

a. Greater number of points in matches between the tied teams
b. Greater goal difference in matches between the tied teams (if more than two teams finish equal on points)
c. Greater number of goals scored in matches among the tied teams (if more than two teams finish equal on points)
d. Greater goal difference in all group matches
e. Greater number of goals scored in all group matches
f.  Drawing of lots
goal difference 2nd?

« Reply #498 on: January 19, 2015, 05:32:26 PM »
All posting members of this site get very emotional and tend to lash out at Coache for negative comments..Coache was banned for negativity for however long nobody cares.

Coache changed his stance to go along with everyone else who is always upbeat and positive to satisfy the status quo and the response is no different..posting members become emotional and lash out against Coache because he is being positive..I hope I don't get banned for positive comments because all I am seeing posted right now by members is pure negativity.

Mr Flex how many people are you going to ban now for negative comments?

By the way.. Good Luck to the Trinidad and Tobago U20 team in their next game because without luck...

« Reply #499 on: January 19, 2015, 06:12:12 PM »
Ah boy no post match comments from Derek and company....maybe he can't say...sorry TnT we f**king up! Lemonade from lemons....not bad for 9 men....but at the same time....we playing in ah groung in Jamaica o wuh...what kinda stupidness men gehn caught  up in in jed....eatttttt...talk bout diamond in the rough. ..

Onto to USA....we haven't seen it all tournament...so plz lets bring it...its now or never...destiny in all yuh hands/leg....

Mr. King...yes this last game is as good as any to sub our main goal scorer...everybody know who he is!....probably except you yes!

« Reply #500 on: January 19, 2015, 07:25:50 PM »
Breds, I real disappointed. That team can match any team in the tournament. But we keep making mistakes and fall into a hole. GK errors and silly red cards. We Shoot ourselves in the foot. But I still have hope in the the youths. I was a national youth player also, under Alvin and Roderick Warner. So I understand some of the nuances of overseas youth football tournaments. Unlike this team, we did not have all this problem with preparation. Things were different then. I still have faith.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 07:27:22 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #501 on: January 19, 2015, 07:38:56 PM »
Just watched the ending of the Brazil Uruguay game. Man, game was tight. Uruguay was tough in defense, counter attack were quick and efficient.  But Brazil almost had a goal when one of its players spotted the Uruguay keeper go outside the box. He shot from inside the Brazilian half and had the Uruguay scrambling back to barely get his fingers to the ball. Putting it over the bar.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 07:40:53 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #502 on: January 19, 2015, 08:49:37 PM »
Faith is what we need we could beat de states ...all yuh have to do is play two different formations  for two different periods in the game using two different styles.

Defend well against set plays and counter attacks and take the chances that come your way.

Go T+T

Mr Flex ah tryin meh best to be a good Soca Warrior Fan.

« Reply #503 on: January 19, 2015, 09:29:44 PM »
^^^ Yuh go bawl when yuh see Brazil´s first goal from tonight. Verified, certified golazo.

Venezuela played to a decent level, but in the second half Brazil injected a different element. Their number 23 ... also subbed in at the half versus Uruguay ... and 19 ... helped get this done.

VEN´s  number 7 shirt is a lil lil youth who is skillful fuh days. However, he could muscle up a bit. Time and time again he was comfortable in 2 v 1 situations and prevailed. He also brought other players into the game. If he gets picked up to flash overseas, he will either be stifled or develop into a terror on the park.

Despite the victory, this group of Brazilian ballers is not highly regarded. 

Chile failed miserably versus Colombia.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 09:34:11 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #504 on: January 19, 2015, 09:33:18 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QuvsdUJvQkE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QuvsdUJvQkE</a>

« Reply #505 on: January 19, 2015, 10:43:16 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QuvsdUJvQkE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QuvsdUJvQkE</a>

Tried to watch this game live but the link wouldn't work.  :pissedoff:

« Reply #506 on: January 20, 2015, 07:35:16 AM »
Flickin golazo, oui.

« Reply #507 on: January 20, 2015, 10:25:56 AM »
I looking at the highlights and maybe my eye an dem eh wukkin good, buh I eh even see where Corbin connect with that fella.  He didn't come in with a lunge nor a high boot so what did I miss?  Welch looks very poor in these games.  I don't think he retains his place as starting gk if we somehow get thru unless he pull off something miraculous against USA.

Coache (if nobody eh go tell yuh I will) you rell annoying with yuh childish bullshit.  As a grown man you think you making a point to anyone with that assholeness yuh carryin on with?  So if they ban yuh fuh negativity yuh go comeback with ah setta false positivity bullshit.  Grow de f**k up nah.  Sorry if yuh vex buh yuh on shit!

« Reply #508 on: January 20, 2015, 12:10:45 PM »
True.. But if Welsh showing best in training- I guessing that's why he getting played -, do we really want to take a chance with the guy who not showing as good ?
And the 2nd paragraph on point to.

« Reply #509 on: January 20, 2015, 01:49:56 PM »
True.. But if Welsh showing best in training- I guessing that's why he getting played -, do we really want to take a chance with the guy who not showing as good ?
And the 2nd paragraph on point to.

I was told there is a better keeper at home.