April 19, 2024, 10:03:18 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.  (Read 128812 times)

Offline fatimarima

Re: 2015 Under-20 FIFA World Cup Thread.
« Reply #570 on: January 21, 2015, 06:33:46 PM »
Ah well, the party done.  Good exposure, but not enough talent, discipline or preparation to make it happen this time.  Back to the drawing board, but don't give up.  We will get it right one day....hopefully soon.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 06:37:38 PM by fatimarima »

« Reply #571 on: January 21, 2015, 06:37:56 PM »
Alright fella not bad.  :applause:
I am tempted to say we could have won it,going forward we don't seem to have much imagination.

« Reply #572 on: January 21, 2015, 06:39:55 PM »
We lost 1 - 0 to the USA; Another hard luck story due to lack of warm-up games and proper preparations.

When will we learn!

Learn what... how to make money materialize out of thin air?  Lack of preparation didn't cause us to lose this game, lack of execution did... go back to the wasted opportunities in the box inside of the first 15 minutes of the game.  Yet again (just like the women) we concede a late goal... hinting at what Hart said about our physical and mental stamina.

« Reply #573 on: January 21, 2015, 06:40:48 PM »
Alright fella not bad.  :applause:

so why are you applauding mediocrity? we lorse and yuh sayin not bad?

It done.

« Reply #574 on: January 21, 2015, 06:46:24 PM »
We lost 1 - 0 to the USA; Another hard luck story due to lack of warm-up games and proper preparations.

When will we learn!

Learn what... how to make money materialize out of thin air?  Lack of preparation didn't cause us to lose this game, lack of execution did... go back to the wasted opportunities in the box inside of the first 15 minutes of the game.  Yet again (just like the women) we concede a late goal... hinting at what Hart said about our physical and mental stamina.

Bakes you self ah smart man like you making a statement like that? Read what you say again and see if it make any sense.

Missing those chances are an indictment on a lack of preparation. You cannot execute if you weren't prepared to. What kinda rationalization yuh trying dey. With better preparation we would have been exposed to those situations and have the opportunity to develop the mental fortitude, the physical action/movement and the tactical understanding to successfully execute. However, since you can't "make money materialize outta thin air", you have to take what you get. Why hold the players to a higher standard than those entrusted to assist them in realizing their full potential?

:bs: :bs:
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 06:48:01 PM by elan »

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #575 on: January 21, 2015, 06:47:48 PM »
How did the goal score anyway?   Hopefully not another Goalkeeper error

« Reply #576 on: January 21, 2015, 06:48:33 PM »
Welch is the leading candidate for the "numb nuts" play of the tournament.
Welch, Akeem Humphrey, and Kadeem Corbin, all tied for and the winners of, the "numb nuts" plays of the tournament. Wait, you all have one thing or another in common. What a f%*king coincidence.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #577 on: January 21, 2015, 06:57:33 PM »
The team is technically good and athletically equal or better to most the teams they played. However, tactically, emotionally and mentally they were far behind. Look at the games:

Jamaica to kill off the game dropped points 2
Guatemala 2 defensive errors 1 defender 1 keeper, no goals from run of play-- possible dropped points 1
Panama best team in group goalie ridiculous error possible dropped points minimum 1

We could have entered the game with 8 points and played for a draw but the mental, emotional and tactical mistakes that included disqualifying two players but us in a must win situation. Its over for the U20's but the U17's head to San Pedro Sula, Honduras in one month.

I hope, pray, and wish that the coaching staff and players learn from this experience. The coaches must focus on positive motivation, mentally focused preparation and emotional control for the boys. A small nation of 1.5 million challenged a country of 300 million and what separated us was the consciousness and confidence of the coaches to be infused into the players. Its time we learn that negative psychological motivation does not work..it never worked telling a child he go be a dunce to encourage him to study. Sadly, this is much of what the foreign coaches bring ..read the comments about Benneker(not at tactician) only that he was a great motivator but HOW?

I support local coaches but we need local coaches to emotionally and mentally grow up and realize that its all about confidence and believe after a certain point. What is the best way to install that in your team? Once we do some serious work to answer that we will get the results we deserve but we have to do the work.

Its our consciousness, Stupid!

Lastly, it would have been nice to have Shaq Moore playing right wing back for us instead of the US, his father(Wendell Moore) brought him at a young age and was discourage by what some say was an anti-foreign based player mentality.  I hope the U17's don't make the same mistake because I hear a large crop from USA, Canada and Europe have expressed interest and traveled for trials.

« Reply #578 on: January 21, 2015, 07:13:30 PM »
Bakes you self ah smart man like you making a statement like that? Read what you say again and see if it make any sense.

Missing those chances are an indictment on a lack of preparation. You cannot execute if you weren't prepared to. What kinda rationalization yuh trying dey. With better preparation we would have been exposed to those situations and have the opportunity to develop the mental fortitude, the physical action/movement and the tactical understanding to successfully execute. However, since you can't "make money materialize outta thin air", you have to take what you get. Why hold the players to a higher standard than those entrusted to assist them in realizing their full potential?

:bs: :bs:

Did you watch the game?  I talking about "lack of execution" of fundamentals... not tactics or strategies.  Simple thing like kicking a ball straight... putting a pass accurately to a man or into space.  Simple things like putting a shot on frame.  Training and preparation helps you to improve on those things, but usually not over the course of a training camp or two.  If you watched the game then you would have seen what I was referencing with my very specific comments about wasted opportunities inside the first 15 minutes.  Yuh doh have to be 'smart' to understand that... even you should be able to grasp that.

« Reply #579 on: January 21, 2015, 07:17:46 PM »
Honestly, I kind of glad Shaquille playing for the U.S. because he would not have gone anywhere with this team. All the problems with money and prep, and total confusion with the TTFA, you would want your son or daughter go thru all of this mediocrity? Shaquille would have struggled just as Shannon Gomez. He and his dad made the right decision to play for the U.S.

There is another kid whose parents are from Tobago also. He was also in Bradenton. He in Sweden playing in a lower division, and also attending classes. He wants to bring him home, but some people telling him to think twice about that decision.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 07:20:34 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #580 on: January 21, 2015, 07:18:24 PM »
HIGHLIGHTS of T&T’s 1-0 loss to the USA

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/PmCMSfR1YGk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/PmCMSfR1YGk</a>

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #581 on: January 21, 2015, 07:55:48 PM »
Thanks for the highlights.  It looks like #4  lost focus and slowed down on his run back, instead of continuing to make a proper effort to cut out the pass and cover the eventual goal scorer.  He must have been exhausted trying to get back, but that one split second lapse is all the USA forward needed to receive the pass.  The other defender got back well, had his man covered and even tried to turn around to stop the shot.  Too bad # 4 could not match that effort. If he continued to run without that slight hesitation and slowing down he would have intercepted the ball just ahead of the on rushing forward / striker.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 08:07:41 PM by fatimarima »

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #582 on: January 21, 2015, 08:22:11 PM »
The one thing that I can say is that Team T&T did not get blown away by any team in this tournament.  Two 1-0 losses and a 2-0 loss,  in which T& T gifted 3 of the goals to their opponents ( own goal by T&T defender in Guatemala game, Gift by T&T goalkeeper in Guatemala game  losing the ball while trying to dribble in front of his goal, and  another own goal by the keeper-  dropping a cross into the goal in the Panama game.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2015, 01:38:14 AM by fatimarima »

« Reply #583 on: January 21, 2015, 09:54:33 PM »
Congratulations, Mr.Tim Kee and the rest of the ttfa administration and staff members behind the scenes. Drinks and gifts are in order. The development program and the surgical efforts of Mr. king have reaped its just reward. You have shown us your stroke of genius, that you didn't need to go across the ocean to recruit from some far away land like the USA and you didn't have to enter your u20 team in some international tournament to prepare. You have shown us how to save a lot of money by not doing any of the above. How brilliant. You deserve credit for your foresight. However, the operation, or should I say, the preparations, was a success, the patient died.
Now, onto the under 17 tournament, where I am certain, the team is very promising and the same preparations and developmental program are envogue.

« Reply #584 on: January 21, 2015, 11:09:24 PM »

When will we learn!

yes, yes...I remember Hart clearly recommending that to build up these weak a$$ players mental fortitude they needed to not play any warm-up matches. not invite nobody to T&T, nuttin. players fault (not Sheldon).

« Reply #585 on: January 21, 2015, 11:20:06 PM »
Thanks for the highlights.  It looks like #4  lost focus and slowed down on his run back, instead of continuing to make a proper effort to cut out the pass and cover the eventual goal scorer.  He must have been exhausted trying to get back, but that one split second lapse is all the USA forward needed to receive the pass.  The other defender got back well, had his man covered and even tried to turn around to stop the shot.  Too bad # 4 could not match that effort. If he continued to run without that slight hesitation and slowing down he would have intercepted the ball just ahead of the on rushing forward / striker.

Some focusing on the giveaway, but this right here is it for me as well... #4 failed to track the player running into the box, he was too busy watching the ball.  Also, that wasn't even a forward who scored... that is their center back who ran 90 yards to get onto the end of that ball.

yes, yes...I remember Hart clearly recommending that to build up these weak a$$ players mental fortitude they needed to not play any warm-up matches. not invite nobody to T&T, nuttin. players fault (not Sheldon).

Throughout the tournament we clearly suffered for lack of preparation... I'll leave it for you and others to point out how that's the fault of the TTFA or "Sheldon."  It's not as though they made a conscious decision to not schedule or have the players participate in warm up games.  At any rate, I maintain that lack of preparation isn't what caused us to lose this particular game.  No amount of training camp, warm-up games etc. will teach you to kick a ball straight on this level.  We had three decent chances, possibly four, and only once really forced the keeper into a save.  Put any of those chances away and we'd be looking at a different result.  Maybe more warm up games woulda prepare we #4 to be aware of attacking players around him rather than watching the ball on the wings... who knows, but even professionals in the EPL does get caught ball watching, and they have all the preparation in the world.

Re: CONMEBOL U-20 Tourney
« Reply #586 on: January 23, 2015, 02:21:40 AM »
A name to remember ... Gastón Pereiro. Baller sure to be shipped out.

« Reply #587 on: January 24, 2015, 10:34:16 PM »
Mexico are The 2015 CONCACAF U20 Men Champions.

Mexico 1 vs Panama 1 FT

PK: Mexico 4 vs Panama 2

« Reply #588 on: January 25, 2015, 02:21:17 PM »
any highlights from the rest of matches? who qualify?

« Reply #589 on: January 25, 2015, 02:30:14 PM »

Mex, Pan, USA and Hon.

« Reply #590 on: January 25, 2015, 02:40:57 PM »

These games highlights easy to find on Youtube

Here is US vs El Salvador 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKvJ8ZBY6bk

« Reply #591 on: January 27, 2015, 03:52:46 PM »
Results from yesterday's first round of the second phase:

Argentina 2 Peru 0
Paraguay 0 Colombia 0
Brazil 0 Uruguay 0

Simeone on strike again. Argentina apparently played with 6 in the MF versus Peru's traditionally innocuous 4-4-2. Paraguay and Colombia both played 4-2-3-1, and nullified each other ... at least with respect to the score. Didn't see the game in any form. Can't comment authoritatively or with confidence either way.

Brazil went 4-2-1-3 versus Uruguay's 4-4-1-1.

« Reply #592 on: January 29, 2015, 03:57:46 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/jBA5dxEbVy0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/jBA5dxEbVy0</a>

Ah almost certain that incisive pass by Gerson (to set up Guilherme for goal number 2) was his first touch.

« Reply #593 on: January 31, 2015, 01:27:32 AM »
Does anyone have the T&T vs USA game downloaded? Can I get a copy please?

« Reply #594 on: February 01, 2015, 03:08:01 PM »
Imagine, for as little as $6 US, yuh could watch 3 matches one after the other, but the Uruguayans doh give a damn unless is Uruguay sweating. Big clash today between Argentina and Brazil, and nobody eh go leave dey house until just before 10pm when the locals play Paraguay.

The stands appear more vacant than they are because of the camera angle, but still! Brings to mind a suggestion by FS regarding local ball: change the camera angle!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2015, 03:17:34 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #595 on: February 02, 2015, 06:54:59 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yoLykI3Obnc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yoLykI3Obnc</a>

« Reply #596 on: February 08, 2015, 10:19:44 PM »
Excellent tournament. Not a seat in de house in de Centenario. Argentina silenced thousands of Uruguayans with 2 come-from-behind goals. Sadly the home fans departed even before the final whistle ... Sad because the home team deserved more than that after putting in a very respectable shift during the past 3 weeks. They did the country proud.

Ah lil posse of Argentinians was louder than the Uruguay massive for portions of the game. Yuh couid just feel de salt coming. However, unlike de salt we normally get ... Uruguay still qualified for the WC.

« Reply #597 on: February 08, 2015, 10:41:59 PM »
Diego Simeone's son was very impressive in this tournament.

FIFA U20 Men's World Cup - New Zealand 2015
« Reply #598 on: May 30, 2015, 12:21:59 AM »
Anyone take in the USA vs Myanmar game?

USA 2 vs. Myanmar 1

Myanmar show no respect for the stars and stripes, complete and utter disregard. It was a joy of a game to watch.

Re: FIFA U20 Men's World Cup - New Zealand 2015
« Reply #599 on: May 30, 2015, 01:02:01 AM »
ha how about panama argentina tie  2 - 2