April 25, 2024, 05:27:55 PM

Can T&T reach another World Cup?

Yes
13 (86.7%)
No
2 (13.3%)

Total Members Voted: 15

Author Topic: Can T&T reach another World Cup?  (Read 1807 times)

« on: June 30, 2014, 04:28:40 AM »
By Anand Rampersad (Guardian).

Is Trinidad and Tobago ready for CONCACAF?

Given the improved performances of the three (Costa Rica, Mexico and USA) most powerful nations within CONCACAF at the World Cup, several burning questions have to be answered as I am sure they are already oscillating in the minds of many especially those in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).

Firstly, are CFU members including regional power houses such as T&T and Jamaica prepared to match horns with showings of the likes of Mexico, Costa Rica, USA along with Canada, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti and the improving Panamanians? Secondly, is there a widening gulf between the teams from North and Central America and the CFU? Thirdly, do CFU and its members have all the resources (funding, administrative and technical) to seriously compete with the other proven footballing members of CONCACAF?

Can Caribbean countries seriously challenge for the Gold Cup and or consistently perform with satisfaction at this event? T&T has participated in eight of 12 Gold Cup’s with a best performance of third in 2000, whilst Jamaica’s best performance came in 1993 when they placed third. Fourthly, and more importantly how realistic is it to qualify for upcoming World Cups, starting with Russia 2018?

Costa Rica, Mexico and the United States have exceeded all expectations and have represented the CONCACAF region with great determination, commitment and pride during the group stage of 20th FIFA World Cup, Brazil 2014. This is the first time that three CONCACAF teams have advanced out of the group stage. The best performance by a CONCACAF team at a World Cup has been the United States who placed third at the inaugural World Cup in 1930.

These teams did not just also ran but competed fiercely to qualify for the round of 16 and beyond. By the time this column is published both Mexico and Costa Rica second round matches would have been completed. Victory for both of them would set up a quarter final match on Friday.

Costa Rica stands out from the lot as they came out of the ‘group of death’ which featured three former World Cup winners and traditional power houses in world football: Italy, England and Uruguay. They won their group unbeaten, scoring four goals and conceding one. Mexico also played unbeaten and were able to dent all aspirations of Brazil prevailing over them. The United States although they lost to Germany 1-0, demonstrated they are a force to be reckoned with a victory over Ghana and narrowly being deprived of a much deserving victory against Portugal who scored in the virtual last attack of the game to steal a draw.

As much as the region celebrates the performances of the CONCACAF representatives at Brazil 2014, the underlying message is that if T&T is to become a serious consistent contender in CONCACAF it cannot be business as usual. There is an urgent need to focus at all levels at the same time- age groups and senior national teams- men and women. The talk has to be backed by action. For instance, has the much touted benefits of developing youth football from hosting the FIFA Under- 17 World Cup for boys in 2001 and girls in 2010 been realised?

Is the local premier league producing the standard of play required to compete regionally and internationally? Is there an integrated system which allows for early talent identification locally and internationally of the best players regardless of where they ply their trade? Are our coaches and technical staffs across all levels on par with each other and connected to an end goal. For instance, Jurgen Klinsmann has overriding control of all football in the US.

As the president of the TTFA and his executive cull over the structure and organization of football at the back of their mind, the question of funding will continue to trouble them. Long term development cannot take place without funding. The state can only contribute so much monies to football development as there are other competing sporting disciplines seeking funding.

The TTFA has to find ways to attract private sponsorship. One way this can happen is by top performances especially against top-ranked teams. The respective national teams have to perform at a standard that would command the attention of the private sector. Additionally, the TTFA has to get the public re-interested in supporting football. One cannot forget the nationalistic euphoria that was exhibited on the ‘road’ to Italy and Germany, where the national team played to packed houses. The crowd was definitely the 12th player.

There is no denying that T&T will have to lift its overall standards in order to compete successfully in CONCACAF. However, with the right leadership, effective integrated strategies, funding (state and private sector) and public support, there is no reason why this country cannot perform consistently within CONCACAF and on the world stage. Germany 2006 must always remind us our potential.

Re: Can T&T reach another World Cup?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 05:35:18 AM »
This article raises some very thoughtful questions and concerns for all to consider. In my personal opinion, it is not out of the realm of possibilities for TNT to achieve qualification status and be at the nextWC however it would require more than what we are presently doing.

We cannot keep doing the same things and expect different results- from management to player selection, team training, and commitment of all levels of sponsorships and government assistance. These combined collaborative efforts must be structured  in such a way so as to maximize the efficiency and effectiveness of our national program.

Are our coaches well supported? Do we presently have a TD? Have the assistant coaches been paid? What is the morale like among the coaching staff?

Players- do we have the doh and the commitment from players ? Are there players we are overlooking? Is the formula of foreign and
local ,players working to achieve the results we desire? I am not comparing what is working for other countries but for TNT is it working? Do we have world class goalkeepers for example? Are we complacent in our thinking that the local goalkeepers are good enough?

Scouting/advocating - do we have eligible foreign players who may qualify to represent TnT but are being overlooked or are we waiting for them to come to us?

Training- Player development- are we doing enough to infuse world class training methods and development of players and programs at ll
levels?  Could we consider bringing in ' world class guest coaches' during our camps  leading up to qua
Indication selection of the team?   could we consider regional camps in North America' UK Europe and wherever we believe that potential players exist who may be eligible to represent TnT?

With a widening gap and disparity of play within CONCACAF, staying the course will not yield the results we desire . The thought of a regional team is interesting at best as our population and depth of quality players in each country is limited however if as individual countries we desire to compete at the level of WC, we would need to step up the level of all facets of our programming preparation and planning.

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 08:18:48 AM »
Anand should change his title to T&T will reach another world cup because the teams listed above, T&T can beat and have beat them before...

which means TT can be at least a top 20 wc team if they are trained and coached in the right way...

it also means that the concacaf standard is high, when many thought it was below average..

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2014, 12:53:02 PM »
The most important thing in place for us to reach a world cup is that Jack Warner is not involved.

Planning has to start now and given the past few friendlies we are on track. It just has to be sustained and we can't wait till 1 year before to start identifying players. I think in the run up to the next world cup there has to be a new mentality one pretty much like what the mediocre talented US team possesses.

« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2014, 01:04:18 PM »
The most important thing in place for us to reach a world cup is that Jack Warner is not involved.

Planning has to start now and given the past few friendlies we are on track. It just has to be sustained and we can't wait till 1 year before to start identifying players. I think in the run up to the next world cup there has to be a new mentality one pretty much like what the mediocre talented US team possesses.

you may call them mediocre but they don't stop running and they play as a team, with egos put aside.. they also listen to their coach...

mentally they also think they can beat anyone.. tt players need to start believing in themselves

« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2014, 03:02:37 PM »
still they are a mediocre team...

« Reply #6 on: June 30, 2014, 03:09:57 PM »

Hear hear. Dat eh no lie. Was impossible for some to fathom not too long ago.
Well done. Go Warriors.

Offline toonmili

« Reply #7 on: June 30, 2014, 10:15:22 PM »
I think for us to make a world cup and do as well or better than we did in Germany we need someone who can score, a natural. We also need at least 2 new keepers. Williams can't play with nerves and the world cup is going to be big nerves. I don't want us to get embarrassed. I honestly don't see any reason why that 4th sport shouldn't be ours. 

« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2014, 02:04:20 AM »
I think we saw the disparity when TnT played Argentina and I dont know how fast dat gap can be closed and like Anand point out, Panama on the rise; USA, Mexico & Costa Rica seemingly untouchable and Jamrock is always formidable. Notwithstanding Honduras, Canada & Haiti.

IMO - To make another WC, it would take a kind of unimaginable, sustained effort from the powers that be and a Herculean effort by the players, private sector and public at large!

Impossible, Nah but improbable I believe - at least until individuals who have a better connection between sustained effort & reward, take charge.

« Reply #9 on: July 01, 2014, 08:14:57 AM »
Depends how the Pro League goes - all these other countries have typically more support for their domestic gmae. If we can push on with the domestic game, we absolutely have the talent to qualify. For a nation of 1.6 million to have produced as many players of quality as we have is a sign of wasted potential in the domestic sphere

« Reply #10 on: July 01, 2014, 04:43:12 PM »
With the improvement of the Central Americans and the USA we are too far behind,seems like we are 2 World Cups away from another,2022 maybe.

Offline toonmili

« Reply #11 on: July 01, 2014, 06:43:06 PM »
I feel like CONCACAF should have a next 1/2 spot. Take one from Asia and split it between South America and CONCACAF. 4th place plays New Zealand and 5th place places South America. Its a long shot but it can happen.

« Reply #12 on: July 01, 2014, 06:43:24 PM »
What have we done at youth level in recent years for anyone to think we have players already in place to accomplish the mission as a TEAM? Better question why can't we do much at youth level? How about this question. Why do some think because we have couple players playing in second and third division leagues in Europe and we sometimes beat up on Caribbean teams this means we REACH?

Some will say I need to be positive and not so negative but decade after decade I am one of many who are seeing the same shit with our football. The sins of the father has passed down to his son and grandsons since the 1970's. So for now lets continue hating on the US, support the European powers like Italy and Germany and live with our 2006 qualification memories
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 06:59:35 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2014, 11:52:19 PM »
The youth players have to learn to play a different way and the local coaches can't teach them that.