March 29, 2024, 09:35:08 AM

Author Topic: TTFA disconnected: Office staff unpaid and phone lines cut  (Read 2402 times)

TTFA disconnected: Office staff unpaid and phone lines cut
« on: July 04, 2014, 09:17:19 AM »
TTFA disconnected: Office staff unpaid and phone lines cut
Wired 868 (Lasana Liburd)

Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) president Raymond Tim Kee’s election promise of a new dawn and an influx of funding from the private and public sector continues to sound hollow in the face of the football body’s continuing financial crisis.

Do not bother phoning the TTFA to enquire about its health either. The football body’s telephones were disconnected over a week ago due to non-payment while the office staff has not been paid for the last two months.

TTFA general secretary Sheldon Phillips admitted that the football body is still struggling but suggested that these issues will be addressed in a few days when the first tranche of a FIFA $4.8 million (US$750,000) cash injection becomes available.

“Unfortunately, until we get our FIFA funding, we just have the basic functions of operating an office,” Phillips told Wired868. “Our dues are not being paid and there are certainly some issues being addressed…

“Some of the funding we were promised from the corporate and public sector hasn’t really come.”

By Phillips’ own calculations, the TTFA is at least $28 million in debt with the 2006 World Cup players, former head coach Russell Latapy and ex-technical director Anton Corneal among its more prominent debtors.

On 16 May 2014, the aggrieved “Soca Warriors” publicly vowed to initiate bankruptcy proceedings against the TTFA within 14 days. That deadline expired over a month ago and Phillips suggested the impending cash injection does not necessarily mean good news for the former World Cup players either.

Last year, the TTFA paid the Warriors from its annual FIFA $1.6 million (US$250,000) membership grant; but Phillips warned that this will not happen this time.

“There are significant strings on that money,” said Phillips, “which is that it has to be spent on development such as youth programmes and regional associations and so on…

“Last time, we made a specific request (to FIFA) beforehand to use the money to pay players. But that (option) is not available to us this time.

“The needs of our regional associations and national teams are so great. And while we are talking to the players, we do have an association to run…”

Phillips reiterated that the financial crisis facing the present TTFA executive is one it inherited; despite the fact that Tim Kee was a TTFA vice-president for over a decade before he temporarily left the body between 2010 and 2012.

The general secretary also made an apparent about-turn on whether the TTFA will try to recoup funds transferred from the football body to bank accounts controlled by its former special advisor and disgraced FIFA vice-president Jack Warner.

A TTFA release, on May 17, claimed that the football body would not try to recoup the funds since the matter was allegedly statute barred and a legal challenge would be too expensive and resource draining.

“The TTFA would also like to address other erroneous assertions attributed to the 2006 player case,” stated the TTFA’s May release, “namely the narrative that our organization has the ability to target past leaders and advisors of the former TTFF to recoup $100 million in funds accumulated during the 2006 World Cup campaign.

“Firstly, even if the TTFA was inclined to engage in an expensive and resource- draining legal battle to recover any amount of funds from the 2006 world cup campaign, the statute of limitations to engage in such an endeavor expired some time ago…”

Phillips’ stance brought an immediate and sharp rebuke from the Warriors’ attorney, Michael Townley, who countered that the TTFA was talking “nonsense.”

“There is no statute of limitations on a claim on breach of trust which is what Warner has (allegedly) done,” Townley told Wired868. “Warner was a quasi-trustee for the TTFA and he was supposedly taking their money and putting into his own accounts…

“The statute applies to cases under contract law or tort and negligence. If you take someone’s money and don’t give it back, you cannot just laugh and walk away a free man after four years.

“The TTFF claim is breach of trust/misfeasance and breach of duty by a shadow Director. These claims are not subject to time limits.”

Today, Phillips countered his own release as he insisted that any suggestion the TTFA was not trying to recoup misappropriated funds was a media-fuelled inaccuracy. He claimed the football body hoped to recover State funds that were provided to the Warriors before the 2006 World Cup but subsequently misused.

“We are looking at State funds that were provided to the organisation during the build up to the World Cup,” said Phillips.

« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 07:36:45 AM by Flex »

Re: TTFA disconnected: Office staff unpaid and phone lines cut
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 09:18:06 AM »
Pertinent post from the comments section;

Kelvin Jack
Earl… The winding up petition is done and waiting to be served.. Mr Liburd is aware of this.. There have been emergency discussions in the last few days.. We are allowing the TTFA every possible opportunity if winding up happens it’s entirely their fault 100%

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2014, 11:01:53 AM »

Kelvin Jack
Earl… The winding up petition is done and waiting to be served.. Mr Liburd is aware of this.. There have been emergency discussions in the last few days.. We are allowing the TTFA every possible opportunity if winding up happens it’s entirely their fault 100%

excuse my ignorance but what is a winding up petition?

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2014, 12:24:07 PM »

Kelvin Jack

when yuh take ah piece ah paper roll it in a ball and lick ah man dong

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2014, 01:00:10 PM »

Kelvin Jack

Proceedings towards bankruptcy. Bakes or one of the lawyer crew can/will give specifics :)

« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2014, 03:04:27 PM »
So Kelvin Jack and them will close down football in de country and want money from a man who had nothing to do with they business in de first place?

That makes sense, real f00cking nonsense.

If they do that who will suffer and guess what, they still not getting they money.

When they had Jack to kill they back off.

Why them eh go after Jack then?

They want to come after someone who doesn't have they money, how?

« Last Edit: July 05, 2014, 05:04:10 PM by Sam »

« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2014, 03:25:40 PM »
Yes, leh them rock so. We want to see football.

« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2014, 11:45:50 PM »

Kelvin Jack

Proceedings towards bankruptcy. Bakes or one of the lawyer crew can/will give specifics :)

« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2014, 11:52:03 PM »
i agree that the players should be paid their money but holding our football for ransom is something i don't agree with... that is why i suggested the bail out and getting rid of all fellahs associated with the old ttff including tim kee... don't know if the govt will do this bc it will mean all money for the football programs will be diminished and all football may cease for at least a year...

we need a new start bc this debacle is just crippling any advancement of our football, sometimes you have to cut your losses and move on..

« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2014, 06:19:00 AM »
Definitely one who wishes to see the socawarriors make a comeback  ...
but also inclined to accept that some of the jokers in the TTFA are trying to do a little good while protecting evil Cyah do both and maintain credibility, cyah get lost supporters back, get investors on board, get trust back, get Beenie back. If Beenie could make a stand, defer gratification for a nice kushy job in a country dat is not even his, why can't we? C'mon man!

Jackula has done so much damage that we are actually in denial about how much damage he has done.
We are all a li'l selfish and sadly to say, a bit naďve, as we want we football for our short, and dare say, long term pleasure, without any inconvenient sacrifice, then we gripe and lament why we can't get crowd and media support and that we own family switch off.
The public wants the corruption of Jackula exorcised or at least symbolism that the shit is over. Jess go to the microphone and say we CONDEMN the actions of RENRAW, but they won't say it ... and I wonder why that is so hard to do. It makes one very suspicious. So I say Uncle Tim, yuh falling short in that respect.

Yuh have to have a real moral compass. Daiz jess how life is.
So, press on Kelvin, Sancho, Shaka, Stern, Kenwyne, and others  .... and even Beenie. My pleasure or Sam's, Deek's pleasure in getting some effed up hedonistic reward in romanticizing good old T&T play sweet ball again soon for a short time t, till the next inevitable administrative crisis, is really of secondary importance compared with righting the wrongs for scores of players and coaches, bottlewashers and taxi drivers who cyah get pay for honest blood sweat and tears wuk in these very hard times.

I'm sorry and feel your pain Warrior fans.
But until they, the TTFA, feel it hard in dey pocket, dey eh go change and dey eh go put pressure on the wrongdoers and culture of wrongdoing.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 04:00:38 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2014, 03:55:49 PM »

Completely separate from bankruptcy... it's essentially a forced shutdown and sale of assets to pay off debts.

« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2014, 04:38:34 PM »

Completely separate from bankruptcy... it's essentially a forced shutdown and sale of assets to pay off debts.

:beermug: but surely they're related, doesn't winding up lead to bankruptcy (i.e. the end terminus of winding up being bankruptcy)? Or I guess in a company's case, liquidation. Or is it that a company subject to a winding up order could exist beyond the order? Not got a lawyer's brain, could you explain?

« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2014, 09:37:29 AM »
:beermug: but surely they're related, doesn't winding up lead to bankruptcy (i.e. the end terminus of winding up being bankruptcy)? Or I guess in a company's case, liquidation. Or is it that a company subject to a winding up order could exist beyond the order? Not got a lawyer's brain, could you explain?

They're not related.  The use of "forced" in my earlier post is misleading... in this case it's being forced (or the threat of a forced winding up is being contemplated) by the players.... but it does not have to be.  A business entity very well could be solvent but just wants to go out of business because the owners want to do something else, or the founder(s) died and didn't leave a succession plan and now the parties are fighting for control and the resolution is to shut it down and distribute the assets. 

Sometimes entities embark in business for only a finite period or for a particular event as well... the LOCs for a World Cup for instance would have no business beyond that particular World Cup.  So at the end of the 2014 WC, the Algerian LOC for instance will start thinking of winding up its business.  It can be the result of bankruptcy, but in reality there is no connection between the two.  Just as by law you have to go thru a formal procedure before you start operating a business (registration/incorporation etc.), so too you have to go thru the opposite procedure before you cease operations... aka "winding up."

« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2014, 12:27:29 PM »
Thanks a lot bakes :)  :beermug: So they could be subject to a winding up order to specifically pay the players (entailing the sale of assets), then continue on?

« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2014, 11:28:09 AM »
Thanks a lot bakes :)  :beermug: So they could be subject to a winding up order to specifically pay the players (entailing the sale of assets), then continue on?

No... if the purpose of the order (assuming the court grants it) is to force them to close up shop in order to force a sale of assets to satisfy the debt, then until the debt is satisfied they can't continue in business.

« Reply #15 on: July 08, 2014, 12:25:38 PM »