March 28, 2024, 03:52:01 PM

Author Topic: Some Nostalgia for ya: Sensible soccer Trinbagonian team from 96/97  (Read 1450 times)

Just bought Sensible world of Soccer 96/97 to rekindle my earliest football memories (I played as Hearts of Oak in that game, god know why a 10 year old Charlton fan wants to play as a Ghanaian team, but hey ho) and thought i'd check the Trinbagonian team. Set your phasers to "nostalgia";

LYNDON ANDREWS
CRAIG DEMMIN
ARNOLD DWARIKA
ANCIL ELCOCK
DEXTER FRANCIS
BRIAN HAYNES
RUSSEL LATAPY
JEFFREY LEWIS
MICHAEL MCCOMMIE
DAVID NAKHID
JERREN NIXON
TONY ROUGIER
ROSS RUSSELL
TERRY ST. LOUIS
RICHARD THEODORE
ALVIN THOMAS
EVANS WISE
DWIGHT YORKE

Re: Some Nostalgia for ya: Sensible soccer Trinbagonian team from 96/97
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2014, 03:27:01 PM »
Let's not forget

Leonson Lewis.
Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clint Marcelle
Evans Wise
Angus Eve

There was a boss defender. A short fella. Finished early due to a knee injury. Forget he name yes.

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2014, 04:44:20 PM »
Respect to all those players but I remember enduring a lot of football disappointment because
these players were part of teams that failed miserably at different World Cup qualification campaigns.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2014, 11:57:29 PM »
vb, wasn't that Deryck King, the present National Assistant Coach??

« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2014, 05:31:15 AM »
Respect to all those players but I remember enduring a lot of football disappointment because
these players were part of teams that failed miserably at different World Cup qualification campaigns.

Nah.

King came on the scene around 1998.

This was a small fella. Saw him in the Cariban Cup in Toronto vs Canada and Jca.
Small man  but a take no prisoners attitude.
The Canadian broadcasters really liked him.

I expected him to go far but then he just disappeared. I heard he had a knee problem. May have been on the WC youth squad in 1990.
Maybe Weekes was his name but I really forgot.

« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2014, 05:55:12 AM »
lineup from USA v T&T in the Gold Cup 1996 might help?

Arnold Dwarika
Russell Latapy
Angus Eve
Dwight Yorke
Evans Wise
Craig Demmin
Richard Theodore
Anthony Rougier
David Nakhid
Ross Russell
Sherwyn Julien

St Louis and Faustin were subbed on

« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2014, 06:19:46 AM »

Yeah, on paper that was a bomb squad. I remember being so excited about having them together. Somehow they manage to toots down the place. Real disappointing. I does think back on that team often.

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2014, 01:41:16 AM »

Yeah, on paper that was a bomb squad. I remember being so excited about having them together. Somehow they manage to toots down the place. Real disappointing. I does think back on that team often.

Dinnermints, not only you boss.
They were referred to as the Dream Team.

Skills for days. Sometimes meh pores does raise when I think how skilful these men were. On a full team, Dwarika and St. Louis were on the bench every time.

But for all the skill it was the most disappointing era of TT football.
In 1992, we couldn't even make the final five of Con. J'ca beat us at home.

And someone started a thread recently as to why African nations play a European brand.
I think it's becz they get tired of the "gallers," overwhelming skill but very little to show for it.

It was heartbreaking to see us bamboozle the likes of Canada and the USA only to end up losing. We would win the odd exhibition and that would be our claim to fame.

I sometimes wonder if Beenie had worked with the Dream Team what might have happened.