April 18, 2024, 10:10:02 PM

Author Topic: Is it time for foreign intervention?  (Read 1489 times)

Is it time for foreign intervention?
« on: July 25, 2014, 01:29:23 AM »
We as a action do seem to either have a high degree of tolerance for corruption  or a  gentle accepting hopeless  nature for our current reality. We seem to default to " what we go do"  " we all have tuh eat ah food"
It is high time we grow up and squash the shackles of seemingly  zombie like acceptance of what is swirling around us. If those who are in leadership positions are incapable of taking charge thenI think we ought to seek some external interventions.

We have an acting PC who appears dumbfounded by all that,is imploding around him- like a puppet those above him adorned him with temporary terms of office yet it was reported that reports were not submitted in time and under his watch what impact or initiatives are evident to show current tactics for combating the criminal elements? - me thinks we may have a muppet who  is no threat to the lawlessness that is happening. Instead of standing tall and presenting a zero tolerance to a perceive threat however oblique it may
Be presented , we get this dance and tip toe,response that ism entering on the semantics of " appropriate action"- we also get an image of a leader of the police running around to others to plead to them to soften their stance in carrying,out patrols- Show some leadership by putting on a suit of armour and get out there!!!!

We still have ample " big" unresolved cases:
The Sc death- juice cans with drugs- chicken with drugs- fire truck that cost millions- alleged wrong doings by ministers- enough killings and yet all the rhetoric is that we are close to solving each one - rhetoric  baseless and utter overtaxed policing that could do with some quality intervention.

Clearly the species of big fish we have in this nation is rotting from the head down. Clearly some external objective investigation of all things corrupt in TNT would do no worse than what we have now.

We like Free things we- imagine we put on a big pappy show with the SOE- bring in all kinda alleged  gang leaders and the. Set them free!!! What was the point? Intelligence gathering?

Alleged minister on tape for what looks like a social visit with friends  ding what is clearly acceptable whether one is in office or not and his boss does not see the moral or the lack of ethics Of his action- so he is fire to continue  on- as a man in Charge of a program that is affiliated with the government and in the public
eye alleged misappropriation of funds are being questioned and all these actions fails to  result in a dismissal from public office?

- How could a leader of the police force not see a reason for possible criminal activities?   Is real big fish getting away Free in TNT. We are so immersed in water that we drowning yet we eh realize how hard we treading to stay afloat- we cyar see we get desensitize to the daily killings that we placate the reality by saying" that does happen all over" is not just in TNT.

How do we stop this cycle this wave of stress on a system that is suppose to upheld the law keep us safe and protect? How do we stop the rouge elements in all sectors of our society? Is it time to call out for some actions, practices, tactics that has proven effective in curbing this tsunami of seemingly endless waves of crime in TNT.?

There appears to be this continuum that people are finding themselves in- some citizens appear to be in a stage of DENIAL. - characterize by a non admittance of our situation to be any different than elsewhere.

Stage of DEFENCE- Characterize that those in authority are doing the best they can - what more can one expect

Stage of MiNiMIZATION- it is what it is - what we go do that,is how it is - crime is evident

Stage of ACCEPTANCE- live with it
INTEGRATION- if yuh cyar beat then join in and get your food too

If this is the continuum that some people are on, then I say is time we look for external intervention to assist before we truly implode as a nation.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2014, 01:33:49 AM by AB.Trini »

Re: Is it time for foreign intervention?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 07:19:49 AM »
No one else is going to solve your own problems for ya - why should anyone else help if you're (not you specifically, society) going to stomach the corruption?

There should be protests, vitriol in the newspapers and outrage. Instead?

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 07:20:43 AM »
Be careful when asking for foreign intervention in the matters of your country. Foreign intervention from who exactly? US? UK?
History has proved when foreign countries gain some type of influence in the governance of a country a puppet government is formed by the foreign government to meet their own interests and expectations. See what happened in African countries like Ghana and Congo in the 1960's when foreign nations came in and helped remove their leaders and helped put in place leaders that are more favorable to them. Did this help these nations in the long run? In fact name me one so called third world country where foreign interference has benefited their country?

If change has to come then it should be from the people of the country demanding change. Change starts at the grassroots level from the people who is living and experiencing the culture and day to day life of their own society. Foreign influence coming in and making changes based on their opinions of what should be done is not the answer

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2014, 09:16:49 AM »
The way decisions are playing out with regards to corruption in TNT is like nobody at home watching the children and then the children doing as they please.
Witness the latest debacle of  misappropriation of government funds and incompetence  governance  in another ministry of sports and what  are the consequences for the one I. Charge? Imagine given all that resulted  or what were alleged or reported from the audit- the man responsible could absolve himself because his name  nor his family was NOT implicated or mentioned!!!!!! So tell us who was responsible for making those decisions?  Which ministry was overseeing the program? As a show of strength at least to offer some moral fortitude the PM could have dismissed the minister in charge for at least incompetence-

When thief investigate thief  the conclusion is  predictable. What another joke-  we are showing again and agin that we are not capable of  governance that is free from bias and or corruption.

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2014, 08:53:33 AM »

So maybe we should ask the UK to recolonise us and all the other developing democracies that show any signs of struggling with attaining desired goals of developed nation status. Or maybe another coup and implement middle east governance. Both treasonous suggestions.

We are doing a lot better than many and societal uproar over perceived poor governance is healthy. Speaking up and discovery of misbehaviour in office is as high as it has ever been. Time will tell if this will propagate to the next administration or whether this was in large part a function of well placed political allegiance and a brilliant political propaganda machine amplifying actual misbehaviour.

Hopefully it is our new trend as there was similar outcry during the previous administration and has grown so we should be hoping for MORE discovery if we are willing to admit there has always been a gap for measures to keep politicians and their appointees in check. Putting those measures in place are what politicans should be selling to us that we hold them accountable for at elections....take note of recent election results inclusive of the one removing the previous administration.

If people were doing the same whistle blowing for violent crime maybe our detection rate would not seem to be nonexistent. Protection of witnesses is a must and for that to happen trial durations have to decrease significantly because it only have so many places to hide in our small islands.

The only help we should be looking for from outside are from joint ventures, treaties or extraditions done with respect for our sovereignty in mind which means it is initiated by us where as the word intervention suggests an attack on our democracy. No thanks to that. If a crime goes across borders then by all means leverage all benefits from those countries to seek justice.

Offline congo

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2014, 01:51:27 PM »
Isn't asking for foreign intervention the same as a asking a character like Abu Bakr to rise up and take action? We seem to be confused on what it is we really want in this country.

« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2014, 09:31:17 PM »
It all depends on how we define intervention or the nature of the intervention. It does not mean a return to colonization or the imposition of an external governance. I was leaning more to assistance and more  expertise and strategic and tactical know how in handling investigations of all sorts.

- if one was to look at the show "-Border Rico" one would see the cogent combined efforts of the US agencies on their battle with drugs around the Puerto Rican borders.  Undoubtedly it appears that our armed forces are maxed and we just can't keep on doing the same thing yet expecting different results.

I would also like to advocate for external non biased non partisan non political independent auditors in matters where ministries are being investigated.
A through investigation of our armed forces to eradicate the ' rouge' elements - a fish rots from the head- local accountability standards seems to contrived and too ' shady' to get to the truth.

I can north fathom that a big murder could happen and after alleged reports that there was video evidence and that with the help of a financial tracking unit we still today cannot bring those responsible to justice.

Are the criminals that smarter or that well connected or  that well protected that our local authorities cannot resolve all that is upon them? It is for these matters and to alleviate further corruption that I see possible benefits to foreign/external intervention energies. I am not advocating some Rambo badjohn .

« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2014, 08:30:48 AM »

All those things are fine so maybe the word intervention can be replaced with assistance to avoid misunderstanding.

Maybe some foreign governments can volunteer their services as part of reparations.

Repatory Justice

« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2014, 08:45:04 AM »
As West Indian of African descent, I can tell you flat, we eh getting no reparations. At least not in my lifetime. I have no dispute with the reparation movement. They have all rights to pursue reparations. But I don't see the ordinary Afro descendants of the diaspora getting anything.