April 20, 2024, 01:27:59 AM

Author Topic: Minister Sancho scores with SWO.  (Read 14990 times)

Re: Minister Sancho scores with SWO.
« Reply #60 on: June 17, 2015, 01:54:13 AM »
Sancho for Toco seat.
By Yvonne Webb (Guardian).

In February former national footballer Brent Sancho replaced Dr Rupert Griffith as sport minister.

Now Sancho’s supporters are urging Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar to also have him replace Griffith as the candidate to contest the Toco/Sangre Grande seat in the September 7 general election.

Outside the Rienzi Complex headquarters of the United National Congress (UNC), Couva, on Monday night, a throng of Sancho supporters lifted him in the air, shouting at the top of their voices, “We want Sancho, we want Sancho. Give we, Sancho, give we Sancho.”

The men and women dressed in grey T-Shirts with the words ‘Delivery beats ole talk anyday’ on the front and “Sancho, we deliver, we deliver’ on the back, kept up a lively chant as Sancho mingled inside the building with the PM and other cabinet colleagues after the Monday Night Forum at the party headquarters.

As he emerged from the building around 11 pm, the group surged forward and two men lifted him in the air, in sportsman-like fashion, carrying him for a short distance.

“We love him. We love him,” a jubilant woman shouted identifying herself as a Toco/Sangre Grande constituent. She let out a resounding, “Nooooo,” when asked about Griffith returning as their candidate.

“We don’t want Griffith (the incumbent). We had him for five years and he do nothing. This man (Sancho) now come and in a couple of months this man doing a good job. So we done know what going to happen in five years to come,” one of the men holding him up in the air said.

“Brent is the man. Brent is the man,” another shouted.

In response, Sancho, who represented T&T at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, would only say, “This is the voice of the people.”

Asked if he had filed nomination papers to contest the seat for the UNC, Sancho replied, “That will be disclosed soon.”

Last month, Griffith’s former chauffeur, David John, collected a nomination form and indicated his intention to wrest the seat from his former boss on a UNC ticket.

At that point Griffith told the media all seats were opened and he had no problem with anyone contesting the seat as it was their democratic right so to do.

Although a political newbie, Sancho has been featured prominently as one of the UNC platform speakers. He was on the platform on Monday night as the party kicked off its campaign, telling the audience about plans for sports should the Government get the opportunity to serve a second term.

He said the PP was the only Government that treated sports with respect.

« Reply #61 on: June 17, 2015, 02:01:26 AM »
Housing for elite athletes agenda must be pursued.
By Mark Pouchet (Express).

Lewis, Sancho on same page

The Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee proposal for expedited housing for elite athletes has been rejected. But TTOC president Brian Lewis says he will pursue the proposal despite this setback while Minister of Sport Brent Sancho says he is fighting hard to make it a reality.

In a March 25 correspondence to the Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, the Minister of Housing and Urban Planning Dr Roodal Moonilal and Minister of Sport Brent Sancho, the TTOC president made a request for expedited access to HDC housing for athletes, attaching a policy proposal for housing assistance for athletes.

The proposal was a two-page document under two headings--one giving first the policy statement and then the second explaining rationale behind the proposal. The TTOC also invited further discussion if more details were required.

But on May 12, the Housing Development Corporation managing director Earlean John, in acknowledging receipt of the TTOC March 25-dated letter, declared that the HDC “takes its directives relative to the allocation and distribution of housing from the Ministry of Housing and Urban Development.”

It continued: “Consequently, we thank you for your proposal but any implementation of an ‘Elite Housing Assistance Programme’ by the HDC will have to be mandated by the Ministry of Housing & Urban Development.”

Contacted yesterday, TTOC president Brian Lewis praised Minister of Sport Sancho for making representation to his cabinet colleagues. But he said a response coming from the HDC, which he never wrote, seems to be “paper-pushing”.

“The letter didn’t go to the HDC. Considering that the correspondence was sent to the Prime Minister and copied to the Ministers of Housing and Sport, the reasonable expectation would have been to be given the opportunity to discuss the rationale for the proposal,” Lewis said.

Lewis added that T&T elite level athletes make huge sacrifices to represent the country sometimes at personal and financial costs to themselves. “Why must our athletes always have to consider packing up or migrating. The disrespect for what our athletes go through must stop. “We will not achieve 10 or more Olympic gold medals by 2024 if the plight of our athletes continue to be dismissed,” Lewis said.

But Minister of Sport Sancho said the Government is receptive to the idea but since this is the first time a government would be undertaking a venture like this, the issue had to be examined thoroughly.

“We are putting together a holistic plan and last week I had a meeting with TTOC and some other governing bodies as it relates to a 2016 push for Rio. Separate and apart from elite athlete funding we are looking at ways at how we can now generate this machinery, for lack of a better word, that could prepare our athletes holistically and not just throwing funds into their pockets, but also the possibility of housing, preparation and the training that will accumulate into us being very prepared, as my good colleague from the TTOC coined the phrase to be podium ready,” said Sancho, adding that he plans to reveal that plan in another week or two.

On the elite athlete housing assistance issue, Sancho said while he understood Lewis’ frustration and that the culture of the country doesn’t place enough emphasis on sport, he is confident because all the parties involved are receptive to the idea.

“The receptive mess by all parties to make it a reality, as sport minister I am trying hard and want it done – the TTOC president wants it and a prime minister that is receptive to the idea speaks well for us moving forward,” Sancho said.

Sancho added that one of the other projects he is working on is a pilot project of a sports academy at the primary and secondary school level.

But Lewis is adamant the housing issue must come to the fore sooner rather than later.

“The aspirations of 10 or more Olympic Gold Medals by the year 2024 is a powerful motivating impetus,” Lewis said, “The TTOC is of the resolute view that the athletes of Trinidad and Tobago especially those who are giving their all in service of their country require support in a manner such as proposed. That the TTOC did not get the opportunity to present its case does not diminish in the view of the TTOC the merit of its efforts to get acceptance for the proposal.”

« Reply #62 on: June 17, 2015, 07:38:57 AM »
He said the PP was the only Government that treated sports with respect.

« Reply #63 on: June 22, 2015, 05:10:44 AM »
Shake-Up In Sports Ministry.
By Rhondor Dowlat (Guardian).

Cabinet has given approval for major changes at the Ministry of Sport, including replacing Permanent Secretary Richard Oliver with Gillian Mc Intyre and transferring some departments to the Ministry of Education.

The Physical Education and Sport Division, with all its all coaches and sport officers has been transferred to the Ministry of Education, while facilities, indoor arenas, pools and district offices will now be under the purview of the Sport Company of T&T (SporTT).

Staff at the ministry told the T&T Guardian they are baffled at the changes. “The entire ministry is in a mess because staff from the other sections have no idea as to what they are supposed to do. The major department that they support is no longer a part of the ministry,” a member of staff, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said.

“We have not been told about these changes and we find it distasteful and unfair by the minister himself. We wondering now what is next to go. Morale within the ministry is very low. Some of us don’t even feel like reporting to work anymore,” the staff member said. T&T Guardian obtained a copy of the Cabinet Minute No 1049 of May 7, 2015, which confirmed the transfer of positions from the staff establishment of the Ministry of Sport (Physical Education and Sport Division) to the staff establishment of the Ministry of Education.

Cabinet subsequently agreed to the transfer with immediate effect of a director of Physical Education and Sport, an assistant director, a physical education and sport officer II; seven physical education and sport officers I, two games coaches and several other members of staff.

Cabinet also agreed that the Ministry of Sport be the sole source for disbursement of grant funds to national sporting organisations, sport serving bodies and individuals. All requests for financial assistance for overseas travel in respect to sporting events must be submitted for the approval of Cabinet.

The note stated: “Cabinet is advised that the NPI Vote is budgeted to be $57 million for the current financial year. Approximately 70 per cent is expended on overseas travel, which is not related to international tournaments. The majority of requests are last minute submissions.

“In this regard, the Ministry of Sport proposes that all requests for grant funding should be submitted at least three months in advance of the event and that overseas travel must receive the approval of Cabinet. The Cabinet is also asked to note that a list of recipients and amounts received from the grant fund would be published annually,.”

The Ministry of Sport will be responsible for payment of salaries and related costs for permanent, temporary, and contract staff transferred to the Ministry of Education and the SporTT for the remainder of the 2014/2015 financial year. A framework of rules to guide the decision making of the Grant Fund Committee is being finalised and will be presented to Cabinet in the revised National Sports Policy

Contacted yesterday for comment, Minister of Sport Brent Sancho said the changes, although approved by Cabinet, are currently on hold. “We are going to head there but we will need to have proper dialogue because we are looking to revamp and relook at sport policies and structure. We are still sculpting what the ministry will look like. We have to find a way to generate an income through sports as well,” he said.

Sancho said the changes are necessary because a Sporting Academy is to be established under the Ministry of Education. He said the replacement of Richard Oliver as Permanent Secretary was done through the Office of the Prime Minister. “Mr Oliver has served his time as PS and we thank him for that but now Gillian has started off and she has already hit the ground running,” he said.

Coaches needed in schools

The Ministry of Sport has reported the success of the sporting coaching programme in schools to which coaches are assigned. It was determined that there would be a greater impact if there was more direct access to children in primary and secondary schools. These programmes can be better monitored by the Ministry of Education where principals and administrators can have an input into management, supervision and evaluation.

There is an increasing demand for coaching services outside the more popular sporting disciplines, which can be better introduced in the school system. In addition, foreign coaches would be better utilised in unearthing and developing talent in the school system.

At present, the Ministry of Education has requested coaches in 11 sporting disciplines to facilitate programmes in 139 secondary schools and 468 primary Schools. It is estimated that a minimum of 30 additional coaches would be required for a start-up of the additional planned programmes
The Ministry of Sport proposes to partner with the SporTT to design and implement programmes to develop coaches to a certified standard.

« Reply #64 on: June 22, 2015, 03:00:29 PM »
Discussion on i95.5 right now regarding the MoS and the above article.

« Reply #65 on: June 22, 2015, 05:17:25 PM »

And Sancho covered this in his interview with Baptiste on Saturday evening.

« Reply #66 on: June 22, 2015, 06:02:23 PM »

Forgot to listen but its probably for the best.....I would have been hard pressed to keep from throwing up.  I've lost all respect for Sancho......

« Reply #67 on: June 22, 2015, 10:50:51 PM »
Forgot to listen but its probably for the best.....I would have been hard pressed to keep from throwing up.  I've lost all respect for Sancho......

FS is Sancho clean up man... yuh shoulda still listen.

« Reply #68 on: June 23, 2015, 09:53:42 AM »
He didn't fire nobody, he shuffle them up, nothing wrong with that.

Still doh like de f00cker though.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #69 on: June 23, 2015, 01:02:36 PM »
Sancho is one big waste man. Gone down in my estimation and ent no better than Tim Kee. All ah dem is self serving imps!

« Reply #70 on: June 23, 2015, 01:27:34 PM »
Jack call up SIS plenty plenty in his press conference... minutes ago

pure bacchanal.

« Reply #71 on: June 23, 2015, 05:52:02 PM »
Jack call up SIS plenty plenty in his press conference... minutes ago

pure bacchanal.

Why yuh posting about SIS in a thread about Sancho??   :whistling: :whistling:

« Reply #72 on: June 23, 2015, 06:42:48 PM »

think about it Sam...why de shuffle? cause when de PP lose election dey people will still be in critical positions within the varois Ministeries.

« Reply #73 on: June 23, 2015, 08:19:15 PM »

think about it Sam...why de shuffle? cause when de PP lose election dey people will still be in critical positions within the varois Ministeries.

How you know they're "dey people"? And if they were, why move them at all?

« Reply #74 on: June 24, 2015, 02:09:00 AM »
Sancho: Sports ministry changes necessary
By ASHFORD JACKMAN (Newsday).

CHANGE IS coming to the way sport is introduced and developed in the country, and the key element will not be the Sports Ministry, but rather the Ministry of Education.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday afternoon, Minister of Sport Brent Sancho confirmed that there is to be a new approach in seeking sporting excellence from the country’s talented athletes in every sport, but he also emphasised that most of what is being contemplated is still in the early stages of planning.

It was previously reported that Sport Ministry personnel, including coaches and sport officers had already been transferred to the Ministry of Education, and that morale was low as a result. Minister Sancho admitted changes were in the making, but he denied any major move had yet been made, saying plans were still being discussed and formulated. “That is not yet decided, but logistically, we would want that (coaches etc going to the Education Ministry),” he said.

“Everything is still at the embryonic stage. Sometimes change would bring fears, anxieties... but we have to start somewhere.”

Sancho said the concept of Education taking over certain aspects of operations that normally fall under the purview of the Sports ministry was born out of the need to meet the country’s athletic talent at an earlier age. “We are on the cusp of a ground-breaking formula. Our objective is to get closer contact with primary school students to play more sport,” he said, adding that as a result, the youngsters would benefit from advanced training in their chosen disciplines.

Among the initiatives would be the development of coaching programmes that would take young athletes from primary to secondary school. “We are not catching the athletes at a young enough age, before they develop bad habits,” the minister explained.

Sancho confirmed that as a result, there would eventually be a transfer of personnel to the Education Ministry, but the method was a long way from being worked out. “We got Cabinet approval to set up a steering committee to guide us through the process.” He also confirmed that a sporting academy was to be established; asked whether the University of Trinidad and Tobago would be involved, he answered, “It definitely won’t be part of UTT; it would be something separate and apart.

How I envisage it, we would start at a very young age.” Sancho expressed his personal conviction that this is the way forward for the country’s sporting future. “We have to recognise that sport is now a legitimate career path,” he concluded.

« Reply #75 on: June 24, 2015, 09:55:48 AM »
Should there be a moratium on radical policy initiatives until after September 7? Should the Ministry, for the time being, focus on consolidating existing items that are not in controversy, and on pursuing radical initiatives upon re-election?

These are resource questions because of the costs associated with implementation and reversal of implementation.

Also, because campaigning has commenced, why not present proposed policy adjustments within the campaign discussion ... rather than to embark on change itself. Subject the ideas to vetting. Sustainable ideas stand the test of time.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2015, 09:57:21 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #76 on: June 24, 2015, 10:36:11 AM »
Sancho is one big waste man. Gone down in my estimation and ent no better than Tim Kee. All ah dem is self serving imps!

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

« Reply #77 on: June 24, 2015, 10:40:47 AM »

CO-SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

Out of curiosity, what exactly has Sancho done to go down in your estimation other than represent a government that you don't care for?

« Reply #78 on: November 10, 2015, 02:52:49 AM »
Sancho: We must fight fire with fire in Guatemala.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Former national defender Brent Sancho is warning against being fooled by the good performances and impressive results the T&T ‘Soca Warriors’ have had in the past, saying the coming World Cup qualifying encounter against Guatemala in Guatemala will be a “different kettle of fish.”

The Soca Warriors left yesterday afternoon for Fort Lauderdale, Florida, where they will have a training camp before whisking out on November 11 for their match two days later.

The T&T teams is coming off two favourable results at international friendly matches; a 4-4 draw with Concacaf giants Mexico and a 2-1 victory over Panama in Panama City followed two 90-minute periods of impressive football. But Sancho, a former Minister of Sport, is echoing similar sentiments like national coach Stephen Hart, that Guatemala will be no easy encounter.

Sancho explained yesterday that the team will definitely do well but it will all depend on the back five’s ability to compose themselves and keep possession of the ball.

He said if the back five defenders are able to keep their calm and possess the ball then it will take a lot of pressure off the midfielders because the Guatemalans will be coming all-out to unsettle the T&T team from early. “The backbone of any solid team starts from the ability of its defence to function under pressure and start new attacks,” Sancho said.

The T&T lads will face an extremely hostile environment, come Friday. Sancho is predicting that if the players can eliminate the 13th man, which is the crowd support, it will make matters simpler for them.

According to Sancho: “Apart from the hostile environment, it is critical that the team does not concede an early goal because that will destroy their game early. We need to possess the ball and not allow the hype of the Guatemalans to get the better of us. The first ten to 15 minutes will be particularly crucial for us and we must use that time to match-up with our counterparts who will be coming hard at us. We must fight fire with fire and not allow them to build any momentum.”

He told the T&T Guardian he was encouraged by the performances in the past but it has not left him confident that T&T will qualify for the World Cup. “All those matches and results account for nothing right now. What is important is our approach, our strategy and our performance on the day of matches that will determine the outcome” he said.

He noted, however, that he has been particularly encouraged by the team’s ability to play under pressure. “The ability of the team to perform as underdogs under coach Hart is an excellent factor to have now.”

Meanwhile, Sancho is impressing the need for the “Soca Warriors” to get a result from this encounter. Quizzed if we should look for at least one point, he said “You do not go into matches looking for a draw. If the game ends that way it will be good but we must believe that we can get full three points and go after it.”

He also feels that the time has come for the T&T team to be a force at home. He said the T&T team in the past has done better on the road but we were not an intimidating force when we are at home. “This is something we must work on. Teams must know that we are no push-over at home. I can tell you that a result in our second game against the United States will depend largely on how we do against Guatemala,” Sancho said.

Offline dtool

« Reply #79 on: November 10, 2015, 08:10:23 AM »

13th man, which is the crowd support

I believe he meant the 12th man .... we not playing Canadian Football with 12 players on the field.

« Reply #80 on: November 10, 2015, 08:15:25 AM »
Crouch really pull he hair too hard yes...sancho still talking shitttttt

« Reply #81 on: November 10, 2015, 09:10:42 AM »
Apart from the 13th man, I think he talking sense.

« Reply #82 on: November 10, 2015, 09:23:59 AM »
Apart from the 13th man, I think he talking sense.
He is, Guatemala in Guatemala for a WCQ is a different kettle of fish, a very hostile environment.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2015, 09:26:20 AM by soccerman »

« Reply #83 on: November 10, 2015, 10:59:20 AM »
Sancho make sense about not letting them score early, they will be coming out, but they could only play with what they have, we need to be smart and also take our chances.

Remember El Salvador when we had them 2-0 half time and they come back and wok. Ah think Stern John did score, game ended 2-2 in 2009. So we have to use we brain on them and at de same time put it on them early and control de game.

Ah missin meh boy Football Supporter.

Come back bra.

« Reply #84 on: November 10, 2015, 11:55:23 AM »
Sancho make sense about not letting them score early, they will be coming out, but they could only play with what they have, we need to be smart and also take our chances.

Remember El Salvador when we had them 2-0 half time and they come back and wok. Ah think Stern John did score, game ended 2-2 in 2009. So we have to use we brain on them and at de same time put it on them early and control de game.

Ah missin meh boy Football Supporter.

Come back bra.

He correct about that...but he is still a imps...especially implying that we not Russia 2018 bound....must be because he not on the team...