March 29, 2024, 03:25:57 AM

Author Topic: FIFA U17 World Cup 2015  (Read 98338 times)

Re: 2015 CONCACAF Men's Under-17 Championship Thread.
« Reply #180 on: October 26, 2014, 01:45:56 AM »
U-17 Men advance to CONCACAF finals in Honduras
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Under 17 team have advanced to the CONCACAF Final round of qualification for the 2015 FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup after capturing the best third place spot at the Caribbean Finals in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

After going down 3-0 to the hosts on Thursday, T&T were dependent on the result of the Martinique versus Guadeloupe match yesterday which the latter won 1-0. It meant T&T finished on three points with a better goal difference than Guadeloupe.

Speaking in light of the team’s passage through to the Final round in Honduras, T&T head coach Shawn Cooper was  grateful but didn’t hold back from expressing his disappointment over Thursday's result.

“I think the most important thing is that we are alive in the campaign still and we’ve got some work to do to get this team up to a level to be able to compete at the CONCACAF Finals next year,” Cooper told TTFA Media.

“We are not happy with having to sneak in through the back door in this manner but being in it still is something which we are grateful for and it gives us an opportunity to come better for the next phase.”

Cooper said he opted to play deep after 70 miutes after T&T conceded their third goal.

“I took a decision to play deep to ensure we didn’t concede more goals because Haiti were fully in charge of the game at that stage of the match. Our boys were overwhelmed by a packed stadium with the hostile home fans who definitely had an impact as the twelfth man. It’s good experience for our boys who haven’t played in an atmosphere like this before but of course it worked in the home team’s favour,” Cooper added.

“The early goals at the start of the second half killed the team spirit and threw us off.

“Now we will regroup. We have a few more players from the US and back home to get involved in the preparations  and we’ll work towards fixing the areas that need addressing. We conceded several soft goals in this tournament and this is a concern which we will address," Cooper added.

The nine of twelve teams already through CONCACAF Finals in Honduras in February include Mexico,USA, Canada, Honduras, St Lucia, Haiti, Jamaica, Cuba and T&T.

This timea new format favoring development and competition will be introduced to the Under-17 Championship. The twelve qualifying teams will be divided into two groups of six, to play a round-robin format on the first five match days. The resulting top team from each group will earn a direct berth to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup, and a place in the championship match on the final day.

The second- and third-place teams from each group will be re-seeded into a four-team table, based on points obtained during group play.

The top team from that table will play the fourth-ranked team, and the second-ranked team will face off against the third-ranked nation in a pair of one-off matches, with the winners of each of those two final-day games securing one of the two remaining tickets on offer to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup.

RELATED NEWS

T&T U-17s scrape into CONCACAF Finals.
T&T Express Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Under-17 team have advanced to the CONCACAF Final round of qualification for the 2015 FIFA U-17 Men’s World Cup after capturing the best third place spot at the Caribbean Finals in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

After going down 3-0 to the hosts on Thursday, T&T were dependent on the result of the Martinique versus Guadeloupe match yesterday which the latter won 1-0. It meant T&T finished on three points with a better goal difference than Guadeloupe.

Speaking in light of the team’s passage through to the final round in Honduras, T&T head coach Shawn Cooper was  grateful but did not hold back from expressing his disappointment over Thursday’s result.

“I think the most important thing is that we are alive in the campaign still and we’ve got some work to do to get this team up to a level to be able to compete at the CONCACAF Finals next year,” Cooper told TTFA Media.

“We are not happy with having to sneak in through the back door in this manner but being in it still is something which we are grateful for, and it gives us an opportunity to come better for the next phase.”
Cooper said he opted to play deep after 70 minutes after T&T conceded their third goal.

“I took a decision to play deep to ensure we didn’t concede more goals because Haiti were fully in charge of the game at that stage of the match. Our boys were overwhelmed by a packed stadium with the hostile home fans who definitely had an impact as the twelfth man. It’s good experience for our boys who haven’t played in an atmosphere like this before but of course it worked in the home team’s favour,” Cooper added.

“The early goals at the start of the second half killed the team spirit and threw us off.

“Now we will regroup. We have a few more players from the US and back home to get involved in the preparations  and we’ll work towards fixing the areas that need addressing. We conceded several soft goals in this tournament and this is a concern which we will address,” Cooper added.

The nine of 12 teams already through to the CONCACAF Finals in Honduras in February include Mexico, USA, Canada, Honduras, St Lucia, Haiti, Jamaica, Cuba and T&T.

This time, a new format favouring development and competition will be introduced to the Under-17 Championship. The 12 qualifying teams will be divided into two groups of six, to play a round-robin format on the first five match days. The resulting top team from each group will earn a direct berth to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup, and a place in the championship match on the final day.

The second and third-place teams from each group will be re-seeded into a four-team table, based on points obtained during group play.

The top team from that table will play the fourth-ranked team, and the second-ranked team will face off against the third-ranked nation in a pair of one-off matches, with the winners of each of those two final-day games securing one of the two remaining tickets on offer to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup.

« Last Edit: October 26, 2014, 01:50:36 AM by Flex »

« Reply #181 on: October 26, 2014, 04:35:26 AM »

With these comments come the end of speculation ... Now that the coach's position has been expressed with clarity, I am interested to hear the thoughts and reactions of prior contributors.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2014, 07:14:56 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #182 on: October 26, 2014, 07:15:33 AM »
I have not viewed any of the matches ... any chance we have extended footage?

« Reply #183 on: October 26, 2014, 07:39:15 AM »
I agree that the youths were overwhelmed by the Haitian fans support for their team. I disagree that they were hostile. correct me, I did not see the fans throwing things at our players, like we sometimes see in Latin America. the Sylvio Cator is the same dimensions of the HCS. the fans are distant from the field. I actually was envious of the crowd atmosphere in the stadium. singing and chanting compas Chantuelles. this is what we have lost over the last two decades.

but these dudes are fortunate to get another bite of the mango. they still have a chance to qualify. it is incumbent on the individuals to  be  totally committed to improve themselves when they go to Honduras.  whether Cooper or some of them will be on the team is another matter. let's see TTFA plans for the tournament.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2014, 07:41:18 AM by Deeks »

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #184 on: October 26, 2014, 07:32:28 PM »
Haiti 2 Jamaica 0
Haiti, U-17 Caribbean football champion

« Reply #185 on: October 26, 2014, 08:35:13 PM »
Haiti 2 Jamaica 0
Haiti, U-17 Caribbean football champion
Congrats to Haiti!  :salute:

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #186 on: October 26, 2014, 08:54:19 PM »
Viva Ayiti

« Reply #187 on: October 27, 2014, 01:26:24 AM »
... maybe the squad was missing the "meddling" of Anton Corneal.

I'm "disappointed" that this comment has gone untouched. Allyuh doh take basket no more?

« Reply #188 on: October 27, 2014, 09:14:23 AM »
Dude, we have matured  ;D !

« Reply #189 on: October 27, 2014, 12:37:15 PM »
Glad we get a chance to play in Honduras but there is nothing to celebrate or feel excited about at the moment

« Reply #190 on: October 27, 2014, 12:47:03 PM »

« Reply #191 on: October 27, 2014, 08:57:46 PM »
Some of those comments from the coach as to the outcome of the game  :frustrated:

CONCACAF Under-17 Championship Draw
« Reply #192 on: December 08, 2014, 12:59:48 PM »
FASE DE GRUPOS
DÍA 1- VIE. FEBRERO 27. (ESTADIO F.MORAZÁN)

4:30   UNCAF 3   VS   TRI
17:00   USA   VS   CUB
19:30   HON   VS   JAM
DÍA 2- SAB. FEBRERO 28. (ESTADIO OLÍMPICO)
14:30   PAN   VS   MEX
17:00   LCA   VS   CRC
19:30   CAN   VS   HAI
DÍA DE DESCANSO
DÍA 4- LUN. MARZO 2. (ESTADIO F.MORAZÁN)
14:30   JAM   VS   UNCAF 3
17:00   TRI   VS   USA
19:30   HON   VS   CUB
DÍA 5- MAR. MARZO 3. (ESTADIO OLÍMPICO)
14:30   HAI   VS   PAN
17:00   MEX   VS   LCA
19:30   CRC   VS   CAN
DÍA DE DESCANSO
DÍA 7- JUE. MARZO 5. (ESTADIO F.MORAZÁN)
14:30   CUB   VS   JAM
17:00   UNCAF 3   VS   USA
19:30   HON   VS   TRI
DÍA 8- VIE. MARZO 6. (ESTADIO OLÍMPICO)
14:30   CRC   VS   HAI
17:00   PAN   VS   LCA
19:30   CAN   VS   MEX
DÍA DE DESCANSO
DÍA 10- DOM. MARZO 8. (ESTADIO F.MORAZÁN)
14:30   TRI   VS   JAM
17:00   CUB   VS   UNCAF 3
19:30   HON   VS   USA
DÍA 11- LUN. MARZO 9. (ESTADIO OLÍMPICO)
14:30   MEX   VS   HAI
17:00   CRC   VS   PAN
19:30   CAN   VS   LCA
DÍA DE DESCANSO
DÍA 13- MIE. MARZO 11. (ESTADIO F.MORAZÁN)
14:30   TRI   VS   CUB
17:00   USA   VS   JAM
19:30   HON   VS   UNCAF 3
DÍA 14- JUE. MARZO 12. (ESTADIO OLÍMPICO)
14:30   MEX   VS   CRC
17:00   LCA   VS   HAI
19:30   CAN   VS   PAN
DÍA DE DESCANSO
FINALES
DÍA 17- DOM. MARZO 15. (ESTADIO OLÍMPICO)
14:00   2do VS 3ro
17:00   1ro VS 4to
20:00   1A VS 1B

Re: CONCACAF Under-17 Championship Draw
« Reply #193 on: December 10, 2014, 03:12:32 AM »
Under-17s to face El Salvador/Guatemala in Concacaf opener.
T&T Guardian Reports.

This country’s Under-17 footballers will kick off the final stage of the Fifa Under-17 World Cup Chile 2015 Concacaf qualifiers when they face the winner of the Central American playoff between El Salvador and Guatemala in Group A on February 27 at the Francisco Morazan Stadium, in San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

The young Soca Warriors qualified for the Concacaf tourney, after ending as the best third placed finisher from the Caribbean Football Union Under-17 Championship in Haiti after losing to the host nation 0-3 and St Lucia 0-2 while beating Barbados 2-0.

In the previous round, T&T topped its four-team pool with wins over host St Lucia (3-2), Grenada (2-0) and Curacao (2-0) while El Salvador and Guatemala were second placed finishers in their respective Central American qualifying series. They will play their home-and-away play next month.

In the two other Group A matches on the opening day USA comes up against Cuba, and host Honduras closes out the afternoon versus Jamaica.

Reigning Concacaf and World champions Mexico is in Group B alongside Canada, Haiti, Panama, St Lucia and Costa Rica and will play their matches at the Olympic Stadium which will also host the final phase including the fifth and third-place matches, as well as the grand final, scheduled for March 15.

The tournament will crown the Confederation champion at this age level, and qualify four teams to the Under-17 World Cup. The top team from each group after round-robin play advance to the World Cup and the other two will be determined by the results of the final day elimination matches.

The new Concacaf Under-17 Men’s tournament format has increased the number of set games to five for each competing nation, up from two in previous editions of the Championship. The new format has been created to favour development and competition.

2014 CONCACAF Men’s U-17 Championship World Cup Qualifying
San Pedro Sula, Honduras

Group A: Honduras, Jamaica, El Salvador/Guatemala (UNCAF 3), T&T, USA, Cuba
Group B: Canada, Haiti, Panama, Mexico, St Lucia, Costa Rica

Tournament schedule:

Friday, February 27 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)
14:30 UNCAF 3 vs T&T
17:00 USA vs Cuba
19:30 Honduras vs Jamaica

Saturday, February 28 (Olympic Stadium)

14:30 Panama vs Mexico
17:00 St. Lucia vs Costa Rica
19:30 Canada vs Haiti

Monday, March 02 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)

14:30 Jamaica vs. UNCAF 3
17:00 T&T vs. USA
19:30 Honduras vs. Cuba

Tuesday, March 3 (Olympic Stadium)

14:30 Haiti vs. Panama
17:00 Mexico vs. St. Lucia
19:30 Canada vs. Costa Rica

Thursday, March 5 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)

14:30 Cuba vs. Jamaica
17:00 UNCAF 3 vs. USA
19:30 Honduras vs. T&T

Friday, March 6 (Olympic Stadium)

14:30 Costa Rica vs. Haiti
17:00 Panama vs. St. Lucia
19:30 Canada vs. México

Sunday, March 8 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)

14:30 T&T vs. Jamaica
17:00 Cuba vs UNICAF 3
19:30 Honduras vs. USA

Monday, March 9 (Olympic Stadium)

14:30 Mexico vs. Haiti
17:00 Costa Rica vs. Panama
19:30 Canada vs. St. Lucia

Wednesday, March 11 (Francisco Morazan Stadium)

14:30 T&T vs. Cuba
17:00 USA vs. Jamaica
19:30 Honduras vs. UNCAF 3

Thursday, March 12 (Olympic Stadium)

14:30 Mexico vs. Costa Rica
17:00 St. Lucia vs. Haiti
19:30 Canada vs. Panama

Sunday, March 15 (Olympic Stadium)

14:00 2nd vs. 3rd
17:00 1st vs. 4th
20:00 1A vs. 1B.

« Reply #194 on: December 11, 2014, 02:51:10 AM »
Coach pleased with the draw
T&T Express Reports.

NATIONAL Men’s Under-17 team head coach Shawn Cooper believes this country has received a favourable draw for the final round of CONCACAF qualification for the 2015 FIFA Under-17 Men’s World Cup.

Cooper and team manager Christopher Gouveia attended the draw in San Pedro Sula in Honduras on Monday, which saw T&T placed in Group A alongside Caribbean rivals Jamaica and Cuba, United States and hosts Honduras, as well as a third Central American nation. Group B contains Canada, Haiti, Panama, Mexico, St Lucia and Costa Rica.

T&T will kick off the tournament on February 27 against the yet to be determined Central American country. They then face USA on March 2, Honduras on March 5, Jamaica on March 8 and Cuba on March 11.

“I think this is the best possible draw you can ask for as a coach. We were placed in a group with two other Caribbean teams which makes the draw a favourable one, as we’ve done reasonably well against them in recent times,” Cooper told TTFA media.

Cooper said the opportunity was used in San Pedro Sula to discuss training matches against some of the other competing teams.

“We have some time to chart our course going into the tournament. We will have a better idea of what funding is available to us and we have already held discussions with some teams about playing practice matches before the tournament.

“Playing only against professional teams at home will not be sufficient for us as we need to have the players exposed to playing international teams, especially away from home, so as to get a better feel of what it takes to take on these challenges,” Cooper added.

The new CONCACAF Under-17 Men’s tournament format has increased the number of set games to five for each competing nation, up from two in previous editions of the championship. The new format has been created to favour development and competition.

The tournament will crown the Confederation champion at this age level, and qualify four teams to the FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Chile 2015. The top team from each group, after round-robin play, will advance to the World Cup and the other two will be determined by the results of the final-day elimination matches.

The Olympic and Francisco Morazan stadiums will each play host to group phase matches, with the opening match to be played at the Morazan Stadium on February 27.

The Olympic Stadium will host Group B and the final phase including the fifth and third-place matches, as well as the grand final, scheduled for March 15.

« Reply #195 on: December 24, 2014, 08:46:35 AM »
'Good football'

JAMAICA Under-17 head coach Andrew Edwards is satisfied with his team's readiness for the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers after they won three of their four matches in the Youth Soccer Classic in Fort Lauderdale last week.

The young Reggae Boyz defeated Boca U-19 5-4; Brazil Select Under-19 4-2 and Plantation Academy Under-19 4-1 en route to the final where they lost 1-4 penalties to Miramar Under-19 after playing to a 2-2 draw in normal time.

"We are very happy with what transpired. The boys showed some really good play, especially in the third game on Saturday night. We played some really good football. I was very impressed with our level of play and the speed of play," Edwards told the Jamaica Observer.

"I think it was a real good exercise. We were able to dominate the games from the start largely due to our superior fitness and the fact that we were taken for granted, especially in the first game, because were Under-17s," Edwards noted.

"We started all of the games very fast and scored within the first five minutes, which is something that I am very happy with. We led every game at half-time and unfortunately conceded in each game in the second period. And that I think as to do with a couple of factors," he continued.

"One of those factors is the number of changes we tend to make. In fact, in all of the games, we made seven or eight changes, and that played a part in goals that we conceded. The second thing, in the second half we played at the same end of the pitch in all the games where the lighting was not as good as the other end," he theorised.

Last Thursday, the Jamaicans pitted their skills and wits with older players, defeating Boca Under-19 5-4 with Donavon Dawkins, Nicholas Nelson, Alex Marshall, Peter-Lee Vassell, and Deshane Beckford all getting on the scoresheet. Jamaica had led 4-0 at half- time before making five changes at the start of the second half.

Then, on Friday, they turned back Brazil Select Under-19 4-2 with Nicholas Nelson and Peter-Lee Vassell grabbing their second goals of the tournament. Javain Brown and Jabari Hylton were the other the scorers.

On Saturday, Jamaica beat Plantation Academy Under 19 4-1, with the in-form duo of Nicholas Nelson and Peter-Lee Vassell scoring for the third consecutive game. Defender Jahwahni Hinds and central midfielder Hakim Williams got in on the act.

"We had five players that were playing with us for the very first time. Overall, I think they did very well. One I think was out of his depths. He was far from our level. The other four were quite good. Two really stood out, and we want to keep looking at those two in Dondre Bailey from Canada and Dillon Perrin from Miami," said Edwards.

"We will break until Saturday, where we resume at Treasure Beach until January 8, before we move back to Kingston until we depart to Honduras.

"There will be no more breaking of the camp, although we might have new people coming in and out. We will keep the core group of around 14 to 16 players constant and the others will rotate as we look to bolster the group," said Edwards.

The young Reggae Boyz have been drawn in Group A in the 2015 CONCACAF U-17 Championship, where they will play host Honduras, Cuba, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America (USA), and the winner of a play-off between Central American sides El Salvador and Guatemala.

Group B is viewed as the group of death with Costa Rica, Panama, Mexico, Canada, Haiti, and St Lucia.

The tournament will start on February 27 and end on March 15.

Jamaica has qualified for two U-17 World Cup tournaments -- in New Zealand 1999 and Mexico in 2011. Four teams will qualify for the 2015 Under-17 World Cup in Chile next year.

SOURCE: Jamaica Observer

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #196 on: December 28, 2014, 10:34:04 AM »
I went to Ato Bolden Stadium to watch the preparation of the boys for Honduras, based on what I see we are in big trouble. The coaches running the boys like horses, nothing technical and nothing tactical. In a three hour session, half of the time is used for fitness and strength in December for a February tournament. This doesn't make sense especially when you have new players many of them foreign to evaluate; you need to determine their technical ability to assess the tactical  of current, new and past players but all I see is running and running.

It's like these coaches forget the results in Haiti, I hope they are not naive enough to think player speed and strength will help us qualify for the World Cup. The speed of play comes with good technical ability to move the ball. One man running fast with the ball will not work, team speed is the team's ability to move the ball fast with good one touch or two touch passing. I fear that these coaches either dont know or dont understand.  I always want to support local coaches but we need better coaches for this U17 team regardless of where the coaches from.

If you have time go to Ato Bolden Stadium on Tuesday and Thursday at 4pm or Saturday and Sunday 9-12 to witness the absolute madness.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #197 on: December 28, 2014, 11:25:21 AM »
Tobago28 you go and see one session and judging.
Suppose you went on a day of fitness work or testing. So What!

I agree they have to look at Skills and tactics but they also have to look at fitness.
Without it players skills and willingness to cary out tactics is zero
A little hard session n fitness will just show the coaches which players have some fight in them
Haiti and St Lucia was running past T&T like they was Cipriani, Ghandi and Kitch statues.

Let us refrain from coming on a forum and passing judgement on we coaches based on one session you see.
Oh gorsh man! :-[

« Reply #198 on: December 28, 2014, 12:26:53 PM »
Dante Greer
I went to Ato Bolden Stadium to watch the preparation of the boys for Honduras, based on what I see we are in big trouble. The coaches running the boys like horses, nothing technical and nothing tactical. In a three hour session, half of the time is used for fitness and strength in December for a February tournament. This doesn't make sense especially when you have new players many of them foreign to evaluate; you need to determine their technical ability to assess the tactical  of current, new and past players but all I see is running and running.

It's like these coaches forget the results in Haiti, I hope they are not naive enough to think player speed and strength will help us qualify for the World Cup. The speed of play comes with good technical ability to move the ball. One man running fast with the ball will not work, team speed is the team's ability to move the ball fast with good one touch or two touch passing. I fear that these coaches either dont know or dont understand.  I always want to support local coaches but we need better coaches for this U17 team regardless of where the coaches from.

If you have time go to Ato Bolden Stadium on Tuesday and Thursday at 4pm or Saturday and Sunday 9-12 to witness the absolute madness.

at least  cooper  is on the hunt for new player

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #199 on: December 28, 2014, 12:47:12 PM »
ANC2 I apologize it was a typo, obviously I would not judge based on one practice as it could of been fitness. I attended 5 sessions in total, each session if I was not clear had 1 1/2 hours of fitness. I agree that fitness is required but St. Lucia and Haiti ran pass us after good one/two touch passing once they has a 1v1 then they beat us. Secondly, they were able to run primarily up the middle due to poor tactical awareness, poor positioning and extremely poor tackling technique.  The coaches need to work on this , most of the midfileders dive in and get beat in vs. Haiti and St. Lucia forcing the next player to commit thereby weakening the formation. 

Your comment supports my point, that team speed comes with good technique and ball movement. Look at the best midfielders in the world, outright speed they do not have but technique and quick decision making coupled with good positioning allows them to play fast.  The field players do not lack speed, so the coaches need to focus elsewhere. I suspect that they done know how to teach the other components so they focus on speed. On each 5 days, even during the scrimmage sessions the coaches don't stop and correct or stop and teach. I never watch a training session in my life where a quality coach doesn't talk to his players.

« Reply #200 on: December 28, 2014, 01:31:57 PM »
Tobago28 you go and see one session and judging.
Suppose you went on a day of fitness work or testing. So What!

I agree they have to look at Skills and tactics but they also have to look at fitness.
Without it players skills and willingness to cary out tactics is zero
A little hard session n fitness will just show the coaches which players have some fight in them
Haiti and St Lucia was running past T&T like they was Cipriani, Ghandi and Kitch statues.

Let us refrain from coming on a forum and passing judgement on we coaches based on one session you see.
Oh gorsh man! :-[

Long time football mentality that running players into the ground will make better players. Who does fitness for more than 45 minutes in a pre-competition phase? Same thing with the U20 carrying them to run Chancellor hill.

Right now fitness should be generated through playing. Our tactical and technical sessions should be constructed in such a manner that it generates the intensity the coach requires.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #201 on: December 28, 2014, 04:19:19 PM »
Elan

You are 1000% correct. The need for simulating the intensity is even greater when you consider that funding challenges may limit international match opportunities. Unfortunately, as I observe our football at the younger ages it does not appear that the coaches understand that this is a mental game. I here Coach Hart talk about mental toughness of players yet our preparation is not targeted at technical, tactical and emotional development; we still running the boys.

We have the talent, locally and internationally BUT we must change our approach to develop that talent. The coaches have to believe its mental, our coaches still using negative reinforcement with 16 year old boys. The sad part is that the i, youtube,  UEFA and FIFA websites  have free information on training and  that any coach can use to develop their craft but the effort appears to be lacking.

« Reply #202 on: January 19, 2015, 07:34:15 AM »
Yup time for this thread ...just waiting on the no camp funding excuses etc

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #203 on: January 21, 2015, 07:16:06 PM »
Can we learn from the U20's Experience?

The U20 team is technically and athletically equal or better to most of the teams they played. However, tactically, emotionally and mentally they were far behind. Look at the games:

Jamaica to kill off the game dropped points 2
Guatemala 2 defensive errors 1 defender 1 keeper, no goals from run of play-- possible dropped points 1
Panama best team in group(playing with 9 men) ridiculous goalie error possible dropped points minimum 1

We could have entered the game with 8 points and played for a draw but the mental, emotional and tactical mistakes that included disqualifying two players put us in a must win situation. Its over for the U20's but the U17's head to San Pedro Sula, Honduras in one month.

I hope, pray, and wish that the coaching staff and players learn from this experience. The coaches must focus on positive motivation, mentally focused preparation and emotional control for the boys. A small nation of 1.5 million challenged a country of 300 million and what separated us was the consciousness and confidence of the coaches to be infused into the players. Its time we learn that negative psychological motivation does not work..it never worked telling a child he guh be a dunce to encourage him to study. This is much of what the foreign coaches bring ..read the comments about Benneker(not at tactician) only that he was a great motivator but HOW?

I support local coaches but we need local coaches to emotionally and mentally grow up and realize that its all about confidence and believe after a certain physical and technical point.  A national coach cant make his team physically fit, the players must come fit, if they don't you cant select them because it reflects their discipline. A national coach has players from all over so he must be SOLID with his system of play, tactics, and method of motivation. What is the best way to install your views in your team in a short period of time? Once we do some serious work to answer that we will get the results we deserve but we have to do the work.

Its our consciousness, Stupid!

Lastly, it would have been nice to have Shaq Moore playing right wing back for us instead of the US, his father(Wendell Moore) brought him at a young age to TNT and was discourage by what some say was an anti-foreign based player mentality focused on running the boys for 1 1/2 hours without touching the ball.  I hope the U17's don't make the same mistake because I hear a large crop from USA, Canada and Europe have expressed interest and traveled for trials.

Its over for U20's but lets get behind the U17, at least one age group can qualify for a World Cup this year.

« Reply #204 on: January 21, 2015, 07:25:49 PM »
A month away from our first game and it have players who were "selected" eh receive any info on what's going on, what's next, etc.

« Reply #205 on: January 23, 2015, 12:06:51 AM »
Can we learn from the U20's Experience?

Its over for U20's but lets get behind the U17, at least one age group can qualify for a World Cup this year.

No we won't learn from this experience. Its the same old heads making the same stupid decisions ad nauseum.

By all means lets support the u17s. But the results will be the same or worse.

As for the coaches...just like the players their skills must be developed in the fire of competition. When your World cup preparation consists of playing Jabloteh and WASA dont expect either coach or players to compete at world cup level. I've said it several times on this forum...I have been watching many of the key members of this U20 play since they were 14 years old. They were exceptionally talented, a golden generation. That is the only reason they were able to run with the best in CONCACAF. The only other youth team that had this kind of quality was the 2007 U20s with Peltier, Guerra, Keon Daniel, Hyland, Mitchell and Abu-Bakhr.  And those guys could not even qualify for the CONCACAF finals.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2015, 12:08:33 AM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #206 on: January 24, 2015, 10:37:58 PM »
So the U17s are trying to get everyone in T&T from the first week in February to start "gelling" and then supposedly head to a camp in Panama around the 17th/18th before heading to Honduras. Really hope they get that camp to come off.  :praying:

« Reply #207 on: January 25, 2015, 04:28:32 AM »
So the U17s are trying to get everyone in T&T from the first week in February to start "gelling" and then supposedly head to a camp in Panama around the 17th/18th before heading to Honduras. Really hope they get that camp to come off.  :praying:

couple games against panama u17 .. and some clubs ...  a venezuelan camp may have been better  but once we get a camp is all that matters ...

« Reply #208 on: January 26, 2015, 06:18:18 PM »
So, here comes the ttfa and a u17 team of kids blinded by the bright lights. People are hoping that they do something special, something the u20 team couldn't do, something the women's team and the senior team couldn't do, like qualify for something beyond their reach, namely another World Cup tournament. Don't get me wrong but I am all for keeping hope alive, just not on a realm that requires split second decisions, strong belief, technical skills and know how, professional savvy, a burning desire to win and the will to make it happen, you cannot ponder on what to do next in the heat of the game and hope that the other team is as lazy and unprepared as you are unpredictable. Hope doesn't belong in that realm.

To quote someone who considers herself a professional, she said "Everything has to be done professionally, in order to produce a professional product". Monique Nobrega.

So, the cycle continues. Another group of youngsters not ready for primetime being misguided by adults who are basically champions of their miseducation in the realm of what professionalism encompasses and what is required to succeed onto the next realm. Hope is your mantra. Failure is your ultimate trophy.

And the beat goes on. Everlasting.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 06:21:09 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #209 on: January 26, 2015, 06:54:09 PM »
Cancel everything..doh play nobody..cause we go fail ..as a matter of fact cancel football until we organized..but how we go know we organized ?  well that takes time, so I guess we best start organizing a U8 team..is that even possible..guess we will never play no football cause in many instances even organized teams does lorse..but since we so disorganized, we best doh even bother for now or future.  OR ah easier solution King...back ah next more organized team.. My only issue is to many tournaments for the limited dollars. But if Belmont Parkites send ah team I will try to support.   ;D