April 20, 2024, 05:09:58 AM

Author Topic: W Connection youth team to tour Italy.  (Read 14426 times)

Offline soccerrama

Re: W Connection youth team to tour Italy.
« Reply #30 on: August 31, 2014, 10:40:00 AM »
As the DIRECTV WConnection FC U16 Team prepares to fly out this weekend we hear from two more players on the 2014 Italy Tour.

Look forward to lots of tour coverage within the next week.

Pre Tour Interview With U16 Team Player Isaiah Hudson

1. How long have you been with WCFC?
-I have been with WCFC for 4 years. I started with the U13 team to the present U16 team.

2. What do you think contributed to the success of the U16 team this season?
-Hard work, dedication, working as a team and also implementing what we learned in training and previous matches into our games.

3. What are you looking forward to most about the upcoming Italy tour?
-Mostly playing against teams such as AC Milan and Inter Milan and showing what we are capable of as a team

4. What do you hope to gain from this tour as a player?
-Gaining experience for myself and becoming better as a player through the exposure of playing against well known teams in a different atmosphere.

5. What will make this tour a success for the U16 team?
-Hopefully winning a game and playing well as a team. Also, that every player on our team gets the chance to show what they are capable of.

Pre Tour Interview With U16 Goalkeeper Enrique Changiah

1. How long have you been with WCFC?
-This is my first season with the team.

2. What do you think contributed to the success of the U16 team this season?
-Team discipline, togetherness and the extra hard work from the players contributed to our success.

3. What are you looking forward to most about the upcoming Italy tour?
-Being exposed to different types of European players to see their strengths, speed, professionalism etc.

4. What do you hope to gain from this tour as a player?
-Experience and becoming better at what I do best through this experience.

5. What will make this tour a success for the U16 team?
-Winning most of our games and having some of our players being exposed to the various scouts there.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #31 on: August 31, 2014, 10:46:52 AM »
Saw these pics on W's Facebook page and have decided to share with you guys who may not be on Facebook, I am happy when I see our youth involved in positive ventures. Good luck guys, make the most of this experience.

« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 11:49:28 AM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #32 on: August 31, 2014, 10:50:56 AM »

« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 11:46:21 AM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #33 on: August 31, 2014, 10:54:49 AM »

« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 11:43:57 AM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #34 on: August 31, 2014, 11:13:19 AM »

« Last Edit: August 31, 2014, 11:15:56 AM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #35 on: September 01, 2014, 01:40:51 PM »
Day 1 in Italy and the guys have completed their first training session at one of A.C. Milan's training grounds. Training was followed by dinner at the A.C. Milan training facility and now the boys are resting comfortably back at the hotel.
The first match will be played tomorrow at 10:30am (4:30am TT local time). DIRECTV WConnection FC will come up against Inter Milan FC.
Good luck guys! We are already so proud of you all.

For more photos & news ref this tour like DirecTV WConnection FC Facebook page.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 01:42:01 PM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #36 on: September 01, 2014, 03:26:05 PM »
Training session with Scouts looking on

« Reply #37 on: September 01, 2014, 03:42:30 PM »
Very nice... love that everyone is in a travel uniform.  Weird combination of colors on the youths, but looking crisp and sharp all the same.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #38 on: September 02, 2014, 10:16:11 AM »
Day 2 in Italy and the guys played their first match and lost 5-0 against Inter Milan FC. Despite the score line reports are that the team played well. Although it was a bit of a disappointing start the guys remain in good spirits and believe that they can only grow, learn and improve from this experience. They look forward to tomorrow's game against Hellas Verona FC. Following the match the players had lunch at a local restaurant and are now focusing on tomorrow's game plan. Continue to strive for greatness guys!
For more photos check DirecTV W Connection Facebook page!!

« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 01:41:15 PM by soccerrama »

« Reply #39 on: September 02, 2014, 10:57:55 AM »
thanks for the lil coverage soccerama..good pics

« Reply #40 on: September 02, 2014, 11:14:06 AM »
Good pics. Good exposure for the players on their way to becoming men later.
Good going W Connection.

« Reply #41 on: September 02, 2014, 01:18:06 PM »
Score does not matter, don't let them get caught up with "we didn't win or we lost 5-0". This should not be about "winning" but about playing yuh best and giving a very good account of yuhself.

« Reply #42 on: September 02, 2014, 01:24:22 PM »
This must be an awesome experience for these youngsters. It will never be forgotten, whether they become internationals or leave the game, no one can take these memories away.  :beermug:

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #43 on: September 02, 2014, 07:27:18 PM »
Very nice... love that everyone is in a travel uniform.  Weird combination of colors on the youths, but looking crisp and sharp all the same.

Very pleased to see that as well; the youngsters look very professional indeed. Our senior national team could learn a thing or two from them...the track suit and headphone getup  annoys me no end.

« Reply #44 on: September 02, 2014, 10:22:33 PM »
Good stuff and I hope the boys do the best and take away all the memories from the trip. Two summers I took my U15 boys team to T&T to play 3 games. They had a blast and even up to today they still have vivid memories of everything, they can still recall the names of players they played against and places we visited. Up to last season one my players came and ask me what does rutungkatungtung mean....ah tuh ask him where de hell he learn dat??? So there was some educational components as well. These boys will be able to recall the Italy experience for a lifetime and hopefully take away a couple things in their development both on and off the field.

« Reply #45 on: September 03, 2014, 09:32:45 AM »
I am really happy for any youth to be given any opportunity like this...good job W Connection

« Reply #46 on: September 03, 2014, 10:32:03 AM »
Good job by W Connection, hopefully some Trins get signed.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #47 on: September 03, 2014, 01:35:43 PM »
Day 3 in Italy.
In today's game against Hellas Verona FC, DIRECTV WConnection FC U16 came away with a 2-2 draw.

« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 01:59:49 PM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #48 on: September 03, 2014, 01:40:08 PM »

« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 01:55:45 PM by soccerrama »

« Reply #49 on: September 03, 2014, 01:52:16 PM »
Well done. Goal scorers? Any game report or summaries?

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #50 on: September 03, 2014, 01:57:05 PM »
As reported earlier, DIRECTV WConnection FC U16 drew 2-2 in their game against Hellas Verona FC. Both goals were scored by #8 Nate Brooks. Keep on striving for greatness guys. There are two more games left on the tour. The next game will be played on September 5th against Udinese Calcio. Let's go boys!
« Last Edit: September 03, 2014, 03:12:43 PM by soccerrama »

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #51 on: September 03, 2014, 05:38:17 PM »
More pics from today's game

« Reply #52 on: September 03, 2014, 05:41:06 PM »
Nice. Congrats!

« Reply #53 on: September 03, 2014, 06:29:39 PM »
grounds looking nice too. At last these yutes playing on good grounds.

Offline toonmili

« Reply #54 on: September 03, 2014, 08:33:46 PM »
This is great. They must be so excited. I hope someone gets an opportunity out of this.

« Reply #55 on: September 04, 2014, 08:47:29 AM »
it already is a taken opportunity, but i know you mean a financial/professional one. I feel they wouldn't be ready for that.. Big men, get chances and run back home. Living in foreign alone not easy..One of the lucky ones was Dwight Yorke who I believe had the opportunity to live with a teammate(Tony Daley) family who may have been aware of our culture. There aren't many of our families in Italy, though it can still happen.

add: I think a Daley/Yorke combo would have been more dangerous (doh not as impactful) than Cole/Yorke, if they had the opportunity to be played together. If i am not mistaken, - i mostly followed reports, didn't see all games, they very often were not played together, and if on the field, were on different wings..but when i did see them, the speed skills these young players brought, had my chest beating with pride.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2014, 09:01:59 AM by maxg »

« Reply #56 on: September 04, 2014, 08:52:55 AM »
grounds looking nice too. At last these yutes playing on good grounds.

Appears to be artificial  turf-field to me.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #57 on: September 04, 2014, 11:30:12 AM »
Day 4 in Italy and the guys had a wonderful training session with coach Italo Galbiati. Italo Galbiati has trained top players such as Wayne Rooney, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Andrea Pirlo and Antonio Cassano. What a great experience these guys are having!
Italo Galbiati is an Italian football coach and former player. He is a trusted assistant to Fabio Capello having worked with Capello at AC Milan, Roma, Juventus, Real Madrid and England's national team. He has also managed AC Milan himself on a caretaker basis, and is currently an assistant manager to Capello with the Russia national team. - (Wikipedia)

« Reply #58 on: September 04, 2014, 11:53:50 AM »
This is great. They must be so excited. I hope someone gets an opportunity out of this.

That would be good but what I think would be even better is if the italian teams come to the conclusion that they should look into scouting/recruiting in the Caribbean in general and T&T in particular.

« Reply #59 on: September 04, 2014, 02:24:17 PM »
Grateful for the pics. Great package experience.
Soak in all the pearls and tips to improve.