April 27, 2024, 09:01:43 AM

Author Topic: Jordan, Croatia test for Soca Warriors.  (Read 5419 times)

Jordan, Croatia test for Soca Warriors.
« on: May 09, 2015, 06:13:42 AM »
Jordan, Croatia test for Soca Warriors.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago’s “Soca Warriors” will play away matches next month against Jordan and Croatia prior to going to the United States for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup in July.

T&T will also have a Miami camp and will also play Caribbean rivals before going into competition on July 9 against Guatemala.

Raymond Tim Kee, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association revealed that the away matches are confirmed. He said that the matches arose out of discussions he had with the King of Jordan and other officials, while on FIFA business.

Attempts had also been made to play Venezuela however they will be involved in Copa America action, while a return match against Panama was shelved after information was received that the Central Americans wanted to field an Under-23 team.

National coach Stephen Hart had hoped to have matches against a Central American and a South American team in the build-up since, T&T will open the tournament against Guatemala and will also meet the world-rated Mexicans.

“The only Caribbean team we would consider playing at this stage is Jamaica or Haiti. The problems with the Central American and South American teams is that most of the good ones already had matches, while some will be involved in Copa America action,” Tim Kee told the Express.

The TTFA president said that a decision was taken to accept away invitations rather than play at home because it made financial sense. Jordan for instance will take care of much of the expenses, except for travel to London. Tim Kee said the cash-strapped TTFA is at the moment unable to accept the cost of bringing teams to Trinidad and Tobago— not even Haiti.

“The Haitians have agreed to play us,” Tim Kee said. “So, we have invited the Haitians to play us in Miami, where there is a large Haitian population.”

« Last Edit: May 09, 2015, 06:37:25 AM by Flex »

Re: Jordan, Croatia test for Soca Warriors.
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2015, 07:09:59 AM »
croatia is a big team so no lost there as far as panama is concerned.

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2015, 09:52:32 AM »
Croatia ranked #17
T&T ranked #65
Jordan #103
Just to give some perspective...

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2015, 10:35:57 AM »
croatia is a big team so no lost there as far as panama is concerned.

Great games, well done.

However, there is a loss where Panama is concerned. Weren't we supposed to re-coup some money on the return leg leg via broadcast rights or something like that?

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2015, 10:41:37 AM »
How did a Spanish Station waltz into the Ato Boldon Stadium and stream the game live? So the TTFA letting anyone broadcast their games for free. No TV rights being paid?

Then why did no local TV station show the game live if is a free for all?

I was under the impression that wi sports were streaming the game. I seem to recall that while there were no fees paid to TTFA, the return game in Panama would be streamed free of charge back to T&T.

Okay, so is not so much that we lose out on money, or did we?

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2015, 10:59:53 AM »
Good going by the TTFA, however, why didn't they keep the fixture with the Panama U-23's and have our Pan-American/Olympic team play them then?

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2015, 04:49:32 PM »
Are these fixtures confirmed? Will the games be in Jordan and Croatia? Or will one of the games be in England like when we played Iceland in London?

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2015, 08:28:00 PM »
Good going by the TTFA, however, why didn't they keep the fixture with the Panama U-23's and have our Pan-American/Olympic team play them then?

Because panama wants their u-23s to play our senior side...

« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2015, 10:29:10 PM »

Warriors must go into that Croatia game with the mindset to win and not just to play for the experience

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2015, 02:11:16 AM »
I dont think its Croatia we are playing, not sure where Prescott got that info.

« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 05:57:50 AM by Flex »

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2015, 10:04:49 AM »

Come man Flex yuh have to expand on that. Yuh cyah just throw a line out there and keep quiet.

« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2015, 10:38:39 AM »

Come man Flex yuh have to expand on that. Yuh cyah just throw a line out there and keep quiet.

Soon as I get confirmation but its definitely not Croatia.

« Last Edit: May 15, 2015, 06:59:40 PM by Flex »

« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2015, 06:14:33 PM »

then ah hope it is a quality team we playing  :-[

Croatia would have been a good test

« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2015, 07:57:25 AM »

Croatia would have been a good test cutarse!!

Fixed it for you  ;D

« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2015, 08:31:10 PM »

Fixed it for you  ;D

:D whappen. so we rather beat up on Caribbean teams and have a false belief that we reach

« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2015, 08:46:17 PM »

Fixed it for you  ;D

:D whappen. so we rather beat up on Caribbean teams and have a false belief that we reach

we does beat up Caribbean teams ? really ?
anyway, do we want to get  a good practice game or give someone a good practice.. we want to be a sparring padna or the main event ?
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 08:53:16 PM by maxg »

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2015, 10:21:32 PM »

Fixed it for you  ;D

anyway, do we want to get  a good practice game or give someone a good practice.. we want to be a sparring padna or the main event ?

I remember us beating up a couple at the last Caribbean Cup. However beating up Caribbean teams is not the important point I made in my previous post

« Reply #17 on: May 20, 2015, 12:47:34 PM »

Fixed it for you  ;D

Well actually I was just on kicks but since yuh raise de question...

There is a huge gap between the Caribbean level opposition that we does beat up on and teams of the quality of Croatia. And while the Caribbean opposition may be too easy, Croatia may be too far beyond us. Somewhere in the middle we might be able to find a better test.

« Reply #18 on: May 20, 2015, 07:26:04 PM »

Fixed it for you  ;D

I remember us beating up a couple at the last Caribbean Cup. However beating up Caribbean teams is not the important point I made in my previous post
Other than DR, qualifier, I wouldn't call none of the results/play, beat up.... And on the other hand, I more inclined to believe the TT fans more hold the opinion of "we reach" in the extreme as opposed to the best TT players and staff.. The best game practice is playing as much games as possible, as long as the standard is of as National level as we can get.. we have in our region, Mexico, USa, Costa Rica..even regular practice games against amongst our B teams will serve us in the future, rather than one off games against a team that will run rings around us, while we learning to gel and get to know one another...but that's my thoughts.
add: we should learn to use what is at hand to develop ourselves, make ourselves strong,prepare ourselves for the trials ahead, instead of waiting for perfect storm to test how strong we are, it would have a greater chance of killings us, ded.  :D

2014-11-18  Jamaica  Catherine Hall Stadium Montego Bay, Jamaica L 0-0 Caribbean Cup
2014-11-15  Cuba  Catherine Hall Stadium Montego Bay, Jamaica D 0-0 Caribbean Cup
2014-11-13  French Guiana  Catherine Hall Stadium Montego Bay, Jamaica W 4-2 Caribbean Cup
2014-11-11  Curaçao  Catherine Hall Stadium Montego Bay, Jamaica W 3-2 Caribbean Cup
2014-10-12  Antigua and Barbuda  Ato Boldon Stadium Couva, Trinidad and Tobago W 1-0 Caribbean Cup Qualifier
2014-10-10  St. Lucia  Ato Boldon Stadium Couva, Trinidad and Tobago W 2-0 Caribbean Cup Qualifier
2014-10-08  Dominican Republic  Ato Boldon Stadium Couva, Trinidad and Tobago W 6-1 Caribbean Cup Qualifier
« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 07:30:38 PM by maxg »

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #19 on: May 25, 2015, 05:28:19 PM »
When are we announcing fixtures and the squad selection for June?

« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2015, 01:50:15 AM »

In July.. ;D

« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2015, 08:24:49 AM »

In July.. ;D

« Reply #22 on: May 26, 2015, 08:36:11 AM »
I was looking online at the schedule for games of Euro teams touring the US summer and noticed they're already advertising tickets for the GC.....the only GC game I can realistically go is the one against Mexico in Charlotte. I will hate to buy tickets, make that drive, then we turn out to be unprepared and disappointing.   

« Reply #23 on: May 26, 2015, 09:54:36 AM »

« Reply #24 on: May 28, 2015, 06:43:45 PM »
Raymond Tim Kee, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association revealed that the away matches are confirmed. He said that the matches arose out of discussions he had with the King of Jordan and other officials, while on FIFA business.

Let this percolate.

(To the writer: yuh sure Tim Kee was at the table with King Abdullah?)
« Last Edit: May 28, 2015, 06:46:20 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #25 on: May 28, 2015, 10:25:11 PM »

Let this percolate.

Good call on that one smh

« Reply #26 on: May 28, 2015, 10:43:40 PM »

Let this percolate.

could be to encourage him to use his influence on other small islands to drum up support for the motion to suspend israel. particularly with his leaning towards muslims.  just conspiracy theory here. i wonder who he votin for president?  ;)
« Last Edit: May 28, 2015, 10:46:40 PM by kounty »

« Reply #27 on: May 31, 2015, 09:20:16 AM »
so when is hart going to name our squad