April 28, 2024, 12:16:28 AM

Author Topic: 2014/15 T&T Pro League Fixtures Thread.  (Read 16496 times)

Re: 2014/15 T&T Pro League Fixtures Thread.
« Reply #30 on: January 06, 2015, 01:35:22 PM »
Anyone knows when and what venue and time the next set of pro league games are?

And the league expects to get crowd support.

I am assuming the next set of games are 2 days away?

« Reply #31 on: January 06, 2015, 01:50:56 PM »

This still happening?

« Reply #32 on: January 06, 2015, 04:35:23 PM »

This still happening?

No international games, no CCL games, no CFU games and all (or most) stadiums are vacant.

Can you imagine.

And we still cant get a solid fixtures and this going on for YEARS !!!!!!

Thank God for FS, he helps me with the fixtures because the Pro League refuse to add me or Tallman to their mailing list after many tries...

« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 04:37:31 PM by Flex »

« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2015, 11:36:28 PM »

This still happening?

No international games, no CCL games, no CFU games and all (or most) stadiums are vacant.

Can you imagine.

And we still cant get a solid fixtures and this going on for YEARS !!!!!!

Thank God for FS, he helps me with the fixtures because the Pro League refuse to add me or Tallman to their mailing list after many tries...

These fellas not serious about improving we football, they just want to be in charge.

« Reply #34 on: January 11, 2015, 02:12:07 PM »
Again, I'm not making excuses for some of the mistakes made by Pro League, but the fixtures are incredibly difficult to maintain and Julia Baptiste works minor miracles at times.

Last Tuesday, Central F.C. arrived at Ato Boldon as per usual to train on the outside field. We always use the same dressing room in the stadium. However, we were locked out because the stadium, including dressing rooms, was being cleaned and prepared for a fete on Saturday.

But, hang on, we have a game booked on Friday, we say. Not anymore, we are told. Then, we informed W.Connection, who train on the outside field before us, that the games on Friday won't be played at Ato.

I don't think,at this point, the Pro League were even aware.

Next problem:

Manny still not ready, Larry has no lights and Hasely has had the entire field covered for fetes. All that remains is Marvin Lee, which nobody likes playing on and costs money that often is not recovered.

So,games had to be shuffled with a double header at Marvin Lee on Saturday and another at Ato on Sunday!!

Of course, it's completely wrong of us football teams to interrupt fetes to play football at a sports stadium  :cursing: >:( >:(

« Reply #35 on: January 14, 2015, 03:06:46 AM »
Again, I'm not making excuses for some of the mistakes made by Pro League, but the fixtures are incredibly difficult to maintain and Julia Baptiste works minor miracles at times.

Last Tuesday, Central F.C. arrived at Ato Boldon as per usual to train on the outside field. We always use the same dressing room in the stadium. However, we were locked out because the stadium, including dressing rooms, was being cleaned and prepared for a fete on Saturday.

But, hang on, we have a game booked on Friday, we say. Not anymore, we are told. Then, we informed W.Connection, who train on the outside field before us, that the games on Friday won't be played at Ato.

I don't think,at this point, the Pro League were even aware.

Next problem:

Manny still not ready, Larry has no lights and Hasely has had the entire field covered for fetes. All that remains is Marvin Lee, which nobody likes playing on and costs money that often is not recovered.

So,games had to be shuffled with a double header at Marvin Lee on Saturday and another at Ato on Sunday!!

Of course, it's completely wrong of us football teams to interrupt fetes to play football at a sports stadium  :cursing: >:( >:(

Didn't they just spent millions of dollars on refurbisingall of the stadiums? so they did that to host fetes?

What a shame by the T&T government.

Why dont the Pro League try to acquire one of the Stadium on a long term lease from the T&T government and use it strictly for their games??

If the Larry Goemes doesn't have lights, play the games 2 and 4?

I thought CONCACAF was investigating the Marvin Lee? how come its still up and running and why is Jack still involved with football matters?

« Last Edit: January 14, 2015, 04:46:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #36 on: January 14, 2015, 04:46:26 AM »
Anyone knows the full scores from yesterday's games?

« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2015, 06:06:40 AM »
Anyone knows the full scores from yesterday's games?

Jabloteh 1 - 1 W.Connection

Defence Force 3 - 2 St Ann's Rangers

North East 2 - 1 Caledonia

Police 0 - 2 Point Fortin

Central F.C. - Bye

Central finish top after Round One on equal points and goal difference with W. Connection, but with more goals scored, so are inaugural winners of the Rawle Fletcher Cup.

« Reply #38 on: January 14, 2015, 06:12:59 AM »
Thanx FS..

Whats this Rawle Fletcher Cup?

And how it works?

« Reply #39 on: January 14, 2015, 07:06:28 AM »
Thanx FS..

Whats this Rawle Fletcher Cup?

And how it works?

This year, to build the competetiveness and to give more clubs opportunities to win trophies, the winners of each Pro League round wins TT$35,000. Each round has a different trophy named after players who have passed away. Rawle Fletcher is the first cup. I remember that one round is named after Akeem Adams and I think (but can't be sure) that the other is for Kevon Carter.

« Reply #40 on: January 14, 2015, 08:40:07 AM »
More money & incentives for clubs. Progress, not so?
Shouldn't Skeene be given a big up for this?
Deeks wha yuh say?

« Reply #41 on: January 14, 2015, 08:44:41 AM »
Deeks wha yuh say?

Actually, yes he should!!

« Reply #42 on: January 14, 2015, 10:07:14 AM »
Good job by the League...

« Reply #43 on: January 17, 2015, 06:32:15 AM »
Someone remind me please: what's the transfer period?

« Reply #44 on: January 17, 2015, 10:26:51 AM »
Same time as de BPL.

« Reply #45 on: January 17, 2015, 11:11:03 AM »
Deeks wha yuh say?

We cyah give big up if we are not being kept in the loop. To support the PFL yuh have to be an Investigator.

« Reply #46 on: January 24, 2015, 02:53:07 PM »
This year, to build the competetiveness and to give more clubs opportunities to win trophies, the winners of each Pro League round wins TT$35,000. Each round has a different trophy named after players who have passed away. Rawle Fletcher is the first cup. I remember that one round is named after Akeem Adams and I think (but can't be sure) that the other is for Kevon Carter.

When you say per round, do you mean whichever team won by the most goals per round, or who is top of the league after each fixture

« Reply #47 on: January 27, 2015, 02:40:20 PM »

When you say per round, do you mean whichever team won by the most goals per round, or who is top of the league after each fixture
:

There are 3 rounds which mean each team plays each other home, away & neutral. Round One just finished, Round 2 is underway now.
The team who finishes top of the league at the end of each round wins TT$35,000 plus a trophy and, of course, whoever is top at the end of round 3 wins the league title.

Usual system decided by points, goal difference, head to head, goals scored.

« Reply #48 on: January 29, 2015, 03:29:07 PM »
Central restores 6-point DPL lead with 1-0 win over Caledonia.
ttproleague.com.

'Couva Sharks' undefeated in seven consecutive league games

Ato Boldon Stadium, COUVA – Ataullah Guerra converted from the penalty spot on Wednesday to earn leaders Central FC a 1-0 win over Caledonia AIA in their Round Two Match Day Three clash of the Digicel Pro League championship.

The win restored Central's six-point lead – now with 8-2-1, 26 points – ahead of second positioned and defending champions DIRECTV W Connection (6-2-2, 20 points).

Also with Wednesday's win, the Zoran Vranes-coached Central celebrated their fourth consecutive win in seven straight undefeated league outings.

While the Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Guerra celebrated his seventh goal of the DPL this season to tie with goal scoring leader Kerry Baptiste.

Guerra, from the spot in the 27th minute, struck the ball to the left of goalkeeper Shemel Louison, and although the Grenada international 'keeper got glove to the ball, it wasn't enough to stop the ball from entering the net as Central partied a 1-0 advantage.

Referee Keilon Bacchus had awarded Central the penalty after Jameel Neptune bundled Jason Marcano to ground in an attempt to deny the midfielder a shooting opportunity from close up.

It wasn't until the 81st minute, however, that Guerra had an opening against his former employers but dragged his right footed effort wide of the far post.

Half hour earlier Central defensive signing, Jamaica international Upston Edwards, had an excellent chance of scoring on debut but the 25-year-old headed over bar from Jason Marcano's left side corner.

Caledonia, led by assistant coach Jerry Moe in absence of technical director/head coach Jamaal Shabazz, did well to limit Central but failed to take advantage of their rare scoring opportunities.

Guyana international Pernell Schultz had the seventh placed Caledonia (3-2-5, 11 points) best chances in the first half but was denied by goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams in the 6th, 32nd and 38th minutes.

Shabazz, currently on international duty with the Guyana national team preparing to face Barbados in a friendly on February 1, will also be absent for Caledonia's Round Two Match Day Four fixture against third placed Defence Force (5-2-3, 17 points) on Friday 30 January from 8 pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Earlier on Friday fourth placed North East Stars (5-2-4, 17 points) will take on fifth placed Play Whe San Juan Jabloteh (4-4-3, 16 points) from 6 pm at the Couva venue.

The action continues on Saturday when cellar placed St. Ann’s Rangers (0-1-10, 1 point) meet W Connection from 3:30 pm at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, and on Sunday with sixth placed Police (3-5-3, 14 points) against Central from 6 pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Round Two Match Day Three Results

Caledonia AIA 0 vs Central FC 1 (Ataullah Guerra 27' pen)

Teams

Caledonia AIA: 1.Shemel Louison; 8.Keron Bethelmy (4.Conrad Smith 90th), 18.Trayon Bobb, 10.Hayden Tinto (26.Nicholas Mercano 65th), 12.Kareem Joseph (C), 9.Keyon Edwards, 16.Pierre Hitner, 28.Pernell Schultz (32.Kyle Bartholomew 80th), 5.Christoper Mejia, 22.Jameel Neptune, 23.Jamil Joseph

Unused substitutes: 31.Kyle Adams, 60.D'Eandre Villaroel (GK)

Coach: Jerry Moe

Central FC: 21.Jan-Michael Williams; 29.Upston Edwards, 45.Ataullah Guerra (19.Nathaniel Garcia 83rd), 12.Jamal Jack, 7.Jason Marcano (77.Rundell Winchester 87th), 15.Kaydion Gabriel, 8.Sean de Silva (C) (11.Darren Mitchell 77th), 33.Willis Plaza, 4.Uriah Bentick, 2.Elton John, 17.Marcelle Francois

Unused substitutes: 30.Akel Clarke (GK), 99.Dwight Quintero, 14.Jean-Luc Rochford, 24.Kevon Villaroel

Coach: Zoran Vranes.

Upcoming Round Two Match Day Four Fixtures

Friday 30 January 2015

North East Stars vs San Juan Jabloteh—6 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium
Caledonia AIA vs Defence Force—8 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium

Saturday 31 January 2015

St. Ann's Rangers vs W Connection—3:30 pm, Manny Ramjohn Stadium

Sunday 01 February 2015

Police FC vs Central FC—6 pm, Ato Boldon Stadium

« Reply #49 on: February 04, 2015, 02:59:09 AM »
Anyone know the goal scorers from this game.

North East Stars FC 3 v Police FC 0

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #50 on: February 04, 2015, 04:18:51 AM »
Anyone know the goal scorers from this game.

North East Stars FC 3 v Police FC 0

North East Stars FC 3   vs Police FC 1

Keron Cummings (46’), Keryn Navarro (76’),  Dwane James (86’)
---------------------------------------------------
Todd Ryan (90’)

« Reply #51 on: February 04, 2015, 05:15:06 AM »
Thanx.

« Reply #52 on: February 07, 2015, 10:01:51 AM »
Tyrone Charles double lifts Jabloteh to a 3-2 win over 10-man Central.
ttprolegue.com.

‘Couva Sharks’ loses second on the trot; DeLeon guides Civic to second consecutive win; and Police stun Caledonia

Tyrone Charles punished his former employers twice in the second half to help Play Whe San Juan Jabloteh to a thrilling 3-2 win over current Digicel Pro League leaders and 10-man Central FC on Friday night in the second match of a Round Two Match Day Six double header at the Marvin Lee Stadium.

Central – defeated 2-1 by Defence Force last Tuesday – turned up with their chanting supporters and pounding drum, and opened the scoring in the 14th minute of a feisty first half at the Macoya venue.

Marvin Oliver slotted in a rebound for the 1-0 advantage after goalkeeper Raheem Belgrave had blocked out the veteran’s penalty strike following Mudassa Howe’s foul on Kaydion Gabriel in the box.

However on the 20th minute Jabloteh’s talented Jamaican midfielder, Fabian Reid, tied the scores 1-1 with a delightful curling strike into goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams’ upper corner after collecting a Calib Sturge pass and slipping the ball through the legs of defender Jamal Jack to free himself at the edge of the area.

Tyrone Charles then nicked his first of the night, with a toe poke for a 2-1 Jabloteh lead in the 58th minute, when he capitalised on a mix-up by goalkeeper Williams and “Couva Sharks”’ defenders, who failed to handle a long pass forward into the box by Isaiah Mc Intyre.

Central’s troubles worsened, just four minutes later, when referee Harris produced a direct red card to forward Rundell Winchester following a tackle on Jevon Morris. Harris had initially drawn the yellow card for the foul but switched to a direct red for abusive language by the player as Central later ended with 10 men for a second consecutive match.

But in the 66th minute the scores were tied 2-2 when Oliver converted from the penalty spot, for his seventh DPL goal this season, beating substitute goalie Aaron Enil, who had replaced Belgrave following the break.

Belgrave, replaced because of slight injury after clashing with Winchester in the first half, looked on from the stands when referee Harris ruled that defender Josiah Trimmingham had fouled Darren Mitchell in the box and when Enil was beaten.

Jabloteh defender, Howe, later made up for giving up an early penalty, by clearing off the line in the 77th minute to deny Central forward Willis Plaza, who struck towards goal from a Sean de Silva pass, as the “Couva Sharks”’ supporters continued to pound and chant on.

But seemingly drummed-up by the opposition, Charles fired in the 3-2 winner in the 81st minute to complete his double. The forward showed excellent strength to hold off defender Marcelle Francois after collecting a Reid pass to hit past goalkeeper Williams.

Despite the hard-fought victory Jabloteh continues to occupy fifth position but with an improved 19 points, 10 less than leaders Central (29 points), while defending champions DIRECTV W Connection, Defence Force and North East Stars occupy second, third and fourth respectively, with 23 points each.

W Connection and Defence Force will face each other from 4 pm on Saturday 7 February at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium to wrap up Round Two Match Day Six, which already include Point Fortin Civic and Police FC registering huge comfortable wins.

Civic, led by interim head coach Leroy De Leon following last weekend's exit by Reynold Carrington, whipped visiting cellar positioned St. Ann’s Rangers 4-1 at the Mahaica Oval in the early match on Friday, while Police FC stunned Caledonia AIA 3-0 in the first match of the double header at the Marvin Lee Stadium.

Rangers had taken a surprise lead in the 56th minute but De Leon's side, coming off a 2-1 win over Connection on Tuesday, fired back with four late goals to complete a second consecutive league win.

Marcus Joseph levelled the scores 1-1 in the 72nd minute and Shackiel Henry made it 2-1 by the 75th minute before a late double by Jamille Boatswain, netting in the 83rd and 91st minutes, completed the late rout.

The result kept Civic in sixth position, tied with seventh positioned Police, on 17 points, while Caledonia occupy eight position with 14 points, and Rangers at rock bottom with just one point.

Caledonia conceded in as early as the 3rd minute when forward Kareem Freitas completed a cool finish past goalkeeper Shemel Louison from close up following a flicked pass by Kareem Perry for a 1-0 Police lead.

The “Lawmen”, led by captain Todd Ryan cleverly marshalling the midfield, doubled the lead, 2-0, in the 29th minute when Clevon Mc Fee turned in a low powerful Micah Lewis cross.

And it wasn’t a surprise that Police added a third on the 60th minute for a 3-0 win when midfielder Kenaz Williams blasted from the top of the box to beat Louison into the top corner after he was picked out by a Perry cross. 

Round Two Match Day Six Results

Police FC 3 (Kareem Freitas 3', Clevon Mc Fee 41', Kenaz Williams 60') vs Caledonia AIA 0

Central FC 2 (Marvin Oliver 14', 66') vs San Juan Jabloteh 3 (Fabian Reid 20', Tyrone Charles 58', 81')

Point Fortin Civic 4 (Marcus Joseph 72', Shackiel Henry 75', Jamille Boatswain 83', 90') vs St. Ann's Rangers 1 (Jelani Peters 56')

Teams

Police FC: 18.Adrian Foncette (Yellow Card); 5.Anton Hutchinson, 6.Kenaz Williams, 15.Jameel Perry (7.Makesi Lewis 79th), 12.Micah Lewis, 20.Elijah Belgrave, 21.Todd Ryan, 1.Kareem Freitas (8.Kurdell Braithwaite 75th), 25.Noel Williams (Yellow Card), 24.Jibri Mc David, 29.Clevon Mc Fee (35.Kerry Frederick 67th)

Unused substitutes: 30.Marcus Chandool, 32.Kaaron Foster, 34.Keston Mata (GK), 9.Hector Sam

Coach: Richard Hood

Caledonia AIA: 1.Shemel Louison; 8.Keron Bethelmy, 10.Hayden Tinto (4.Conrad Smith 73rd), 5.Cristoper Mejia (Yellow Card), 12.Kareem Joseph, 9.Keyon Edwards, 28.Pernell Schultz, 23.Jamil Joseph, 27.Nathan Lewis, 30.Domini Garnett (26.Nicholas Mercano 53rd), 22.Jameel Neptune

Unused substitutes: 31.Kyle Adams, 19.Julio Noel, 60.D'Eandre Villaroel (GK), 32.Kyle Bartholomew, 20.Rogelio Robinson

Coach: Jerry Moe

Teams

Central FC: 21.Jan-Michael Williams; 11.Darren Mitchell, 12.Jamal Jack, 7.Jason Marcano (Yellow Card), 15.Kaydion Gabriel, 8.Sean de Silva (19.Nathaniel Garcia 86th), 33.Willis Plaza, 77.Rundell Winchester (Red Card), 4.Uriah Bentick, 2.Elton John, 17.Marcelle Francois (4.Michael Yaw Darko 83rd)

Unused substitutes: 30.Akel Clarke (GK), 29.Upston Edwards, 4.Uriah Bentick, 99.Dwight Quintero, 14.Jean-Luc Rochford

Coach: Zoran Vranes

San Juan Jabloteh: 36.Raheem Belgrave (35.Aaron Enil 46th); 18.Jevon Morris, 22.Calib Sturge (16.Samuel Delice 76th), 10.Kerry Baptiste, 12.Brendon Boucaud, 15.Isaiah Mc Intyre, 17.Fabian Reid, 4.Garth Thomas, 5.Mudassa Howe (Yellow Card) (6.Dario Holmes 81st), 26.Josiah Trimmingham, 29.Tyrone Charles

Unused substitutes: 8.Newton Sterling, 14.Shaquille Bertrand, 23.Brandon Figuera, 21.Neil Mitchell

Coach: Keith Jeffrey

« Reply #53 on: February 07, 2015, 01:48:06 PM »
Wait, Central is 0 & 2 since Football Supporter took over? Could this be an ominous sign of things to come? Say it ain't so, Pablo Escobar Jr.

« Reply #54 on: February 07, 2015, 07:45:37 PM »
Wait, Central is 0 & 2 since Football Supporter took over? Could this be an ominous sign of things to come? Say it ain't so, Pablo Escobar Jr.

Actually, I didn't take over! I have joined Brent at the Ministry as his Personal Adviser. The CFC board is overseeing things, but that should be no excuse as the coaches and office staff are perfectly capable of running things. In fact, aside from hunting down new players, Brent and I rarely were involved in team matters.

« Reply #55 on: February 07, 2015, 08:42:45 PM »
Wait. This is getting more and more incredulous by the minute.

You mean to tell me that you, Football Supporter, are the Minister of Sports for Trinidad and Tobago, Brent Sancho, personal advisor on matters pertinent to the men and women in sports, of all ages, in Trinidad and Tobago? Something is crooked here. You and Sancho would leave an okay cruise ship on it's way to the CCL to jump into a aimless dingy full of holes to boot. That the two of you would leave a community that was supporting you and depending on you to improve on the plans that were implemented last year to improve the lives of the young men and women of that area, to fix a situation that requires more attention and intelligence that targets not just one single community but encompasses an entire country of communities, far and wide, in 7 months that others could not fix in 5 years or more. You are such a genius at solving complex, statistical, financial, and social mathematical equations of the Calculus equatical comprehension of issues that you and Sancho were baffled by the inability and irreluctance of all those that preceeded you to solve these broad spectrum of issues that you and Sancho thought was solvable in 7 months.

Just out of curiosity, did you and Sancho figure out in one year how Central FC was going to win the CCL?
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 08:50:19 PM by King Deese »

« Reply #56 on: February 07, 2015, 09:40:42 PM »
Wait. This is getting more and more incredulous by the minute.

You mean to tell me that you, Football Supporter, are the Minister of Sports for Trinidad and Tobago, Brent Sancho, personal advisor on matters pertinent to the men and women in sports, of all ages, in Trinidad and Tobago? Something is crooked here. You and Sancho would leave an okay cruise ship on it's way to the CCL to jump into a aimless dingy full of holes to boot. That the two of you would leave a community that was supporting you and depending on you to improve on the plans that were implemented last year to improve the lives of the young men and women of that area, to fix a situation that requires more attention and intelligence that targets not just one single community but encompasses an entire country of communities, far and wide, in 7 months that others could not fix in 5 years or more. You are such a genius at solving complex, statistical, financial, and social mathematical equations of the Calculus equatical comprehension of issues that you and Sancho were baffled by the inability and irreluctance of all those that preceeded you to solve these broad spectrum of issues that you and Sancho thought was solvable in 7 months.

Just out of curiosity, did you and Sancho figure out in one year how Central FC was going to win the CCL?

Football is not an exact science, it's determined by human performance (or lack of) and, to a degree, the influence of match officials. Take, Winchester being hit in the face, but receiving a red card for swearing, while Jorsling left the playing area and entered the stands, yet received no punishment.

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/-Jabloteh-Beat-Sharks-291172541.html

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/videos/--DEFENCE-FORCE-DEF-CENTRAL-FC---290868351.html

(They cut the footage before army threw the trash can and Jorsling entered the stands)

But we did plan all of the relevant items required: experienced coaching staff, experienced players, funding to achieve both etc  But this is no different to Connection or any other ambitious club.

But our business plan did have us qualifying in year three, so we are one year ahead of schedule!

As for your comments about MoS, of course we know the restrictions. All we can do is begin to change the mindset, the policies and procedures and motivate those we are in contact with to rely less on the State and develop corporate partnerships and income generating programmes.

It's not rocket science, but it seems that there areas have been ignored in the past. Why not accept the challenge if it is offered? There may never be another chance to influence the arena in which we work in. If you're too scared to shoot for goal in case you miss, you will never score (in fact, you shouldn't even be in the game). We're taking our shot. Why not wait to see what happens before you criticise too much? You may be right, but then again, maybe we can do some good in the short time we have.
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 09:48:34 PM by Football supporter »

« Reply #57 on: February 07, 2015, 11:21:56 PM »
Boy, it is like magic. You here today, you gone tomorrow. FS can now use the executive washroom. Good luck!!!

« Reply #58 on: February 25, 2015, 06:18:03 AM »
Central stop Civic to win Akeem Adams Trophy.
ttproleague.com.

Willis Plaza executed a cool finish, amidst a heated battle, seconds before the half to earn longstanding Digicel Pro League leaders Central FC a slim but valuable 1-0 win over home side Point Fortin Civic on Tuesday at the Mahaica Oval to secure the Akeem Adams (Round Two) Trophy on the penultimate day.

The Zoran Vranes coached-outfit, which already captured this season’s First Citizens Cup and the Rawle Fletcher (Round One) Trophy, tallied an unattainable 18 points in round two after completing their final fixture with three points against Civic—the only team with a realistic previous chance of toppling the “Couva Sharks” for Akeem Adams Trophy, which is named in honour of the fallen former W Connection and Central FC footballer and Point Fortin native.

Vranes was happy to add the Akeem Adams Trophy to Central’s cabinet but says it is still a long tough road to the club’s ambition of winning the DPL championship.

“We stepped up with two wins after losses (against Defence Force and San Juan Jabloteh 2-1 and 3-2 respectively) were we made mistakes but it’s going to be tough till the end,” Vranes said. “It’s still a long way to go but I think once we don’t make mistakes, we are good enough to win the championship.”

Central stands atop the regular DPL standings with 35 points, five points clear of reigning champions and second placed W Connection (30 points), who were held to a 1-1 draw against eight placed Caledonia AIA in their Round Two Match Day Eight fixture at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Tuesday night.

Mekeil Williams gave Connection the lead in the 80th minute beating goalkeeper Shemel Louison from the penalty spot but Caledonia tied the game in stoppage time with a 30-metre Kareem Joseph free-kick that defeated goalkeeper Julani Archibald.

Simultaneously at the Marvin Lee Stadium, North East Stars (26 points) leapfrogged Defence Force for third position after handing cellar placed St. Ann’s Rangers their 14th league defeat from of the 2014-2015 season with a 2-1 score.

Defender Aquil Selby gave the Stars a 1-0 lead in the 19th minute but the Sangre Grande outfit needed a 75th minute winner from attacker Kennedy Hinkson after Rangers forward Devon Modeste tied the scores before the break with his first goal since returning to his old employers during the January transfer window from Pro League-bound Club Sando.

Defence Force meanwhile, dropped further down the ladder by the end of the second match at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Defence Force were downed 2-1 by Jabloteh, who moved two spots up the ladder into fourth position and tied on 23 points with the army/coastguard combination, while Civic dropped a spot into sixth with 20 points but ahead of Police (17 points), Caledonia (16 points) and Rangers (1 point).

Jabloteh’s Jamaican forward Newton Sterling scored on either side of the break, in the 22nd and 47th minutes, to pace the San Juan club to a 2-1 win.

Devorn Jorsling had pulled back in the 84th minute but it was only enough to take his league scoring tally this season to 7 goals, tied with teammate Richard Roy, Central’s Marvin Oliver and Willis Plaza, Jabloteh’s Kerry Baptiste and Civic’s Marcus Joseph, but two goals shy of Connection’s Jerrel Britto and one goal behind Caledonia’s Purnell Schultz and Central’s Ataulla Guerra.

Plaza, however, only became active for Central in the January transfer window this season.

The Trinidad and Tobago international dispatched a low strike from inside the box to beat Civic goalie Marvin Phillip in the 45th minute on Tuesday.

Plaza had worked a neat exchange with Jason Marcano inside the box to create the scoring opportunity after the home side failed to quell a subsequent string of passes orchestrated by substitute Ataulla Guerra.

Civic, boasting four straight wins in all competitions before kick-off, had an early chance to take the lead but ace forward Marcus Joseph missed an open net just two minutes into the match. The Leroy De Leon-coached Civic also had a shout for penalty in the 16th minute after a tackle on Andre Toussaint inside the box by defender Jamal Jack, but referee Callum Marshall wasn’t entertained.

Marshall actually had his work cut out in the afternoon heat and standing in the middle of a very physical contest. Marshall dished out only two cautions to either side but many believed the official had been far too lenient.

Plaza’s goal was vital but so were saves by Central goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams. The Trinidad and Tobago international custodian made a low save in the 18th minute to thwart a Weslie John effort from distance and in the 31st minute pulled off a one-handed save to push a Joseph strike wide for a corner.

Williams made another crucial one handed save in the 71st minute, tipping behind a Toussaint free-kick at the last moment.

“We played the big boys and we were right there with them,” said Civic interim head coach Leroy De Leon following the match. “It was good. We actually had a couple chances to take while they had a dinky chance and they scored.”

Goal-scorer Plaza had a stoppage-time opportunity to grab a second after he was picked out by Guerra but made a mess of things, allowing an easy gather by Phillip. Guerra too, had a missed opportunity with nine minutes of regular time left against Civic.

“It was a tough game,” acknowledged Vranes. “They (Civic) are a very good team. It’s not out of nothing that they have won four straight games since coach DeLeon came in. We (Central) were more dangerous and created more chances but it was probably our toughest game in the season so far.”

Meanwhile DeLeon, who led Civic to league wins over W Connection (2-1), Rangers (4-1), Defence Force (2-1), and a 4-3 penalty win over Petrotrin Palo Seco in the FA Trophy Round of 32 since taking over as interim head coach following a walkout by coach Reynold Carrington, is confident of returning to winning ways following Tuesday’s defeat.

“We are doing fine,” he said. “We are going to win a lot of games.”

DeLeon, a former Trinidad and Tobago star footballer, said it was simply a matter of adjusting some attitudes since taking over on an interim basis.

“It’s the same squad, nothing strange. It’s the same group of players that I’ve inherited. But it was just a matter of adjusting some attitudes. Every time we go to practice I try to break one bad habit but time is of the essence in the sense that we have very tight schedule with league and FA fixtures and we are not getting to put in some good practice. But I see progress although we are still lacking mental toughness for longer periods. It was the same under the previous coach where the players only showed mental toughness sporadically as we saw against Central playing tough for 20 or 30 minutes and all of a sudden disappear.”

Civic will return to action on Friday 27 February when to travel to the Marvin Lee Stadium against Police FC from 8 pm following a 6 pm kick off between Rangers and Defence Force at the Macoya venue.

Simultaneously at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Caledonia will tackle North East Stars from 6 pm and W Connection against Jabloteh from 8 pm while Central are on the bye.

Round Two Match Day Eight Results

Point Fortin Civic 0 vs Central FC 1 (Willis Plaza 45’)

St. Ann's Rangers 1 (Devon Modeste 39’) vs North East Stars 2 (Aquil Selby 19’, Kennedy Hinkson 75’)

Caledonia AIA 1 (Kareem Joseph 90’+) vs W Connection 1 (Mekeil Williams 80’ penalty)

San Juan Jabloteh 2 (Newton Sterling 22’, 47’) vs Defence Force 1 (Devorn Jorsling 84’)

Teams

Point Fortin Civic: 1.Marvin Phillip; 5.Andre Ettienne (C), 4.Weslie John, 6.Akeem Redhead, 8.Nickcolson Thomas, 11.Andre Toussaint, 10.Marcus Joseph (20.Jamille Boatswain 59th), 99.Shackiel Henry (9.Matthew Bartholomew 71st), 19.Andrei Pacheco, 15.Rondell Paul (Yellow Card), 18.Trent Lougheed (Yellow Card)

Unused substitutes: 52.Akini Adams (GK), 7.Kelvin Modeste, 25.Andre Matthew, 23.Kelvin Modeste, 27.Bevon Bass

Coach: Leroy DeLeon

Central FC: 21.Jan-Michael Williams; 11.Darren Mitchell (3.Keon Goodridge 87th), 12.Jamal Jack, 7.Jason Marcano (6.Leston Paul 64th), 15.Kaydion Gabriel, 33.Willis Plaza, 4.Uriah Bentick, 2.Elton John, 17.Marcelle Francois (Yellow Card), 99.Dwight Quintero (45.Ataullah Guerra 39th), 10.Marvin Oliver (Yellow Card)

Unused substitutes: 30.Akel Clarke (GK), 29.Upston Edwards, 14.Jean-Luc Rochford, 19.Nathaniel Garcia

Coach: Zoran Vranes

Referee: Callum Marshall.

« Reply #59 on: February 25, 2015, 10:06:33 AM »
Not seeing De Silva on the Sharks team list.
Is he red carded, injured or on trial somewhere?