March 28, 2024, 10:05:09 AM

Author Topic: 40 T&T players who never live up to they true potential.  (Read 2337 times)

40 T&T players who never live up to they true potential.
« on: August 08, 2014, 05:32:19 PM »
Look my list, and I know some of them still active, so de list could change. But these is players I feel who had real potential and never really live up to it as far as international football goes.

1. Stokely Mason

2. Joevin Jones

3. Joel Bailey

4. Nigel Daniel

5. Nigel Henry

6. Jerol Forbes

7. Leslie Fitzpatrick

8. Kenwyne Jones

9. Kevin Jeffrey

10. Osei Telesford

11. Makan Hislop

12. Ian Gray

13. Kerwin Jemmot

14. Josh Johnson

15. Dwayne Jack

16. Gorean Highley

17. Michael Celestine

18. Khaleem Hyland

19. Kwame Wiltshire

20. Derek King

21. Irasto Knights

22. Anthony Sherwood

23. Ivan Sampson

24. Jason Marcano

25. Jason Norville

26. Randi Patterson

27. Conrad Smith

28. Marlon Rojas

29. Brent Rahim

30. Scott Sealy

31. Kevaughn Connell

32. Josmair Belgrave

33. Jason Scotland

34. Evans Wise

35. Anthony Wolfe

36. Devorn Jorsling

37. Gary Glasgow

38. Jamal Gay

39. Devon Mitchell

40. Mathew Bartholomew

Men like Terry St Louis, Andre Toussaint and Marvin Oliver just never get a fair chance to show they class.

Re: 40 T&T players who never live up to they true potential.
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 05:40:05 PM »
You forget Nigel Pierre

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 05:43:08 PM »
You forget Nigel Pierre

No, he making de top 40 shittiest players.

Yorke shoulda be on de list above to.

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2014, 05:53:14 PM »
Russell Latapy should be at the top of this list in bold.

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2014, 07:04:00 PM »
Russell Latapy should be at the top of this list in bold.

First time we seeing eye to eye.

Only when he and Yorke days done they ever really show up for T&T.

« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2014, 12:20:36 AM »
Sam what about these players that make you separate them from the others? We using the term 'true potential' so I'm curious

« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2014, 03:42:23 AM »
Sam what about these players that make you separate them from the others? We using the term 'true potential' so I'm curious

Well, to me, when these men was young or in school, they were like superstars, you hear they name calling all ova de place, at youth international level they was real good to, but then when they start playing for de senior team, they drop of badly, players I was expecting them to be stars for T&T.

Players I feel would have taken T&T to new heights or de next big thing then.

Something so.

« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2014, 04:35:01 AM »
Sam, what about de goal keepers?

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2014, 07:34:26 AM »
Although I hope he eventually would live up to his potential but Keon Daniel name should be there

« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2014, 12:38:29 PM »
That list is everyvbody besides Dwarika and Cornell!

Nigel Pierre and Brent Rahim were in a different class in school days, in my opinion. Never live up to that on national team. In fact, they went downhill after every appearance.

Tony Sherwood, to me, live up to his name with the under 20 side and only injury destroy his career rather than him.

Stokely was never a star boy, always a role player. I find he did well with his abilities, compared to men like Marvin Gordon who had big name.

I doh find Scotty should be on this list. I find he did well and was unlucky that Stern was undroppable.

« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2014, 02:48:53 PM »
Mason had quite a few caps for TNT over the years

How do you set the mark as a failure....foreign contract?

« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2014, 03:26:52 PM »
Tranquil - TOM PHILLIP, Cipriani Moreno
Mucurapo - IAN CLAUZEL, Emerson Dubbison,   
Belmont - Big Bird, Plucky
Malick - Shawn David

Offline ANC2

« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2014, 06:43:32 PM »
All of all yuh who say Yorke and Latapy too dam ungrateful.

Is all yuh self who give nuff ordinary Trini footballers all kind of ratings and then beat them down.

Just look at Guerra now. He should be on the list. As a matter of fact 90% of the current TT players
not good enough for International football in Concacaf, much less the World, if we truthful with our self.

I feel if Concacaf picking a select 20 to play the rest of the World or Asia, or South America, not one Trinbago player getting pick.

Worst generation of players I see in 40+ years.

« Reply #13 on: August 09, 2014, 09:24:09 PM »

Unnecessarily reactive and emotional.  Fact is that Latapy never reached the heights he could have thanks in large part to his off-the-field lifestyle and habits.  No ingratitude in acknowledging the obvious.  His potential outstripped his achievements.

« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2014, 11:18:01 PM »
nice thread :beermug:

real underachievers on that list... the teams we could have had would outshine any concacaf nation if they lived up to their potential...

hardest should be at the top wit latas... dem men could have been in the top 3 in the world... easily..

« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2014, 12:54:20 AM »
Tranquil - TOM PHILLIP, Cipriani Moreno
Mucurapo - IAN CLAUZEL, Emerson Dubbison,   
Belmont - Big Bird, Plucky
Malick - Shawn David

Now I think those categorizing these guys as failures eh really know what they saying. Some of them had no inclination to play pro-ball. They just wanted to get their education and go on with their lives. Tom Philip went Fairlegh Dickinson and now work in NYU law school library. Big Bird Brown also went FDU, electrical engineer living in Maryland. So them is failures.

« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2014, 02:20:01 AM »

Is all yuh self who give nuff ordinary Trini footballers all kind of ratings and then beat them down.

Just look at Guerra now. He should be on the list. As a matter of fact 90% of the current TT players
not good enough for International football in Concacaf, much less the World, if we truthful with our self.

I feel if Concacaf picking a select 20 to play the rest of the World or Asia, or South America, not one Trinbago player getting pick.

Worst generation of players I see in 40+ years.

And I think that's because our players aren't fulfilling their potential, rather than them being rubbish outright. If they had a pro league at home to hone their skills, and better player agents securing them moves to bigger and better clubs, we'd see a big improvement. The players in Trini really do have the potential - Literally half of W Connection's squad could do alright in League One/Two in Britain and if they played at that level with professional 5 day/week training who knows how far along they could come.

« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2014, 05:06:47 AM »
Mason had quite a few caps for TNT over the years

How do you set the mark as a failure....foreign contract?

So because he have caps that mean he was good?

Ent Theobald had a god father on de team too?

When a coach like you, you can get caps even if you eh good.