March 28, 2024, 03:11:22 PM

Author Topic: Ferguson, MO  (Read 20213 times)

Re: Ferguson, MO
« Reply #61 on: December 01, 2014, 06:33:32 AM »
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2851147/Pharrell-sparks-outrage-calling-Michael-Brown-bully-saying-unarmed-teen-asking-trouble-day-shot-dead-police-officer.html

pharrell eh wrong

So bulying/strong arm robbery equal death by police gun?

cops far from perfect. doh put yurself in a situation where you rely on their discretion. especially in de land of de 2nd amendment, where cops on edge all de time. daiz basic common sense.

michael brown lay hands on de shopkeeper AND de cop. how much slack yuh want to cut him? like dis youth only have people cutting him slack he whole damn life - no wonder he turn out so.

ah wonder if dat shopkeeper hadda shot michael brown instead of de cop if de response would have been de same?

« Reply #63 on: December 02, 2014, 10:44:40 AM »
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2851147/Pharrell-sparks-outrage-calling-Michael-Brown-bully-saying-unarmed-teen-asking-trouble-day-shot-dead-police-officer.html

pharrell eh wrong

cops far from perfect. doh put yurself in a situation where you rely on their discretion. especially in de land of de 2nd amendment, where cops on edge all de time. daiz basic common sense.

michael brown lay hands on de shopkeeper AND de cop. how much slack yuh want to cut him? like dis youth only have people cutting him slack he whole damn life - no wonder he turn out so.

ah wonder if dat shopkeeper hadda shot michael brown instead of de cop if de response would have been de same?

Have you been following this or you just taking bits and pieces?

You know why the cop stopped Michael Brown in the first place?

You know if the shopkeeper called the police?

Where you see peole cutting him slack he whole life. This kid was off to Tech College the next Monday.

What do you know just the bs your "news" feed you.

« Reply #64 on: December 02, 2014, 12:10:05 PM »

pharrell eh wrong

Have you been following this or you just taking bits and pieces?

You know why the cop stopped Michael Brown in the first place?

You know if the shopkeeper called the police?

Where you see peole cutting him slack he whole life. This kid was off to Tech College the next Monday.

What do you know just the bs your "news" feed you.

elan, ah will tell you what ah know.

ah know the "hands up don't shoot" chant is a quote from dorian johnson, that has been adopted as gospel when dorian johnson is far less credible than de evidence presented to de grand jury.

ah know some people choose to believe this and recite it over and over again as if it will make it a reality.

ah know this therapeutic myth making mean dese people stuck in denial.

ah know michael brown was a student but he was also a tief and a thug. being a tief and thug define your character more than being a student. plenty good people cyah make it through school but dey have de character to live an honest life.

ah know race baiting when ah see it.

« Reply #65 on: December 02, 2014, 11:13:02 PM »
Ribbit you joking. Race baiting? You serious. You eh have ah clue about what going on.

« Reply #66 on: December 04, 2014, 09:12:57 PM »
Ribbit dred you makin Ben Carson look like ah left wing tree hugger oui

You go do good in Harper cabinet :D

« Reply #67 on: December 24, 2014, 01:06:34 PM »
repeat.

« Reply #68 on: December 24, 2014, 10:55:10 PM »
repeat.

re·peat
rəˈpēt/
verb
say again something one has already said.
"“Are you hurt?” he repeated"
say or do the same thing again.

do (something) again, either once or a number of times.
"earlier experiments were to be repeated on a far larger scale"

« Reply #69 on: April 07, 2015, 07:15:56 PM »
Video available in the link.

North Charleston officer faces murder charge after video shows him shooting man in back

http://www.postandcourier.com/article/20150407/PC16/150409468

A white North Charleston police officer was arrested on a murder charge and the FBI opened a civil rights investigation Tuesday after video surfaced of the lawman shooting eight times at a 50-year-old black man as he ran away.

Walter L. Scott, a Navy veteran and father, died Saturday after Patrolman 1st Class Michael T. Slager, 33, shot him several times in the back.

The video footage, which The Post and Courier obtained Tuesday from a source who asked to remain anonymous, shows the end of the confrontation between the two on Saturday after Scott ran from a traffic stop. It was the first piece of evidence contradicting an account Slager gave earlier this week through his attorney.

The U.S. Department of Justice said in a statement that FBI investigators would work with the State Law Enforcement Division, which typically investigates officer-involved shootings in South Carolina, and the state’s attorney general to investigate any civil rights violations in Scott’s death. North Charleston Mayor Keith Summey said during a news conference that Slager had made a “bad decision.”

“When you’re wrong, you’re wrong,” Summey said. “If you make a bad decision, don’t care if you’re behind the shield or just a citizen on the street, you have to live by that decision.”

The Police Department, which has 343 police officers, has fought accusations in the past that aggressive patroling tactics had unfairly target mostly poor, black community. The newspaper reported in September that 18 percent of the officers were black while the city’s population is 45 percent black.

Community members planned to protest Scott’s death Wednesday morning in front of City Hall.

Ed Bryant, the president of the North Charleston chapter of the NAACP, said communication between neighborhood leaders and police commanders had improved since Chief Jon Zumalt left the department in early 2013. But the community’s relationship with the department’s rank-and-file members was still strained, he said.

“There has been a good conversation at the top,” Bryant said. “But nothing has changed at the bottom level.”

The video footage
The three-minute clip of Saturday’s shooting starts shaky, but it steadies as Slager and Scott appear to be grabbing at each other’s hands.

Slager has said through his attorney that Scott had wrested his Taser from him during a struggle.

The video appears to show Scott slapping at the officer’s hands as several objects fall to the ground. It’s not clear what the objects are.

Scott starts running away. Wires from Slager’s Taser stretch from Scott’s clothing to the officer’s hands.

With Scott more than 10 feet from Slager, the officer draws his pistol and fires seven times in rapid succession. After a brief pause, the officer fires one last time. Scott’s back bows, and he falls face first to the ground near a tree.

A still image shows the shooting Saturday.

After the gunfire, Slager glances at the person taking the video, then talks into his radio.

The cameraman curses, and Slager yells at Scott as sirens wail.

“Put your hands behind your back,” the officer shouts before he handcuffs Scott.

As another lawman runs to Scott’s side.

Scott died there.

Deputy Coroner Brittney Martin was not immediately available Tuesday to confirm how many times Scott was shot.

At the time, he was wanted for arrest on a Family Court warrant, Charleston County sheriff’s Maj. Eric Watson said Tuesday.

He had a history of arrests related to contempt of court charges for failing to pay child support. The only accusation of violence against Scott during his lifetime came through an assault and battery charge in 1987.

The mayor and Police Chief Eddie Driggers expressed sympathies to Scott’s family. Driggers grew emotional as he referred to his police officers as his children.

“It’s been a tragic day for many, a tragic day for me,” Driggers said. “It is not reflective of this entire police department. ... One does not throw a blanket across the many.”

Slager, a former Coast Guardsman with two stepchildren and a wife who is expecting a child, served for more than five years with the department without being disciplined.

Two people filed complaints against Slager during his time with the force, including one man who said the policeman shot him with a Taser for no reason in September 2013. Internal investigators exonerated the officer of any wrongdoing, though the suspect in that case was never arrested.

Attorney David Aylor, who released a statement on Slager’s behalf earlier this week, said Tuesday that he wasn’t representing the officer anymore.

It was not immediately clear whether Slager had hired a new lawyer. Attempts to contact Slager before his arrest by telephone and at his Hanahan home were not successful.

National sentiment
The footage comes amid a discussion about race and policing in the U.S. fueled by the fatal shooting in August of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo.

Brown, an 18-year-old black man, was unarmed at the time, but witnesses said he got into a struggle with Officer Darren Wilson, who is white, and was shot during the scuffle.

Though a grand jury did not find any reason to indict Wilson, the shooting ignited protests, some of which turned violent. A “black lives matter” movement inspired talk about whether police nationwide resort to deadly force too quickly against black men.

During the wave of sentiment that prompted rallies in the Charleston area, a state trooper was captured on video shooting a man who had reached for his driver’s license during a Columbia traffic stop. The trooper was arrested.

Community leaders in North Charleston stressed the need for calm in the aftermath of Scott’s death.

Bryant, the local NAACP official, said he was taken aback by the video. But he encouraged investigators and prosecutors to pursue justice in Scott’s death, and he urged openness from the authorities.

“If he was running away, how does that pose the need for deadly force?” Bryant said. “If he’s leaving, they should just pursue him. But shooting him? That’s another story.”

Pastor Thomas Dixon said that he has not yet seen the video but said that “it’s necessary to expect that there may be some sort of community reaction.”

Dixon added that he is concerned about outsiders coming into the community to incite violence and rallies. He said the outcry of anger so often ends up “tearing down our communities,” and emotions should be diverted to something more constructive than violence.

“Good people get caught up with crazy people,” he said. “The smart reaction is to just gather and peacefully let your voice be heard without any foolishness or craziness.”

Dwight James, executive director of the S.C. State Conference of the NAACP, said leaders gathered in Columbia on Tuesday afternoon to discuss the case.

James said he was looking forward to all the facts coming out.

“We’re in touch with law enforcement on multiple levels,” he said. “The last feedback I got was that (the officer) was not talking.”

Officer’s account
Slager said earlier this week in the statement from his attorney at the time that his encounter with Scott had started Saturday morning as a routine traffic stop.

His department said he pulled over Scott’s Mercedes-Benz sedan near Remount and Craig roads because it had a broken brake light. But at some point, Scott ran away with Slager in pursuit on foot. Scott’s passenger stayed with the Mercedes.

During the foot chase, Scott confronted Slager, according to the lawyer’s statement. Slager got out his Taser to subdue the man, but Scott took the device during a struggle, the statement said. That’s when the officer fired at Scott several times because he “felt threatened,” it added.

The bystander’s cellphone camera continued to roll as Slager stands over Scott and another officer puts on gloves.

“(Expletive) abuse,” the cameraman says. “(Expletive) abuse.”

During the 21/2 minutes after the shooting until the end of the video, the backup officer lifts up Scott’s shirt to check his wounds. But no one immediately starts CPR.

The video ends with Slager standing next to Scott, who was still face down, and checking the dying man’s pulse.

Summey, the city’s mayor, said the cameraman handed over the footage to Scott’s family, who gave it to SLED. City officials reviewed it late Tuesday afternoon.

The mayor said that the case could have ended differently if it weren’t for the footage. But Summey said he couldn’t speculate about what would have happened.

“Without the video ... it would be difficult for us to ascertain exactly what did occur,” Summey said. “We want to thank the young person who came forward ... because it has helped us resolve the issue.”

North Charleston Pastor Nelson Rivers, who is a vice president in the Rev. Al Sharpton’s National Action Network, called the cameraman a “hero.”

Rivers said he was alarmed by the ease at which the officer shot Scott. He called it disturbing for the officer to show so little about “what life means.” He called it “sobering and evil.”

“If not for the video, we would still be following the narrative from the officer,” Rivers said. “If not for this video, the story would be entirely different.”

Councilwoman Dorothy Williams said the city’s handling of the episode showed “the people of America that the city of North Charleston is not going to do no cover-up.” But she also stressed the community role.

“I’m asking all the citizens of North Charleston,” she said, “to continue taping.”
« Last Edit: April 07, 2015, 07:18:09 PM by Bitter »

Online soccerman

« Reply #70 on: April 08, 2015, 08:50:13 AM »
That was sad and watching the video pissed me off. Some officers are seriously abusing their authority, it clearly didn't have to reach to that.

« Reply #71 on: April 08, 2015, 10:15:45 AM »
Do you know statistics on Police shootings in the USA are not accurately kept? You can find accurate stats on almost any thing except police shootings. Since Ferguson, a group has started tracking Police involved shooting.

For 2015 311 people (as of last week) were killed by Police
80% were Black of which 50% was unarmed.

Mapping Police Violence

« Reply #72 on: April 08, 2015, 10:31:11 AM »
That was sad and watching the video pissed me off. Some officers are seriously abusing their authority, it clearly didn't have to reach to that.

That pissed you off? Have you ever seen this
Tamir Rice 12 Years Old  (Graphic Video)

or this

John Crawford Wal Mart (Graphic Video) Police tried to get his girlfriend to say he had a gun when he walked into Wal Mart. They couldn't get her to say he had a gun because he did not. A couple weeks later she died in a mysterious car wreck.

how about this

California Highway Patrol (Graphic Video)

Online soccerman

« Reply #73 on: April 08, 2015, 11:34:25 AM »

That pissed you off? Have you ever seen this
Tamir Rice 12 Years Old  (Graphic Video)

or this

John Crawford Wal Mart (Graphic Video) Police tried to get his girlfriend to say he had a gun when he walked into Wal Mart. They couldn't get her to say he had a gun because he did not. A couple weeks later she died in a mysterious car wreck.

how about this

California Highway Patrol (Graphic Video)

Well with more of these videos surfacing, I'm seeing how prevalent this abuse is.

« Reply #74 on: April 08, 2015, 03:33:13 PM »
This is just the tip of the iceberg, and it's not all just black victims.

James Boyd

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/DngOL6LokN4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/DngOL6LokN4</a>

Jeannette Riley, pregnant mother of three, and with a history of mental illness.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/y6zLr3mYcFw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/y6zLr3mYcFw</a>

We posted about Richard Ramirez and James Shaw here

The list is lon... way too long.

« Reply #75 on: April 11, 2015, 11:05:47 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/65m_e_1yzQk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/65m_e_1yzQk</a>

« Reply #76 on: April 11, 2015, 01:13:09 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/65m_e_1yzQk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/65m_e_1yzQk</a>
normally i like to stay on the football topics but just to clear afew things up.  this man jesse lee peterson is one of the biggest and i mean biggest white apologist on the planet. for him white people could do no wrong especially when dealing with topics relating to african americans. there's nothing at all here to see, it's just uncle jesse tom or should i say coon of the century. don't know how you could listen to that painful encounter this guy depresses me sore. every time i see this feller i just have to skip over and move on to something a little more lightening, what can i say, he's the ultimate downer.

« Reply #77 on: April 12, 2015, 12:59:38 PM »
Check this latest shooting out. These Police just have a thirst for blood and they are running around unchecked.

The reserved Deputy who shot the victim is a wealthy "donor" who apparently gets ride alongs with the PD as a "thank you". He is 73 years old and supposedly mistakenly drew his gun instead of his taser. The victim was unarmed and ran. Listen to how the back up handled the scene.

https://twitter.com/deray/status/587111012668727296

« Reply #78 on: April 17, 2015, 10:54:57 AM »
Check this latest shooting out. These Police just have a thirst for blood and they are running around unchecked.

The reserved Deputy who shot the victim is a wealthy "donor" who apparently gets ride alongs with the PD as a "thank you". He is 73 years old and supposedly mistakenly drew his gun instead of his taser. The victim was unarmed and ran. Listen to how the back up handled the scene.

https://twitter.com/deray/status/587111012668727296

the news saying de richman didn't have de necessary training - that they forged his certificates to allow dis fellow to play deputy.

haven't read what the nra position is on this - the notion that people need actual training to use a gun responsibly.

still a tragedy.

« Reply #80 on: April 25, 2015, 02:51:36 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/dhJKyK6VqDI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/dhJKyK6VqDI</a>

« Reply #81 on: April 25, 2015, 04:17:06 PM »
Compare and Contrast ^^^vvv

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/lo9BSgBNxSA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/lo9BSgBNxSA</a>

« Reply #82 on: May 18, 2015, 05:01:59 PM »
Bakes as a Lawyer

Article

« Reply #83 on: May 18, 2015, 09:20:54 PM »
As shitty as it sounds I can't really disagree with her finding.  The first issue is whether the stop was justified and the fact that the officer thought Myers was the same kid who fled, that makes it justified.  The officer must have a reasonable basis for making the stop, meaning he must reasonably conclude that the person he's targeting committed a crime or is about to commit a crime.  Flight is not evidence of criminal conduct, but it gives police an excuse to chase and stop you.  This is why I always tell people don't run.  In light of everything, the decision to stop Myers has to be "reasonable" not perfect or accurate.

If the stop was reasonable, the next level of inquiry has to be whether the decision to force him to the ground was justified.  Needless to say, if the police believe they are justified in arresting you, they could take you to the ground by force.  So the decision to try and force him to the ground is permissible/legal.  To rule otherwise, the Prosecutor would have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the officer knew Myers wasn't the same person.  How could she prove that? So benefit of the doubt goes to the officer.

Once he put hands on the kid, the kid fought back... and I don't blame him... but it's a dangerous game to play.  Kid runs and eyewitnesses say there was a mutual gun-battle... the cop is entitled to defend himself, hence the shooting is justified on grounds of self defense.  All that stuff about mistaken identity... again, the cop only has to have a reasonable belief, he doesn't have to be right.

The fact that the shooting is justified mean's he won't face criminal prosecution, but the family could still sue.

« Reply #84 on: May 23, 2015, 10:37:12 AM »
#BreloTrial

Officer Brelo jumped on the hood of the car and fired 49 of 137 shots by police at 2 unarmed people in a car (after a car chase).

« Reply #85 on: May 24, 2015, 07:11:07 PM »
#BreloTrial

Officer Brelo jumped on the hood of the car and fired 49 of 137 shots by police at 2 unarmed people in a car (after a car chase).

Thought for sure there would be some kind of protest from the Cavs at today's game. Guess people care more about LeBron than this. Why bother.

« Reply #86 on: May 26, 2015, 12:59:28 PM »
SHOCK FOOTAGE: Man Suffering Stroke PEPPER SPRAYED & TASED by Police for Absolutely NO REASON!

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/zBPCn2H58O8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/zBPCn2H58O8</a>
« Last Edit: May 26, 2015, 01:03:58 PM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #87 on: May 26, 2015, 08:53:49 PM »
There is no way T&T Police worse than these people no way. These police just terrorizing innocent citizens and destroying lives carte blanche.

http://www.freedominourtime.blogspot.com/2015/05/pity-poor-stormtroopers-baby-bou-bou.html

« Reply #88 on: August 10, 2015, 10:02:28 AM »
ah hear they shoot one of michael brown frends last night in ferguson at the one year anniversary.

in related news, seattle #blacklivesmatter protestors bum rush bernie sanders off the stage at a community event. these protestors getting paid to derail sanders' campaign?

« Reply #89 on: August 11, 2015, 09:53:30 AM »

The police in these places have to understand they took an oath to be held at a higher standard than the average man or woman