April 28, 2024, 08:53:49 AM

Author Topic: 5 reasons to flee the U.S. for Canada  (Read 4602 times)

socafighter

5 reasons to flee the U.S. for Canada
« on: August 30, 2014, 08:04:35 AM »
5 reasons to flee the U.S. for Canada
Published: Aug 29, 2014 4:02 p.m. ET

Burger King followed Tim Horton’s across the border. Should you?
Shutterstock
Vancouver, British Columbia: It’s better than where you live.

By
QUENTIN
FOTTRELL
PERSONAL FINANCE REPORTER

Burger King BKW, +2.33% said this week that it will move its headquarters to Canada, after agreeing to buy bakery chain Tim Horton’s THI, +0.34% The move is move partly motivated by lower tax rates in Canada, but there are plenty of other reasons why Americans might want to follow.

Canada has the world’s best reputation internationally as a place to do business and live for the third consecutive year, according to the latest annual survey of more than 27,000 people around the world by the Reputation Institute, an international corporate advisory firm.

“Canada’s results confirm that it is only possible to maintain a strong reputation in the long-term when a country has the ability to transmit its leadership globally in each of the three key criteria: an effective government, an advanced economy, and an appealing environment,” Fernando Prado, a managing partner at Reputation Institute, said in a statement.

Economic wealth is only one factor that contributes to a country’s reputation. The study measures the reputation of 50 countries based on levels of trust, esteem, admiration and respect, as well as people’s perceptions related to other attributes that include a country being viewed as a safe place to visit, a beautiful country, having friendly and welcoming residents, passing progressive social and economic policies, and being run by an effective government. (The shutdown of the U.S. federal government last October, for instance, would have lost the U.S. some valuable points.)

Boston native Russell St. Cyr, a Montreal-based IT consultant, moved to Canada in 2008 from the U.K. with his Canadian wife and two children. It didn’t take him long to feel at home. “I am close to my family, with all the positive aspects of being on the Canadian side of the border,” he says. “It’s a manageable size for a country and there’s a sense of social cohesion that America lacks. I feel like I’m part of this manageable group that—by and large—gets along.”

St. Cyr, 46, also says Canadians aren’t obsessed with their Canadianness in the same way his compatriots south of the border obsess about being American. “Canadian pride is based on modesty and gratitude. American identity is based on being at the top of everything and being No. 1 in the world.” But he says the American entrepreneurial spirit is unique and enviable, and not just because Silicon Valley has become the de facto center of the world’s high-tech industry. “It really is a nation that generates ideas and wealth that are in some ways just staggering when compared to other countries.”

Vancouver Mayor Robertson: So confident, he’s practically American.
Canadians do have one thing in common with Americans: They don’t lack confidence. “Canada is an extraordinary country, and our vibrant, thriving cities give us the potential to be even greater,” Gregor Robertson, 48, mayor of Vancouver, told MarketWatch. “Our cultural diversity is one of our foremost strengths.” Vancouver, he says, plans to become the “greenest” or most energy-efficient city in the world by 2020. Bicycle paths are on the increase and designed to complement pedestrians and traffic, and cyclists must wear helmets by law in British Columbia. Perhaps coming a little late to the party, Vancouver plans to start a public bike share program in 2015.

I traveled to Vancouver this week for some rest and relaxation, encouraged by an Economist Intelligence Unit report ranking Vancouver as the third most livable city in the world. Two other Canadian cities—Toronto and Calgary—were ranked fourth and fifth. Vancouver was beaten only by Melbourne and Vienna. Adelaide, Sydney, Helsinki, Perth and Auckland were ranked 5 through 10. No American city made the top 10—not even San Francisco or Portland, Ore., two West Coast cities often praised for their quality of life. The Economist’s index takes into account factors like safety, health care, educational resources, infrastructure and the environment of 140 major cities around the world.

Here are 5 reasons to emigrate to Canada:

Less firearm-related homicide
The rate of homicide with firearms in the U.S. (3.2 per 100,000) is more than six times higher than in Canada (0.5 per 100,000), according to the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. In fact, the U.S. holds the dubious honor of outpacing most other developed countries in this category, including Norway and England and Wales (all 0.1 per 100,000); Australia, New Zealand and Germany (all 0.2 per 100,000); and the Netherlands (0.3 per 100,000).

One explanation for the differences may be that only licensed individuals can buy firearms in Canada. Licensing is a lengthy process that requires a safety course and exam, a 45-day wait to process an application involving a variety of background checks, and a minimum 28-day waiting period for those who don’t currently own a firearm. There are also bans on certain types of powerful handguns and magazines for automatic and semiautomatic firearms.

More socially progressive government
In the U.S., same-sex marriage is legal in 19 states and the District of Columbia. Couples who tie the knot in states that don’t allow it are still entitled to federal recognition of their marriage due to a Supreme Court ruling last year that struck down much of the federal Defense of Marriage Act. But Canada legalized same-sex marriage in 2005 at a federal level. When Canada’s Conservative Prime Minister Stephen Harper took office in 2006, he chose not to revisit same-sex marriage law, says author and Toronto-based gay rights activist Bert Archer. “That was the first time I really understood that Canadian and American political spectrums were entirely different things, and that Obama probably couldn’t get elected here—he’s way too right-wing.”

Universal health care
Given the confusing surrounding the impact of Obamacare on insurance premiums and the difficulty in its online rollout, it may be hard to believe that Canada has had universal health care since the 1960s through the Medical Care Act of 1966. Like many national health care systems, Canada’s isn't perfect. In Canada, patients have little to no financial burden, which has helped lengthen life expectancy and prevent disease, according to a 2014 report on health care by the Commonwealth Fund. But they too often experience long wait times for health-care services. The same report offered stinging criticism of the U.S. “The U.S. health care system is the most expensive in the world, but this report and prior editions consistently show the U.S. underperforms relative to other countries,” it said.

Generous parental leave
The U.S. is one of the few industrialized nations that doesn’t require paid family leave for new moms and dads. “There’s a much better government and cultural acceptance of parental leave here than in the U.S.,” says Wendy Roth, associated professor of sociology at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. Depending on the length of employment tenure and the number of hours worked in the preceding year, new moms in Canada can take 17 to 52 weeks of unpaid leave from their jobs. And Canada’s employment insurance plan offers 15 weeks of paid leave for moms, plus 35 additional weeks for either parent after the parent is born or adopted, at 55% pay, up to a maximum payment of about $485 a week. “It takes the burden off women and strengthens the bonds between fathers and their children,” Roth says.

Canadians are funny
There is a stereotype that Canadians are boring. Blame Peter Ustinov’s famous line: “Toronto is New York run by the Swiss.” But Canadians are funny. John Candy, Dan Aykroyd, Jim Carrey, Michael J. Fox, Howie Mandel, Mike Myers, Leslie Nielsen, Catherine O’Hara and, even, William Shatner all hailed from Canada. And it’s not just the professionals. Traveling on a packed bus along Davie Street in Vancouver on Tuesday evening, the driver told people waiting at the bus stop, “There will be another one along in a few seconds.” But as soon as the doors closed, he said, “I just made that up.” And at a branch of Tim Horton’s in Vancouver earlier this week, the sales assistant announced to a long line of confused customers, “Welcome to Burger King.”

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/5-reasons-to-flee-the-us-for-canada-2014-08-29
« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 02:23:44 PM by socafighter »

Re: 5 reasons to flee the U.S. for Canada
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2014, 08:07:44 AM »
Begging friend is never the way to convince people that yuh popular.

socafighter

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2014, 08:08:16 AM »
Chi Chin from Facebook
The average net wealth of middle class in Canada is higher than the average net wealth of middle class American. Yes in Canada, we do not have 401k. You are right. But we have the RRSP, OAS, CPP, OAS supplement income for retirement.

Kevin Rattray from Facebook

SSSSHHHH!!! Dont't let the secret out. Signed, Every Canadian.

Peter Corbyn from Facebook
Ok...read on - proud to be a Canadian.

Michael Tsevi from Facebook
americans, stay where you are. lol

socafighter

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2014, 08:14:07 AM »

Who is begging ?...???

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2014, 10:16:57 AM »

Who is begging ?...???

The more you have to sell people on why you are better the less persuasive you sound.  Must be that perennial inferiority complex.  Burger King moving it's headquarter operations to Canada is cause for celebration... now this.  Seems like Canada is trying awfully hard to be relevant.

socafighter

« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2014, 10:43:31 AM »

Who is begging ?...???

The more you have to sell people on why you are better the less persuasive you sound.  Must be that perennial inferiority complex.  Burger King moving it's headquarter operations to Canada is cause for celebration... now this.  Seems like Canada is trying awfully hard to be relevant.

Say what ...

Burger King is moving to Canada to benefit its shareholders based on laws that will improve
this entity bottom line..how is that begging  or relevant, You have me puzzled ???

The only citizens who claim to be number one in any thing are the Americans. this  I have found in over decades of discussions..yet over half haven't travelled abroad .
In Congress a decade or so ago less that 10 % who were elected never travelled outside the United States . Listen to some of  tirades in Congress about how great the USA is ...

Please read the article again , the writer is quoting other's who are not Canadian about various
studies done with 50 countries world wide and how Canada ranks ...

I fail to see where begging is acknowledged in this article or is it your assumption..???

« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 10:45:56 AM by socafighter »

« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2014, 11:02:10 AM »
5 reasons why socafighter flee TnT to live in Canada
1 she could enjoy independence
Could live without locking up and having bars on every window
Could get ah taxi anytime of the night
Eh have to fraud to drive in certain parts of  town
Could get government support regardless of name or ethnicity

socafighter

« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2014, 11:10:02 AM »
5 reasons why socafighter flee TnT to live in Canada
1 she could enjoy independence
Could live without locking up and having bars on every window
Could get ah taxi anytime of the night
Eh have to fraud to drive in certain parts of  town
Could get government support regardless of name or ethnicity

Hahahaha    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Wrong...

Born in T&T , Palmiste Estates ..before Bas moved in... :rotfl:
I was living in France ..Canadian Government offered me a Contract .
Met aTrini ..married now have 4 kids
We do have security at home..
Some areas of Ottawa not safe be be in after dark...
Discrimination still exists ..( I am white /Scottish ..hubby East Indian )
I enjoy T&T Independence more than Canada's ..

Ah gats a T&T flag flying at the cottage in Kingston Today ...bet you doh have one flying today ... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 11:16:14 AM by socafighter »

« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2014, 11:14:04 AM »
Wrong my flag flying daily happy independence- tub experiences as a TNT local will always be a vicarious one until yuh born live dey and experience  living in the hills on POS

« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2014, 11:22:43 AM »

Say what ...

Burger King is moving to Canada to benefit its shareholders based on laws that will improve
this entity bottom line..how is that begging  or relevant, You have me puzzled ???

The only citizens who claim to be number one in any thing are the Americans. this  I have found in over decades of discussions..yet over half haven't travelled abroad .
In Congress a decade or so ago less that 10 % who were elected never travelled outside the United States . Listen to some of  tirades in Congress about how great the USA is ...

Please read the article again , the writer is quoting other's who are not Canadian about various

I fail to see where begging is acknowledged in this article or is it your assumption..???

"Begging friend is never the way to convince people that yuh popular."

It's a clear analogy... one which flew over your head.  One can't claim popularity by trying to ingratiate themselves into the graces of others (then relying on that as the basis of their popularity).  Similarly, Canadians (at least the ones on this forum) seem quite happy to trumpet Burger King's pending relocation to Canada.  I have no idea why you felt the need to explain the obvious about Burger King's bottom line... but maybe someone would find that useful.  Then this article pretty much states "here are five reasons why you should choose to live in Canada rather than the U.S."  The article is trying very hard to make Canada relevant... seeing that nobody ever talks about Canada, but Canadians.  The analogy to the "begging friend" example is that your popularity should speak for itself... if you have to tout yourself to convince people why they should choose Canada over the US, then it all begins to smell a little bit like desperation.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 11:58:16 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2014, 12:19:02 PM »
sound like the canadian dream ent? lol

socafighter

« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2014, 02:25:13 PM »

Say what ...

"Begging friend is never the way to convince people that yuh popular."

It's a clear analogy... one which flew over your head.  One can't claim popularity by trying to ingratiate themselves into the graces of others (then relying on that as the basis of their popularity).  Similarly, Canadians (at least the ones on this forum) seem quite happy to trumpet Burger King's pending relocation to Canada.  I have no idea why you felt the need to explain the obvious about Burger King's bottom line... but maybe someone would find that useful.  Then this article pretty much states "here are five reasons why you should choose to live in Canada rather than the U.S."  The article is trying very hard to make Canada relevant... seeing that nobody ever talks about Canada, but Canadians.  The analogy to the "begging friend" example is that your popularity should speak for itself... if you have to tout yourself to convince people why they should choose Canada over the US, then it all begins to smell a little bit like desperation.

The author states this following in his opening statement ...then

The move is move partly motivated by lower tax rates in Canada, but there are plenty of other reasons why Americans might want to follow.

He then follows up with his best reasons ..

Canada has the world’s best reputation internationally as a place to do business and live for the third consecutive year, according to the latest annual survey of more than 27,000 people around the world by the Reputation Institute, an international corporate advisory firm.

“Canada’s results confirm that it is only possible to maintain a strong reputation in the long-term when a country has the ability to transmit its leadership globally in each of the three key criteria: an effective government, an advanced economy, and an appealing environment,” Fernando Prado, a managing partner at Reputation Institute, said in a statement.

Economic wealth is only one factor that contributes to a country’s reputation. The study measures the reputation of 50 countries based on levels of trust, esteem, admiration and respect, as well as people’s perceptions related to other attributes that include a country being viewed as a safe place to visit, a beautiful country, having friendly and welcoming residents, passing progressive social and economic policies, and being run by an effective government.

St. Cyr, 46, also says Canadians aren’t obsessed with their Canadianness in the same way his compatriots south of the border obsess about being American. “Canadian pride is based on modesty and gratitude. American identity is based on being at the top of everything and being No. 1 in the world.”

I traveled to Vancouver this week for some rest and relaxation, encouraged by an Economist Intelligence Unit report ranking Vancouver as the third most livable city in the world. Two other Canadian cities—Toronto and Calgary—were ranked fourth and fifth. Vancouver was beaten only by Melbourne and Vienna. Adelaide, Sydney, Helsinki, Perth and Auckland were ranked 5 through 10. No American city made the top 10—not even San Francisco or Portland, Ore., two West Coast cities often praised for their quality of life. The Economist’s index takes into account factors like safety, health care, educational resources, infrastructure and the environment of 140 major cities around the world.

Can you show me where any Canadian is begging ...
only one Canadian made this statement
Vancouver Mayor Robertson: So confident, he’s practically American.

The author again...writes in an american publication...
Canadians do have one thing in common with Americans: They don’t lack confidence.

Reputation Institute is the world's leading reputation management consultancy, enabling leaders to make more confident business decisions that build and protect reputation capital and drive competitive advantage.

As a Canadian ...I fail to see your assertion....  :rotfl:

« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 02:27:37 PM by socafighter »

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2014, 05:25:21 PM »
Don't study Bakes, he's used to living under bridges and scaring sheep.

socafighter

« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2014, 05:51:15 PM »

Tire ..
Thats funny
hahahaha... :rotfl:

« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2014, 09:02:55 AM »
Socafighter, Re your time in France: were you in a large city? Are the demographics changing as rapidly as the news suggests? Particularly Re: Islamic population

« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2014, 10:24:08 AM »
As a Canadian ...I fail to see your assertion....  :rotfl:

As a 'Canadian'... I suggest you ask a Trinidadian the meaning of "begging friend".  Once properly edified, I next suggest you look up the definition of 'analogy.'  (Hint, an analogous reference isn't intended as a literal reference.)  Your final challenge would then be to contemplate how the analogy of "begging friend" relates to the trumpeting of Canada as a superior alternative to the US.

« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2014, 10:27:43 AM »

Shame too, Canada is a fine enough country in its own right without, the inferiority complex of some of its citizens.

Yes, and in your brief time on the forum you have proved yourself quite the sheep.

socafighter

« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2014, 10:31:18 AM »
Socafighter, Re your time in France: were you in a large city? Are the demographics changing as rapidly as the news suggests? Particularly Re: Islamic population

ribbit

I left T&T in 1968/69 for Paris,France ( lived with my Aunt and her family) and was educated
in Paris. In 1921 Paris had a population of approx 3 million , in 2009 census it was about half
a million less. One must also look at the expansion of the city and is considered one of the most populated cities in the World today.

Due to a law dating from 1872, the French Republic prohibits performing census by making distinction between its citizens regarding their race or their beliefs.

The Paris "aire urbaine" region is estimated to be home to some 1.7 million Muslims,  10–15 per cent of the area's population. However, no official data exists.An estimated 310,000 Jews also live in  Île-de-France region, an area with a population of 11.7 million . Paris has historically been a magnet for immigrants.

Although a few Muslim subjects immigrated to France even before 1914, substantial numbers came only with the Great War. Three hundred thousand North Africans were drafted, two-thirds as soldiers in various units of colonial troops  and one-third as workers in the armament industry. Many were killed or died of disease, others were forcibly sent home after 1918, but more than eighty thousand stayed in France.
Their presence won symbolic recognition in 1920, when parliament passed a law funding a Great Mosque in Paris a law that directly contradicted the 1905 law prohibiting public funding for religious organizations.

1962-1974, with government approval and under government supervision, a booming French industry hired half a million migrant workers  from Algeria and Morocco but also from Tunisia. they stayed in France...

1973, the total North African population of France in all probability had exceeded one million. When Valery Giscard d'Estaing became president of the republic in May 1974, he was quite concerned about this number, he tried to reverse the trend.

The efforts of Giscard d'Estaing brought about another dramatic increase in Muslim population,  by 1981, when François Mitterrand became president, some 2 million North African Muslims lived in France. They were either French citizens themselves or the parents of French citizens. French Islam reached a critical mass at this time, becoming a permanent element of French national life.

Islam is the second-most widely practiced religion in France behind Roman Catholicism by number of worshippers ,estimated total of 5 to 10 percent of the national population.

The first generation of Muslim immigrants, who are today mostly retired from the workforce, kept strong ties with their countries, where their families lived. In 1976,the government passed a law allowing families of these immigrants to settle; thus, many children and wives moved to France. Most immigrants,  asked for French nationality before quietly retiring. Many live alone in housing projects, having now lost their ties with their countries of origin.

The situation was different with the "second generation", born in France, and as such French citizens by jus soli influenced law. As such, they cannot be designated "immigrants", since they were born on national territory.

The demographics have changed since I migrated to Canada , when I do return to visit cousins.
The assimilation is hardly noticeable since they speak French and not Arabic. They are discriminated against and the younger generation born on French soil are demanding equal opportunities .

One cannot use the Islamic population as changing demographics ..no data exists and legally
they are French Citizens.

socafighter

« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2014, 10:34:37 AM »

Shame too, Canada is a fine enough country in its own right without, the inferiority complex of some of its citizens.

Yes, and in your brief time on the forum you have proved yourself quite the sheep.

Did you read this...

St. Cyr, 46, also says Canadians aren’t obsessed with their Canadianness in the same way his compatriots south of the border obsess about being American. “Canadian pride is based on modesty and gratitude. American identity is based on being at the top of everything and being No. 1 in the world.”

If you did your statement makes no sense...where is this complex you speak about...???

socafighter

« Reply #19 on: August 31, 2014, 10:41:27 AM »

As a 'Canadian'... I suggest you ask a Trinidadian the meaning of "begging friend".  Once properly edified, I next suggest you look up the definition of 'analogy.'  (Hint, an analogous reference isn't intended as a literal reference.)  Your final challenge would then be to contemplate how the analogy of "begging friend" relates to the trumpeting of Canada as a superior alternative to the US.

Tiresais may have some points about you ...

Why would I ask a Trinidadian anything about this thread..???

Do you have a problem with reading and assimilation ?
Your notations are failing to register the gist of what the author is saying...

« Reply #20 on: August 31, 2014, 11:25:29 AM »

Tiresais may have some points about you ...

Why would I ask a Trinidadian anything about this thread..???

Do you have a problem with reading and assimilation ?
Your notations are failing to register the gist of what the author is saying...

As I said he's trolling - whenever something tangentially related to his ego is mentioned it's all-out war

« Reply #21 on: September 01, 2014, 07:19:49 PM »
Thanks socafighter.

There was a poll conducted recently gauging support for the Islamic State (IS) that sweeping through Syria and Iraq. USA, UK had at most 4%. France had 16%. Surprising.

socafighter

« Reply #22 on: September 01, 2014, 07:41:59 PM »
Thanks socafighter.

There was a poll conducted recently gauging support for the Islamic State (IS) that sweeping through Syria and Iraq. USA, UK had at most 4%. France had 16%. Surprising.

ribbit

You know , it might be about 20 % if they count the the Islamic individuals born in France .
They are legally French Citizens , not Islamic immigrants .

I must also note to you that about 20% of French Citizens are concerned about such growing numbers and their French Language . With most of the new French Citizens they speak numerous languages often by passing French in most transactions. ie if one was to shop in an
Islamic section of Paris , Arabic is the language of choice .

What really hurts is the wine industry , with such a large population not drinking alcohol , the
once prosperous industry is facing a downturn. This and radical extremists of the French language are causing problem in France .

Its similar to what we have in Canada , in Quebec the majority speaks a broken French .
The rest of Canada speaks English , Quebec french population are scared they will lose their
language and culture . Yet it has existed for almost 300 years.

« Reply #23 on: September 02, 2014, 04:59:04 AM »

Anytime Canada come up ah does tink Ben Johnson

socafighter

« Reply #24 on: September 02, 2014, 05:23:11 AM »

Anytime Canada come up ah does tink Ben Johnson

Yes he got shafted , as Lewis got a free ride.... :cursing: