April 20, 2024, 08:22:04 AM

Author Topic: 2014 SSFL Premier & Championship Division Fixtures‏.  (Read 46889 times)

Offline diamondtrim

Re: Woo Ling shines on debut as St Anthony’s whips St Augustine
« Reply #60 on: September 20, 2014, 07:39:44 PM »
I've said it before.....its a reason why our young talents are stunted in their football growth and of course it affects our senior national teams......the lure of the SSFL is greater and stronger than turning pro, playing for your club or even playing for your country.

The Woo Ling boy is on the national u20 team, was once touted as one of the best youth players around, and he's 18 years old....why is he running down SSFL???? How will playing against 15,16,17 yr olds benefit him??

Carry on.....

« Reply #61 on: September 20, 2014, 09:35:02 PM »
Wasn't he playing for a club in Texas?

« Reply #62 on: September 20, 2014, 11:26:30 PM »
If anyone of allyuh did not play Intercol, then I can understand why you all are perplexed by Woo Ling's decision.  The boy is ah ball-jumbie. Let the boy enjoy the football, nah.

Re: 2014 SSFL Premier & Championship Division Fixtures‏.
« Reply #63 on: September 21, 2014, 06:22:03 AM »
No stopping Tigers - St Anthony’s claim sixth straight win.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Runaway league leader St Anthony’s recorded a 3–0 away win over St Augustine Secondary, yesterday, thanks to a brace from top scorer Kwesi Allen, who helped seal a sixth straight win in the BGTT Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) at St Augustine Ground.

Following a goalless first half, St Anthony’s, missing a few key players, stuck to the task to eventually win by a comfortable margin. Soon after the break, Adriel Kerr gave St Anthony’s the lead, before Allen smashed the double with goals midway through the second half and close to the final whistle.

With the win, St Anthony’s holds a five point advantage over second-placed St Benedict’s which leaped over St Mary’s. St Benedict’s dropped Fatima College 3–1, while St Mary’s played to a 1–1 draw against Carapichaima. The Saints remain unbeaten after six matches, but recorded as many draws as wins this season.

Results

St Anthony’s 3 (Adriel Kerr, Kwesi Allen 2) vs St Augustine 0

St Benedict’s 3 vs Fatima 1

San Jaun North 3 (Jamille Britto 32nd, Brent Sam 72nd, 85th) vs Shiva Boys 2 (Marvin Seuradge 45th, Quinn Rodney 65th)

Naparima 6 (Stephon Smith 12th, Nicholas Dillon 13th, 45th, Nicholas Thomas 31st, Shane Sandy 84th) vs Arima North 1 (Jeremiah Kezar 87th)

Trinity East 3 (Deshawn Edwards 23rd, Tyrik John 31st, Atiba Lucas 82nd) vs Presentation 0

St Mary’s 1 vs Carapichaima 1

Chaguanas North 2 (Louis Johnson 67th, 75th) vs East Mucurapo 1 (Eshaq Abdulllah 88th)

Standings

Teams Pld W D L F A Pts
St Anthony’s 6 6 0 0 20 5 18
St Benedict’s 6 4 1 1 10 5 13
St Mary’s 6 3 3 0 9 3 12
Naparima 6 4 0 2 12 8 12
Trinity East 6 3 2 1 11 8 11
San Juan North 6 3 0 3 15 10 9
St Augustine 6 2 2 2 9 11 8
Arima North 6 2 2 2 10 13 7
Shiva Boys 6 2 0 4 11 9 6
Presentation S/do 6 2 0 4 9 12 6
Carapichaima East 6 1 3 2 7 9 6
Fatima 6 1 2 3 6 14 5
Chaguanas North 6 1 1 4 3 11 4
East Mucurapo 6 0 1 5 3 11 1

« Reply #64 on: September 21, 2014, 06:49:08 AM »
San Juan rally past Shiva Boys
St Anthony’s stretch Premier Div lead
By Kern De Freitas (Express).

The 2014 BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) Premier Division has proved that home advantage isn’t always a guarantee of victory.

But San Juan North Secondary used it well yesterday to rally through to a 3-2 win over Shiva Boys Hindu College in muddy conditions at Bourg Mulatresse yesterday.

In the second half, the home team had to come from behind against the school from Penal after taking the lead on either side of halftime, before lanky striker Brent Sam slotted home from the penalty spot to seal a morale-boosting victory.

Before that, Jermell Britto gave San Juan a lead they held for 14 minutes, before Sam provided the all-important equaliser in the second period with a rocket of a free kick. Shiva scored through an equaliser from Rodney Quinn on the stroke of halftime, and a go-ahead goal from their skipper, Marvin Seuradge.

Both sides made errors in the back and did not always put away their chances, which made for an entertaining encounter. But San Juan were rallied by a fair-sized home crowd that came out in vocal support of their spunky team.

Shiva Boys ended a tough week with a feeling of déjà vu after they let slip another away match in similar fashion to their defeat to St Anthony’s College at Westmoorings on Wednesday. They twice went ahead against the Tigers, and also conceded a second-half penalty.

San Juan are not known for their fast starts, but they had a better first half against Shiva Boys. Both teams play a physical game, and it meant a see-saw contest.

The hosts went ahead in the 32nd minute through a powerful strike by Britto that nestled sweetly in the back of Shiva goalkeeper Denzil Smith’s net. But just when they thought they would head to the locker room in the lead, Quinn stepped up to level, nodding home to the excitement of his teammates.

Seuradge sent his team further ahead on the hour, taking advantage of the rebound from Yohannes Richardson’s initial blast that he chipped in cheekily, with a bit of help from San Juan goalkeeper Sterling Sween.

The match turned in the 72nd when Sam got on the scoresheet, driving a wicked free kick from beyond 30 metres past Smith, albeit after a bit of a deflection.

Sam sealed the contest after Shiva Boys conceded a penalty and Simeon De Bourgh earned himself and instant trip to the showers in the 87th. Sam stepped up, and that was all she wrote.

At the top of the table, St Anthony’s College stretched their lead atop the Premier League standings by one point with a 3-0 win away to St Augustine Secondary after St Mary’s College, previously second, were held 1-1 for the third time in four matches.

St Benedict’s College slipped in behind the “Tigers” of St Anthony’s after easing past Fatima College 3-1 at Fatima’s Mucurapo Road ground.

Yesterday’s SSFL Results

Premier Division

St Augustine 0 v St Anthony’s 3 (Adriel Kerr, Kwesi Allen 2)

San Juan North 3 (Brent Sam 2-72nd, 85th (penalty Jermell Britto 32nd) v Shiva Boys 2 (Marvin Seuradge 60th, Rodney Quinn 45th) 

Naparima 6 (Nicholas Dillon 2, Stephon Smith, Shane Sandy, Nicholas Thomas, Jeremiah Kezar) v Arima North 1

St Mary’s 1 (Aaron Noel) v Carapichaima East 1

Fatima 1 v St Benedict’s 3 (Levi Crawford, Shaquille Williams, Shemar Ravello)

Presentation 0 v Trinity East 3

Chaguanas North 2 v East Mucurapo 1 (Ishaq Abdullah 90th )

Tobago Zone

Scarborough 1 v Goodwood 0

Pentecostal L&L 4 v Bishop’s High 2

Signal Hill 5 v Roxborough 2

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #65 on: September 21, 2014, 07:00:28 AM »

If anyone of allyuh did not play Intercol, then I can understand why you all are perplexed by Woo Ling's decision.  The boy is ah ball-jumbie. Let the boy enjoy the football, nah.

Come on Deeks....being a ball jumbie is not an excuse.....If the boy has no serious thoughts about furthering his football career then by all means its fine to run down schools league...

Offline socalion

« Reply #66 on: September 21, 2014, 10:18:57 AM »
While many may  question / query  matthew woo ling's decision  to play college league  football ,  viewing his decision as negatively impacting  his game , there are positives  i believe in him choosing  to  do so .... namely  continuing his education , while doing what he enjoys , which is playing his favorite sport  and remaining active before   rejoining his fellow team mates  to continue preparations  for the final rounds of world cup qualifying in jamaica........ i say lend support to  the young man  let him play his football .... N.B matthew woo ling will decide  his career path whether its football or otherwise ..  wishing him  the very best , hopefully  he  stays injury free ......

« Reply #67 on: September 21, 2014, 04:14:59 PM »
Steupsss. I thought this was an old thread that was re-opened. This is Woo Ling's 2nd year playing for the Tigers...... It is his first game of the season because he was with the National Team...... There is no story here let us please move on..

« Reply #68 on: September 24, 2014, 02:02:24 AM »
Trinity East leap into second.
T&T Express Reports.

The top two teams did not play yesterday in the BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) because of a waterlogged outfield, and Trinity College East took full advantage of the situation to leap into second.

Leaders St Anthony’s College could not host San Juan North Secondary at Westmoorings, while Chaguanas North and previously second placed St Benedict’s College had a similar problem.

Trinity made full use of their home advantage when they whipped cellar-placed East Mucurapo 4-1 at Trincity. By the time Travell Edwards got on the score sheets for Mucurapo in the 73rd minute, Trinity were already three goals to the good and cantering home.

But St Mary’s College slipped to fifth after being beaten by Shiva Boys Hindu College, while Naparima College were held 2-2 by St Augustine Secondary at St Augustine and stayed third.

Shiva Boys Hindu College finally broke their string of bad luck, reversing 3-2 losses in their last two matches against St Anthony’s and San Juan to win by the same scoreline against St Mary’s College at Guaracara Park in Pointe a Pierre.

National under 20 player Levi Garcia, just back from helping T&T lift the regional title, sealed the match in the 79th after the teams were locked at 2-2.

St Mary’s looked to be giving their ‘hosts’ a nightmare after Chinua Bernard scored with virtually the first kick of the game, but Shiva Boys came storming back through captain Marvin Seuradge to draw level.

After halftime Quinn Rodney put Shiva ahead for the first time before Rickel Dixon equalised for Shiva Boys, but then Garcia ended that discussion.

Fatima College got a much-needed boost, a lone item from Shane Scott leading them to a 1-0 win away to Arima North Secondary and Carapichaima East Secondary edged Presentation College San Fernando by the same scoreline.

Yesterday’s SSFL Premier Division scores:

Trinity East 4 vs East Mucurapo 1

St Augustine 2 (Keishawn Marcellin 38th, Brandon Reyes 54th) vs Naparima 2 (Marteion Watson 44th, Jabari Mitchell 89th)

St Anthony’s vs San Juan North (did not play)

St Benedict’s vs Chaguanas North (did not play)

Shiva Boys 3 (Marvin Seuradge 4th, Quinn Rodney 53rd, Levi Garcia 79th) vs St Mary’s 2 (Chinua Bernard 1st, Rickel Dixon 57th)

Carapichaima East Secondary 1 (Dominic Rivas 57th) vs Presentation San Fernando 0

Arima 0 vs Fatima 1 (Shane Scott 33rd)

Yesterday’s SSFL Championship Division scores:

North Zone

Trinity 13 vs Diego Martin 0

QRC 4 vs Malick 1

Tranquillity 6 vs Diego Martin Central 1

East Zone

Barataria 2 vs Five Rivers 2

Arima Central vs El Dorado East (cancelled; Arima Central has withdrawn from competition)

Central

ASJA 1 vs Vishnu Boys 0

Presentation Chaguanas vs Couva East (cancelled; officials arrived too late)

Tabaquite/Miracle Ministries-cancelled (unfit ground)

Tobago

Goodwood 0 vs Speyside 5

Roxborough 1 vs Scarbrough 1

Bishop’s High 1 vs Signal Hill 4

« Reply #69 on: September 24, 2014, 03:36:15 PM »
Naps have like 4 national under 20 players and getting wood.

How come we under 20 players playing in de SSFL and they also play Pro football?

« Reply #70 on: September 25, 2014, 06:36:09 AM »
all ah them gone back  to playing school boy football lol ...............

« Reply #71 on: September 25, 2014, 07:08:29 AM »
Fact is...the best supported league in the country is SSFL. Plus the status (locally) for dominating would have its appeal. SSFL is for pips...and in years to come....people eh go talk about PFL the way they would talk about SSFL. Sad fact.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #72 on: September 25, 2014, 08:03:26 AM »
Ah can tell it not pleasant to look at ... buh lehme see wha de standings look like ...

« Reply #73 on: September 25, 2014, 08:10:28 AM »

How come we under 20 players playing in de SSFL and they also play Pro football?

Some clubs use SSFL so their youngsters can get match practice.

However, there has always been a tendency for young players to breach their contracts and leave Pro League clubs to go back to school.
This is why I dislike school football in T&T.
While other nations nurture their 16-19 year olds to play at the highest level, ours go back to sub standard football and coaching.

We have had inquiries from one of Belgium's top 3 clubs about Garcia. Now he's playing school football again!
I don't understand the fascination for playing school football over a professional career. 
Last year we gave a player a choice: Go to the Bolton Wanderers academy or play school football. He chose school football. Now he's too old to go to the academy and missed an opportunity never to be repeated.

Imagine Dwight Yorke saying no to Aston Villa because he wanted to play intercol!

This crop of U20's is essential to the Pro League to bring supporters to games. We criticise the govt and corporate T&T for not taking professional football seriously, yet the coaches, players and supporters won't support the Pro League!

Does anybody here really think that it's better preparation for playing against Mexico and USA to be playing against 15 year olds and training twice a week or playing against senior national team players and seasoned professional men and training 5 times per week?

And then if we perform poorly in the U20's, we will be saying that our talent is not good enough. It is good enough, but it's their attitude and preparation that's poor.

« Reply #74 on: September 25, 2014, 08:14:41 AM »
Fact is...the best supported league in the country is SSFL. Plus the status (locally) for dominating would have its appeal. SSFL is for pips...and in years to come....people eh go talk about PFL the way they would talk about SSFL. Sad fact.

Would all those children go to games if they had to pay? Freeness is always well supported. Plus, they just walk out of the classroom and the game is there. I'm sure that if ProLeague played on the school field at 4pm, it too would be well supported. And why don't these "football supporters" follow their heroes careers in the Pro League and the National teams?

« Reply #75 on: September 25, 2014, 09:09:13 AM »

Would all those children go to games if they had to pay? Freeness is always well supported. Plus, they just walk out of the classroom and the game is there. I'm sure that if ProLeague played on the school field at 4pm, it too would be well supported. And why don't these "football supporters" follow their heroes careers in the Pro League and the National teams?

The paying isnt the issue. The support and atmosphere is. That comes as a result of the pride and attachment to your school. Years after...rivalry and passion exists. Why? Because in truth and in fact the crowd are stakeholders and feel like that. That isnt the fault of the PFL. What the PFL needs to find is a way to engender those same degrees of attachment and sentiment to garner the support.

Look a man say it here:

The crowd for the st Mary's game was shocking. More than pro league. Love this format.

You know what it is all the past students and friends coming back to support a team? Obviously the crowd support would be more. Why is football in England supported so passionately? Is the same concept.

Intercol is a strange thing. Just as you said people will chose it over going to a professional opportunity. Why? The emotions. It not logical..it not practical...it not good for development..but it happens. Worse yet with this format.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 09:11:43 AM by Bourbon »
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #76 on: September 25, 2014, 10:04:58 AM »

The paying isnt the issue. The support and atmosphere is. That comes as a result of the pride and attachment to your school. Years after...rivalry and passion exists. Why? Because in truth and in fact the crowd are stakeholders and feel like that. That isnt the fault of the PFL. What the PFL needs to find is a way to engender those same degrees of attachment and sentiment to garner the support.

Look a man say it here:

The crowd for the st Mary's game was shocking. More than pro league. Love this format.

You know what it is all the past students and friends coming back to support a team? Obviously the crowd support would be more. Why is football in England supported so passionately? Is the same concept.

Intercol is a strange thing. Just as you said people will chose it over going to a professional opportunity. Why? The emotions. It not logical..it not practical...it not good for development..but it happens. Worse yet with this format.

I hear you, but I went to see St Anthonys vs Caripichaima. I doubt if there was more than 50 people watching.

« Reply #77 on: September 25, 2014, 10:33:05 AM »
Them men want to go back and play in de SSFL for they could shine and bull gal.

They throwing away they life and then they does bawl Yorke lucky.

Once you go Pro you should not be allowed to go back to School.

All of our under 20 players should be playing Pro Football.

Look at Woo Ling, wasting he time playing in de SSFL for the past year now de player he was suppose to be does exsist.

Yorke have to get big respect, at 16, de man went and never look back and look how successful we became.

Latas too.

« Reply #78 on: September 25, 2014, 11:07:34 AM »
Doh worry nah man, in a couple years when we cyah beat St. Barts men go want to know what went wrong. let we U20 players play HS while the US players are in Pro(MLS) academies. Say what Kings of CFU.

« Reply #79 on: September 25, 2014, 01:57:46 PM »

Some clubs use SSFL so their youngsters can get match practice.

However, there has always been a tendency for young players to breach their contracts and leave Pro League clubs to go back to school.
This is why I dislike school football in T&T.
While other nations nurture their 16-19 year olds to play at the highest level, ours go back to sub standard football and coaching.

We have had inquiries from one of Belgium's top 3 clubs about Garcia. Now he's playing school football again!
I don't understand the fascination for playing school football over a professional career. 
Last year we gave a player a choice: Go to the Bolton Wanderers academy or play school football. He chose school football. Now he's too old to go to the academy and missed an opportunity never to be repeated.

Imagine Dwight Yorke saying no to Aston Villa because he wanted to play intercol!

This crop of U20's is essential to the Pro League to bring supporters to games. We criticise the govt and corporate T&T for not taking professional football seriously, yet the coaches, players and supporters won't support the Pro League!

Does anybody here really think that it's better preparation for playing against Mexico and USA to be playing against 15 year olds and training twice a week or playing against senior national team players and seasoned professional men and training 5 times per week?

And then if we perform poorly in the U20's, we will be saying that our talent is not good enough. It is good enough, but it's their attitude and preparation that's poor.

the federation can put something in place that will force national team players to only train with the proleague clubs once selected for national duty ....
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 02:00:16 PM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #80 on: September 25, 2014, 04:20:09 PM »
FS, Sam, Elan, Trini, I understand the "pain" we going thru. But unless TTFA and/or the clubs coordinate and put their foot down, nothing will change. And I can see lawsuits flying left, right and center against these two entities trying to prevent them from playing school football.

And TTFA is not in any position to declare any mandate on who could play with whom, where and when. When I said that the clubs need to form their own schools or partner with some private school, no one seem to take that seriously. Most of these players are sitting the fence on this issue. They want to play pro. But the college atmosphere is hard to resist. I am telling you guys, playing in front of 5 to 10 thousand fans(free or paid) for school football gives the player that passion for the game. Is like FA, CL, league cup. You may never experience that again in life. When you play intercol(especially on a winning team), sometimes is a big letdown going to play club football. mostly invisible people for the entire season. That is a dissapointment, though.

FS, the kid who turn down the offer to go to the acadamy, well, what can we say? He was/is not ready or will not be ready for prime time football. Unfortunate. It may be a blessing in disguise that the offer was not accepted.

« Reply #81 on: September 25, 2014, 05:40:14 PM »
Just to be clear, I have no problem with school football per se. It is very useful in a players development if part of a coordinated programme. For many 16 and 17 year olds it is a useful tool for professional clubs to give their youngsters competitive matches to play in.

However, for special talents like the U20 players, I believe it is not helpful.

And we must be honest here, a lot of the concern is financial. Clubs want the best talent so that they can sell them. This income will allow professional clubs to continue and therefore develop a national player pool.
But I truly believe that a club has a better chance of finding a decent move for a young player. But if the player is not attending training or missing pro league games to play school football, his chances of securing a decent move will diminish.

I believe TTFA have a role to play. They could bring in a rule that once a player signs a professional contract, he can no longer play school football. He can, of course, attend school for educational purposes.

Also, the maximum age to play football should be 17 (preferably 16 with each school allowed to sign 2 17 year olds). The national U20's will be playing against players who play against grown men week in, week out, while our lads are playing against youths.

For too long this issue has never been aggressively tackled and perhaps now is the time.

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #82 on: September 25, 2014, 08:24:46 PM »
Most kids play football in form 6 to increase their chances of Scholarships. An upper 6 student will probably be 19..sometimes 20.

The rule should be, If you are attached to a pro league club you are not allowed to play SSFL. You can still go to school as FS said for educational purposes.

I cannot believe Levi Garcia is playing SSFL after a promising U20 tournament. He should be training with the first team squad at Central FC in a pro environment trying to break into the squad for the upcoming season.

I think he just turned 17..he is running out of time to get to an academy before it's too late. We will suffer with work permit issues in UK for the foreseeable future.
I am sure the gameplan for Central is to get him into a decent academy, hope he breaks through and include a sell on clause for the future.

I am surprised we have not gone one local talent to Dennis Lawrence yet. Everton would be brilliant for a player like Levi Garcia but so would Swansea or Wigan where Dennis has huge respect. Dennis also spent a season at Crewe Alexandra and they have a brilliant academy.

F.S did you guys speak to Levi about participating in SSFL? Did Vranes not want him to be part of the first team squad and use his hype to get supporters to be intrigued for the new season?

I could understand the likes of Nick Dillon going to play with Naps as he was not a regular for the u20 and not on the first team of Central yet.

It's really time to make a u23 league for the Pro League and invite Super League teams that have the roster to field both a senior and U23 team and create a Professional Development League with the aim of 18-23 year olds(special talented 15-17 year olds too, example Levi) playing week in week out attached to clubs and developing at a higher level than playing 3 months a year in SSFL football where the standard is beyond terrible and the coaching laughable.

Pro League clubs should have U14, U16, U18 and PDL U23 teams competing in a league format every season. They should also have young players u12-u8's in training but in development training with games now and then to introduce them to the game etc. but those years should be spent on developing technique and intensity of training etc.

ADAPT OR DIE.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 08:28:45 PM by Banter Banton »

« Reply #83 on: September 25, 2014, 09:45:47 PM »
Levi Garcia and Nicholas Dillon were expected to attend training this week after being released by the U20's. Neither player appeared this week, missing four sessions. Neither player has contacted the club to explain their absence or request permission to play school football. Both players would have been selected in the 18 for Fridays game.

Both players were intended to play an integral role in the first team. We have three strikers: Quintero, Qian and Dillon. We cannot replace Garcia or Dillon until January so our squad is now depleted and currently stands at 20 available players including 3 keepers. If we lose two players to the National team we will be reduced to 15 outfield players.

The plan for Garcia was to give him a season of professional football, including Caribbean Cup experience and hopefully see him jump to the Senior national team. Meanwhile, we would be marketing the player with the hope of sending him to a decent club for a couple of weeks with a transfer to follow in the Summer transfer window. 

There is a Reserve league primarily for ages up to 21 which will start in October. The youth leagues will begin around February.

The reason we don't have year round youth leagues is that the players are involved in school football, so we would have no teams! There is no point in investing money in U8's -U12's if they wander off to play school football. Until a club can somehow retain the service of young players there is no point in spending limited resources in that area. The problem is that the period from 8 to 16 is where most resources should be spent.
As I mentioned last week in a lecture I gave at UWI, we spend $50,000pm on a senior coach and $0 on the U8 -U16 which is completely wrong. If we put more investment into the developing years, our players would be far better at age 16. Until the TTFA and Pro League clubs can find a way to control the development of young players, the national teams will continue to under achieve, no matter how good the coaches are at those levels.

« Reply #84 on: September 26, 2014, 06:03:11 AM »
Ah love it ... "wander off to play school football" ... :) Good stuff.

« Reply #85 on: September 26, 2014, 06:58:30 AM »
Levi Garcia and Nicholas Dillon were expected to attend training this week after being released by the U20's. Neither player appeared this week, missing four sessions. Neither player has contacted the club to explain their absence or request permission to play school football. Both players would have been selected in the 18 for Fridays game.

Both players were intended to play an integral role in the first team. We have three strikers: Quintero, Qian and Dillon. We cannot replace Garcia or Dillon until January so our squad is now depleted and currently stands at 20 available players including 3 keepers. If we lose two players to the National team we will be reduced to 15 outfield players.

The plan for Garcia was to give him a season of professional football, including Caribbean Cup experience and hopefully see him jump to the Senior national team. Meanwhile, we would be marketing the player with the hope of sending him to a decent club for a couple of weeks with a transfer to follow in the Summer transfer window. 

There is a Reserve league primarily for ages up to 21 which will start in October. The youth leagues will begin around February.

The reason we don't have year round youth leagues is that the players are involved in school football, so we would have no teams! There is no point in investing money in U8's -U12's if they wander off to play school football. Until a club can somehow retain the service of young players there is no point in spending limited resources in that area. The problem is that the period from 8 to 16 is where most resources should be spent.
As I mentioned last week in a lecture I gave at UWI, we spend $50,000pm on a senior coach and $0 on the U8 -U16 which is completely wrong. If we put more investment into the developing years, our players would be far better at age 16. Until the TTFA and Pro League clubs can find a way to control the development of young players, the national teams will continue to under achieve, no matter how good the coaches are at those levels.

was there a meeting with parents FS .. .garcia and dillon suppose they not 100% sure about going pro and harbor thoughts   about pursuing a higher education  through football?

« Reply #86 on: September 26, 2014, 08:16:11 AM »

was there a meeting with parents FS .. .garcia and dillon suppose they not 100% sure about going pro and harbor thoughts   about pursuing a higher education  through football?

We met with both of Levi's parents before the U20's. They are very supportive of both Nathaniel & Levi. We have had several conversations since and we will meet again next week.

Dillon did exactly this last year. He came back in December and said he was through with school football. He is not there for educational reasons and I believe he doesn't attend classes regularly, if at all. How can he drop out of school last December and then be readmitted again in August? Surely there are more deserving kids out there who would like to attend Naps. It is a school, after all.

« Reply #87 on: September 26, 2014, 09:53:32 AM »
FS, this is why they should not be able to play SSFL once they go pro.

And you guys need to fine them.

These f00ckers in T&T real dotish sah.

« Reply #88 on: September 26, 2014, 10:01:23 AM »
These players want the easiest path to shine.

« Reply #89 on: September 26, 2014, 11:18:18 AM »
FS, this is why they should not be able to play SSFL once they go pro.

And you guys need to fine them.

These f00ckers in T&T real dotish sah.

Doh worry Sam, at this point, they owe us money!! And our fine system is more lenient than some clubs!!