March 28, 2024, 05:08:45 AM

Author Topic: CONCACAF 2015 Women World Cup Qualifier/CONCACAF 2014 Women's Championship  (Read 62141 times)

Re: CONCACAF 2015 Women World Cup Qualifier/CONCACAF 2014 Women's Championship
« Reply #60 on: October 06, 2014, 10:07:12 AM »
Simple Question" how does a country with the economy such as Haiti manage to do it and we still cyar get this right? This nonsense is shameful utterly ridiculous- MEANWHILE  GOVERNMENT COMPENSATE PAST PLAYERS WITH THE INTENT THAT THEY GO AFTER THE CULPRITS FOR COMPENSATION THEM THEY HAVE TO PAY BACK.

Look who  suffering now? look who laughing now? look at the mess we are in? Meanwhile Life Support program coffers squandered and Look at the people who should have benefited?  Look at the individuals who are  wanting to make a difference?  Look at who are the ones who are suffering.

When will the hurting bleeding STOP? and people really want to  vote the present  leaders back in next year. CRAZY craZy
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 10:30:12 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #61 on: October 06, 2014, 10:08:04 AM »
Soca Princesses grounded owing to TTFA $$ woes.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

SHAMEFUL

“We ideally wanted to leave Saturday, but application to process visas is set for Monday (today),” intimated Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips in response to enquiries by The Express. “Raising funds for the visa applications, $1200 per person, was the issue,” he added.

These people mad or what. They eh learning nothing from past experiences? Did they not have this issue when the team was supposed to go to Houston this summer? Did they not have problems getting flights to Tobago?

I want to see the lackeys explain this away.

How long now they know that visas are a problem?

How can you plan to leave Saturday when your visas appointment is the next Monday?

« Reply #62 on: October 06, 2014, 10:44:47 AM »
Senior women’s team set for departure Saturday.
By Andrew  Gioannetti (Guardian).

Granted all visa and passport requirements are sorted, this country’s senior women’s team will depart for Dallas, Texas, on Saturday, where they will settle in ahead of the US-hosted Concacaf Women’s Championship, which starts in just over two weeks’ time.

Contacted yesterday, T&T Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips confirmed this and added that the association is currently working on three warm-up matches, which will likely include local professional women’s teams. He said the identities of the three teams will be made public upon the team’s departure.

They will all be crucial for the T&T players, who evidently faced little competition when they claimed the inaugural CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup, hosted on home soil in August.

T&T won all four matches, including the final (1-0 over Jamaica) scoring 22 goals without conceding. After the final, head coach Randy Waldrum admitted that the hardest part was yet to come as T&T faces the confederation’s powerhouses in an effort to qualify for its first ever Fifa Women’s World Cup. Nevertheless, there have been claims by many, including the coach that this country has been stands at having its best chance of qualifying in recent time and for the forseeable future.

T&T’s cause has been aided by the fact that Canada will host the World Cup and, therefore will not be required to go through the Concacaf qualifying tournament.

At the championship, T&T will open against the world’s highest ranked women’s team in USA on October 15, then Haiti (October 17) and Guatemala (October 19), in the other group stage matches. USA qualified for the final round directly, while Guatemala and Haiti came through the Central America and Caribbean qualifying, respectively.

Despite having no shortage of quality up front, Waldrum’s attack will be further boosted by the inclusion of one of the most active and highest rated national players, Ahkeela Darcel Mollon, who returned home from Sweden, on Tuesday night. She is set to join other attacking talents in Kennya Cordner, Mariah Shade, Tasha St Louis and captain Maylee Attin-Johnson.

Mollon was permitted to leave her club, Kvarnsvedens IK, which sits third in Sweden’s second tier with three matches remaining. She, however, was allowed to leave as the club’s hierarchy admitted it stood little chance of promotion to the top division, needing eight points, while hoping for results in other matches to go its way.

This season alone, the 29-year-old forward scored 10 goals, recorded seven assists and earned 13 individual MVP titles.

From the Concacaf Championship, three teams will qualify directly for the World Cup, while the fourth-best team will enter a play-off against Ecuador, which placed third at the South America qualifying tournament, recently.

The top two teams in each group will move into the semifinals, with the winners meeting in the final and the losers in a third-place playoff. The winner of the playoff, therefore, will also qualify directly to the World Cup, while the loser will play Ecuador for the last chance to qualify.

Group B at the Concacaf Championship includes Costa Rica (Central America qualifying tournament winner), Jamaica (CFU runner-up), Martinique (CFU fouth place) and Mexico another automatic qualifier.

Schedule: T&T Concacaf Championship schedule

October 15

USA v T&T, Sporting Park, Kansas City, Kansas

October 17

Haiti v T&T, Toyota Park, Bridgeview, Illinois

October 19

T&T v Guatemala, RFK Stadium, Washington DC

October 24

Semifinals

October 26

Final

How is it that we finished first in the Caribbean and we get to start the next round against the number one ranked team?

Well look for upset- that would be sweet- the ' minnows' will rise again.
Hoping that the USA take we lightly- they  get full of overconfidence and that playing at home they have all the pressure to beat a team that they suppose to beat. Nice- remember  gals we wear the shorts the same and one good big team to take out frustrations on from the get go will do wonders for the rest of the qualifiers and fuh your coach's career.

Dear players,

It is without a doubt, that the conditions and what we see are not often times ideal for  players , team and our program. However to the young women, who are making personal sacrifices and who are up against the obstacles, I want to say thank you and to offer encouragement and support for the courage, conviction  and the resiliency to represent our TnT.

Our energies ought not to be  focused on our 'footballing' deficits but the tremendous assets we have as a nation and as players and coaches. You players who put it on the line each and every time, deserve the best  for  answering the call for our nation. You have come when others have refused or shunned us.

Your energies should be on building each other up, building our nation and setting the stage and the legacy for those to come. There were others who have gone on, who came before and there will be those  yet to come but today, this month, we begin the crusade to succeed despite the  odds. 

Sometimes it is the adversarial conditions and setbacks which reveal our character, which reveal our strength, which helps us to appreciate success more so than things which are given to us or things we take fro granted.
 Wishing our teams , management,  players and coaches  all the best for  success in this month and onward.

Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome.

Booker T. Washington
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 10:58:09 AM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #63 on: October 06, 2014, 11:34:01 AM »

SHAMEFUL

“We ideally wanted to leave Saturday, but application to process visas is set for Monday (today),” intimated Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips in response to enquiries by The Express. “Raising funds for the visa applications, $1200 per person, was the issue,” he added.

These people mad or what. They eh learning nothing from past experiences? Did they not have this issue when the team was supposed to go to Houston this summer? Did they not have problems getting flights to Tobago?

How can you plan to leave Saturday when your visas appointment is the next Monday?

Where did it state that departure was set for the Saturday prior to the visa appointment?  It seems the visa appointment was for today with departure set for Saturday October 11, but all of that got upset because they don't have the money to even show up to the appointment.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 11:37:28 AM by Bakes »

« Reply #64 on: October 06, 2014, 12:33:35 PM »
Senior women’s team set for departure Saturday.
By Andrew  Gioannetti (Guardian).

Granted all visa and passport requirements are sorted, this country’s senior women’s team will depart for Dallas, Texas, on Saturday, where they will settle in ahead of the US-hosted Concacaf Women’s Championship, which starts in just over two weeks’ time.

Contacted yesterday, T&T Football Association (TTFA) general secretary Sheldon Phillips confirmed this and added that the association is currently working on three warm-up matches, which will likely include local professional women’s teams. He said the identities of the three teams will be made public upon the team’s departure.

Schedule: T&T Concacaf Championship schedule

October 15

USA v T&T, Sporting Park, Kansas City, Kansas

October 17

Haiti v T&T, Toyota Park, Bridgeview, Illinois

October 19

T&T v Guatemala, RFK Stadium, Washington DC

October 24

Semifinals

October 26

Final

SHAMEFUL

Phillips had said: “The plan is to take the team to the US, very close to Kansas City, which will be the very first venue for the team, and plans are to have them in the US about seven days before the first match.”

SHAMEFUL

Where did it state that departure was set for the Saturday prior to the visa appointment?  It seems the visa appointment was for today with departure set for Saturday October 11, but all of that got upset because they don't have the money to even show up to the appointment.

I know you have great comprehension skills.

So they wanted to leave 4 days before the first game to play a couple of quality friendlies before playing the #1 team in the world? In 4 days? While having training session to get the foreign base and the local to Gel. Four (4) days?

Yuh boy even say 7 days [now] before the first match. Surely you can count backward from the 15th 7 days.

But say what, people trying to sabotage the program.

« Reply #65 on: October 06, 2014, 12:54:42 PM »
I know you have great comprehension skills.

So they wanted to leave 4 days before the first game to play a couple of quality friendlies before playing the #1 team in the world? In 4 days? While having training session to get the foreign base and the local to Gel. Four (4) days?

Yuh boy even say 7 days [now] before the first match. Surely you can count backward from the 15th 7 days.

But say what, people trying to sabotage the program.

You sure is my comprehension skills yuh should be mentioning?

Your assumption is that they "plan[ned]" to leave last Saturday, knowing full well visa processing wasn't until two days later.  From the comment Phillips expressed what would have been the ideal situation, to leave last Saturday but for the Monday (today) processing date.

« Reply #66 on: October 06, 2014, 01:10:26 PM »
Didn't they get money for winning the Caribbean Cup?

« Reply #67 on: October 06, 2014, 02:52:37 PM »
I guess you're just reading what you want because I have shown you where last Saturday was the planned departure date. Look at the headlines, read more than just the "ideally", they spoke about warm up games against Pro teams, and WILL announce the teams upon arrival in the US. I will wait for them to announce the Pro team they will be playing 4 days before the tournament.  :beermug:

« Reply #68 on: October 07, 2014, 07:24:18 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/x1RPEBYmTBc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/x1RPEBYmTBc</a>

Offline BBL

« Reply #69 on: October 08, 2014, 07:38:58 AM »
This is embarrassing.

The coach is on Twitter asking for donations of food and equipment from those in Dallas as TTFA only sent $500.

https://twitter.com/CoachWaldrum

« Reply #70 on: October 08, 2014, 07:50:07 AM »
Randy Waldrum @CoachWaldrum  ·  42m 42 minutes ago  Please let me know asap!  And I'm suppose to qualify this team for a World Cup! I have to help these players somehow..they deserve better

https://twitter.com/CoachWaldrum/status/519835646416785408

Randy Waldrum @CoachWaldrum  ·  44 mins44 minutes ago  I don't know how I'm going to feed these players starting at lunch today! If you know of anyone in Dallas area that will help with food, etc

https://twitter.com/CoachWaldrum/status/519835439906029569

Randy Waldrum @CoachWaldrum  ·  44 mins44 minutes ago  I need HELP! T&T sent a team here last night with $500 total.  No equipment such as balls,no transportation from airport to hotel, nothing.

https://twitter.com/CoachWaldrum/status/519835272846909440

« Reply #71 on: October 08, 2014, 07:51:57 AM »
Terrible, the TTFA really have no shame. A World Cup qualifying team get $500 dollars...  :rotfl:

And Randy Waldrum just letting them have it.

Some of those replies are really embarrassing.

People in Dallas have to send food for our team.

Wow.

« Reply #72 on: October 08, 2014, 08:15:01 AM »
Not a good look!

« Reply #73 on: October 08, 2014, 08:15:23 AM »
Simple Question" how does a country with the economy such as Haiti manage to do it and we still cyar get this right? This nonsense is shameful utterly ridiculous- MEANWHILE  GOVERNMENT COMPENSATE PAST PLAYERS WITH THE INTENT THAT THEY GO AFTER THE CULPRITS FOR COMPENSATION THEM THEY HAVE TO PAY BACK.

Look who  suffering now? look who laughing now? look at the mess we are in? Meanwhile Life Support program coffers squandered and Look at the people who should have benefited?  Look at the individuals who are  wanting to make a difference?  Look at who are the ones who are suffering.

When will the hurting bleeding STOP? and people really want to  vote the present  leaders back in next year. CRAZY craZy

Whey the special advisor today? Whey the 2006 Warriors with their playoffs? Whey the former sports minister whith his grandiose plans to support sports? This team needs a Life Support funds from the government coffers.
QUESTION;
How does Haiti do it and we can't shame!!!'mnmm

« Reply #74 on: October 08, 2014, 08:16:33 AM »
Haiti isn't doing any better ... lehwe leave dem out of this.

« Reply #75 on: October 08, 2014, 08:20:47 AM »

Whey the special advisor today? Whey the 2006 Warriors with their playoffs? Whey the former sports minister whith his grandiose plans to support sports? This team needs a Life Support funds from the government coffers.
QUESTION;
How does Haiti do it and we can't shame!!!'mnmm
[/quot

Ok let me clarify how is Jamaica and Haiti football federations respectively able to financially support their teams?

« Reply #76 on: October 08, 2014, 09:05:07 AM »
Alyuh lying and only trying to sabotage the program. The coach never post that and the TTFA have everything under control.

« Reply #77 on: October 08, 2014, 09:24:32 AM »
Sad situation, but hard to really be surprised.  MoS and Sportt only come thru with financing for the visa situation in the last couple days.  I doubt that better could be done right now, the financial situation is what it is.

« Reply #78 on: October 08, 2014, 09:44:48 AM »
Sad situation, but hard to really be surprised.  MoS and Sportt only come thru with financing for the visa situation in the last couple days.  I doubt that better could be done right now, the financial situation is what it is.

Easy for you to say. You're not in Dallas.

The TTFA should have said the team cannot go. There should be a responsibility from the TTFA to the players in keeping them safe. This is very reckless by the TTFA.

No transport from the airport, no food. How is that supposed to work?

This is really sad for the players.

As Flex asked, "where is the prize money from the tournament?"

« Reply #79 on: October 08, 2014, 10:00:04 AM »

The TTFA should have said the team cannot go. There should be a responsibility from the TTFA to the players in keeping them safe. This is very reckless by the TTFA.

Easy for me to say??  Okay, put yuh money where yuh mouth is.  The minute the TTFA canceled the team's going to Dallas you woulda be the first one bumping yuh gum about how evil, corrupt and inefficient they is. 

« Reply #80 on: October 08, 2014, 10:02:06 AM »

Are you sure?

I was told by a TTFA official that he took his own money and paid for VISAS??

Somebody's not telling the truth.

BTW, I was also told by the same person that the CFU Women Champions didn't get a penny for winning.

The men gets prize money but not the women?

« Last Edit: October 08, 2014, 10:04:51 AM by Flex »

« Reply #81 on: October 08, 2014, 10:07:03 AM »

Easy for me to say??  Okay, put yuh money where yuh mouth is.  The minute the TTFA canceled the team's going to Dallas you woulda be the first one bumping yuh gum about how evil, corrupt and inefficient they is. 

And then I would be right. WTF dude. You are such a lackey for the TTFA that you can't say this is :bs:

Why should a private citizen have to put their money where their mouth is? I pay taxes, so when the government give money I am putting my money where my mouth is.

What is the purpose of the TTFA if they cannot carry out their job. No one forced them into the position, abdicate the position and stop whining about support. I am yet to see the TTFA fundraising event.

« Reply #82 on: October 08, 2014, 10:11:14 AM »
Where is Carib, Stag, Matouk's, Francis Fashion, Nestle, Blue Waters, Lottery Control Board, First Citizen, Royal Bank, Scotia Bank, Republic Bank, Flour Mills, Sports and Games, KFC, Mario's, etc.

« Reply #83 on: October 08, 2014, 10:19:14 AM »

And then I would be right. WTF dude. You are such a lackey for the TTFA that you can't say this is :bs:

Why should a private citizen have to put their money where their mouth is? I pay taxes, so when the government give money I am putting my money where my mouth is.

What is the purpose of the TTFA if they cannot carry out their job. No one forced them into the position, abdicate the position and stop whining about support. I am yet to see the TTFA fundraising event.

I thought you living in North Carolina... yuh wiring yuh taxes home?  Even so, the government hardly giving money, unless yuh head so far up yuh ass that yuh miss that part.  Kamla and dem only care fuh pappyshow.  Sancho and them get dey money... maybe that is where yuh claim yuh putting yuh mouth.  Call me a "lackey" all yuh want that kinda talk, especially coming from ah empty vessel like you doh really faze me.  Of course it's bullshit that the players don't have mone for food, equipment and transport... but again, none of that surprising.  I dunno where you expect money to materialize from.  There is only so much the TTFA could do, they secure sponsorship deals onl for sponsors to renege... but I applauding the effort and noting that despite the challenges, slow, incremental progress is being made.  You on the other hand refuse to or incapable of acknowledging that.  Your sole purpose on this board is to talk out yuh ass.

« Reply #84 on: October 08, 2014, 10:25:22 AM »

I thought you living in North Carolina... yuh wiring yuh taxes home?  Even so, the government hardly giving money, unless yuh head so far up yuh ass that yuh miss that part.  Kamla and dem only care fuh pappyshow.  Sancho and them get dey money... maybe that is where yuh claim yuh putting yuh mouth.  Call me a "lackey" all yuh want that kinda talk, especially coming from ah empty vessel like you doh really faze me.  Of course it's bullshit that the players don't have mone for food, equipment and transport... but again, none of that surprising.  I dunno where you expect money to materialize from.  There is only so much the TTFA could do, they secure sponsorship deals onl for sponsors to renege... but I applauding the effort and noting that despite the challenges, slow, incremental progress is being made.  You on the other hand refuse to or incapable of acknowledging that.  Your sole purpose on this board is to talk out yuh ass.

What progress. We women's team in Texas with no money and no food. You serious. You can't even bring yuhself to say this is shit.

Shows how much you support the players.

« Reply #85 on: October 08, 2014, 10:34:54 AM »
What progress. We women's team in Texas with no money and no food. You serious. You can't even bring yuhself to say this is shit.

Obviously you have some kinda comprehension problems...

Of course it's bullshit that the players don't have money for food, equipment and transport...

What progress?  How about the Women winning the CFU, along with the U-20, and the Men's program rebounding from irrelevance... all under the current TTFA after years of foundering under the TTFF?  But nah... ah fuhget, that isn't progress according to you. 

« Reply #86 on: October 08, 2014, 11:25:04 AM »

Obviously you have some kinda comprehension problems...

Of course it's bullshit that the players don't have money for food, equipment and transport...

What progress?  How about the Women winning the CFU, along with the U-20, and the Men's program rebounding from irrelevance... all under the current TTFA after years of foundering under the TTFF?  But nah... ah fuhget, that isn't progress according to you. 

So winning = progress. Got ya.  :beermug:

« Reply #87 on: October 08, 2014, 12:50:51 PM »

« Reply #88 on: October 08, 2014, 12:57:23 PM »
I don't understand how the TTFA who is responsible for football in T&T have done all that they can. I think it's time someone else give it a try. The government need to revoke their mandate from the TTFA. They have proven time and again to be inept at running an efficient and effective program.

We need better than talk and posturing. People who are capable of securing the necessary resources and services required, should be put in charge.

Better needs to be done. No excuses.

« Reply #89 on: October 08, 2014, 01:09:04 PM »
I don't understand how the TTFA who is responsible for football in T&T have done all that they can. I think it's time someone else give it a try. The government need to revoke their mandate from the TTFA. They have proven time and again to be inept at running an efficient and effective program.

We need better than talk and posturing. People who are capable of securing the necessary resources and services required, should be put in charge.

Better needs to be done. No excuses.

But, who would you suggest? I'm not sure about what exact roles are required to run the TTFA, but I would imagine you would need people with a working knowledge of law (especially contract law), good experience in sales & marketing (not a guy behind a desk, but someone who can conceive, write and deliver proposals to sponsors), and someone knowledgeable about football and football related matters. I would imagine that these people would all command salaries in excess of TT$20k per month. As I see it, Sheldon is doing all three, while also being General Secretary. Until you invest in the management levels, the rest of the organisation will suffer.
Problem is, where do the funds come from initially to start the enterprise?
It's catch 22. I guarantee that a good sales/marketing guy could bring in 2 or 3 million a year, but it would take him 6-12 months to see success.