April 18, 2024, 02:42:27 AM

Author Topic: Guadeloupe denies T&T U-20s a victory; T&T held 1-1 in Tobago.  (Read 6564 times)

Guadeloupe denies T&T U-20s a victory; T&T held 1-1 in Tobago.
« on: September 06, 2014, 04:29:15 PM »
Guadeloupe denies T&T U-20s a victory.
By Inshan Mohammed.

T&T held 1-1 in Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago National Under-20 footballers continued their preparations for the Caribbean final round of qualifiers for the 2015 FIFA Under-20 World Cup with an impressive 1-all draw with Guadeloupe's senior team at the Dwight Yorke Stadium in Tobago this afternoon.

Guadeloupe, whom, is also preparing for the men’s Caribbean Cup qualifiers at senior level is coming off an impressive 3-0 victory over a Tobago Eleven but could only muster-up a measly 1-1 tie with the Junior Warriors to end off their Tobago mini-tour a bit disappointed however, undefeated.

Central FC's new 2014 signee Levi Garcia opened the scoring for T&T in the 41st minute before Guadeloupe's substitute striker Lodovic Piqueur 81st minute spoiler which denied the talented T&T side their first ever victory at this level.

The Under 20 side has been impressive with their preparations thus far coming off with convincing victories over Pro League outfits; St Ann's Rangers (4-0), W Connection (2-0), Central FC (1-0), Club Sando (4-0) and North East Stars (2-1).

Head coach Derek King told the Soca Warriors Online (SWO) after the match that; "The team were organized. They played some good football against a senior Guadeloupe team who were also organized and disciplined."

"Levi Garcia scored a very good goal. The experience was a good one for this young team. The guys really gave their 100% and we really couldn't have asked for more."

"Levi Garcia, Kadeem Corbin, Naveal Hackshaw, Jesus Perez, Kevon Goddard and Shannon Gomez showed maturity and were really on top of their game, I was very impress with them."

"The game came at the right time just before we head into the tournament. We need more games like this that will help benefit a team that is the future of T&T football, added King."

Meanwhile, T&T senior team head coach Stephen Hart also witnessed the match told the SWO that; "Being that this is their first international game the players performed with maturity. Three or four players certainly showed they have the potential to push for senior team selection."

"However, it's too soon to jump to conclusion. I will however, evaluate and continue to monitor their progress over the next few months, ended Hart."

Results

Trinidad & Tobago  1  v  Guadeloupe  1
Levi Garcia 41  -  Lodovic Piqueur 81

Teams

T&T (5-3-1-1): - 21.Jan-Michael Williams; 2.Shannon Gomez, 3.Martieon Watson, 4.Jesus Perez, 5.Maurice Ford, 8.Naveal Hackshaw (6.Kevon Goddard 84th); 11.Levi Garcia (19.Nicholas Dillon 76th), 20.Leston Paul, 10.Andre Fortune (14.Matthew Woo-Ling 46th); 7.Akeem Garcia (12.Kishun Seecharan 69th), 9.Kadeem Corbin (24.Keron Boucher 56th).

Unused Subs: - 1.Javon Sample (GK); 13.Josiah Trimmingham, 15.Aikim Andrews, 16.Keon Joseph, 17.Akeem Humphrey, 18.Jabari Mitchell, 23.Kegan Bacchus.

COACH: - Derek King.

Guadeloupe (4-4-2): - 1.Mickael Germain; 2.Mike Lubino, 15.Jérémy Sennoaj, 4.Félix Siar, 19.Mamuel Serman; 6.Willis Francillone, 11.Gilles Dan, 14.Fabien Beral, 18.Neil Roche; 10.Marc Arbau, 8.Rudy Vouteau.

Subs From: - 23.Cédric Celigny (GK), 16.Cédric Julan (GK); 3.Sylvain Philippe, 9.Lodovic Gotin, 12.Marvick Annerose, 13.Colman Makouke, 17.Lodovic Piqueur, 21.Cédric Vamur, 22.Edwing Malpon.

COACH: - Steve Bizasene.

Referee: - Neil Brizan.

Venue: - Dwight Yorke Stadium.

Attendance: - 1,100 (APPROX).

Copyrights of the Soca Warriors Online - Any press using the following article written by Inshan Mohammed are welcome to do so providing they reveal the source and writer. Furthermore, no portion of this article may be copied without proper credit as well.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 08:29:50 AM by Flex »

Re: Guadeloupe denies T&T U-20 victory; T&T held 1-1 in Tobago.
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2014, 04:41:32 PM »
This headline doesn't fit with the story.  If Guadeloupe "deny" the team or the team was "held" by Guadeloupe then that suggests that the National U-20 team were the favorites.  If they were the favorites then a 1-1 draw would be a disappointment, not an "impressive" result.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 04:47:49 PM by Flex »

Offline Michael-j

Re: Guadeloupe denies T&T U-20s a victory; T&T held 1-1 in Tobago.
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2014, 05:26:41 PM »
This headline doesn't fit with the story.  If Guadeloupe "deny" the team or the team was "held" by Guadeloupe then that suggests that the National U-20 team were the favorites.  If they were the favorites then a 1-1 draw would be a disappointment, not an "impressive" result.

Pre-match expectations aside, I guess "deny" is  appropriate given that they were leading and in position to win the match with less than 10 minutes to play....the 81st minute item by Guadeloupe denied them that victory.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 05:29:03 PM by Michael-j »

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2014, 05:40:52 PM »
Bakes feel he is Johnnie Cochran.

Good job by de under 20 team.

They should play one more with Guadeloupe.

I was in T&T, just return, saw de Fatima vs Shiva Boys game, Shiva have a defender name Marvin Seuradge he look real decent, Kadeem Ashford eh bad to.

Allyuh watch Arima this year.

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2014, 06:26:37 PM »

Really????? Smh

« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2014, 08:21:32 PM »
Pre-match expectations aside, I guess "deny" is  appropriate given that they were leading and in position to win the match with less than 10 minutes to play....the 81st minute item by Guadeloupe denied them that victory.

Deny might well be appropriate, I'm just saying that it would seem at odds with the result being "impressive."  I'd say it was a disappointment that they conceded so late with victory within reach.

Bakes feel he is Johnnie Cochran.

Why... did Johnnie Cochran also comment on headlines as well... or you just talking out yuh ass as usual?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2014, 08:23:43 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2014, 08:24:03 PM »
U-20s draw with Guadeloupe

By BY Ian Prescott ian.prescott@trinidadexpress.com

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under-20 footballers look sharp and ready for competition, and were more than a match for the Guadeloupe senior national team, who they held to a 1-1 draw in a friendly international yesterday at Dwight Yorke Stadium.

The young Soca Warriors team led for most of the match until a defensive lapse gave Guadeloupe an equaliser just under nine minutes from the end.

But, it took a couple of acrobatic saves from veteran Guadeloupe goalkeeper Mikael Germain to preserve a draw for the French side. As the T&T youngsters turned up the pressure late, Germain dived fast and low to turn away a rocket shot from Kishun Seecharan, while T&T’s Kevon Goddard beat four defenders, but the goalie got a touch to end his meandering run.

Containing just a couple of senior players in keeper Jan-Michael Williams and Central FC midfielder Leston Paul, the mainly Under-20 T&T team matched Guadeloupe solidly. Coached by Derek King and Dale Saunders, the U-20s will go into action against Curacao on Friday when T&T host the final round of Caribbean qualifiers for the FIFA Under-20 World Cup.

For long periods, the T&T national youth looked on par with their Guadeloupe seniors. Akeem Garcia was very penatrative up the left flank, as was Levi Garcia on the other, while Paul was solid in the middle. Guadeloupe provided some problems with the ball over the top, but the defence, held together by Jesus Perez in the centre, mostly withstood the pressure.

Central FC midfielder Garcia gave T&T a 1-0 lead in the 40th minute. Cutting inside past defender Jeremy Sennoaj, Garcia drove a sweet left-footer goalwards that beat acrobatic Guadeloupe keeper Germain at his near post. 

Both teams had missed at least one excellent scoring chance before then. Guadeloupe striker Gilles Dan had T&T goalie Williams at his mercy and looked set to score when a cross from the right picked him out. But the T&T custodian did enough to rush the striker who turned the ball over the goal. And before the first half ended, overlapping T&T defender Marlieon Watson also had a wicked shot on goal, but a flying Germain touched it over the goal.

Although Williams pulled out a couple of saves when Guadeloupe substitute striker Ludovic Gotin pierced his defence a few times, T&T looked far the more likely to win the game. It was only until a woeful defensive lapse left Williams totally exposed, that Guadeloupe substitute Ludovic Piquer was able to poke the ball into the net for an 81st minute equaliser.

T&T SQUAD:

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), 20.Leston Paul (W Connection), 11.Levi Garcia (Central FC), 10.Andre Fortune (USA), 9.Kadeem Corbin( St Ann’s Rangers), 8. Naveal Hackshaw (North East Stars), 7.Akeem Garcia (W Connection), 5.Maurice Ford (W Connection), 4.Jesus Perez (North East Stars), 3.Marlien Watson (W Connection), 2.Shannon Gomes (W Connection).

Subs: Kevon Goddard, Keron Boucher (W Connection), Matthew Woo-Ling (W Connection), Josiah Trimmingham (San Juan Jabloteh), Akini Andrews (San Juan Jabloteh), Kishun Seecharan (Defence Force), Akeem Garcia (W Connection), Keegan Bacchus (Unattached),  Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando),  Nicholas Dillon (Central FC),  Keon Joseph (North East Stars.

« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2014, 08:44:42 PM »
No Johan Welch..jan, save Whole game ? why ?

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2014, 09:38:01 PM »
No Johan Welch..jan, save Whole game ? why ?

My sentiments exactly, why wasn't one of the U20 goalkeepers at least given a half. Guess Jan will be the keeper for the upcoming qualifiers...smdh ???

« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2014, 09:47:09 PM »
How Woo Ling look?

« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2014, 02:02:14 AM »
5-3-1-1.

« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2014, 04:35:34 AM »
How Woo Ling look?

Over hyped.... a luxury we can't afford.

« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2014, 06:06:55 AM »
How Woo Ling look?

so how would you rate the players doc ...?

« Reply #13 on: September 07, 2014, 07:47:41 AM »
How Woo Ling look?

but we afforded Dwight, the MU legend ? He running a camp yet, maybe quietly, round Carnival time..not in India or all over the world,hype, but in his named Stadium..maybe he could help maintain it
Maybe I misunderstand..the boy an midfield had a ok game, or he should have danced round a soft Guadelope team wearing a cape on his shoulders..who over hype him ?

« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2014, 08:57:16 AM »

Not necessarily...............I got from the headline that T&T "U20" was winning and then Guadeloupe equalize to deny the 1-0 win.

« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2014, 08:59:26 AM »
This is not our U20s, why is it being reported as such? Why is the Head coach impressed with his team preparation when his team did not play this game.

I'm confused about this thinking and approach.

Are we really preparing and Olympic team?

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2014, 09:27:16 AM »
This is not our U20s, why is it being reported as such? Why is the Head coach impressed with his team preparation when his team did not play this game.

Containing just a couple of senior players in keeper Jan-Michael Williams and Central FC midfielder Leston Paul, the mainly Under-20 T&T team matched Guadeloupe solidly. Coached by Derek King and Dale Saunders, the U-20s will go into action against Curacao on Friday when T&T host the final round of Caribbean qualifiers for the FIFA Under-20 World Cup.

This should answer your question.

« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2014, 11:50:36 AM »
Good job by the TFA.

And thank God, or else we would have had no games to long forward to this international date.

I understand they paid the bill.

Thank for for helping out the TTFA also.

Offline J.Chase

« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2014, 01:37:11 PM »
Good job by the TFA.

And thank God, or else we would have had no games to long forward to this international date.

I understand they paid the bill.

Thank for for helping out the TTFA also.

Where you get that info from Errol ?

I could not make the game in Bago as I had to fly out to Europe but I called my friend who went over and he is well informed as he knows alot of people in the current football set up and he told me that the TTFA offered a friendly game to both TFA/THA since July because they have not hosted a game for over two years. According to him that was the new general sec's idea. Tiger's son, cannot remember his first name.

THA only wanted to give 50k towards the event so the TTFA informed the TFA they can have all gate receipts to help out.

The reason for the U20 selection, I'm told , was due to available resources and the need for the U20 to get a final practice game before they host the 2014 CFU cup. My friend say the boys held their own and should have won the game. Not bad vs a senior team.

TFA did not think the stadium would be ready and did not want to support the event but I'm told TTFA, SPORTT and Peter Granville really pushed it over the line and we have to give some kudos to all involved for pulling it off with limited resources.

As a fan of Trinbago Football it was refreshing to hear 3 parties come together to ensure a smooth fixture and allow the kids to gain some much needed experience.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 01:40:07 PM by J.Chase »

« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2014, 03:08:20 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/c0gFtA4OFWQ&amp;list=UUYjTv-40_nhaU5HVy5er3Ug" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/c0gFtA4OFWQ&amp;list=UUYjTv-40_nhaU5HVy5er3Ug</a>

« Reply #21 on: September 07, 2014, 08:00:41 PM »
^^ See how our goalkeeper was beaten like a chupidee smh

« Reply #22 on: September 07, 2014, 08:08:01 PM »

NO it does not. The Goalkeeping position is a critical position in the team. Why did Jan goalkeep all game? Jan has gotten so many opportunities and experiences with the MNT, what purpose can it serve to have him play a full game with the U20. A coach should want to see how the GK interact tactically with his defense, on attack, in transition, psychologically under pressure. But hey I am NOT a NT coach so what do I know.

Offline soccerrama

« Reply #23 on: September 07, 2014, 08:24:15 PM »

NO it does not. The Goalkeeping position is a critical position in the team. Why did Jan goalkeep all game? Jan has gotten so many opportunities and experiences with the MNT, what purpose can it serve to have him play a full game with the U20. A coach should want to see how the GK interact tactically with his defense, on attack, in transition, psychologically under pressure. But hey I am NOT a NT coach so what do I know.

I am with you on this, I was just showing where there were only 2 senior players on the team, so it was more an U20 team than a senior team. In an earlier post I also questioned why did Jan keep the entire match, why weren't any of the U20 keepers given at least one half. I am positive that Derek King already has an idea as to who his first choice keeper is so why didn't he use him. So my brother I am on the same wave length as you. I suppose only the coach could tell us why he didn't do what to me was the most obvious thing to do.

« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2014, 12:37:16 AM »
Wah dem exchanging Jersey for?   ;D   Sheuuupps.   

« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2014, 08:34:15 AM »
Some promising elements on display.

Kishun, you have to seize those chances ... a fraction of a second more of composure (and/or timing) might have see that ball at the back of the net.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #26 on: September 08, 2014, 09:45:35 AM »
From people who religiously watch pro league games and Super League, Jan Michael Williams and Marvin Phillips are the best keepers in Trinidad and Tobago, at age 29 they are young goal keepers.  John, Lewis and Foncette are distant first second and third. Fans will tell you that this is the weakest part of Trinidad football at present, people say  if  the U20 has a weakness is in goal. King has stated that Welch is returning, so we will see. e Talk is even in the colleges & present U17 goalkeeping weak.

20 keepers on paper is just names on paper.

« Reply #27 on: September 08, 2014, 11:46:35 AM »
From people who religiously watch pro league games and Super League, Jan Michael Williams and Marvin Phillips are the best keepers in Trinidad and Tobago, at age 29 they are young goal keepers.  John, Lewis and Foncette are distant first second and third. Fans will tell you that this is the weakest part of Trinidad football at present, people say  if  the U20 has a weakness is in goal. King has stated that Welch is returning, so we will see. e Talk is even in the colleges & present U17 goalkeeping weak.

Which is worrying because T&T has had a decent history of keepers. Wonder why it's changed?

« Reply #28 on: September 08, 2014, 12:06:00 PM »

Which is worrying because T&T has had a decent history of keepers. Wonder why it's changed?

maybe you all need to loan out Sample or  give him some first team experience ...

« Reply #29 on: September 08, 2014, 03:07:44 PM »
Funny thing, we should remember last year in Panama at the youth tournament, when the a hard shot squeezed under Welch and scored. Some of the forum wanted to crucify him. Now he appears to be the best thing since rhye bread. Providing there is no miscommunications and hiccups between the TTFA and Welch, I see him being a starter in the near future. If he keeps his form, he is prime candidadate for the upcoming tournaments. CAC, PanAM and Olympics. All the best Mr. Welch.