April 20, 2024, 02:09:27 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda Game (12-Oct-2014)  (Read 11205 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda Game (12-Oct-2014)
« on: September 12, 2014, 03:42:57 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda 2014 Caribbean Cup game at the Ato Boldon Stadium (6:15pm) on the 12th of October 2014 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre).

Defenders

Yohance Marshall, Sheldon Bateau (KV Mechelen), Carlyle Mitchell (Vancouver Whitecaps), Daneil Cyrus (Ha Noi T&T), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Justin Hoyte (Millwall), Joevin Jones (HJK Helsinki).

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge), Khaleem Hyland (Racing Genk), Kevan George (Columbus Crew),
Ataullah Guerra (Central FC), Leston Paul (Central FC), Lester Peltier (Slovan Bratislava), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Hughtun Hector (Hanoi T&T), Kevin Molino (Orlando City).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (capt) (Cardiff City), Trevin Caesar (San Antonio Scorpions).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Antigua & Barbuda Squad

Goalkeepers

Molvin James (Old Road FC/Antigua), Brentton Muhammad (Unattached).

Defenders

Zaine Francis-Angol (Motherwell/Scotland), Akeem Thomas (Caledonia AIA/Trinidad), Karanja Mack (Sap FC/Antigua), Connor Peters (Swansea City/England), Mervyn Hazelwood (Villa FC/Antigua), Quinton Griffith (capt) (Charleston Battery/USA).

Midfielders

Keiran Murtagh (Woking/England), Joshua Parker (Domzale/Slovenia), Odell Murray (Sap FC/Antigua), Tomarley Thomas (Hoppers FC/Antigua), Tavaughn Harriett (Parham/Antigua), Gason Gregory (Parham/Antigua), Calaum Jahraldo-Martin (Hull City/England), Okeem Challenger (Sap FC/Antigua), Jorrin John (Nuneaton FC/England).

Forwards

Peter Byers (Sap FC/Antigua), Nathaniel Jarvis (Cirencester Town FC/England), Rondalph Burton (Parham/Antigua).

Coach - Rolston Williams (Antigua).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: October 03, 2014, 04:54:20 PM by Flex »

Offline CDR

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Antigua & Barbuda Game (12-Oct-2014)
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2014, 07:57:40 AM »
Any squad announcement yet? I heard antigua is coming with a weak local based squad. should be an easy game for tt

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2014, 03:06:32 PM »
This will be excellent for our rankings - we easily have the quality to see Antigua off, if we don't get complacent. Them being above us in the rankings should see us gain some valuable points :)

« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2014, 07:54:59 PM »

Looking forward to seeing which players will be representing T&T

Offline CDR

« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2014, 07:26:59 AM »
info on antigua team is here

https://www.facebook.com/BennaBoysFanClub

« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2014, 08:45:48 AM »
Are those rankings correct? Is Antigua really the #1 in the caribbean?

« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2014, 06:04:08 PM »

"maybe" ?

« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2014, 06:34:45 PM »

"maybe" ?

Yes, it is correct. Antigua & Barbuda moved up 69 positions. This is their highest ever ranking.

« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2014, 10:00:43 PM »
All yuh really concerned about some little place where football is nil ?

Well yes..bring all the foreign pros for this match..

which cost more a locally based National squad or spending money to buy tickets to bring back pros to play a small game like this?

« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2014, 05:37:27 AM »
Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warriors

4 hrs · 

ANTIGUA/BARBUDA CONFIDENT AHEAD OF CARIBBEAN CUP 'SEMIS' NEXT WEEK IN T&T

With his team now holding the number one ranked position among Caribbean countries on the FIFA World rankings, Antigua//Barbuda head coach Rolston Williams believes they can defeat any team in the Caribbean.

Willams was speaking as he looked ahead to the Caribbean Cup semi final round which kicks off on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. Antigua faces St Lucia from 6pm. They will take on hosts Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday.

“I am not looking at no one team; we have a tournament to play and we have to take one game at a time. I think Antigua is good enough to play with any team in the Caribbean, so to say one team is more important than the other. We will have to win all three games, so we’ll take one game at a time; that’s the approach we’ll take,” Williams said. 

Antigua scored ten goals in three Caribbean Cup qualifying matches last month, defeating Anguilla 6-0, also beating Dominican Republic and St Vincent/Grenadines 2-1. Their squad includes six UK-based professionals including Hull City striker Calaum Martin and Swansea City defender Connor Peters.

Antiguan FA President Everton Gonsalves is also basking in the glory of this team’s current run of success, adding “Our youth development programmes are up in the upper echelons in terms of the Caribbean,” he said. “You would have seen our level of play at the Under-17 level, at the Under-20 level and certainly at the female level but I think the real (meat) of the matter is the success of the men’s senior national team

« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2014, 11:58:03 AM »
Ok, thanks for warning us Antigua.
We will take you seriously, very seriously. Watch this space.
Molino and company, ... over to you.

« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2014, 08:32:43 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago Soca Warriors

4 hrs ·

ANTIGUA/BARBUDA CONFIDENT AHEAD OF CARIBBEAN CUP 'SEMIS' NEXT WEEK IN T&T

With his team now holding the number one ranked position among Caribbean countries on the FIFA World rankings, Antigua//Barbuda head coach Rolston Williams believes they can defeat any team in the Caribbean.

Willams was speaking as he looked ahead to the Caribbean Cup semi final round which kicks off on Wednesday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. Antigua faces St Lucia from 6pm. They will take on hosts Trinidad and Tobago on Sunday.

“I am not looking at no one team; we have a tournament to play and we have to take one game at a time. I think Antigua is good enough to play with any team in the Caribbean, so to say one team is more important than the other. We will have to win all three games, so we’ll take one game at a time; that’s the approach we’ll take,” Williams said.

Antigua scored ten goals in three Caribbean Cup qualifying matches last month, defeating Anguilla 6-0, also beating Dominican Republic and St Vincent/Grenadines 2-1. Their squad includes six UK-based professionals including Hull City striker Calaum Martin and Swansea City defender Connor Peters.

Antiguan FA President Everton Gonsalves is also basking in the glory of this team’s current run of success, adding “Our youth development programmes are up in the upper echelons in terms of the Caribbean,” he said. “You would have seen our level of play at the Under-17 level, at the Under-20 level and certainly at the female level but I think the real (meat) of the matter is the success of the men’s senior national team

lol. We can't be worrying about this team. I pretty sure we could field a B team and still beat them.. They won't surprise us again. Last time was a fluke.

« Reply #12 on: October 02, 2014, 10:43:13 PM »
T&T has not won the Caribbean Cup in a long time so we should take EVERY team seriously and remain a disciplined team until the end.

Now is nuh de time to have a superior complex
« Last Edit: October 03, 2014, 02:57:41 PM by Sando prince »

Offline CDR

« Reply #13 on: October 02, 2014, 11:09:03 PM »
last time they won with all local squad. i believe this time they are using the same squad again. i will try to get the roster and post it for their team.

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #14 on: October 03, 2014, 08:24:02 AM »
Are those rankings correct? Is Antigua really the #1 in the Caribbean?

On paper Antigua is not the number one team and not even  number number 2. The number one team in the Caribbean right now is Martinique followed by French Guiana based on last 10 games wins /losses ( Both undefeated in last 5 games). Teams in the CFU  such as Guadeloupe, French Guiana,  Martinique, Bonaire etc..are  not ranked because they are not  Members of FIFA. If Martinique and French Guiana could be ranked, Antigua wouldn't have been the number team in the CFU.  Here is how Antigua got to be number 1 in the Caribbean right now:

The number 1 spot more often than not usually occupied by Jamaica, Trinidad , Haiti and Cuba.

Jamaica  is win-less in the last 5 games (1-2 VS Serbia, 0-1 VS Switzerland, 2-2 VS Egypt, 0-8 VS France and 1-3 VS Canada)
Trinidad Winless in the last 2 games ( 0-3 Vs Argentina,  0-2 Vs iran)
Haiti winless in the last four games (0-1 vs Salvador, 1-4 VS Korea, 0-0 VS Kosovo, 0-1 VS Chili)

Cuba does not / rarely play friendlies. They're only active in tournament so they can never hold on to the number spot even though they won it last year.. Antigua won 3 straight in their CFU conference and all three teams being FIFA Member, that helped them immensely in the ranking.

Next week will be reality check for the number one team in the Caribbean. Their fans all over social media  bragging about being number 1 in the Caribbean. Well, next week, It will be time for their coach and players to put up or shut up. Stay tune!
« Last Edit: October 03, 2014, 08:33:38 AM by truehaitian »

Offline CDR

« Reply #15 on: October 03, 2014, 09:36:44 AM »

On paper Antigua is not the number one team and not even  number number 2. The number one team in the Caribbean right now is Martinique followed by French Guiana based on last 10 games wins /losses ( Both undefeated in last 5 games). Teams in the CFU  such as Guadeloupe, French Guiana,  Martinique, Bonaire etc..are  not ranked because they are not  Members of FIFA. If Martinique and French Guiana could be ranked, Antigua wouldn't have been the number team in the CFU.  Here is how Antigua got to be number 1 in the Caribbean right now:

The number 1 spot more often than not usually occupied by Jamaica, Trinidad , Haiti and Cuba.

Jamaica  is win-less in the last 5 games (1-2 VS Serbia, 0-1 VS Switzerland, 2-2 VS Egypt, 0-8 VS France and 1-3 VS Canada)
Haiti winless in the last four games (0-1 vs Salvador, 1-4 VS Korea, 0-0 VS Kosovo, 0-1 VS Chili)

Cuba does not / rarely play friendlies. They're only active in tournament so they can never hold on to the number spot even though they won it last year.. Antigua won 3 straight in their CFU conference and all three teams being FIFA Member, that helped them immensely in the ranking.

Next week will be reality check for the number one team in the Caribbean. Their fans all over social media  bragging about being number 1 in the Caribbean. Well, next week, It will be time for their coach and players to put up or shut up. Stay tune!

If I remember Antigua knocked out Haiti last world cup qualifiers?

« Reply #16 on: October 03, 2014, 10:37:20 AM »
Geez, why is everybody hot and sweaty over who is number one. Ranking is over-rated. But it is a necessary evil for FIFA evaluation. Let the fans blow some steam, nah!!!! They have every right to be over exuberant. Until the final whistle on Friday's game. I just hope TT coach thinking past AB. They will poison us if our prima donnas go on the field with an attitude.

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2014, 11:17:44 AM »

If I remember correctly Haiti knocked out Antigua at home in the last CFU qualifier in front of their crowd and also did beat them in Haiti in the same world cup qualifier....AM I RIGHT CDR?

Offline CDR

« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2014, 02:09:09 PM »

If I remember correctly Haiti knocked out Antigua at home in the last CFU qualifier in front of their crowd and also did beat them in Haiti in the same world cup qualifier....AM I RIGHT CDR?

yes but i think something is wrong with the haiti team if an all local based antigua team ended your wcq campaign. then in carib cup you only beat them 1-0 when they had all locals.

« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2014, 03:41:13 PM »
yes but i think something is wrong with the haiti team if an all local based antigua team ended your wcq campaign. then in carib cup you only beat them 1-0 when they had all locals.

CDr, what you state may not apply to the current situation. I think the Haitians will be ready this time.

Offline CDR

« Reply #20 on: October 03, 2014, 04:17:21 PM »

CDr, what you state may not apply to the current situation. I think the Haitians will be ready this time.

agreed. I have them this time as favorites to win the carib cup

Offline CDR

« Reply #21 on: October 03, 2014, 04:37:01 PM »
The Antigua and Barbuda Football Association is pleased to announce its 20 man squad for the second qualifying round of the 2014 Men’s Caribbean Cup in Trinidad & Tobago.

Goalkeepers:
Molvin James (Old Road FC/Antigua)
Brentton Muhammad (Unattached)

Defenders:
Zaine Francis-Angol (Motherwell/Scotland)
Akeem “Leppy” Thomas (Caledonia AIA/Trinidad)
Karanja Mack (Sap FC/Antigua)
Connor Peters (Swansea City/England)
Mervyn Hazelwood (Villa FC/Antigua)
Quinton Griffith (Charleston Battery/USA)

Midfielders:
Keiran Murtagh (Woking/England)
Joshua Parker (Domzale/Slovenia)
Odell Murray (Sap FC/Antigua)
Tomarley “Ziggy” Thomas (Hoppers FC/Antigua)
Tavaughn “Peter Reds” Harriett (Parham/Antigua)
Gason “Bubbler” Gregory (Parham/Antigua)
Calaum Jahraldo-Martin (Hull City/England)
Okeem “Soda” Challenger (Sap FC/Antigua)
Jorrin John (Nuneaton FC/England)

Strikers :
Peter “Big Pete” Byers (Sap FC/Antigua)
Nathaniel Jarvis (Cirencester Town FC/England)
Rondalph “Etty” Burton (Parham/Antigua)

Captain: Quinton “QQ” Griffith
Coach: Rolston “Debu” Williams (Antigua)

Injured: Mikele Leigterwood, Dexter Blackstock (Nottingham Forrest/England)

Other Commitments: Marvin McCoy (York City/England), Lawson “Boy Blue” Robinson (Parham/Antigua), Ranjae Christian (Parham/Antigua)

Source: https://www.facebook.com/BennaBoysFanClub
« Last Edit: October 03, 2014, 04:41:14 PM by CDR »

« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2014, 10:27:24 AM »
Peter Byer yes!! Big big player............i rated him while he played in the Proleague............how old is he now?

« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2014, 11:56:31 AM »
Peter Byer yes!! Big big player............i rated him while he played in the Proleague............how old is he now?

Offline CDR

« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2014, 01:34:01 PM »

Coach says Benna Boys ready for challenge
« Reply #25 on: October 07, 2014, 07:23:21 AM »
Coach says Benna Boys ready for challenge
By Neto Baptiste  (Antigua Observer)

Head coach of the senior national football team Rolston “Debu” Williams said despite knowing little about their first opponent in the second round of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Caribbean Cup, he believes Antigua & Barbuda Benna Boys are equipped to take on any challenge.

Benna Boys will take on St Lucia, opponents they haven’t face in over three years, when they open their Group Seven campaign in Trinidad tomorrow (Wednesday).

Williams is however, confident of a victory.

“I believe in something Arsčne Wenger said that if you prepare well, I don’t think you have to study the opponent so much. The opponent will study you and once his players go and play his tactics, he doesn’t believe he will lose the game. I don’t think that St Lucia are so different from (Dominican Republic) or St Vincent or they may not be better at all than those teams. We will just have to look at them in the game, and if we have to make changes, then we will make changes quickly,” he said.

In their last meeting, a friendly at the Antigua Recreation Grounds (ARG) in 2011, Antigua & Barbuda hammered St Lucia 6-0.

Williams believes that changes made to the Antigua & Barbuda squad ahead of Wednesday’s match, have served to strengthen the team going forward.

“I think the players that come in are stronger players and more experienced players. One who was here before in Zane Angol; he is a very good player and players for Motherwell FC and the next player, Jorrin John of Nuneaton FC, this is his first time but he seems to be a very good player too,” the coach said.

“Etty (Randolph Burton) has also come into the team because one of the players (overseas-based) that should come down changed his mind at the last minute so we had to get a next midfielder to fit in and I think Etty was the ideal individual to fit that spot,” Williams added.

The coach, who had expressed small concerns over the team’s inability to score a higher percentage of their “easy scoring opportunities” during the competition’s first round in Antigua, is optimistic there will be improvements in that aspect of the team’s game.

“What is good is that from since that, the players have been playing matches and so therefore, they should be working on that with their clubs and they are shooting goals in the Premier Division league so they should be a lot more confident. I can’t speak much for the English guys except I know they are playing too, but I can speak more for the locals,” Williams said.

Following tomorrow’s opener against St Lucia, the Benna Boys will take on the Dominican Republic on Friday before facing hosts Trinidad & Tobago on Sunday.

Offline CDR

« Reply #26 on: October 07, 2014, 09:25:43 PM »
Antigua goals last round

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ot3xh5oAjM0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ot3xh5oAjM0</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/uUSRZIBOqog" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/uUSRZIBOqog</a>

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZCe3E35b_Kw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZCe3E35b_Kw</a>
« Last Edit: October 07, 2014, 09:31:28 PM by CDR »

Offline CDR

« Reply #27 on: October 12, 2014, 03:14:52 PM »
Is there a broadcast today?

« Reply #29 on: October 12, 2014, 04:09:23 PM »
J Jones, Bateau, D Cyrus, H Hector, K Hyland, K Jones, K Molino, A Boucaud, C Mitchell, J M Wiliams, L Peltier