March 28, 2024, 05:44:48 PM

Author Topic: Pay back or another political ploy?  (Read 1639 times)

Pay back or another political ploy?
« on: September 12, 2014, 11:46:51 PM »
In my humble opinion I cannot understand the logic of some of this government's actions. The latest  actions has to do with awarding monies owed to  some members of the 2006 Warriors. While the gesture is a noble one,  it may also serve to absolve the  one person or persons who should be accountable for the payment in the first place. The more honourable action may have been assisting the players to purge the GUI
Ty party or parties and to provide the new TTFA management team with funds that are  badly needed to move forward.  Hence today a thief or thieves  are reaping the rewards  and our current program is suffering. Why in TNT we appear to be hesitant in reeling in the so call " BIG Fishes" of corruptible actions?
 What is the real intent of appearing to be do good ears to a few while an association is scrounging trying to serve the  greater good?  Meanwhile the sport has become a " political football" with balls being hung out to dry and squeezed by seemingly no support from those who could throw a life support to those players who give so much to represent TnT. Instead money has been squandered in programs that are less that sustainable and to bogus contractors in the name of sports- utter shame and rubbish to read of what is going on.

How could these players who received another government " buy out" ever hope to continue  a battle against a TTFA without any funds to pay? It seems fruitless for the conditions. Of this payout-  what incentives do the recipients  have to continue their cas if they should win then to have to pay back the government. Ridiculous-
At the end of the day, the person or persons responsible for paying these players should be the one that should be brought to pay- not an organization without any decision making or one that had no role in the alleged misappropriation of funding back then. Could you imagine today's TTFA receiving 7. 2 million in funds?

Does this  government's action seem laudable or one deserving of an applause?

Trinidad Express

Soca Warriors collect $7.5m
chequeS in hand: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar presents a cheque to former Soca Warrior Brent Sancho yesterday at the Noor Hassanali Reception Lounge at the Parliament building. Displaying their cheques, from left, are: Avery John, David Atiba Charles, Stern John, Cyd Gray, Aurtis Whitley and Anthony Wolfe. —Photo: STEPHEN DOOBAY

Seven locally-based Soca Warriors were yesterday among the first members of the 2006 national senior men’s football team to receive a grant of TT$7.5 million promised to them by the Government.

The money presented to them by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar represented a final payment owed to the players in a “bonus” battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) .  The players had taken legal action against the Association, claiming that bonus funds had been promised to them by then TTFA special adviser Jack Warner during the 2006 World Cup campaign when Trinidad and Tobago qualified for its first FIFA World Cup.  The Prime Minister handed over the cheques to the players at the Parliament building, Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre. However, while the players are thankful for Government’s intervention, spokesman Brent Sancho said it no way stops their legal battle against the local football association. Among the former footballers to benefit from the payment are Sancho,  David Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray, Cornell Glen, Shaka Hislop, Avery John, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Kelvin Jack, Aurtis Whitley, Collin Samuel, Evans Wise and Anthony Wolfe . “We signed an agreement that stating the money we got was a gift from the Government and in no way reduces our legal battle to recoup funds raised during the 2006 World Cup campaign,” Sancho said. “We are going to meet as a group within the next week but we already have a path we would like to pursue.” At the function, Persad-Bissessar outlined the conditions under which the funds were paid. “As you are aware, in July of this year, the Government gave its commitment to pay the sum of TT$7.5 million  to the national football team. While the Government is under no legal obligation in this regard, we recognise that this payment is necessary to assist the players and to address the legitimate grievance and stress of our national football heroes,” she said.  “This payment is without prejudice to any legal rights and remedies which the players might have against the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation for the recovery of the balance of their judgment debt,” she added. “The players have now agreed to continue their legal action against the TTFA and to reimburse the Government should they recover any further monies pursuant to this judgment, and an agreement gives effect to this arrangement.” Sancho said their personal eight-year battle is over and they owed it to the nation to discover how an estimated $200 million in funds raised during the successful 2006 World Cup campaign was spent. Sancho said to date, the person or persons responsible for the loss or squander of such funds have never been made to account.

« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 12:01:39 AM by AB.Trini »

Re: Pay back or another political ploy?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 03:07:04 AM »
In my humble opinion I cannot understand the logic of some of this government's actions. The latest  actions has to do with awarding monies owed to  some members of the 2006 Warriors. While the gesture is a noble one,  it may also serve to absolve the  one person or persons who should be accountable for the payment in the first place. The more honourable action may have been assisting the players to purge the GUI
Ty party or parties and to provide the new TTFA management team with funds that are  badly needed to move forward.  Hence today a thief or thieves  are reaping the rewards  and our current program is suffering. Why in TNT we appear to be hesitant in reeling in the so call " BIG Fishes" of corruptible actions?
 What is the real intent of appearing to be do good ears to a few while an association is scrounging trying to serve the  greater good?  Meanwhile the sport has become a " political football" with balls being hung out to dry and squeezed by seemingly no support from those who could throw a life support to those players who give so much to represent TnT. Instead money has been squandered in programs that are less that sustainable and to bogus contractors in the name of sports- utter shame and rubbish to read of what is going on.

How could these players who received another government " buy out" ever hope to continue  a battle against a TTFA without any funds to pay? It seems fruitless for the conditions. Of this payout-  what incentives do the recipients  have to continue their cas if they should win then to have to pay back the government. Ridiculous-
At the end of the day, the person or persons responsible for paying these players should be the one that should be brought to pay- not an organization without any decision making or one that had no role in the alleged misappropriation of funding back then. Could you imagine today's TTFA receiving 7. 2 million in funds?

Does this  government's action seem laudable or one deserving of an applause?

Trinidad Express

Soca Warriors collect $7.5m
chequeS in hand: Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar presents a cheque to former Soca Warrior Brent Sancho yesterday at the Noor Hassanali Reception Lounge at the Parliament building. Displaying their cheques, from left, are: Avery John, David Atiba Charles, Stern John, Cyd Gray, Aurtis Whitley and Anthony Wolfe. —Photo: STEPHEN DOOBAY

Seven locally-based Soca Warriors were yesterday among the first members of the 2006 national senior men’s football team to receive a grant of TT$7.5 million promised to them by the Government.

The money presented to them by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar represented a final payment owed to the players in a “bonus” battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) .  The players had taken legal action against the Association, claiming that bonus funds had been promised to them by then TTFA special adviser Jack Warner during the 2006 World Cup campaign when Trinidad and Tobago qualified for its first FIFA World Cup.  The Prime Minister handed over the cheques to the players at the Parliament building, Port of Spain International Waterfront Centre. However, while the players are thankful for Government’s intervention, spokesman Brent Sancho said it no way stops their legal battle against the local football association. Among the former footballers to benefit from the payment are Sancho,  David Atiba Charles, Cyd Gray, Cornell Glen, Shaka Hislop, Avery John, Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Kelvin Jack, Aurtis Whitley, Collin Samuel, Evans Wise and Anthony Wolfe . “We signed an agreement that stating the money we got was a gift from the Government and in no way reduces our legal battle to recoup funds raised during the 2006 World Cup campaign,” Sancho said. “We are going to meet as a group within the next week but we already have a path we would like to pursue.” At the function, Persad-Bissessar outlined the conditions under which the funds were paid. “As you are aware, in July of this year, the Government gave its commitment to pay the sum of TT$7.5 million  to the national football team. While the Government is under no legal obligation in this regard, we recognise that this payment is necessary to assist the players and to address the legitimate grievance and stress of our national football heroes,” she said.  “This payment is without prejudice to any legal rights and remedies which the players might have against the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation for the recovery of the balance of their judgment debt,” she added. “The players have now agreed to continue their legal action against the TTFA and to reimburse the Government should they recover any further monies pursuant to this judgment, and an agreement gives effect to this arrangement.” Sancho said their personal eight-year battle is over and they owed it to the nation to discover how an estimated $200 million in funds raised during the successful 2006 World Cup campaign was spent. Sancho said to date, the person or persons responsible for the loss or squander of such funds have never been made to account.

There were several clear statements explaining that this money is a gift which would be repaid once the misappropriated funds are received. The players signed a legal commitment to continue the court case and there was also a caveat that allowed the Government to adopt the case should they wish to pursue it.
One issue that has always clouded the case is that the players were often charged with only being interested in money. That will no longer be the case. Now it will be the pursuit of justice.

or one that had no role in the alleged misappropriation of funding back then.   I'm not sure this is entirely accurate. I do believe that several people who sat back while tens of millions were ghosted away are still involved with TTFA. It should not be forgotten that Mr Tim-Kee was vice-president of TTFF during the period where most funds seemed to have disappeared. That's not to say he was directly involved in any way, but it may be the case that he could assist any investigation into the disappearance of the funds. Which is another reason why the players cannot understand the reason why TTFA haven't taken up the investigation themselves.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 03:13:05 AM by Football supporter »

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2014, 06:48:50 AM »

There were several clear statements explaining that this money is a gift which would be repaid once the misappropriated funds are received. The players signed a legal commitment to continue the court case and there was also a caveat that allowed the Government to adopt the case should they wish to pursue it.
One issue that has always clouded the case is that the players were often charged with only being interested in money. That will no longer be the case. Now it will be the pursuit of justice.

Meaningless bullshit.

1) The Government could 'adopt' the case under what premise?  How does the government have standing to assume the legal fight with the TTFA?  Has the TTFA wronged the government?

2) If the Government was really interested in any way... why didn't they become involved before?

The Government just giving people that to hold.

I do believe that several people who sat back while tens of millions were ghosted away are still involved with TTFA. It should not be forgotten that Mr Tim-Kee was vice-president of TTFF during the period where most funds seemed to have disappeared. That's not to say he was directly involved in any way, but it may be the case that he could assist any investigation into the disappearance of the funds. Which is another reason why the players cannot understand the reason why TTFA haven't taken up the investigation themselves.

Because the players are f**king idiots apparently, if they can't understand why the TTFA, who can't even afford to send the Women't team to camp in Houston with proper boots, can't afford the expense of litigation.  Why Sancho and them don't give them the $7.6 million dollars to underwrite the cost of litigation?  Further, to say that there are people who "sat back" suggests that they knew money was being stolen, could have done something about it, but opted to do nothing.  If the players know of any such complicity why don't they reveal it?  The assumption seems to be that Jack was siphoning money out of the organization so blatantly that everybody knew about it... when the reality is that few people within the organization had any privy to the financial practices being conducted by Jack and a select trusted cadre of thieves.

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2014, 09:56:04 AM »

Meaningless bullshit.

1) The Government could 'adopt' the case under what premise?  How does the government have standing to assume the legal fight with the TTFA?  Has the TTFA wronged the government?

2) If the Government was really interested in any way... why didn't they become involved before?

The Government just giving people that to hold.

I do believe that several people who sat back while tens of millions were ghosted away are still involved with TTFA. It should not be forgotten that Mr Tim-Kee was vice-president of TTFF during the period where most funds seemed to have disappeared. That's not to say he was directly involved in any way, but it may be the case that he could assist any investigation into the disappearance of the funds. Which is another reason why the players cannot understand the reason why TTFA haven't taken up the investigation themselves.

Because the players are f**king idiots apparently, if they can't understand why the TTFA, who can't even afford to send the Women't team to camp in Houston with proper boots, can't afford the expense of litigation.  Why Sancho and them don't give them the $7.6 million dollars to underwrite the cost of litigation?  Further, to say that there are people who "sat back" suggests that they knew money was being stolen, could have done something about it, but opted to do nothing.  If the players know of any such complicity why don't they reveal it?  The assumption seems to be that Jack was siphoning money out of the organization so blatantly that everybody knew about it... when the reality is that few people within the organization had any privy to the financial practices being conducted by Jack and a select trusted cadre of thieves.

Bakes, it's nice that you have become TTFA's defender and offer alternate views. However, you really need to stop pretending that you know everything while every one else knows nothing. It just devalues the worthwhile contributions that you occasionally make.

The Government could 'adopt' the case under what premise?  I have no idea. You're the lawyer. But when the Attorney General entered this clause in the agreement, I'm sure there must have been some iota of legality somewhere. Not only was it written in the agreement, this clause was quoted several times verbatim before the players signed. So, perhaps there may be some merit in it? All I know is that when somebody loans you money against an asset, that asset can be claimed. Therefore, now there is a contract between the players and govt, if govt choose to act on this clause they can fund the ongoing case themselves and if the players fail to comply, the "gifts" will have to be repaid. Again, I'm only guessing.

If the Government was really interested in any way... why didn't they become involved before? I know you really don't believe that anyone hear believes that you are really so stupid as to really ask this question. It could only be more obvious if they spray painted "Don't vote ILP" on the roof of the Red House.

As for you little rant about poor old TTFA, again, are you really that dense? You're now trying to say that no TTFA executive who was a past member of TTFF didn't attend any board meetings where finances were discussed? Because if they couldn't figure out that the obscene amounts being wasted could not have been used to improve football, then they don't deserve to be involved now, which may be the reason that corporate T&T still keeps away. Also, I don't believe that the players have actually asked for a dollar towards the case. What they have applied for is support, cooperation, information and testimony. If you honestly believe that it is incorrect for people who have knowledge of a crime to testify then you're in the wrong game. What the judge asked for is for TTFA to sue Warner. Fair enough, that may cost too much, so why not work with the players to recover the money? Why not, Bakes? They need the money, so you tell me.

There is no crusade against Sheldon Phillips, as he was not around in 2006 and probably doesn't know where the bodies are buried. But there are people inside TTFA who probably do, but are keeping quiet, as you said: when the reality is that few people within the organization had any privy to the financial practices being conducted by Jack and a select trusted cadre of thieves. So, who are these few people, Bakes? Name names.

When the players went to the TTFF office to recover evidence as ordered by the judge, there were stacks of file boxes containing TTFF bank statements, payment vouchers and invoices. The TTFF staff were/are very efficient and had an excellent meticulous filing system. Those documents showed the suspicious transactions made public by The Express. That cunning TTFF "cadre of thieves" had left the evidence in plain sight where those who were completely unaware of the wrongdoing would never think to look. No wonder they never knew what was going on.

« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2014, 11:41:54 AM »
I have no idea why you feel the need to be coming at me with some sort of personal attack, but two can play that game.

Bakes, it's nice that you have become TTFA's defender and offer alternate views. However, you really need to stop pretending that you know everything while every one else knows nothing. It just devalues the worthwhile contributions that you occasionally make.

The Government could 'adopt' the case under what premise?  I have no idea. You're the lawyer.

So you concede that you don't know... you concede that I'm better situated to know whether it has merit... YET you decide to launch a personal attack on me by claiming that I "pretend" to know everything.  Has it occurred to you that perhaps I actually know what I'm talking about on this one?  I'm dead certain that if you check my record of commenting on legal issues on this website you'd find that I've been 100% correct with what I've said.  Trust me, there is no pretense here, you'd do well to simply be quiet when you don't have any clue what you're talking about.  When we want to know about Central FC's little community activities we know where to find you.

But when the Attorney General entered this clause in the agreement, I'm sure there must have been some iota of legality somewhere. Not only was it written in the agreement, this clause was quoted several times verbatim before the players signed. So, perhaps there may be some merit in it? All I know is that when somebody loans you money against an asset, that asset can be claimed. Therefore, now there is a contract between the players and govt, if govt choose to act on this clause they can fund the ongoing case themselves and if the players fail to comply, the "gifts" will have to be repaid. Again, I'm only guessing.

Yes... this from the same AG who wanted to prosecute a 12-year old for comments made on FB... who advised the goverment to breach the OPV purchase agreement with BAE, which resulted in the citizens of T&T paying significantly more than they would have had the contract been honored.  And now 4 1/2 years later we still don't have so much as a f**king pirogue.  Yes... I'm sure there must have been some iota of legality in there somewhere.  Instead of "guessing" you muppet... if this "gift" is made with the disputed funds owed to the players as collateral, then CLEARLY, if the players renege then it is the players who owe something to the the Gov't not the TTFA.  There is no privity between the Gov't and the TTFA.  Rather than assuming that there is some legal basis, STFU and recognize what's obvious to anyone with commonsense... they're trying to baffle the public with bullshit.  Townley his own f**king self said so when it was originally announced.  Yet you accuse me of pretending.  FOH.

If the Government was really interested in any way... why didn't they become involved before? I know you really don't believe that anyone hear believes that you are really so stupid as to really ask this question. It could only be more obvious if they spray painted "Don't vote ILP" on the roof of the Red House.

It's a rhetorical question you f**king dunce.

As for you little rant about poor old TTFA, again, are you really that dense? You're now trying to say that no TTFA executive who was a past member of TTFF didn't attend any board meetings where finances were discussed? Because if they couldn't figure out that the obscene amounts being wasted could not have been used to improve football, then they don't deserve to be involved now, which may be the reason that corporate T&T still keeps away. Also, I don't believe that the players have actually asked for a dollar towards the case. What they have applied for is support, cooperation, information and testimony. If you honestly believe that it is incorrect for people who have knowledge of a crime to testify then you're in the wrong game. What the judge asked for is for TTFA to sue Warner. Fair enough, that may cost too much, so why not work with the players to recover the money? Why not, Bakes? They need the money, so you tell me.

I said nothing about "poor old TTFA" let alone some "rant" about it.  It's no secret that Jack ruled the TTFF with an iron hand.  It's no secret in hindsight that he used it as his personal bank account.  Given his tight grip on control of the TTFF it is not at all inconceivable that he was an authority unto himself and didn't feel the need to consult with anyone.  In fact every indication is that this is how he ran the TTFF... even when one considers how he spontaneously and unilaterally obligated the TTFF with his promise to the players without consulting anyone.  Yet to have you tell it the TTFF sat down as an organization and made financial decisions??  If you want to see "dense" just take a look at your own bald ugly reflection in the mirror.

There is no crusade against Sheldon Phillips, as he was not around in 2006 and probably doesn't know where the bodies are buried. But there are people inside TTFA who probably do, but are keeping quiet, as you said: when the reality is that few people within the organization had any privy to the financial practices being conducted by Jack and a select trusted cadre of thieves. So, who are these few people, Bakes? Name names.

When the players went to the TTFF office to recover evidence as ordered by the judge, there were stacks of file boxes containing TTFF bank statements, payment vouchers and invoices. The TTFF staff were/are very efficient and had an excellent meticulous filing system. Those documents showed the suspicious transactions made public by The Express. That cunning TTFF "cadre of thieves" had left the evidence in plain sight where those who were completely unaware of the wrongdoing would never think to look. No wonder they never knew what was going on.

You really need me to name the names of the "cadre"?  You must be an even bigger dunce than I was giving you credit for.  The players were never ordered to go recover evidence from the TTFF office, that's foolishness.  They went there to execute a lien on the business assets of the organization.  Whatever discovery you think this is clearly it wasn't the smoking gun you're trying to make it out to be since it only affirms that the financial transactions occurred with only the knowledge of Warner, Camps, Groden and Kenny Rampersad.  Again, this is no secret... but you can't see that because yuh head too far up Sancho's ass to recognize sense from nonsense.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2014, 07:02:27 PM by Bakes »

« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2014, 08:57:21 PM »
I have no idea why you feel the need to be coming at me with some sort of personal attack, but two can play that game.

The Government could 'adopt' the case under what premise?  I have no idea. You're the lawyer.

So you concede that you don't know... you concede that I'm better situated to know whether it has merit... YET you decide to launch a personal attack on me by claiming that I "pretend" to know everything.  Has it occurred to you that perhaps I actually know what I'm talking about on this one?  I'm dead certain that if you check my record of commenting on legal issues on this website you'd find that I've been 100% correct with what I've said.  Trust me, there is no pretense here, you'd do well to simply be quiet when you don't have any clue what you're talking about.  When we want to know about Central FC's little community activities we know where to find you.

But when the Attorney General entered this clause in the agreement, I'm sure there must have been some iota of legality somewhere. Not only was it written in the agreement, this clause was quoted several times verbatim before the players signed. So, perhaps there may be some merit in it? All I know is that when somebody loans you money against an asset, that asset can be claimed. Therefore, now there is a contract between the players and govt, if govt choose to act on this clause they can fund the ongoing case themselves and if the players fail to comply, the "gifts" will have to be repaid. Again, I'm only guessing.

Yes... this from the same AG who wanted to prosecute a 12-year old for comments made on FB... who advised the goverment to breach the OPV purchase agreement with BAE, which resulted in the citizens of T&T paying significantly more than they would have had the contract been honored.  And now 4 1/2 years later we still don't have so much as a f**king pirogue.  Yes... I'm sure there must have been some iota of legality in there somewhere.  Instead of "guessing" you muppet... if this "gift" is made with the disputed funds owed to the players as collateral, then CLEARLY, if the players renege then it is the players who owe something to the the Gov't not the TTFA.  There is no privity between the Gov't and the TTFA.  Rather than assuming that there is some legal basis, STFU and recognize what's obvious to anyone with commonsense... they're trying to baffle the public with bullshit.  Townley his own f**king self said so when it was originally announced.  Yet you accuse me of pretending.  FOH.

It's a rhetorical question you f**king dunce.

I said nothing about "poor old TTFA" let alone some "rant" about it.  It's no secret that Jack ruled the TTFF with an iron hand.  It's no secret in hindsight that he used it as his personal bank account.  Given his tight grip on control of the TTFF it is not at all inconceivable that he was an authority unto himself and didn't feel the need to consult with anyone.  In fact every indication is that this is how he ran the TTFF... even when one considers how he spontaneously and unilaterally obligated the TTFF with his promise to the players without consulting anyone.  Yet to have you tell it the TTFF sat down as an organization and made financial decisions??  If you want to see "dense" just take a look at your own bald ugly reflection in the mirror.

You really need me to name the names of the "cadre"?  You must be an even bigger dunce than I was giving you credit for.  The players were never ordered to go recover evidence from the TTFF office, that's foolishness.  They went there to execute a lien on the business assets of the organization.  Whatever discovery you think this is clearly it wasn't the smoking gun you're trying to make it out to be since it only affirms that the financial transactions occurred with only the knowledge of Warner, Camps, Groden and Kenny Rampersad.  Again, this is no secret... but you can't see that because yuh head too far up Sancho's ass to recognize sense from nonsense.

Ah love it when you bite reallll hard on your own cock. LOL  :clown:

« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2014, 10:25:18 PM »
Ah love it when you bite reallll hard on your own cock. LOL  :clown:

You sound real experienced, so I'll have to take your word for it.

« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2014, 11:12:14 AM »
In trying to be objective and reframing from sympathizing with any sides, how do we see a resolve and a moving forward?
 What would be the implications or possibilities of any of the following?

1 all fingers should be pointing and going after the principal culprit(s)
2 . The cowardly government- who more than likely had taxpayers' money allocated to the  then TTFF gone awry during and after the 2006 campaign should also take the principal lead in going after the culprits instead of paying a loan with the intent of having others do the dirty work!!!! Just like the minister of sports fiasco, they deferred the judgement to his political party prior to them taking decisive action.
3 once more is it possible for FIFA to step in and declare incompetence and or to disband the TTFA for negligence in supporting and operating football in TNT? If the TTFA is disbanded do the 2006 Socawarriors players still have a case against what would be a non existent organization ?
4. Is it possible for the TNT pro league to assume operations for the national teams in TNT?
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 02:39:31 PM by AB.Trini »

« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2014, 02:18:24 PM »
Wait a minute.

Assuming it true that the Government could take over the case.....that means they could instigate action behind Jack?

What kind of political leverage could this give? Especially as its perceived that Jack releasing information about government wrongdoings?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.