March 29, 2024, 06:28:33 AM

Author Topic: Levi Garcia Thread  (Read 151697 times)

Re: Levi Garcia Thread
« Reply #270 on: September 10, 2016, 07:52:38 PM »
man trini accent gone already.
Lord Help Us

Please.

« Reply #271 on: September 11, 2016, 05:12:58 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mte1uru9kRA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mte1uru9kRA</a>

« Reply #272 on: September 11, 2016, 05:16:49 AM »
Garcia sounds like Dutchman speaking English,he is young and it's easier to change when you are young,I heard Yorke about 6 months after he came to England,and he sounded like English.A friend of mine brought a family friend to visit me,and I thought he was living in England,it's only when I was told he is on a holiday I realized he was a visitor,he had no Trini accent.I think Trinis are very good at their usage of the English language,they don't all sound like "Bleeder". ;D

« Reply #273 on: September 11, 2016, 06:21:23 AM »
man trini accent gone already.
Lord Help Us

Please.

I know. Who gives a flying f00k that the man lose or losing his accent.. You can't please Trinis at all

Offline madness

« Reply #274 on: September 11, 2016, 07:37:26 AM »
internationally, your trini accent most go cuz they wouldn't understand u so u need to slow it down

« Reply #275 on: September 11, 2016, 03:17:36 PM »
Levi just scored in injury time to help AZ defeat Willem II, 2-0.

Any video of the goal?

« Reply #276 on: September 11, 2016, 06:18:01 PM »
WATCH: AZ Alkmaar fans sing the Levi Garcia song after he scored his first goal of the season in a 2-0 win over Willem II

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/d4x7hxCjnl0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/d4x7hxCjnl0</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VwUnIDiaMZk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VwUnIDiaMZk</a>
« Last Edit: September 11, 2016, 06:39:15 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #277 on: September 11, 2016, 07:17:44 PM »
internationally, your trini accent most go cuz they wouldn't understand u so u need to slow it down

you can speak slower without changing your accent.  People choose to lose their accent aka change their accent.

« Reply #278 on: September 11, 2016, 07:20:02 PM »
WATCH: AZ Alkmaar fans sing the Levi Garcia song after he scored his first goal of the season in a 2-0 win over Willem II

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/d4x7hxCjnl0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/d4x7hxCjnl0</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VwUnIDiaMZk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VwUnIDiaMZk</a>

nice  :beermug:

« Reply #279 on: September 11, 2016, 07:55:28 PM »

you can speak slower without changing your accent.  People choose to lose their accent aka change their accent.

Everyone is an expert. SMH.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/science/science-news/7931299/Humans-subconsciously-mimic-other-accents-psychologists-claim.html

Start there.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2016, 07:57:04 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #280 on: September 11, 2016, 09:19:57 PM »
where is the goal? all i see is ppl singing and what appears to be the the after goal celebrations.

« Reply #281 on: September 12, 2016, 12:24:18 AM »

i think you can just speak slower if you move to North America or England. I work in the middle east and if you dont code switch then you are caught repeating yourself to everyone all the time

the accent isnt lost you are just required to speak your english in a way most of your listeners will understand.  same same but different

« Reply #282 on: September 12, 2016, 07:28:42 AM »
WATCH: Levi Garcia scores his first goal of the season in AZ Alkmaar’s 2-0 win over Willem II Tilburg.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/IEYyNZwO4R8?start=275" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/IEYyNZwO4R8?start=275</a>

« Reply #283 on: September 12, 2016, 08:19:38 AM »
where is the goal? all i see is ppl singing and what appears to be the the after goal celebrations.

See the goal dated Sept 11th here

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=65173.0

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #284 on: September 12, 2016, 10:36:30 AM »
Ah hearing that Levi going to Curacao with the U20's. Anybody can confirm?

Offline Adam Lake

« Reply #285 on: September 12, 2016, 10:50:40 AM »
WATCH: Levi Garcia scores his first goal of the season in AZ Alkmaar’s 2-0 win over Willem II Tilburg.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/IEYyNZwO4R8?start=275" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/IEYyNZwO4R8?start=275</a>

:notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: Sweet goal! Great hustle to pressure the defender as well...

« Reply #286 on: September 12, 2016, 11:20:18 AM »

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/science/science-news/7931299/Humans-subconsciously-mimic-other-accents-psychologists-claim.html

Start there.

I think age and time has a part to play in it too. I can only speak from my own experience. My brother is 8yrs younger than me, he came to the US 1 year before me, and after we both were here for about 2 and 3 yrs respectively, people were shock when we said we were brothers, because he sounded like an American and I still had my "trini accent". My accent has faded over time, but it is still very noticeable.

« Reply #287 on: September 12, 2016, 11:29:55 AM »
Trini love to police man accent, boy.

« Reply #288 on: September 12, 2016, 11:32:32 AM »

Start there.

I think age and time has a part to play in it too. I can only speak from my own experience. My brother is 8yrs younger than me, he came to the US 1 year before me, and after we both were here for about 2 and 3 yrs respectively, people were shock when we said we were brothers, because he sounded like an American and I still had my "trini accent". My accent has faded over time, but it is still very noticeable.

LONG TIME. I say yuh give up on us

Start there.

LONG TIME. I say you on the list of former posters

« Reply #289 on: September 12, 2016, 11:44:02 AM »

Start there.

LONG TIME. I say yuh give up on us

Start there.

LONG TIME. I say you on the list of former posters

haha, I still lurking, just don't post as much as I used to. Couldn't handle all the bacchanal and fighting among posters going on.

« Reply #290 on: September 12, 2016, 06:33:24 PM »
Most of the pest gone so much more pleasant environment.

« Reply #291 on: September 22, 2016, 05:32:41 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Levi Garcia’s first four games of the 2016/17 Dutch Eredivisie season

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/aNES28mgHuU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/aNES28mgHuU</a>

« Reply #292 on: September 23, 2016, 10:05:45 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Levi Garcia’s first four games of the 2016/17 Dutch Eredivisie season

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/aNES28mgHuU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/aNES28mgHuU</a>

« Reply #293 on: September 24, 2016, 05:02:23 AM »
God First Indeed

« Reply #294 on: September 24, 2016, 08:30:09 PM »
Performance looks good
sky is the limit.

approach to the game has to be spot on.

Both players like Yorke and Henri started out as wingers and morphed into world class strikers.

Only through maximum effort and preparations can true potential be achieved.

Sky is the limit.

« Reply #295 on: October 02, 2016, 10:18:15 AM »
Sparta Rot. Vs AZ
Garcia just came on in the 72nd.

« Reply #296 on: November 04, 2016, 11:12:47 AM »
Levi: We must be disciplined but ruthless.
TTFA Media.

Only once in all-time history has Trinidad and Tobago defeated Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifying match at any level. It occurred on Monday April 8th, 2013 in La Chorrera, Panama when this country’s national under 17 men’s team pulled off a 2-0 win over the Central Americans in a CONCACAF Final Round encounter, a result which helped push them through to the quarter final stage.

Netherland-based winger Levi Garcia played the match in its entirety and recalls it vividly. At 15 years, he was given the starting role by coach Shawn Cooper for a match that T&T needed to win after suffering a 2-0 loss to Canada in the opening match.

Now Garcia is hoping to play his part in spurring Stephen Hart’s team off to a winning start to the CONCACAF Final Round of qualification for the 2018 World Cup next Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“Oh yes I remember that match. It was such a joy because we found out after that no national team had ever beaten Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifying match so it felt great to be part of that team,” Garcia told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“I remember we knew Costa Rica were a big team and we were a bit down after losing the first game against Canada. We played really well but we just couldn’t score and then we fixed that in the second game against them (Costa Rica). That was one of my most pleasing experiences as a national youth player,” he said.

Turning 19 on November 20th, Garcia knows that the responsibilities and the expectations are greater now. The stakes are much higher this time around.

“Yes. It’s a totally different stage. For me it’s very exciting. A year ago I maybe didn’t think that I would be on this stage with the senior team. It’s a lot more pressure but now pressure in the sense that it’s a big weight. I have grown and matured over the past year since I moved to Holland but I am still learning every day and the maturing process is continuing for me,” Garcia continued.

“I believe that this game is very important and it will take a big effort from every player from the entire squad, not just for this game but all of our matches in this round. I am confident that we can do it but we have to be smart and disciplined and of course ruthless when we are out there. Nothing must go past us easily and we have to make use of our chances on goal in the games,” he said.

Levi Garcia: the AZ Alkmaar teenager making waves across Europe
« Reply #297 on: November 24, 2016, 11:44:44 AM »
Levi Garcia: the AZ Alkmaar teenager making waves across Europe
By Andre Thompson (realsport101.com)

AZ Alkmaar travel to Dundalk, pinning their hopes on youngster Levi Garcia. We've profiled the player, who's already turning heads across Europe.

AZ Alkmaar travel to Ireland to face Irish league champions Dundalk FC in their penultimate game of the Europa League Group D. Alkmaar are bottom of the group on two points, though a win over the second placed side will see them overtake their group rivals and create a chance of qualifying for the knockout rounds. A name that's doing the rounds recently is Levi Garcia of AZ Alkmaar. Although he's only been at the Dutch club since February 2015, his rise has been phenomenal, establishing himself in the first team at just 19-years-old.

In light of Garcia's likely appearance against Dundalk tonight, we've profiled the player and shed some light on his humble background.

Humble beginnings
Growing up in the south of Trinidad, Levi Garcia comes from humble beginnings. He began playing football from a tender age with his brothers in the small Trinidadian town of Santa Flora; he was handpicked early as one for the future. Whilst Garcia is a somewhat new name for many tongues that speak the language of football, those who have witnessed the budding 19-year-old have already been amazed by his undoubted talent.

Garcia progressed rapidly in his native Trinidad, becoming the standout player at college level, leading his team to the Secondary Schools’ Football League Trophy and he was soon selected for national duty for the Trinidad and Tobago U20s. It was here that Dutch scout Humphrey Nijman spotted the rising star.

His pedigree for success is a noted feature of his youth, having won titles from a young age. His first professional game came at age 15 for T&TEC in Trinidad, before he moved on to Shiva Hindu Boys’ College of Penal, Trinidad. Although he briefly joined Central FC, he would soon depart for U20s duty, only to be scouted by Mr. Nijman.

Levi, before he could feature in a match for Central FC was on trial at AZ Alkmaar, where he was under the special care of Marco Van Basten and the Dutchman was impressed with what he saw of the youngster. Garcia is a versatile player. He’s a left wing by nature, but can perform well anywhere in attack because of his general strength, skill, ball control and improvisation techniques.

Talent beyond his size
Despite his height of 5”9’, Garcia possess strength in possession of the ball, he’s quick and can finish. He’s a real number ten. Garcia made his debut for Alkmaar, wearing the number 28 shirt, against Feyenoord, becoming the youngest player from Trinidad and Tobago to feature in a match in Europe at 18 years and 65 days, taking the record away from well known former Manchester United and Aston Villa striker Dwight Yorke.

Levi was not done yet though, going on to score a double on his national debut for Trinidad and Tobago against St Vincent and the Grenadines, becoming the youngest player to score in a FIFA World Cup qualification match in the process. He was also the youngest to feature in a match for Trinidad and Tobago. These were all records held by Yorke.

Garcia has started his professional life with Alkmaar well debuting at Feyenoord and scoring in only his second match at NEC Nijmegen after coming on as a sub in the 71st minute, gaining instant popularity with the fans. Garcia made eight appearances coming to the end of the 2015/16 season where AZ placed fourth. The 2016 season has started well for the 19-year-old,  already making eight Eredivisie appearances, scoring and assisting one apiece. He’s also spreading his name across Europe, playing in four Europa League qualifying matches and two group games.

This season Levi has progressed and looks well adapted to the Dutch ‘total’ style of play and is coping well with life in Holland. Levi is proving a lot to handle for defenders, as he regularly gets past his marker with his excellent footwork, control and strength.

Alkmaar the right destination
Levi Garcia is definitely one for the future and a good buy for Alkmaar. The Dutch club have a reputation for developing great players going on to play in Europe’s top five leagues. Just ask Vincent Janssen, Alkmaar's top scorer in the Eredivisie last season who was signed by Tottenham over the summer.

Alkmaar continue to grow and constantly breed young talent, now boasting Derick Luckassen and Ridgeciano Haps in their ranks. It’s the perfect environment for Garcia to improve his game.

Alkmaar have already put out dribbling skills of Levi Garcia on youtube so all fans and those who wish to take a look are much welcomed to see this talent of tomorrow shine. Soon his name will be etched in the hearts of Alkmaar fans and engraved in their history but bigger things can also be expected of the Trinidadian as many expect big clubs to come knocking soon.

« Reply #298 on: December 08, 2016, 03:21:59 PM »
WATCH: Levi Garcia scores the third goal in Jong AZ’s 5-1 win over TEC VV

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Wrp3K7I6n8o?start=74" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Wrp3K7I6n8o?start=74</a>

Garcia confident T&T can regain WCQ form
« Reply #299 on: December 18, 2016, 10:30:08 AM »
Garcia confident T&T can regain WCQ form
CONCACAF.com

After opening the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup with two losses, Trinidad & Tobago sits fifth in the six-team table, leading the United States on goal difference (-4 to -5).

Winger Levi Garcia believes the Soca Warriors can right the ship starting in March, when they resume play in the competition with home matches against Panama (March 24) and Mexico (March 28).

“It is a long campaign,” the 19-year-old told CONCACAF.com.  “We still have eight matches to go to turn things around. We have two games to come in March against Panama and Mexico so this is a grand opportunity to show we are capable of great things in this region and make the fans happy.  We have to target 6 points.”

It has been a long time since T&T hosted either side in a WCQ.  The Caribbean power beat Panama 2-0 in 2005, and drew 2-2 with Mexico four years later.

More recently, T&T faced both in the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup, battling Mexico to a 4-4 stalemate, while falling 6-5 on penalty kicks to Panama after knotting at 1-1 in a quarterfinal meeting.

“We certainly have the ability and the determination to do well.  It is all about executing now,” stressed Garcia, who joined Dutch Eredivisie side AZ Alkmaar from Central FC in 2015.  “We have a good record versus Panama and Mexico at home, so we are hoping past results against them can be replicated.”

With AZ this season, Garcia has notched a goal and an assist in eight games.  He credits his European experience with helping him earn a spot on the senior squad despite his relative youth.

“Playing in the Netherlands is quite an adjustment to playing in Trinidad,” Garcia finished.  “The pace of the game is quicker.  It is much more technical, so it took some time to adjust.  However, after a few months, I felt settled and I feel it has prepared me for International football, especially at the senior level.  Scoring a brace on my senior debut (entering as a substitute in a 3-2 World Cup Qualifying win at St. Vincent & the Grenadines on March 25, 2016) was a good experience and I feel once I continue improving in Eredivisie it will positively help my country.”