March 28, 2024, 03:18:48 PM

Author Topic: Republic Day Trinidad & Tobago Thread.  (Read 3070 times)

Republic Day Trinidad & Tobago Thread.
« on: September 24, 2014, 12:56:08 PM »
Happy 38th Republic Day to Trinidad & Tobago!

Bunji Garlin - Find Me In Trinidad (2014 T&T Soca)
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/sJnXigBWWmU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/sJnXigBWWmU</a>

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO REPUBLIC DAY

Trinidad and Tobago became a Republic on August 1st, 1976 which is also Emancipation Day. However the event is celebrated as a public holiday on September 24th every year because this is the date when the first Parliament met under the new Republican Constitution.
The date was removed from the official calendar of holidays between 1999 and 2001 to make way for the Spiritual Baptist (Shouter) Liberation Day which is celebrated on March 30th but was reinstated as an official T&T public holiday again in 2002.

Republic Day is normally celebrated with a parade and other festivities, including dances and feasts. The Royal Oak Derby, Trinidad and Tobago's most important horse race, is normally run on this day as well. The nation's president always gives a speech stressing that being a republic means all citizens are to assume responsibility for their own actions as the price of freedom, etc.

DEFINITION OF A REPUBLIC

Republic [noun]: A state or nation in which the supreme power rests in all the citizens entitled to vote (the electorate), and is exercised by representatives elected, directly or indirectly, by them, and responsible to them.

What is the meaning of Republic Day in Trinidad and Tobago?

The meaning of Republic Day in Trinidad and Tobago is that Republic Day is the day we (in Trinidad and Tobago) cut all colonial ties with England.
When we gained independence, there was still a governor representing the queen but when we gained republic status we cut all ties with the UK and appointed our own President who is our official head of state that is higher than our Prime Minister.

« Last Edit: June 05, 2015, 02:08:54 AM by Flex »

Re: Happy 38th Republic Day to Trinidad & Tobago!
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 09:47:57 AM »

The meaning of Republic Day in Trinidad and Tobago is that Republic Day is the day we (in Trinidad and Tobago) cut all colonial ties with England.
When we gained independence, there was still a governor representing the queen but when we gained republic status we cut all ties with the UK and appointed our own President who is our official head of state that is higher than our Prime Minister.

What a friggin' joke!

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2014, 04:25:02 PM »

What a friggin' joke!

If you are referring to our current President then you are correct! :thumbsup:

Not only that but based upon the definition of a Republic the current dictatorship PP Gov violated our constitution as a Republic by not taking their run-off elections idea to the electorate to decide on before introducing into their undemocratic elections amendment bill.

DEFINITION OF A REPUBLIC

Republic [noun]
: A state or nation in which the supreme power rests in all the citizens entitled to vote (the electorate), and is exercised by representatives elected, directly or indirectly, by them, and responsible to them.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 04:34:08 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2014, 04:31:00 PM »

What a friggin' joke!

No. Not the President. I have no beef with him. If they selected you to be the President, you would be doing almost everything that he and the past Presidents and GG have done. Ceremonial duties. No power to do or change anything.

I have an issue with "what is the meaning of a republic".    ..... we cut all ties with the UK ......

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2014, 04:36:34 PM »

What a friggin' joke!

No. Not the President. I have no beef with him. If they selected you to be the President, you would be doing almost everything that he and the past Presidents and GG have done. Ceremonial duties. No power to do or change anything.

I have an issue with "what is the meaning of a republic".    ..... we cut all ties with the UK ......

They obviously mean political ties Deeks meaning we are no longer under our ex-colonial masters whatsoever.

America fought a bloody war with the British to achieve the same rights to control their own destiny.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 04:41:25 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2014, 06:21:09 PM »

Sometimes you have to really sit back and absorb with being a Republic mean for different people in T&T.

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/Republic-Day--2901---277017611.html

« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2014, 07:07:49 PM »
Eric did a real number on we, fellas. Dudes, the privy council is still we final court. When the US cut ties, they well friggin cut ties. And they still like family.

« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2014, 08:50:19 PM »

Deeks me too against the Privy Council being T&T final court. If we are serious about cutting ties then dais shit if our final court is not our own.

Think about how many different governments come and gone and we still have Privy council as final court today steupse

« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2014, 08:40:41 AM »
Deeks seems like change may eventually come

Areas of Constitution reform will include:

• Internal Self Government for Tobago and the nature of the unitary state of T&T.

• Abolition of appeals to the Privy Council and instituting the CCJ as our final appellate court

• The role and functions of the service commissions
• Appointment of a commissioner of police
• The role and functions of the Salaries Review Commission
• The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and the exercise of prosecutorial authority in relation to white collar crime
• Electoral system reform
• Clarification of the role and powers of the President.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11-17/pnm-rolls-out-2015-governance-plan

« Reply #9 on: November 17, 2014, 10:44:48 AM »
Waste of holiday.