15 (35.7%)
Brent Sancho
0 (0%)
David-John Williams
0 (0%)
Foreign Investor
1 (2.4%)

Total Members Voted: 42

Author Topic: TTFA News Thread.  (Read 117118 times)

Re: TTFA News Thread.
« Reply #420 on: November 27, 2019, 05:25:47 PM »
New TTFA officers continue work apace
TTFA Media

Newly elected Trinidad and Tobago FA President William Wallace and his team of officers, Vice Presidents Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Joseph Sam Phillip, maintained a high tempo approach to their first days in office with another eight hour meeting today at the FA’s head office in Couva.

The team met with Senior Men’s National Team Manager Richard Piper, and Head Coach Dennis Lawrence. They also met with head of the TTFA Elite Programme Gary St. Rose.

Piper was asked to submit a 2019 Manager’s Report while Lawrence must also submit a technical report, with particular reference to the 2019 Gold Cup and Nations League tournaments. St. Rose was directed to submit a number of documents, including a 2019 report on the Elite Programme and a budget for 2020. ✔

The following matters were also discussed and decisions taken:

1. The resignation of General Secretary Camara David was accepted, effective 30 November. President Wallace will recommend his replacement to the TTFA Board of Directors for approval. ✔

2. Legal cases, thirteen in number, and including the dispute over the Soca Warrior brand with Selwyn Melville and the Sheldon Phillips matter. Actions were agreed to address these matters. The officers will meet next week with the Association’s legal counsel in this regard.

3. The established debt discovered to date is approximately TTD 50 million, including TTD 1.7 million for the unfinished Home of Football. This is expected to increase with outstanding claims being discovered each day.

4. TTFA will host a quarterly Media Round Table to facilitate transparency and cordial relations with the media. ✔

5. Meetings to discuss development matters with TTFA members begin on November 29 with South FA and the Trinidad and Tobago Referees Association on November 30.

6. A letter of congratulation will be sent to Trinidad and Tobago Senior National Team player Aubrey David for winning the CONCACAF League with Deportivo Saprissa of Costa Rica. ✔

7. An Association email domain has been created to ensure all TTFA correspondence remains the property of and accessible to the Association. ✔

8. A letter must be sent to all TTFA members to submit the name of their representative to the TTFA Board of Directors by 6 December.

9. Preliminary discussions commenced regarding the program for the National Under 20 Women’s Team participation in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers scheduled for February 2020. ✔

10. The assessment of the TTFA League of Champions was completed.

TTFA’s officers meet again on Friday November 29.

See how easy it is to communicate with one's public? Boom! It is the same principle as obtains in the daily briefing in a political environment. X and Y are in progress; we know C but we don't know D; A and B are completed and we propose to do L,M,N, O, P.

« Reply #421 on: November 27, 2019, 06:23:19 PM »
New TTFA officers continue work apace
TTFA Media

Newly elected Trinidad and Tobago FA President William Wallace and his team of officers, Vice Presidents Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Joseph Sam Phillip, maintained a high tempo approach to their first days in office with another eight hour meeting today at the FA’s head office in Couva.

The team met with Senior Men’s National Team Manager Richard Piper, and Head Coach Dennis Lawrence. They also met with head of the TTFA Elite Programme Gary St. Rose.

Piper was asked to submit a 2019 Manager’s Report while Lawrence must also submit a technical report, with particular reference to the 2019 Gold Cup and Nations League tournaments. St. Rose was directed to submit a number of documents, including a 2019 report on the Elite Programme and a budget for 2020. ✔

The following matters were also discussed and decisions taken:

1. The resignation of General Secretary Camara David was accepted, effective 30 November. President Wallace will recommend his replacement to the TTFA Board of Directors for approval. ✔

2. Legal cases, thirteen in number, and including the dispute over the Soca Warrior brand with Selwyn Melville and the Sheldon Phillips matter. Actions were agreed to address these matters. The officers will meet next week with the Association’s legal counsel in this regard.

3. The established debt discovered to date is approximately TTD 50 million, including TTD 1.7 million for the unfinished Home of Football. This is expected to increase with outstanding claims being discovered each day.

4. TTFA will host a quarterly Media Round Table to facilitate transparency and cordial relations with the media. ✔

5. Meetings to discuss development matters with TTFA members begin on November 29 with South FA and the Trinidad and Tobago Referees Association on November 30.

6. A letter of congratulation will be sent to Trinidad and Tobago Senior National Team player Aubrey David for winning the CONCACAF League with Deportivo Saprissa of Costa Rica. ✔

7. An Association email domain has been created to ensure all TTFA correspondence remains the property of and accessible to the Association. ✔

8. A letter must be sent to all TTFA members to submit the name of their representative to the TTFA Board of Directors by 6 December.

9. Preliminary discussions commenced regarding the program for the National Under 20 Women’s Team participation in the CONCACAF World Cup qualifiers scheduled for February 2020. ✔

10. The assessment of the TTFA League of Champions was completed.

TTFA’s officers meet again on Friday November 29.

See how easy it is to communicate with one's public? Boom! It is the same principle as obtains in the daily briefing in a political environment. X and Y are in progress; we know C but we don't know D; A and B are completed and we propose to do L,M,N, O, P.

The previous administration could not grasp that as a concept.

« Reply #422 on: November 27, 2019, 06:25:09 PM »
I must give the TTFA credit for their transparency here, something we haven't had the luxury of seeing in a while. All we used to get was "in the fullness of time", time past and gone and we still waiting. It will be good if they eventually reach out (after they're settled) to work with the supporters on this site. We can have a fanbase similar to the American Outlaws where we can purchase tickets for games through them in certain sections etc.

« Reply #423 on: November 27, 2019, 06:50:54 PM »
There is cause for optimism...cautious optimism....going forward. The congratulatory note to Aubrey David was a nice touch.

« Reply #424 on: November 28, 2019, 06:38:05 AM »
7. An Association email domain has been created to ensure all TTFA correspondence remains the property of and accessible to the Association.

How effin basic do you need to be to not have your own email address? How incompetent were previous administrations to not have this? The mind-boggling thing is that most website hosts give you this option for free or a reduced fee. I shouldn't be surprised I supposed, the W Connection website has been down more than it has been up. It's also quite telling that he thought it pertinent to conduct TTFA business through his own personal email.

« Reply #425 on: November 28, 2019, 06:59:22 AM »
7. An Association email domain has been created to ensure all TTFA correspondence remains the property of and accessible to the Association.

How effin basic do you need to be to not have your own email address? How incompetent were previous administrations to not have this? The mind-boggling thing is that most website hosts give you this option for free or a reduced fee. I shouldn't be surprised I supposed, the W Connection website has been down more than it has been up. It's also quite telling that he thought it pertinent to conduct TTFA business through his own personal email.
they didn’t call the bloke the dictator for nothing.

Sport Minister supports TTFA audit
« Reply #426 on: November 28, 2019, 07:56:16 AM »
By Narissa Fraser (T&T Newsday)

MINISTER of Sport and Youth Affairs Shamfa Cudjoe said she is in “full support” of the call by the T&T Football Association (TTFA) to initiate a financial audit as a new administration takes office.

Secondary Schools Football president William Wallace dethroned David John-Williams as TTFA president at the association’s elections on Sunday. Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Sam Phillip were voted first, second and third vice-presidents, respectively.

After approximately eight hours of meetings with his vice-presidents on Monday, Wallace said one of the major decisions made was to shut down the recently-opened Home of Football in Balmain, Couva, until further notice. The million-dollar, 72-room facility was officially opened on November 18.

Speaking with Newsday, Wallace said it has pending approvals and no property insurance.

“We found out some of the approvals are not in place. For example, fire approvals. You can’t have people in a building without fire approval.”

According to the official website of the Ministry of Rural Development, applications for over ten lots of land must receive approval from the chief designs engineer of the Ministry of Works and Transport, the Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA), the T&T Electricity Commission (TTEC) and the chief fire officer.

A request must then be made for inspection of the building to obtain a certificate of completion. The site says requests can be made at the building inspector’s office at the relevant municipal corporation. Once inspected and approved, the certificate can be collected after two weeks.

But a senior official from the fire service who wished to remain anonymous told Newsday the previous administration began the process but did not complete it. The official said no requests were made for inspection.

While this is the main issue with the facility the new administration has found thus far, Wallace said, “That was enough for us to say people can’t occupy the building. Information is still coming in on the Home and other things.”

When contacted, Cudjoe said she was unaware the building still had pending approvals and no insurance. She attended the opening ceremony on November 18, along with the Prime Minister, FIFA president Gianni Infantino and Concacaf president Victor Montagliani.

“I was not aware of that. That is something for the administration to treat with.

“That is something you’d have to ask the executive or management of TTFA.”

In addition to the facility’s shut-down, decisions made during Wallace’s Monday meeting included the creation of an advisory committee and assigning roles to the vice-presidents. Taylor will focus on membership affairs, Joseph-Warrick will tackle women’s football and Phillip will handle security.

Other decisions included: Stopping transactions on all TTFA bank accounts (including online transactions), issuing a public invitation to TTFA creditors to present their claim, introducing new security measures for the protection of TTFA property and initiating a financial audit.

Asked about the audit, Cudjoe said, “Anybody taking stock of a new entity will obviously want to look at the financial health of the entity. We do so as government, and I guess it’s the best interest of any new person taking on a new administration. “I give the president full support like I give to all presidents of NGBs (National governing bodies) and I wish them all the very best in their endeavours.”

Newsday tried contacting John-Williams for a comment, however,he asked that his privacy be respected.

« Reply #427 on: November 28, 2019, 08:14:28 AM »
One builds a multi-million dollar facility and gives scant regard to insuring that highly valuated property before it is opened to patrons? Ah won't even bother to characterize that level of ignorance. But, there is another defect here and it rests with the certifying authority and governmental responsibility ...

In a serious environment the proper authority would have shown up and locked it down and in some very serious places they would have done that on the very day that Infantino, Montagliani, Rowley and Cudjoe were stepping foot on the property.

Imagine that bacchanal! Dear Liza, yuh woulda been real busy had that happened. But there are certainly other holes in the bucket. Stay tuned.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2019, 08:18:47 AM by asylumseeker »

TTFA secretary resigns
« Reply #428 on: November 28, 2019, 08:30:00 AM »
TTFA secretary resigns
By Keith Clement & Gyasi Merrique (T&T Guardian)

Trinidad and To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion pres­i­dent William Wal­lace has ac­cept­ed the res­ig­na­tion of gen­er­al sec­re­tary Ca­ma­ra David. David has re­signed ef­fec­tive No­vem­ber 30.

How­ev­er, Os­mond Down­er, one of the ar­chi­tects of the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion’s (TTFA) con­sti­tu­tion, says there is cur­rent­ly no TTFA board and on­ly this body can make tru­ly bind­ing de­ci­sions. This is be­cause the mem­bers did not un­der­take the process to ap­point a full board dur­ing Sun­day’s AGM.

Down­er made the com­ment yes­ter­day as he sought to clar­i­fy what de­ci­sion-mak­ing pow­ers the new­ly-elect­ed of­fi­cers of the TTFA un­der William Wal­lace now pos­sess.

Down­er, a for­mer FI­FA and TTFA ref­er­ee in­struc­tor, was re­spond­ing to claims by Wal­lace that the TTFA met on Mon­day and his ex­ec­u­tive had tak­en sev­er­al de­ci­sions, among which were to im­me­di­ate­ly stop trans­ac­tions on all TTFA bank ac­counts, in­clud­ing on­line trans­ac­tions; ini­ti­ate an au­dit of the as­so­ci­a­tion’s fi­nances and close the Home of Foot­ball un­til the nec­es­sary State au­thor­i­ty ap­provals and prop­er­ty in­sur­ance have been se­cured.

Asked by Guardian Me­dia Sports yes­ter­day if the new­ly-elect­ed of­fi­cers could make such de­ci­sions on be­half of the TTFA, Down­er said, “Ac­cord­ing to the con­sti­tu­tion, on­ly the board can make de­ci­sions be­tween meet­ings. The board com­pris­es the of­fi­cers and rep­re­sen­ta­tives from mem­bers as­so­ci­a­tions. The con­sti­tu­tion has noth­ing called an ex­ec­u­tive that can make de­ci­sions be­tween board meet­ings.

“The of­fi­cers are part of the board that makes the de­ci­sion. The of­fi­cers can­not make con­sti­tu­tion­al­ly le­gal de­ci­sions un­less they are part of the board.”

Down­er said at Sun­day’s an­nu­al gen­er­al meet­ing (AGM), on­ly two oth­er board mem­bers apart from the four elect­ed of­fi­cers were of­fered and in­duct­ed, which means there are on­ly six board mem­bers for this new term of of­fice. As a re­sult of this, he said a board meet­ing can­not be con­vened un­til the board gets a quo­rum of at least nine mem­bers. Un­til the oth­er mem­ber zones and as­so­ci­a­tions ap­point their rep­re­sen­ta­tives un­der ar­ti­cle 34 (9), Sec­tion (2) of the con­sti­tu­tion and sub­mit their rep­re­sen­ta­tives to the TTFA gen­er­al sec­re­tary, Down­er said the board can­not con­vene.

So far, the new TTFA board com­pris­es new­ly-elect­ed pres­i­dent Wal­lace, vice pres­i­dents Clynt Tay­lor, Su­san Joseph-War­rick and Joseph Sam Phillip, to­geth­er with the South­ern Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion’s Richard Quan Chan and Joseph Tay­lor of the T&T Foot­ball Ref­er­ees As­so­ci­a­tion.

Board mem­bers from the Cen­tral Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion, East­ern Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion, North­ern Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion, To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion, East­ern Coun­ties Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion, TT Pro League, T&T Su­per League, Vet­er­an Foot­ballers Foun­da­tion of T&T (VF­FOTT) and the Women’s League of Foot­ball are yet to be pro­posed and in­duct­ed, Guardian Me­dia was told.

It has been re­port­ed that the TTFA has called a board meet­ing for next Tues­day but Down­er said such a meet­ing can on­ly hap­pen if there is a quo­rum of new­ly-ap­point­ed rep­re­sen­ta­tives, since the life of the last board, which was ap­point­ed in 2015, ex­pired dur­ing the AGM on Sun­day (No­vem­ber 24).

Down­er ex­plained, “The board has a life of four years. At Sun­day’s meet­ing, the meet­ing was to elect the pres­i­dent and three vice pres­i­dents and the mem­bers were sup­posed to sub­mit their board mem­ber can­di­dates to be in­duct­ed at that meet­ing and that did not hap­pen, al­though the mem­ber­ship was giv­en 40 days no­tice to do so. So now, each mem­ber has to con­vene a gen­er­al meet­ing to elect their board can­di­dates and sub­mit the names to the TTFA so that the board can be con­vened.”

Mean­while, a re­lease from the TTFA yes­ter­day said Wal­lace and his team of vice pres­i­dents, Tay­lor, Joseph-War­rick and Phillip met with se­nior men’s man­ag­er Richard Piper, head coach Den­nis Lawrence and head of the TTFA Elite Pro­gramme Gary St Rose at the FA’s head of­fice in Bal­main, Cou­va.

Piper was asked to sub­mit a 2019 man­ag­er’s re­port while Lawrence was asked to sub­mit a tech­ni­cal re­port, with par­tic­u­lar ref­er­ence to the 2019 Gold Cup and Na­tions League tour­na­ments. St Rose was di­rect­ed to sub­mit sev­er­al doc­u­ments, in­clud­ing a 2019 re­port on the Elite Pro­gramme and a bud­get for 2020.

« Reply #429 on: November 28, 2019, 09:04:19 AM »

MINISTER of Sport and Youth Affairs Shamfa Cudjoe said she is in “full support” of the call by the T&T Football Association (TTFA) to initiate a financial audit as a new administration takes office.

Secondary Schools Football president William Wallace dethroned David John-Williams as TTFA president at the association’s elections on Sunday. Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Sam Phillip were voted first, second and third vice-presidents, respectively.

After approximately eight hours of meetings with his vice-presidents on Monday, Wallace said one of the major decisions made was to shut down the recently-opened Home of Football in Balmain, Couva, until further notice. The million-dollar, 72-room facility was officially opened on November 18.

Speaking with Newsday, Wallace said it has pending approvals and no property insurance.

“We found out some of the approvals are not in place. For example, fire approvals. You can’t have people in a building without fire approval.”

According to the official website of the Ministry of Rural Development, applications for over ten lots of land must receive approval from the chief designs engineer of the Ministry of Works and Transport, the Water and Sewerage Authority (WASA), the T&T Electricity Commission (TTEC) and the chief fire officer.

A request must then be made for inspection of the building to obtain a certificate of completion. The site says requests can be made at the building inspector’s office at the relevant municipal corporation. Once inspected and approved, the certificate can be collected after two weeks.

But a senior official from the fire service who wished to remain anonymous told Newsday the previous administration began the process but did not complete it. The official said no requests were made for inspection.

While this is the main issue with the facility the new administration has found thus far, Wallace said, “That was enough for us to say people can’t occupy the building. Information is still coming in on the Home and other things.”

When contacted, Cudjoe said she was unaware the building still had pending approvals and no insurance. She attended the opening ceremony on November 18, along with the Prime Minister, FIFA president Gianni Infantino and Concacaf president Victor Montagliani.

“I was not aware of that. That is something for the administration to treat with.

“That is something you’d have to ask the executive or management of TTFA.”

In addition to the facility’s shut-down, decisions made during Wallace’s Monday meeting included the creation of an advisory committee and assigning roles to the vice-presidents. Taylor will focus on membership affairs, Joseph-Warrick will tackle women’s football and Phillip will handle security.

Other decisions included: Stopping transactions on all TTFA bank accounts (including online transactions), issuing a public invitation to TTFA creditors to present their claim, introducing new security measures for the protection of TTFA property and initiating a financial audit.

Asked about the audit, Cudjoe said, “Anybody taking stock of a new entity will obviously want to look at the financial health of the entity. We do so as government, and I guess it’s the best interest of any new person taking on a new administration. “I give the president full support like I give to all presidents of NGBs (National governing bodies) and I wish them all the very best in their endeavours.”

Newsday tried contacting John-Williams for a comment, however,he asked that his privacy be respected.

Get use to hearing this response.

« Reply #430 on: November 28, 2019, 09:43:25 AM »
TTFA secretary resigns

Trinidad and To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion pres­i­dent William Wal­lace has ac­cept­ed the res­ig­na­tion of gen­er­al sec­re­tary Ca­ma­ra David. David has re­signed ef­fec­tive No­vem­ber 30.

How­ev­er, Os­mond Down­er, one of the ar­chi­tects of the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion’s (TTFA) con­sti­tu­tion, says there is cur­rent­ly no TTFA board and on­ly this body can make tru­ly bind­ing de­ci­sions. This is be­cause the mem­bers did not un­der­take the process to ap­point a full board dur­ing Sun­day’s AGM.

Clement and Merrique, the way in which you bind both of these comments together creates the impression that the Board needs to weigh in on acceptance of Camara David's resignation and that is not definitively nor expressly the case.

Under the Constitution only the   President may propose   the appointment or dismissal of the General   Secretary, but there is no express requirement that resignation be treated through Board consensus.

Per the Constitution the GS should be "appointed on the basis of an agreement governed by private law". Presumably that was done either explicitly or implicitly. Nonetheless, the GS' stated intention to step away from the role is sufficient to render that decision operative. Board ratification is needed in the appointment or in the dismissal of the GS, but board ratification is not needed in his resignation (i.e. voluntary termination).

(The federation's Internal Operations Regulations may also shed light on this.)

If it is Mr. Downer's contention that the Board is the proper authority to accept the resignation of the GS, I do not know that to be the case.

Perhaps Downer made no such contention and it is merely the manner in which the newspaper article was developed that prompted the question.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2019, 09:50:08 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #431 on: November 28, 2019, 10:39:44 AM »
Mercy ...... mercy ...... mercy!!!!

« Reply #432 on: November 28, 2019, 04:28:52 PM »
TTFA writes to FIFA
TTFA

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association has written to FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura on the matter addressed. The letter was submitted on Thursday November 28th, 2019. Please see below.

Dear Madame General Secretary and Friend

Greetings from the newly elected officers of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association, it is with the greatest concern as the newly elected President of the TTFA, I write to communicate to FIFA our rejection of claims being made within Trinidad and Tobago and as well in the International press that the new TTFA administration has come into office with the support of former FIFA vice president Austin Jack Warner.

This narrative was spread by parties unknown prior to the TTFA elections of Sunday 24, November 2019, and has grown in intensity since that date. This rumor has gained traction in major part due to the unsolicited support and comments of the former FIFA vice president in the Trinidad and Tobago media

On behalf of the officers of the TTFA and myself I assure you, the president and members of FIFA, that there has been, is not, and never will be a connection between the former FIFA vice president going forward from Sunday 24, November 2019.

Best Regards,

Signed

William Wallace
President
Trinidad and Tobago Football Associaton

« Reply #433 on: November 28, 2019, 05:25:36 PM »
@Asylum . You see why me and Pullstones were apprehensive about celebrating Wallace's victory over DJW. We had a feeling that he (DJW) might have a trump card hidden between he scales. Although he appeared to have accepted his defeat like a man, it's clear that he didnt. DJW is already getting his ducks in a row so he can argue that the election results are illegal.. Although he does not have much of a ground to stand on and argue that, I expect to hear more from him as he is only getting started. I hope FIFA and Concacaf has enough sense to see through this bull.

« Reply #434 on: November 28, 2019, 06:28:51 PM »
I don't know that the letter was necessary per se, but there it is as a categorical statement.

« Reply #435 on: November 29, 2019, 04:03:53 AM »
DJW works in construction and still couldn't finish the Home of Football to code. The man is an incompetent - I doubt WW has much to fear from his trumped up rubbish.

« Reply #436 on: November 29, 2019, 06:45:12 AM »
I think is a good first step.Make it clear that JW is not the elephant in the room.

« Reply #437 on: November 29, 2019, 09:10:33 AM »
I think is a good first step.Make it clear that JW is not the elephant in the room.

Agreed

« Reply #438 on: November 29, 2019, 11:21:19 AM »
@Asylum . You see why me and Pullstones were apprehensive about celebrating Wallace's victory over DJW. We had a feeling that he (DJW) might have a trump card hidden between he scales. Although he appeared to have accepted his defeat like a man, it's clear that he didnt. DJW is already getting his ducks in a row so he can argue that the election results are illegal.. Although he does not have much of a ground to stand on and argue that, I expect to hear more from him as he is only getting started. I hope FIFA and Concacaf has enough sense to see through this bull.

You have to ask yourself, why is fifa mad? People may not like jack but you have to listen carefully to what he says, he said if fifa is spiteful they will have repercussions, wallace isn’t going anywhere...

The dictator is a sell out,  they would prefer TT football stay down and out of sight, not being a threat to any of the elite teams..

Riddled with debt and a sell out at its helm... people say the dictator is incompetent, he wasn’t, it was straight sabotage

« Reply #439 on: November 29, 2019, 11:23:17 AM »

Agreed

There is no elephant in the room, they are trying to create one bc they are mad because TT football can now progress without sabotage

Hence fifa being upset their boy the dictator is out

TTFA distances itself from Warner
« Reply #440 on: November 29, 2019, 02:12:10 PM »
TTFA distances itself from Warner

THE T&T Football Association (TTFA) is making it clear it has no association with former FIFA vice-president Austin Jack Warner.

In a press release issued on Thursday afternoon, it said TTFA president William Wallace wrote a letter to FIFA secretary general Fatma Samoura, distancing the association from Warner.

Since the association’s elections on November 24, there have been many reports by local and international media that Warner lobbied for Wallace behind the scenes and persuaded people to vote for him to dethrone former president David John-Williams.

The letter said, “Greetings from the newly-elected officers of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association. It is with the greatest concern as the newly-elected president of the TTFA, I write to communicate to FIFA our rejection of claims being made within TT and as well in the international press that the new TTFA administration has come into office with the support of former FIFA vice president Austin Jack Warner.

“This narrative was spread by parties unknown prior to the TTFA elections of Sunday 24, November 2019, and has grown in intensity since that date. This rumour has gained traction in major part due to the unsolicited support and comments of the former FIFA vice president in the TT media

“On behalf of the officers of the TTFA and myself I assure you, the president and members of FIFA, that there has been, is not, and never will be a connection between the former FIFA vice president going forward from Sunday 24, November 2019.”

TTFA to host ‘round table’ talks with media
« Reply #441 on: November 29, 2019, 02:14:17 PM »
TTFA to host ‘round table’ talks with media

IN efforts to improve its transparency, the TT Football Association (TTFA) will host quarterly “Round Table” talks with members of the media.

The decision was made, on Wednesday evening, after an eight-hour meeting with TTFA president William Wallace and members of his administration.

The newly-elected team consists of Wallace, first vice-president Clynt Taylor, second vice-president Susan Joseph-Warrick and third vice-president Sam Phillip. The team also had an eight-hour meeting on Monday with the biggest decision being made then being the shutdown of the Home of Football in Balmain, Couva, where the association’s elections were held on November 24.

Under previous administrations, especially that of ex-TTFA boss David John-Williams, the association received several complaints about a lack of transparency and accountability. And improving this has always been one of the tasks promised to be fulfilled by Wallace and his team if successful in the elections.

At a press conference on November 22, Wallace said the TTFA’s approximately $50 million debt has tainted the association’s relationship with corporate stakeholders in TT.

He believes John-Williams was responsible for this.

“Unless we are like the ostrich and stick our heads in the sand, it is also difficult for us to ignore that the football association has found itself in this place solely because of bad decisions made by the manager of our football, the president DJW.”

With reference to a recent judgement that ordered John-Williams to pay Venture Credit Union $23 million, which was unrelated to football and the TTFA, Wallace said, “An immediate impact is the obvious fact that corporate TT will further distance itself from the FA. It is one thing to have a debt that cannot be honoured, however, the decent thing to do is to sit and talk to your creditor.”

Asked how he plans to mend this relationship, he said, “One of the first things is good governance and transparency. That has to happen. We have not had that over the past four years.

“One of the things that we indicated is that, having gone out of TT and getting support from international sponsors, we are hoping that would be the start to rebuilding that confidence by corporate TT.”

Other discussions at the team’s Wednesday meeting included: The resignation of TTFA general secretary Camara David (effective November 30), 13 ongoing legal cases, the creation of an e-mail domain, among other things.

Also present at Wednesday’s meeting was senior men’s national team manager Richard Piper, head coach Dennis Lawrence, and head of the TTFA Elite Programme Gary St Rose.

« Reply #442 on: December 02, 2019, 06:14:11 PM »
Camara David

He play LookLoy

He play de Super League

He play Justin Latapy George

He playin DJW

DAT is a playa

If anybody should ride out at dawn, it's Camara David. Both as a matter of principle and for preserving the future integrity of TTFA operations. No Trojan horses.

Perhaps not with his full pay. Deductions should be applied for screwing up due diligence.

« Reply #443 on: December 02, 2019, 06:24:33 PM »
One builds a multi-million dollar facility and gives scant regard to insuring that highly valuated property before it is opened to patrons? Ah won't even bother to characterize that level of ignorance. But, there is another defect here and it rests with the certifying authority and governmental responsibility ...

In a serious environment the proper authority would have shown up and locked it down and in some very serious places they would have done that on the very day that Infantino, Montagliani, Rowley and Cudjoe were stepping foot on the property.

Imagine that bacchanal! Dear Liza, yuh woulda been real busy had that happened. But there are certainly other holes in the bucket. Stay tuned.

And the first one has come to light ... another club licensing screw-up brought to you by the letters D, J, W, C and D and the number '0'.

« Reply #444 on: December 05, 2019, 07:35:43 AM »
'Wally' & TTFA's road to recovery.
By Colin Murray (Guardian).

Some­times, de­pend­ing on cir­cum­stances, it can prove re­ward­ing to take a trip down mem­o­ry lane. A friend sent me a What­sApp video with one of my favourite songs - Rock Your Ba­by by George Mc­Crea who seemed to be per­form­ing the mon­ster hit in a park much to the en­joy­ment of an aged crowd. At 75, his voice was as good and as strong as it was when he first sang the hit some 45 years ago.

My open­ing re­marks have to do with William Wal­lace and his Unit­ed TTFA. You see, my dear read­ers, “Wal­ly” as he is fond­ly called, has been down this road be­fore. Wal­ly and I first crossed paths in 2003 when Al­loy Lequay had demit­ted the of­fice of the T&T Crick­et Board and crick­et was head­ing down a slip­pery slope. A group of us came to­geth­er to try and ar­rest the down­ward spi­ral of crick­et and formed a group called the Friends of Crick­et. It was nev­er go­ing to be an easy task try­ing to wres­tle pow­er from those who were in con­trol of the des­tiny of T&T's crick­et. Peo­ple back then were fed up and quick­ly want­ed to see the back of Al­loy's per­son­nel.

How­ev­er, he had his plan for crick­et as no one dared to op­pose him or his ideas year af­ter year. Some may say that Al­loy was to crick­et what Jack Warn­er was to foot­ball, or was it the oth­er way around? Please, don't mis­un­der­stand me. Both men have made tremen­dous con­tri­bu­tions to their re­spec­tive sports and have left a lega­cy that will be hard to fol­low. But, there are times when you must let go of the reins and al­low oth­er peo­ple to ride the horse-no one wants to be ac­cused of act­ing like a dic­ta­tor, or so it should be.

With the for­ma­tion of the Friends of Crick­et, those in pow­er start­ed to feel un­com­fort­able. We had a plan; we had spon­sors; we spoke about trans­paren­cy, ac­count­abil­i­ty and re­spon­si­bil­i­ty and we pushed hard for struc­tur­al re­or­gan­i­sa­tion to de­vel­op zones, youths, um­pires, clubs, coach­es etc. More and more peo­ple bought in­to the idea, ex­cept those in pow­er so we knew (1) we were in for a fight and (2) we had to win over some of the vot­ers who were very much in the cor­ner of the ad­min­is­tra­tion.

Thank­ful­ly, some of those vot­ers switched al­le­giance and vot­ed for the Friends of Crick­et and that was how we con­trolled the best pe­ri­od of re­sults in the his­to­ry of T&T's crick­et.

I find it quite amus­ing to­day when I see chal­lenges to the pow­ers that con­trol crick­et be­cause the on­ly way to un­seat the in­cum­bents, is by form­ing a group that has votes and are part of the set­up. The Friends of Crick­et, for all the good work they did, were re­moved from of­fice by an­oth­er group called the Move­ment for Change where per­sons on the ex­ec­u­tive re­mark­ably vot­ed against those in pow­er.

So when I wit­nessed Wal­ly be­ing part of this group called Unit­ed TTFA, I knew he was up for it and more im­por­tant­ly, he is a war­rior ca­pa­ble of fight­ing the tough­est of bat­tles. With the lessons he learnt back then, it was easy for him to be part of this Unit­ed TTFA. But the chal­lenge was to en­sure he had the right peo­ple at his side. There was on­ly one man to lead this group. Wal­ly has an im­pec­ca­ble record; his in­tegri­ty is sec­ond to none and I have nev­er heard any­one, any­where ac­cuse him of any un­der­hand deal­ings. He loves sports and gives his life to the de­vel­op­ment of young­sters as ev­i­denced by the fact that he was the Pres­i­dent of the Sec­ondary Schools Crick­et League and is still the Pres­i­dent of the Sec­ondary Schools Foot­ball League - the most sup­port­ed and well-or­gan­ised league in T&T. He is a very hum­ble, yet strong hu­man be­ing and don't be fooled by the se­ri­ous na­ture of his de­meanour; he en­joys a good laugh and good com­pa­ny.

Just as it was many years ago with crick­et, the task here is, by all re­ports, even worse. How can peo­ple in po­si­tions of pow­er sit around and watch the beau­ti­ful game in our coun­try go to ru­ins? Al­low me to make it abun­dant­ly clear. I have noth­ing and will nev­er have any­thing per­son­al against any of our lead­ers in the var­i­ous na­tion­al sport­ing or­gan­i­sa­tions. I have been crit­i­cal of the lead­er­ship of crick­et, bad­minton, foot­ball, ath­let­ics and vol­ley­ball, to name a few, be­cause all I have asked for is ac­count­abil­i­ty and a prop­er gov­er­nance struc­ture and this should be de­mand­ed by every mem­ber of any board work­ing for the good of this coun­try.

Poor Wal­ly. He will spend sleep­less nights over the next few months as there is so much to do. He first has to look at the cur­rent debt of the TTFA. If he can find it and meet with all those owed by the TTFA and de­cide how these debts will be paid off, not by to­mor­row, but in some cas­es years. What about ex­pens­es un­til the end of the year? Let us hope there will be some rev­enue com­ing to the as­so­ci­a­tion. Then, of course, there is a mul­ti­tude of on­go­ing le­gal mat­ters. What a com­plete dis­as­ter to in­her­it. The list is much longer as I could go on and on.

One thing is for sure - Wal­ly is his own man but re­alis­es he can't do it alone. He will not be blind­ed by those who think they can pull the wool over his eyes as he is a sound judge of char­ac­ter. He's been there and done that.

The road ahead for our beau­ti­ful game is go­ing to be dan­ger­ous­ly rocky but I am ask­ing the pub­lic, in­clud­ing the cor­po­rate sec­tor, to come for­ward and give Wal­ly and his Unit­ed TTFA their full co­op­er­a­tion in bring­ing some sta­bil­i­ty and re­spectabil­i­ty back to T&T's foot­ball. It can be done but it can­not be a one-man show and if we put all our re­sources to­geth­er, the sky will be the lim­it. Be­lieve me when I say that I have full con­fi­dence in Wal­ly and his team bring­ing T&T's foot­ball back on course. Good luck, Wal­ly!

Ed­i­tor's note: The views ex­pressed in this col­umn are sole­ly those of the writer and do not re­flect the views of any or­gan­i­sa­tion of which he is a stake­hold­er.

« Reply #445 on: December 09, 2019, 03:31:16 PM »
TTFA secretary resigns

Clement and Merrique, the way in which you bind both of these comments together creates the impression that the Board needs to weigh in on acceptance of Camara David's resignation and that is not definitively nor expressly the case.

Under the Constitution only the   President may propose   the appointment or dismissal of the General   Secretary, but there is no express requirement that resignation be treated through Board consensus.

Per the Constitution the GS should be "appointed on the basis of an agreement governed by private law". Presumably that was done either explicitly or implicitly. Nonetheless, the GS' stated intention to step away from the role is sufficient to render that decision operative. Board ratification is needed in the appointment or in the dismissal of the GS, but board ratification is not needed in his resignation (i.e. voluntary termination).

(The federation's Internal Operations Regulations may also shed light on this.)

If it is Mr. Downer's contention that the Board is the proper authority to accept the resignation of the GS, I do not know that to be the case.

Perhaps Downer made no such contention and it is merely the manner in which the newspaper article was developed that prompted the question.

I see that Downer's position has been stated and that it does not diverge from what I asserted above. That being the case, it was down to Clement and Merrique.

« Reply #446 on: December 13, 2019, 10:57:50 AM »
The Board is more or less set.

William Wallace (President)
Clynt Taylor (first VP),
Susan Joseph-Warrick (2nd VP)
Sam Phillip (3rd VP)

Sherwyn Dyer (Eastern Counties)
Keon Edwards (Eastern FA)
Phillip Fraser (SSFL)
Keith Look Loy  (TTSL)
Rayshawn Mars (Northern FA)
Jamilya Mohammed (WoLF)
Richard Quan Chan (Southern FA)
Brent Sancho (TT Pro League)
Joseph Taylor (TTFRA)
Dwayne Thomas (Central FA)

Not exactly wildly optimistic stuff but lehwe see.

« Last Edit: December 13, 2019, 11:00:28 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #447 on: December 14, 2019, 11:17:26 AM »
Say more about the last line Asylum?

« Reply #448 on: December 14, 2019, 05:52:04 PM »
Say more about the last line Asylum?

When the dust settled in Sudan after the arrest of Omar al-Bashir, the issue of how to govern still needed to be resolved ... but it could only be resolved via the implementation of a transitional government that features holdovers from the previous regime and elements of the Janjaweed ... rather than a ruling council that erased all traces of past offenders. In that sort of dynamic arriving at consensus and trust is a delicate undertaking, yet governance has to proceed as a new equilibrium has to be found.

What does a pariah state on the world stage have to do with the fortunes of the TTFA? Both require a measure of truth-telling and reconciliation to make the future viable but there can't be a papering over of the fissures.

In the case of the TTFA, a totally new broom would have been welcome, but that is clearly not practical as holdovers from the zones were inevitable and expectations against discord should be tempered (see Shabazz's take on opposition politics in football).

I won't recite or categorize specific names publicly but there are known knowns as to goodwill, some known unknowns as to goodwill and unknown unknowns as to sustaining optimism.

Also, there remains the question of how an agitated Selby Browne will treat with being on the Board when he is returned thereto ... He is already in an agitated state as it is.

I say "when" rather than "if" because he was previously vetted when he was evaluated as a candidate and unless that evaluation is deemed to be materially deficient ... he  may view himself as the Leader of the Opposition armed with another batch of questions. As much picong as there is in T&T, it might be real hard to find harmony with someone who has branded his peers "knowledgeable jokers" and had Infantino on speed dial.

But I don't want to ascribe disproportionate importance to Selby's protestations. I think the real tricky part is in the internal balance of power. In which consideration, Sancho's presence on the Board may actually be the blessing rather than the curse.

As far as the truth-telling ... we have already seen some people pissed that it was announced that the League of Champions had no $ for funding. According to these folk, don't speak about the past if you're going to state a distasteful truth ... just govern. They - like the offenders in the Sudan - do not want to hear [their] atrocities discussed. Just govern. But yuh cyah really move forward without exploring the past.

By the way, I think the new TTFA should finally answer some of those 40+ questions that Selby asked. A lot of them WE should know.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2019, 07:43:22 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #449 on: December 15, 2019, 08:13:22 AM »
Respek Sylum, let's see :thumbsup: