15 (35.7%)
Brent Sancho
0 (0%)
David-John Williams
0 (0%)
Foreign Investor
1 (2.4%)

Total Members Voted: 42

Author Topic: TTFA News Thread.  (Read 117166 times)

Re: TTFA News Thread.
« Reply #570 on: November 14, 2020, 03:42:52 AM »
Hagley calls for one-club, one-vote in T&T Football.
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian).

Randy Hagley, the Guaya United owner, and managing director is calling for a one-club one-vote system to be introduced into football managed under the T&T Football Association (TTFA) administration as he believes it will solve many of the problems affecting the sport.

Hagley said this should be a priority for the soon-to-be-reinstalled Normalisation Committee, which will be led by businessman Robert Hadad of the HADCO Group of Companies.

Hagley who controls a club that truly epitomizes the community team and spirit that is being sought after he told Guardian Media Sports that the one-club one-vote system will stamp out corruption which is usually derived from the delegate system.

The Guaya United boss said on Friday: "I have been clamouring for this for a little while now, you see with all this Pro League, T&T Super League, and all those other Leagues, that delegation vote is a conspiracy theory. Take for instance me in the Super League, Guaya is the biggest team in the Super League, and at the last TTSL AGM, only four clubs or five clubs voted for Guaya and Petit Valley and these are two clubs that have following."

He noted further: "These men and dem who are presidents and whoever, does cook up dey panchayat to make sure their team vote for who, and that is wrong. So I say, let us cut out all that kind of foolishness. Once you are a member of the T&TFA and you've reached the required standard that TTFA wants with regards to the club license standard which all clubs around the world is supposed to follow as it is a FIFA guideline, once you meet that, your club is a member of the TTFA, you have one vote. In that way, you can vote for whoever you want. Nobody can't buy you and feel you're doing somebody a favour."

With the delegate system currently, clubs are represented by one or two chosen persons who may or may not represent the views of the clubs individually. Last year at the T&T Football Association Election at the Home of Football in Balmain Couva, the Super League was represented by eight delegates though the League comprises more than 21 clubs, Hagley said.

"Trinidad is too small for that. When you look at the population of T&T of 1.3 million, I am sure that the people who follow football are not half a million people and we cannot get it right. This is because everybody wants to be in charge."

At present the T&T Pro League clubs each have a vote at TTFA general meetings while all the other member association and zones are represented by delegates.

Hagley said the one-club one-vote system should be applied to the Pro League, Super League, the six Regional Associations- Northern FA, Southern FA, Eastern FA, Central FA, Tobago FA, and the Eastern Counties Football Union (ECFU) as well as for the parent football association (T&TFA) elections.

The Guaya United boss is also calling on the TTFA to take over the administration of all the tournaments, thereby doing away with the Regional Associations, Super League, and Pro League, and replace them with Divisions.

He said local football should now comprise of a First, second, Third, and Fourth Divisions.

Meanwhile, Hagley has called for total support for Jameson Rigues for the president of the TTSL, saying he has not received the support of the Board of Directors of the TTSL because he is from the countryside.

« Reply #571 on: November 14, 2020, 01:30:11 PM »
One club one vote sounds good in theory, but it concentrates voting power in the lower leagues where numbers are greater, and I dont know if the interests of the gsme overall would be best served by that. Not sure what would be the right way to be fair, and certainly we do need more representation of clubs, players and coaches.

« Reply #572 on: November 15, 2020, 01:00:00 AM »
One club one vote sounds good in theory, but it concentrates voting power in the lower leagues where numbers are greater, and I dont know if the interests of the gsme overall would be best served by that. Not sure what would be the right way to be fair, and certainly we do need more representation of clubs, players and coaches.

I tend to agree with you here. One club one vote can still be manipulated to serve a certain group and thus strangling the efforts of others. Just remember Jack brought in a bunch of clubs to vote for him. After he got in, these clubs disappeared after a season or so. The TTFA needed to come up with a solution between the pro-league, super league and the zones. The pro league clubs has no competition. No club can be demoted for finishing last. It reminds me of Sunday morning leagues. They need to find a way to make the super league and pro league competitive. But money talks. If you have money, you can just join the pro-league. And just drop off if things not going good. I don't think this is good for our football.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2020, 01:06:37 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #573 on: November 15, 2020, 01:18:27 AM »
But just look at the relationship between EPL and the championship, and the the lower divisions. It is kind of rocky. The only thinks that is fluid in the English football for now, is promotion and demotion. The Premier is split with the so called top 6 or 7 pulling their weight against the other clubs. (Man City, Liverpool, Utd, Arsenal, Chelsea, Spurs, maybe Leicester) wanted 5 subs. The others rallied to deny them, because they think it would be to their disadvantage. But it will happened because you can't have all them millionaires sitting on the bench. They need to play.

« Reply #574 on: January 19, 2021, 05:26:51 PM »
Talks with National Security Ministry ongoing for friendlies.

Talks with the Ministry of National Security have been taking place behind the scenes as national men's football coach Terry Fenwick intensifies his efforts to secure a few international friendly matches, ahead of the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers in March.

Fenwick's men are set to face Guyana in their opening match on March 25 but their preparations for the past few months, have been hampered by exemptions needed by the Ministry of National Security, for the teams coming into and going out of the country.

"We have had some concerted efforts behind the scenes with National Security trying to help us to get games. Obviously, in the world we live in today quarantine is a big issue, and it's not just before the games but it's the country that they go back to, so they're in five to seven or 10-day quarantine camps," said Fenwick.

"In the UK, as we speak you have two weeks, wherever you go you've two weeks quarantine. So we recognise the difficulties around the world, yes we're trying to get games, everywhere else around the world they're playing football and we're not. We have got a World Cup qualifier coming up on the 25th of March that is all-important, so we are working hard behind the scenes to achieve these goals."

The former San Juan Jabloteh and Central FC coach has, on numerous occasions, highlighted the challenges being encountered in securing international friendly matches, amid a deadly COVID-19 pandemic, but he said on Tuesday that he is hoping that within the next 24 hours they can announce something of significance.

In the recent past, Fenwick had lined up a number of international matches - with Grenada, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Dominica, as well as a camp in the United States, all of which fell through due to a combination of lack of funding, and the difficulty involved in arranging matches due to the coronavirus protocols.  

Following the team's opening match at home, the Warriors will then face Puerto Rico on March 28 (away), the Bahamas on June 5 (away), and St Kitts and Nevis on June 8 (at home).

In spite of the challenges, however, Fenwick continued his preparations on Tuesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo with a large, enthusiastic crop of mostly young players, who will have to work doubly hard to seal a place on the team.

Like Fenwick, the players have had their own challenges with no local football taking place for the past year and a half.  Due to this, Fenwick has had to scour the globe in search of match-fit players, which he told the media he has done successfully.

The English-born coach has already identified some 25 players from the UK and in the United States which he said may most likely be the players to represent the country at the qualifiers.    

In the meanwhile, the local players have been developing a playing style that will suit the team.

Fenwick explained: "We're establishing a style of play. We've identified lots of players overseas, UK, Europe, and North America and they are playing at a much better standard of football than the guys here in Trinidad, but we've all got to come to a style of football that suits the players that we've got, that's what I am doing with the local guys here on the ground."

« Reply #575 on: January 19, 2021, 05:29:30 PM »
Football coaches group seeks place on TTFA board.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

THE National Football Coaches of TT (NFCTT) is eagerly seeking a place among the board of the directors in the TT Football Association (TTFA).

NFCTT interim first vice-president Wayne Sheppard, on Monday, said, “We sent in the documentation that we needed through to the (FIFA-appointed) normalisation committee for them to progress the process of us being (represented) at board level. We also made a call to Osmond Downer who was helping us with the constitution draft.”

Sheppard said, “We had to put the work with normalisation committee to get us reinstated on the front burner because their mandate is to further align the constitution with FIFA’s constitution. We want to make sure that, in that alignment, we are not left out.”

The NFCTT’s interim executive comprises Jefferson George (president), Sheppard, Dernelle Mascall (second vice-president), Curtis Orr (treasurer), Rayshawn Mars (general secretary), Angus Eve, Clayton Morris and Richard Hood (ordinary members).

According to Sheppard, the group is pleased with the feedback they have been receiving from the normalisation committee, headed by Robert Hadad.

“Jefferson George is the person who’s (on) point on all communications with the normalisation committee,” Sheppard said. “He’s been corresponding with them as it relates to the documents required to get us reinstated at board level. We have been kept up to date by his interactions with them. There is no complaint from that aspect.”

Sheppard said that the national coaches, who were hired during the four-month reign of William Wallace as TTFA president, are still hopeful of getting the remainder of the salaries owed to them.

“We were paid 50 per cent and we’re still discussing with (the normalisation committee) the time frame for the remaining 50 per cent,” he said. “That matter pertains to the coaches who were appointed to the national positions in early 2020.”

With regards to the work being done by the NFCTT, Sheppard said, “We met with the TTOC (TT Olympic Committee) to discuss transparency in governance and those things, the effects of the (covid19) lockdown on sports, and getting things back up.

“We also started a covid-relief drive for coaches who are out of work, non-national coaches,” he added. “We distributed some hampers. We had a meeting with the technical director Dion La Foucade (last) weekend.”

Sheppard pointed out, “We met with the Pro League, the Super League (and) WoLF. We have to meet with the Tobago coaches, through the Tobago Football Association and then the South, East and North coaches. That will all be done together.”

« Reply #576 on: January 19, 2021, 10:39:32 PM »
Football coaches group seeks place on TTFA board.
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday).

THE National Football Coaches of TT (NFCTT) is eagerly seeking a place among the board of the directors in the TT Football Association (TTFA).

NFCTT interim first vice-president Wayne Sheppard, on Monday, said, “We sent in the documentation that we needed through to the (FIFA-appointed) normalisation committee for them to progress the process of us being (represented) at board level. We also made a call to Osmond Downer who was helping us with the constitution draft.”

Sheppard said, “We had to put the work with normalisation committee to get us reinstated on the front burner because their mandate is to further align the constitution with FIFA’s constitution. We want to make sure that, in that alignment, we are not left out.”

The NFCTT’s interim executive comprises Jefferson George (president), Sheppard, Dernelle Mascall (second vice-president), Curtis Orr (treasurer), Rayshawn Mars (general secretary), Angus Eve, Clayton Morris and Richard Hood (ordinary members).

According to Sheppard, the group is pleased with the feedback they have been receiving from the normalisation committee, headed by Robert Hadad.

“Jefferson George is the person who’s (on) point on all communications with the normalisation committee,” Sheppard said. “He’s been corresponding with them as it relates to the documents required to get us reinstated at board level. We have been kept up to date by his interactions with them. There is no complaint from that aspect.”

Sheppard said that the national coaches, who were hired during the four-month reign of William Wallace as TTFA president, are still hopeful of getting the remainder of the salaries owed to them.

“We were paid 50 per cent and we’re still discussing with (the normalisation committee) the time frame for the remaining 50 per cent,” he said. “That matter pertains to the coaches who were appointed to the national positions in early 2020.”

With regards to the work being done by the NFCTT, Sheppard said, “We met with the TTOC (TT Olympic Committee) to discuss transparency in governance and those things, the effects of the (covid19) lockdown on sports, and getting things back up.

“We also started a covid-relief drive for coaches who are out of work, non-national coaches,” he added. “We distributed some hampers. We had a meeting with the technical director Dion La Foucade (last) weekend.”

Sheppard pointed out, “We met with the Pro League, the Super League (and) WoLF. We have to meet with the Tobago coaches, through the Tobago Football Association and then the South, East and North coaches. That will all be done together.”

This is all very laudable.

After having made numerous posts on the failing of coaches to be seated at the table, and advocating for such, the structured manner with which NFCTT has been treating its inclusion is noteworthy. The missing elements were the will to do it, solidarity within the coaching ranks, a galvanizing moment and a proper appreciation of what was at stake. The thing is: any federation leadership could have harnessed this vacuum by facilitating steps even if coaches themselves had to do the legwork and lifting to make the formalities happen.

I emphasize that because there are two other drums that have been beaten here also. One is that of players taking their seat at the table. The third I will deal with separately.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2021, 10:43:20 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #577 on: February 02, 2021, 05:18:54 PM »
The NC/TTFA should release a transparent statement that indicates how the friendly against the US came into being, the process and rationale for arriving at the decision, and all ancillary arrangements and incentives that pertained to the match and the hospitality of the USSF. A full exposition of when, how, who, what, where and why.

Focus on youth football
« Reply #578 on: February 04, 2021, 02:09:47 PM »
Focus on youth football
By Lennox Sirjuesingh (T&T Express)

The recent drubbing and humiliation our football team suffered against the US leads me to believe that we continue to be enveloped in wishful thinking as opposed to engaging in hard work and long term goal-setting and planning.

This is reinforced by coach Terry Fenwick saying that he selected players based on video recordings of these players. What utter madness! Thank goodness he is not coaching a South American country.

For as long as I can recall, there have been repeated calls for an effective youth programme, but with little implementation.

Many including Super League president Clayton Morris and NFA president Ross Russell have recently echoed this youth development ideal. It was revealed that the USA team was the result of their U15 and U17 programme started long ago.

Where is our similar planning? We seem to believe in instant and overnight success, not realising the latter does not come “overnight”.

Our current situation will continue unless we introduce and manage a well thought-out plan for our football development.

To this end, I urge the Normalisation Committee now in charge to aim at leaving a legacy of an effective youth programme with the results manifested in years to come. The relatively short period of two years for that committee would, on the surface, be seen as difficult to achieve but with commitment, zeal and the will to do it, we can make it possible for both male and female teams.

The entire Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) must buy into it and coordination must be handled by the national association. I have seen the youth football trophy on display in Ghana at a hotel and was impressed by the enthusiasm of parents and youth players to take pictures with the trophy.

This could be an avenue for revival of community spirit and identification with our youths. Corporate citizens are known to be supportive of positive programmes and may just wish to be identified with such a programme. Their involvement is vital.

With the coming into being of a specialised ministry for youth, we have another likely supporter of such an initiative.

Is the TTFA likely to be seen as fulfilling its corporate social responsibility if this is implemented?

The board of directors must become partners with the Normalisation Committee as we plan, programme and implement. The possibilities and benefits are endless.

TTFA shortlists 5 coaches for Women's job
« Reply #579 on: February 05, 2021, 06:15:41 PM »
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

A five-member Adhoc Selection Committee that includes former national defender Richard Chinapoo, who has had an extensive career, primarily in the United States, will take centre stage as the selection of a coach for the country's Women's team continues.

Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee (NC) which also comprises former banker Nigel Romano and attorney Judy Daniel told Guardian Media Sports on Thursday, that the NC will ultimately have the final decision on who the coach will be. He said, the newly appointed committee is a highly technical one and will make recommendations based on qualification, experience and the budget available for the top position.

The other members on the committee will be Jinelle James, director of women's football, Dion La Foucade, the technical director of T&T football, Norris Ferguson - former football administrator, Richard Piper- former national team manager, and Hayden Martin- a retired teacher and coach at St Mary's College.

It is understood that from a total of 195 local, regional and international coaches, there is now a shortlist of five, but it is unsure whether former national women's coach Richard Hood, who took the country's under-20 women to the quarterfinals of the CONCACAF U-20 Women's Championship in the Dominican Republic last year and Angus Eve, who is considered one of this country's most successful youth coach, have made the shortlist.

The coach is expected to be chosen in the coming weeks.

Normalisation Committe to meet with Fenwick

Meanwhile, Hadad and his team will also sit with senior national Men's team coach Terry Fenwick soon to find ways to strengthen the team's chances of qualifying FIFA World Cup, which begins with a qualifying match against Guyana on March 25.

With FIFA suspending all the standing committees of the T&T Football Association inclusive of the technical committee, Hadad said his committee (NC) will do its best with the technical expertise that they have to help guide and direct them in the right direction for football. "What football advice they can give to Mr Fenwick. He and I just came off the phone with each other, we get along very well, we're going to work with him. We are going to try our very best to create an environment to give him the best possible chance," Hadad explained.

The local football boss has also reached out to the country's top international stars Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino and Khaleem Hyland for them to be apart of the set-up.

Fenwick's men were demolished 7-0 by the United States in an international friendly encounter on Sunday at the Exploria Stadium in Orlando Florida, USA but the result has had no effect on Hadad, who told Guardian Media Sports that he's happy with the traction being received, as well as the fact that the coach knows what is available to him.

"We have to work with the coach and the management team and I really think that the exposure is what we need to focus on, and not necessarily the result. The national coach is trying his best to see players and to evaluate players and he did what he thought was necessary. We could all analyse and say good, bad or indifferent but I am just gonna continue supporting him. We're gonna discuss the mistakes made, we're gonna discuss the positives and we're going to work towards the next game and what we could do to make things better for him."

Hadad happy with T&T playing football again

Sunday's match saw the Soca Warriors succumb to their largest-ever margin of defeat by the United States, a result that followed a 6-0 thrashing at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA in 2019. Still, the positives appeared to have out-weighed the negatives, as the NC was bombarded with praises from other CONCACAF and regional territories for being able to pull off the match in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.

"On Wednesday, I had a meeting with CONCACAF and our group F compatriots, and there was a lot of talk around how Trinidad and Tobago did what Trinidad and Tobago did, we got a game, we actually played football. We went out, we got to the USA. We came in for a lot of praise and I find really funny that we as Trinidadians are not seeing that. We went with what we had and the objective was to give Mr Fenwick the opportunity to view players in the USA, so I am actually very happy with the outcome but I am happy with the result of the game."

The T&T team will play two other warm-up matches against Dominica and St Vincent and the Grenadines later this month. Ongoing talks are underway with the Ministries of National Security and Health, Hadad explained, for a tri-nation bubble to be held here.

And he noted that for these matches, Hadad is guessing that coach Fenwick will utilise all the local players available to him, saying they will not be able to get the international players for matches outside the FIFA window.

« Reply #580 on: February 11, 2021, 04:40:35 PM »
TTFA to work on commercialisation
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (Newsday).

THE TT Football Association (TTFA) was among several member associations from the region which participated in a commercialisation workshop hosted by Concacaf, last Tuesday, via a Zoom conference call.

The lead presenter at the workshop was Heidi Pellerano, Concacaf’s chief commercial officer, who oversees the organisation’s commercial division, developing and managing strategic partnerships to maximize the commercial opportunities of the organisation.

She also has direct oversight of the departments of business development, partnership marketing, digital and emerging technologies, media distribution, and broadcast productions.

Some of the topics discussed included brand-building tactics, sponsorship, fan engagement, data and analytics specific to fan engagement and marketing and building strategic alliances with commercial partners among other items.

Also present at the workshop were Concacaf general secretary Philippe Moggio, chief director of member associations Marco Leal, senior project manager Howard McIntosh and director of Caribbean football at Concacaf Horace Reid.

Attending the workshop on the TTFA’s behalf was interim general secretary Amiel Mohammed, head of media and communications Shaun Fuentes and Yuri Chapman.

Some of the other countries participating countries were Jamaica, Grenada, Bermuda, Guyana, Barbados, St Lucia among others.

In his address, Moggio emphasised the Confederation’s desire to help the member associations improve their commercial structures and strategies.

“We have heard from many of you that the commercial area is an important area where we all need to strengthen our know-how, so we decided to create this specific commercialization workshop,” Moggio said.

“We have done a lot of work over the past two years in further developing our commercial programme, developing the platforms that target different audiences. “You see our women’s competitions coming together under a Concacaf women’s brand and our youth competitions and how we are packaging those, our CSR efforts and many other initiatives that target different audiences and help us advance our revenue opportunities. These are the areas we want to focus on that can help you at your local level.

The TTFA confirmed they will continue to engage with Concacaf and FIFA experts as it aims to strengthen its marketing and commercial programmes and will be part of further workshops hosted by the confederation throughout 2021.

« Reply #581 on: February 12, 2021, 03:57:33 AM »
Who's Yuri Chapman?

« Reply #582 on: February 12, 2021, 02:28:00 PM »
Who's Yuri Chapman?
According to Linkedln

Yuri Chapman
Logistics Assistant with responsibility for Uniforms & Equipment at TTFA

« Reply #583 on: February 24, 2021, 01:39:46 PM »
Who dropped the ball, TTFA?
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian).

It truly amazes me how everything associated with Trinidad & Tobago’s football has over time become a consistent form of bacchanal. It’s almost as if we sit and wait for the next story in the long-running soap opera entitled - ‘Who did it this time? Football the T&T way’.

Indeed, the Soca Warriors were hammered by the USA a little over three weeks ago 7-0 in the USA. I think, or perhaps I should hope that we all know the reason why the team was humiliated on that infamous night - January 31. With lessons (hopefully) learned, T&T’s football fans were rightfully waiting for a more positive step as their team was about to embark on preparations for their qualification campaign for the 2022 FIFA World Cup on March 25th with a home fixture against Guyana.

Instead, what the optics reveal is a case of who to blame this time? The Ministry Of Health (MOH) got the first lash when they pointed out why the TTFA’s proposal to host the match was not accepted pointing to various concerns relating to the government's response to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. After the Ministry explained why they could not give permission for the game to be played in T&T, the TTFA responded by alluding to the supposed fact that they had been in discussions with the MOH, the Sports Company of T&T and other relevant government agencies over the last few months in order to satisfy their FIFA mandate for international competitions.

While that seems reasonable enough to me, if it is true that the TTFA had been in negotiations with the relevant parties over the last few months, surely they would have suggested that the match can be played in a football bubble as is being done with various football leagues around the world. I know however that in certain countries like Germany, in the Champions League, their teams have to give up home advantage and play their games at a neutral venue in Budapest so it is not something new for home advantage to be relinquished.

It is indeed tough for the players to be giving up a home advantage but with no crowds being allowed into the stadium, it really does not make a difference in that aspect. The only major argument is coach Fenwick’s players would know the conditions better than the opposition. This is ultimately a major advantage playing at home and while it may seem difficult to understand, the pressure with no crowds being present can sometimes work in favour of the players.

I don’t know how the USA, for instance, allowed the game against our national team to play and I hope the TTFA when putting forward their argument for the game to be played in T&T used that as an example. It is indeed difficult to argue with decisions that a government makes to protect its citizens from the effects of a global pandemic. Could you imagine the outcry if something was to go wrong had the game been allowed to play here in T&T? Don’t misunderstand me as I more than anyone would welcome the game being played at the Hasely Crawford stadium but if we drop our guard, we may pay the consequences.

Many people are referencing the CPL being played here over a six-week period in the height of the pandemic with 6 teams and players coming from within and outside the region and everything went well. I'm uncertain whether people understand how difficult it was for the relevant parties to host the CPL. The players and officials from the teams other than the Trinbago Knight Riders had to quarantine for 2 weeks before the tournament started; they were confined to their rooms, fed in their rooms and no one other than the teams was allowed in the hotel. It was extremely tough on the players and eventually when they were let out, they were still in a bubble and not a single external person could have interacted with the players. Mentally painful indeed.

Honestly, I do not know if any further dialogue will have any effect on the MOH’s decision. As I have already indicated, their priority is the safety of our people and unfortunately, I am unconvinced that any official in the TTFA can guarantee that. But deep down, I wish someone could come up with a workable solution but that does not seem possible at this stage. Our best bet is to focus on the team’s task at hand. It makes no sense for the national coach to be ranting, raving and going about the town with the blame game.

You just don’t know who to really believe. While the TTFA’s release stated that they have had discussions over the last few months with the relevant stakeholders, the Minister of Sport and Community Development Shamfa Cudjoe directly contradicted that when she uttered that the TTFA only sought permission in the first week of February. Does that mean the discussions over the last few months focused on pitching marbles? Weren’t the TTFA told to seek permission in writing? Has the TTFA been truthful about having discussions? Why did they only seek permission as we are being told in the first week of February? Can someone please clear the air on these questions or as usual, will it be swept under the carpet without anyone being held responsible or knowing what the truth is?

Terry Fenwick is laying the blame squarely at the feet of the TTFA administrative staff. But surely they are or should be guided by someone and if it is the same people as you are saying and they are not performing, then someone needs to take some form of undertaking so these actions do not repeat themselves. I am sick, fed up and exhausted with the lies, half-truths and innuendos when it comes to T&T football over the many years and it just never seems to get better.

In retrospect, Fenwick must get on with the business of preparing the national team for the encounter against Guyana. Forget about off-the-field antics which you have no control of and concentrate on winning against a tough opponent. As a teammate of mine used to say, “if we have to play them in the sea, we will beat them there as well”. Best of luck to team T&T.

After all, there’s no place to look but up after that disastrous USA performance.

Editor’s note:

The views expressed in this article are solely those of the writer and do not reflect the views of any organisation of which he is a stakeholder.

« Reply #584 on: February 26, 2021, 01:48:31 AM »
‘They’re sabotaging Fenwick and Hadad!’ TTFA staff blamed for normalisation committee blunders.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Who is doing more damage to Trinidad and Tobago’s 2022 Qatar World Cup qualifying chances?

Is it the perceived arrogance and ignorance of the Fifa-appointed normalisation committee, headed by Robert Hadad? The eccentric behaviour and questionable decision-making of Men’s National Senior Team head coach Terry Fenwick?

Or the alleged indifference and mean-spiritedness of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association’s (TTFA) office staff?

Remarkably, according to a document now making the rounds within local football circles, it is the latter party—the TTFA’s employees—that should be held to account for a series of blunders by the local sporting body, which range from the Soca Warriors’ unusual uniform in last month’s embarrassing 7-0 defeat to the United States to the TTFA’s sloppy and ultimately unsuccessful 29-page proposal to the Ministry of Health for exemptions for home games.

The TTFA Constitution allows the president to recommend a general secretary to the board, with the secretary then empowered to run the day-to-day administration of the football body.

Hadad and the normalisation committee appointed Amiel Mohammed as interim general secretary on 16 January 2021, following the suspension of Ramesh Ramdhan last July. Mohammed has worked for Hadad since the latter’s Fifa appointment last March, with his previous role being ‘assistant to the normalisation committee chairman’.

The TTFA’s organisational chart puts Mohammed in charge of all employees, while Hadad is the only person who can recommend sanctions against the general secretary.

However, based on an unsigned document, it is the office staff—and not Mohammed or Hadad—who should be held accountable for the stuttering start suffered by Fenwick and the normalisation committee.

“One can recall from the start, Terry Fenwick inherited technical staff that tried their best to prevent the National Team [from commencing] training, with red herrings [that] the team should not train until the Fifa ban was lifted, when that was not the case,” stated the document, which described the staff’s behaviour as ‘sabotage’.

“[…] Mr Robert Hadad has been forced to be a one-man team to get everything done himself, working tirelessly with no support elements—due to the blatant failure of those in TTFA, who have done nothing in the last year but acquire a monthly salary.”

The ‘hiccup’ in the resumption of national training, in particular, was blamed on team manager Captain Basil Thompson last year. Thompson was subsequently moved to the post of ‘logistics/safety and compliance manager’ while former St Augustine Secondary and Trinity East College coach Adrian Romain was promoted from Fenwick’s ‘personal assistant’ to team manager.

Romain was in charge when the Warriors returned from Orlando, earlier this month, with no apparent idea of the Ministry of Health’s quarantine protocol—which saw them held at the Home of Football for seven days, with another week of self-isolation at their respective homes.

“The unacceptable situation for the National team to be forced to remain inside their rooms for seven days at the Home of Football, on their return from the USA recently,” stated the document, “again falls squarely at the feet of the TTFA administrative staff.  All that was required was for them to send correspondence to the Ministry of Health and to Mr [Douglas] Camacho (the chairman of the Sports Company) to allow the team to train daily at the Ato Boldon Stadium, which was 50 metres from where the team was confined.

“This would have allowed the team to stay fit and match sharp… It was only when those outside the LOC contacted the relevant officials on the sixth day, that immediate approval was given [for the team to train].

“Ironically, these same TTFA employees who comprise the LOC are employed in that same facility.”

The claims were partially true. The TTFA’s LOC did not arrange for the Men’s National Senior Team to use the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva. However, in the end, the permission won behalf of the Warriors was useless, since the Ministry of Health refused to allow a single member of the touring party to leave the Home of Football’s facilities—despite the short distance to the stadium ground.

So it would be false to say that the office staff caused the Warriors to lose 14 days of training.

The LOC, incidentally, is headed by former Women’s League of Football (WoLF) president and longtime TTFA employee Sharon O’Brien and includes TTFA director of football Richard Piper as well as technical director Dion La Foucade and office staff workers Azaad Khan, Gary St Rose and Yuri Chapman.

“One could have seen [the administrative blunders] as sheer laziness, if not incompetence by the relevant employees of the TTFA and the LOC,” stated the document, “but the issue of sitting idly by for seven months and not [providing] the operational policy to forward to the Ministry of Sport and Ministry of Health to acquire relevant approval to host the World Cup home game reeks of virtual sabotage by these individuals to embarrass Mr Hadad and the normalisation committee.

“It was known since August that the World Cup games would take place early in 2021, and the LOC did not lift a finger to prepare the proposal for consideration by the sport and health ministers.”

The author admitted that the TTFA proposal, created by Hadad and Mohammed, was a rushed job. The medical document failed to satisfy even Fifa’s minimum standards and was rejected by the Ministry of Health chief medical officer Dr Roshan Parasram.

“It was only eight days ago, when someone (not a member of the LOC or TTFA) contacted the sports minister to acquire (sic) the status to host the game versus Guyana in Trinidad,” stated the document, “they were rightfully told: ‘approve what? nothing was given to approve’.

“It was only then that the National Team manager and Mr Mohammed were forced to do the work of the LOC and prepare the policy plan and have it submitted 72 hrs later. But by this time it was too late…”

Wired868 offered Piper and O’Brien the chance to respond to the claims and explain the organisational structure at the local football body. Both declined comment.

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith, who served on the TTFA’s LOC under former presidents Raymond Tim Kee and David John-Williams, said the current LOC members are responsible for everything related to the World Cup qualifying campaign.

“One of the main things for the LOC to do should have been the drafting of the [medical] policy,” Griffith told Wired868. “They dropped the ball badly and that is not the job of Robert Hadad. That policy should have been submitted several months ago, just like how the CPL did it.

“It caused Amiel [Mohammed] and Romain to have to rush to do it and by then it was too late. So [the TTFA’s failure to secure home games] falls squarely on the LOC because they have dropped the ball by not doing their jobs.

“[…] They are the ones to prepare all the operational and logistical work for all national games and it has been non existent.”

Despite the obvious flaws in the TTFA’s proposal, which Griffith said was penned by Mohammed and Romain, the sticking point was a 14-day quarantine period that the CMO refused to waive. Once Dr Parasram stuck to his guns on quarantine, it was always going to be impossible for the Warriors to host Guyana here.

Griffith’s view was not unanimous, although nobody was prepared to contradict him on the record. A former general secretary said a proposal of the sort sent to the Ministry of Health was outside of the LOC’s scope and ought to have been handled directly by Mohammed.

“The LOC is supposed to deal with things surrounding the game in Trinidad but an application of that magnitude, that has to go to the government and the CMO, will be the responsibility of the general secretary, unless the president undertakes to do that himself,” said the former TTFA general secretary. “[…] If it were me, I would first ask the medical committee members to give me their input and supply me with that plan, to ensure we get the protocols right.

“The general secretary would then discuss what the medical committee submitted with the normalisation committee and then proceed to do a covering note and send it.

“[…] Unless someone within the LOC was given that responsibility, I don’t see how anyone can say they fell down on their jobs.”

Griffith, though, insisted that the matter of health protocols for the Qatar World Cup qualifying series and the proposal to the Ministry of Health should have been ‘standard procedure’ for the TTFA’s LOC.

Fenwick, in an interview with the Trinidad Express, made it clear that he also blames the office staff.

“There is no excuse [and] you cannot blame Robert Hadad—he is a businessman,” Fenwick told the newspaper. “This has all to do with the administration of football in the TTFA and it’s not the first time we have had these issues. It’s the same people; they are not performing.

“I wanted home advantage… It’s a big plus and not anybody else but our administrators have mashed that up. I’m the coach; I’m meant to get the team right. [But] I’m engaging in so many other things because other people in the association are not doing it.”

Incidentally, Romain was the person responsible for the Warriors’ off-colour appearance in their 7-0 defeat to the United States on 31 January. The National Team’s contract with Joma ended over two years ago, while Hadad cancelled—and settled financially—a controversial kit deal with Avec Sport last year.

So, with no uniform to outfit the players in Orlando, Romain headed to a mall in west Trinidad and purchased Joma gear over the counter.

Griffith said that the LOC also played a big role in lining up the recent friendly but then did not help prepare the squad.

“The only thing they did was arrange the USA game and we saw where that went,” said Griffith. “They pushed and said we got the USA game and then they backed off and left everything on the lap of the manager and general secretary, with no input at all from the LOC.”

Fenwick’s tenure as Men’s National Senior Team head coach expires at the end of 2021, unless he meets performance targets at the Concacaf Gold Cup in July.

The previous TTFA Board said Fenwick had to qualify for the quarterfinal round to earn a two-year extension, but the Englishman had then president William Wallace lower the bar—so that he has only to get into the group stage to earn a new contract.

Hadad’s own term as normalisation committee chairman is meant to go no longer than 21 March 2022.

Then, of course, you have the TTFA office staff, with the likes of O’Brien and Piper clearly in the sights of the new football heavies.

Something will have to give in 2021.

(Unsigned letter on the supposed source of the TTFA’s current woes)

The national football coach is an outspoken individual, and his recent comments about the virtual incompetence of the TTFA in their recent inactivity towards preparation for the World Cup campaign is just a drop in the bucket as to how ineffective they are.

One can recall from the start, Terry Fenwick inherited technical staff that tried their best to prevent the National Team to commence (sic) training, with red herrings about the team should not train until the Fifa ban was lifted, when that was not the case.

Someone had to expose this sabotage, upon which the team commenced training at the Police Training Academy Barracks.

When Terry requested approval to use the National Stadium, he was told by these same staff members that the Stadium was unavailable. But when others contacted Douglas Camacho, it was discovered to be a false statement and the field was then made available.

The most recent list of ball droppings, also falls squarely at the feet of those employed at TTFA, who have not lifted a finger to assist the normalisation committee in ensuring the success of the National Senior Men Team preparing for the World Cup campaign.

Mr Robert Hadad has been forced to be a one-man team to get everything done himself, working tirelessly with no support elements, due to the blatant failure of those in TTFA, who have done nothing in the last year but acquire a monthly salary .

Below are just a few examples:

—The National coach is the one who decides the venue for the matches. However, some in the Local Organising Committee (LOC) had the audacity to tell him that they would decide where the home games would be played.  They wanted the Ato Boldon Stadium as the match venues, even though Terry insisted that the home games should be at the National Stadium. This LOC seems to have forgotten that their job is to facilitate and not direct.

—The unacceptable situation for the National team to be forced to remain inside their rooms for seven days at the Home of Football, on their return from the USA recently, again falls squarely at the feet of the TTFA administrative staff.  All that was required was for them to send correspondence to the Ministry of Health and to Mr [Douglas] Camacho to allow the team to train daily at the Ato Boldon Stadium which was 50 metres from where the team was confined. This would have allowed the team to stay fit and match sharp.

The Ato Boldon field is enclosed along with the home of Football so it was no issue to have the team train there whilst undergoing the mandatory seven day quarantine on their return. It was only when those outside the LOC contacted the relevant officials on the sixth day, that immediate approval was given. Ironically, these same TTFA employees who comprise the LOC, are employed in that same facility.

—Likewise, a National team cannot be forced to remain inactive for 14 days. So on their release from the seven-day quarantine, the LOC, if they had any care or concern towards the development of the team, would have written to the Minister of Heath to seek clearance for the team to continue training as approved by the Prime Minister, on their release from the Home of Football.

Due to the blatant failure, and deliberately so, by the LOC and TTFA employees not to do a damn thing, it meant the National team was forced to remain inactive for 14 days, which would obviously affect their fittest preparation for World Cup qualifiers.

—The administrative preparation and planning for the friendly game vs USA (not a finger lifted by the TTFA), it was Mr Hadad, Mr Amiel Mohammed (general secretary) and the team manager Mr Romain, who worked night and day  for three days to get the team to travel.

—Since December, Mr Terry Fenwick has been trying to get friendly games in Trinidad, and the LOC have done nothing to provide that.

—Now that the decision has been made to have the home game vs Guyana played in the Dominican Republic, over the last three days, it is the team manager and Mr Mohammed who are doing all the work to have this done, whilst the TTFA employees sit and smile in the hope that this too crashes.

—These two have also been solely doing all that they can to get friendly games played in Miami prior to this World Cup qualifier, with no assistance from these several TTFA employees who are being paid with no delivery forthcoming.

—Not one of them have ever attended one single training session or practice game by this same National Team in the last eight months since the National Team resumed training, to see what is required.

—In fact, it was the national coach who had to draft the letter himself to send to the PM to get approval for the team to re commence training, as the TTFA  and the LOC had no intention to do so.

To show their lack of interest, if not virtual sabotage, these employees and the LOC, have done nothing to assist the National team with the following:

—Acquisition of football fields for the team to train;

—Acquisition of water for the team daily, whereby Mr Hadad had to acquire personally;

—Availability of ice;

—Washing of laundry after each session, so the coaches are compelled to do this;

—Acquisition of transport for the players to and from training;

—Meals provided at every session for all players and staff;

—Medical supplies required for the game vs USA—those outside the TTFA had to acquire sponsorship to acquire same.

One could have seen all of the above as sheer laziness, if not incompetence by the relevant employees of the TTFA and the LOC. But the issue of sitting idly by for seven months and not provide (sic) the operational policy to forward to the Ministry of Sport and Ministry of Health to acquire (sic) relevant approval to host the World Cup home game, reeks of virtual sabotage by these individuals to embarrass Mr Hadad and the normalisation committee.

It was known since August that the World Cup games would take place early in 2021, and the LOC did not lift a finger to prepare the proposal for consideration by the sport and health ministers.

It was only eight days ago, when someone (not a member of the  LOC or TTFA), contacted the sports minister to acquire the status to host the game vs Guyana in Trinidad, they were rightfully told: “Approve what? Nothing was given to approve.”

It was only then that the National Team manager and Mr Mohammed were forced to do the work of the LOC and prepare the policy plan and have it submitted 72 hrs later. But by this time it was too late, as it virtually was forcing it down (sic) the government to make a last-minute decision, which is inappropriate, especially when trying to ensure that it does not affect the health of the country.

This is what was done by CPL when their 49-page proposal was submitted months prior to the start of the tournament and approval was then given.

Robert Hadad and the technical staff of the National Team have been doing all the work expected from the TTFA and the LOC, even though these employees are all being paid hefty salaries.

Because of these numerous blunders, it can only be seen as deliberate sabotage and the whole TTFA staff inclusive of the LOC, should be dismissed with immediate effect. Otherwise these blunders would continue, hence making it quite possible that our World Cup campaign may become very short.

« Reply #585 on: February 26, 2021, 06:02:20 PM »
But who is this gang.. them don’t work for and answer to Nobody? And they getting pay backpay, and current pay ? Who paying them ? They collecting hush monies?

That anonymous letter is anonymous  :bs:.

Just in case we lorse, or whenever we do, let it be known, is cause we like bachanal shit.

I taking bets on who put together  this letter. Fraid court case doh.

« Reply #586 on: February 26, 2021, 06:27:49 PM »
Imagine for most of 2020, there were two factions on the outside of football ... now in 2021, there is factionalism within the new normal. Reeks of progress. ::)

They should invite Justice Gobin to tour the facilities as they parade the brand.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2021, 06:30:18 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #587 on: February 27, 2021, 02:29:29 AM »
So you all got my point now right? I have been saying this forever, Trinidad and Tobago is an unprofessional lackadaisical parochial bacchanal country with the most divisive self important people in the whole caribbean, be it english, French or spanish speaking caribbean. we are the worst, and subsequently our worst enemy as well.

« Reply #588 on: March 09, 2021, 02:07:56 AM »
Fenwick: Players choosing jobs over training
By Joel Bailey, Newsday

A LACK of financial support from the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee, which deals with the affairs of the TT Football Association (TTFA), is hampering the preparations of the national men’s team ahead of a pair of 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

They are due to be played against Guyana (March 25 in the Dominican Republic) and Puerto Rico (March 28 in Puerto Rico).

TT men’s team coach Terry Fenwick said local-based players are having to choose their jobs instead of attending training sessions, especially since the TT Pro League has been inactive since the covid19 lockdown in March 2020.

“This last weekend we were meant to be in Tobago for a camp, to play two games, and the normalisation (committee) couldn’t secure transport (to and from Tobago) for us, which has been pretty much consistent,” said Fenwick on Monday.

The TT team were expected to play an Orange XI and Tobago Phoenix last weekend in Tobago. Instead, they were only able to face the Orange XI on Saturday, at the Police Barracks in St James, a game in which TT prevailed 8-0.

“The Commissioner of Police (Gary Griffith) has given us transport throughout 2020 and this year, and we’ve not had much support (from the normalisation committee) as far as that is concerned,” Fenwick said. “It was great to bring the twin isles together, to see the guys that they have.

“We’re literally making things happen. I’ve got players that are unable to travel for training because they’ve got no money. I’ve got players that are having to choose a job rather than train with the national team, because of a lack of funding.”

There has been talk about Griffith’s involvement in the team, as the players have used the barracks (as well as the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo) as a training venue, while Griffith’s son Gary III is among the TT training squad.

Fenwick was quick to point out, “Unless we’d had the support from (Commissioner) Griffith, we would have had no transport for the players to come from Central and South for training sessions. They would not have been fed, nor even (received) drinks. My Football Factory is providing a great deal of equipment for training sessions. We literally are scrambling to keep things going. It’s not easy.

“We’ve had friendlies that have been quashed because we’ve not been able to keep up with the schedules that the technical staff have submitted for friendlies and training sessions. We’ve not had any response.”

Asked if he thinks the lack of support the team has received is related to its 7-0 battering by hosts United States in a friendly international on January 31, Fenwick responded, “Not really.

“We hadn’t kicked a ball in 14-15 months, in the Pro League. The USA game was the only game I’ve had since the normalisation (committee) took over, and that came at no expense to the TTFA.

“If it came around again, I’d take it again. It was an option to see players and get them experience.”

« Reply #589 on: March 13, 2021, 11:11:18 AM »
Dear NC, when is the website going to be resolved?

« Reply #590 on: March 17, 2021, 01:08:31 AM »
Hadad opens up to Lavender deal.

Facing mounting challenges to clear an existing debt that has burdened T&T football for decades, Normalisation Committee chairman, businessman Robert Hadad, has developed an open-door policy in which he has been listening to contractors of the past T&T Football Association (TTFA) administration including UK architectural company, Lavender. 

In addition, Hadad has been working with the sport's world governing body, FIFA, and the T&T government to clear a debt that has reached a negotiable figure of $70 million, plus another $30 million in potential contingent liabilities, which according to the local football boss, refers to the outstanding court matters that the embattled football association faces.

In March last year, then TTFA general secretary Ramesh Ramdhan revealed that his association had signed a Memorandum of Understanding for the construction of a multi-million-dollar state-of-the-art football, residential and commercial facility over the Arima Velodrome by UK firm Lavender, as part of their $50-million debt-eradication plan.

The deal needed only the go-ahead from Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and other members of his government, as well as members of the Arima Borough Corporation, before a whopping $12 million dollars were to be deposited into the coffers of the TTFA.

The deal was also communicated to a three-member FIFA/CONCACAF team, here conducting an assessment on the financial affairs of the TTFA at the time. However, Ramdhan and company failed to get the support they wanted from the Arima Borough.

Although the FIFA/CONCACAF team gave a nod of approval for the debt-eradication idea among many other plans by the William Wallace-led administration, designed to repair local football, Ramdhan said, the team still delivered a failing grade on the TTFA's ability to manage the affairs of the sport. 

Hadad and the normalisation committee, over the past months, have been engaged in ongoing talks with the government and corporate citizens, but still have had to go back to a number of contracts under the Wallace administration for much-needed help, saying as a good leader and manager, he was not shutting the doors on anyone:

"So the Lavender deal, I have had conversations with them to understand, like any good leader or good manager, you don't close doors on anybody, but I wanted to understand better what they were bringing to the table. So I would not say I am negotiating with anybody. I am saying I have looked at what they wanted to do and they have some convincing to do. The committee will have a look at what they want to do, providing we cannot get the financing via any other means."

According to Hadad: "What they are providing is like a business proposal when you look at it, where they're going to develop the Arima land by building on it. They've made some pronouncements and announcements about who gave them the land without the relevant authorities even knowing about it.

"So I am saying, I am going to work with the relevant authorities, and if the Minister of Sports gives me a piece of land that I could give to somebody like them where we can have proper contractual arrangements, where they can build a football field or a hospital, or homes for sale, I am listening."

He made clear, however, that should he enter into such an agreement then there must be clauses where he will have overall control to seize everything if the contractors don't do what they're supposed to do.

Apart from the Lavender deal, the normalisation committee has reached a settlement with the TTFA website which was pulled for monies owed. Hadad said the website should be up sooner rather than later but he was happy to have gotten rid of the Avec deal.

« Last Edit: March 17, 2021, 01:55:41 AM by Flex »

« Reply #591 on: March 17, 2021, 01:20:17 PM »
"Hadad said the website should be up sooner rather than later but he was happy to have gotten rid of the Avec deal."

Oh Oh. Wonder if that also means the end of the Coleraine opportunity/experiment .

« Reply #592 on: March 17, 2021, 04:15:15 PM »
Lovely of the TTFA to issue a statement "clarifying" the "animated discussion" this morning, but why the heck have we still not seen a release of a squad due to travel TOMORROW?!
« Last Edit: March 17, 2021, 04:33:39 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #593 on: March 22, 2021, 01:07:19 PM »

A five-member Adhoc Selection Committee that includes former national defender Richard Chinapoo, who has had an extensive career, primarily in the United States, will take centre stage as the selection of a coach for the country's Women's team continues.

Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee (NC) which also comprises former banker Nigel Romano and attorney Judy Daniel told Guardian Media Sports on Thursday, that the NC will ultimately have the final decision on who the coach will be. He said, the newly appointed committee is a highly technical one and will make recommendations based on qualification, experience and the budget available for the top position.

The other members on the committee will be Jinelle James, director of women's football, Dion La Foucade, the technical director of T&T football, Norris Ferguson - former football administrator, Richard Piper- former national team manager, and Hayden Martin- a retired teacher and coach at St Mary's College.

It is understood that from a total of 195 local, regional and international coaches, there is now a shortlist of five, but it is unsure whether former national women's coach Richard Hood, who took the country's under-20 women to the quarterfinals of the CONCACAF U-20 Women's Championship in the Dominican Republic last year and Angus Eve, who is considered one of this country's most successful youth coach, have made the shortlist.

The coach is expected to be chosen in the coming weeks.

Normalisation Committe to meet with Fenwick

Meanwhile, Hadad and his team will also sit with senior national Men's team coach Terry Fenwick soon to find ways to strengthen the team's chances of qualifying FIFA World Cup, which begins with a qualifying match against Guyana on March 25.

With FIFA suspending all the standing committees of the T&T Football Association inclusive of the technical committee, Hadad said his committee (NC) will do its best with the technical expertise that they have to help guide and direct them in the right direction for football. "What football advice they can give to Mr Fenwick. He and I just came off the phone with each other, we get along very well, we're going to work with him. We are going to try our very best to create an environment to give him the best possible chance," Hadad explained.

The local football boss has also reached out to the country's top international stars Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino and Khaleem Hyland for them to be apart of the set-up.

Fenwick's men were demolished 7-0 by the United States in an international friendly encounter on Sunday at the Exploria Stadium in Orlando Florida, USA but the result has had no effect on Hadad, who told Guardian Media Sports that he's happy with the traction being received, as well as the fact that the coach knows what is available to him.

"We have to work with the coach and the management team and I really think that the exposure is what we need to focus on, and not necessarily the result. The national coach is trying his best to see players and to evaluate players and he did what he thought was necessary. We could all analyse and say good, bad or indifferent but I am just gonna continue supporting him. We're gonna discuss the mistakes made, we're gonna discuss the positives and we're going to work towards the next game and what we could do to make things better for him."

Hadad happy with T&T playing football again

Sunday's match saw the Soca Warriors succumb to their largest-ever margin of defeat by the United States, a result that followed a 6-0 thrashing at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the USA in 2019. Still, the positives appeared to have out-weighed the negatives, as the NC was bombarded with praises from other CONCACAF and regional territories for being able to pull off the match in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.

"On Wednesday, I had a meeting with CONCACAF and our group F compatriots, and there was a lot of talk around how Trinidad and Tobago did what Trinidad and Tobago did, we got a game, we actually played football. We went out, we got to the USA. We came in for a lot of praise and I find really funny that we as Trinidadians are not seeing that. We went with what we had and the objective was to give Mr Fenwick the opportunity to view players in the USA, so I am actually very happy with the outcome but I am happy with the result of the game."

The T&T team will play two other warm-up matches against Dominica and St Vincent and the Grenadines later this month. Ongoing talks are underway with the Ministries of National Security and Health, Hadad explained, for a tri-nation bubble to be held here.

And he noted that for these matches, Hadad is guessing that coach Fenwick will utilise all the local players available to him, saying they will not be able to get the international players for matches outside the FIFA window.

So WHO is the coach ?

« Reply #594 on: April 12, 2021, 06:49:40 AM »
Dear Editor: TTFA member bodies have no uniformity, and it’s killing our game.
Wired868.com.

“[The TTFA’s] associate members also need structural reform, especially for youth development. Every group does whatever it wants. Under-8s may play in 7v7 competitions in south Trinidad, but play 5v5 in the east, and something completely different in the north—each with different sized goalposts or field dimensions. There is no national uniformity…”

The following letter to the editor on the state of local football was submitted to Wired868 by American Youth Soccer Organisation (AYSO) president and former Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) technical committee member Dale Toney:

Is normalisation really working for the TTFA? The definition of the word states ‘to bring or restore to normal condition’. Is this the normalcy?

The TTFA, an association that is 113 years old, is desperately in need of a structural overhaul. Changes need to be made because it’s a fiduciary and should  start performing like one: by developing an organisational structure for its various departments with functions and job description for each, along with codes of conduct and conflict of interest policies for office employees, technical team staff, players and coaches.

Its associate members also need structural reform, especially for youth development. Every group does whatever it wants. Under-8s may play in 7v7 competitions in south Trinidad, but play 5v5 in the east, and something completely different in the north—each with different sized goalposts or field dimensions. There is no national uniformity.

Then there are the unregistered leagues and tournaments which pop up out of nowhere.

We look to Europe and the USA to import elite players, but why not adopt or emulate some of their processes to build a greater number of home-grown players?

In the US youth soccer circuit, you need to show proof of affiliation to your home state association, insurance and other compliance items to enter a tournament. At the TTFA’s 2017 AGM, an amendment was proposed and passed that was meant to regularise all local football tournaments.

Only authorised member bodies are authorised to conduct competitions and they must notify the TTFA with the database of clubs, coaching schools, academies, players, and coaches (with their certifications) that are taking part. These bodies must provide the FA with subscription fees, financial statements, bylaws, a constitution, and valid bank account with transaction signatories to earn that right.

There should be no room for every Tom, Dick or Harry to throw a tournament using national referees and simply pocket the proceeds and walk away, with no accountability or significant benefit to the TTFA’s membership.

Then there is the neglect of women’s football, with most of the fields our girls play on lacking washroom facilities and security.

Our Pro League has shown little progress from its inception, the Secondary School Football League has its high points but many players are on the block or working odd jobs as soon as the season ends, and the Primary Schools League can barely justify its existence. The relevant authorities in education and sports need to do more to create career opportunities through sport.

Can’t we involve our universities in providing research on physical growth patterns, nutrition, rest-recovery, bio-banding, psychosocial attributes, cognitive behaviour and other factors that could be important for the success of our children?

What about a scenario where our school players are drafted into a revamped, rebranded vibrant Pro League that has moved on from the one-owner syndrome and is able to attract corporate sponsorship?

I keep hearing about all the challenges but am yet to see anyone make a concerted effort to change the mindset and attitude of the TTFA’s stakeholders.

Has the FA ever stood up for a cause in Trinidad and Tobago—whether it be women’s rights or child abuse—or help the nation commemorate anything? 

But who am I to say better can be done? As the saying goes: we like it so. Let’s host an Ease of Restriction Fete instead. Choose a stadium.   

« Reply #595 on: April 28, 2021, 09:30:51 AM »
Dear NC/TTFA,

What's your plan for prioritizing the vaccination of players in the NT pool?

« Reply #596 on: April 28, 2021, 01:02:29 PM »
Dear NC/TTFA,

What's your plan for prioritizing the vaccination of players in the NT pool?

Vaccine? They can't even pay them for training and ensure shirts for a game!

Coaches, normalisation committee meet over outstanding salaries
« Reply #597 on: May 05, 2021, 02:05:44 PM »
Coaches, normalisation committee meet over outstanding salaries
By Joel Bailey(T&T Newsday)

THE FIFA-appointed normalisation committee met virtually with the National Football Coaches of T&T (NFCTT) on Monday to address the non-payment of outstanding salaries to technical staff and players.

The normalisation committee runs the daily affairs of the T&T Football Association (TTFA),

Last week, the NFCTT aired its concerns, with interim president Jefferson George “expressing extreme dissatisfaction with the treatment of staff and players, and the lack of transparency in the dealings of the TTFA.”

In an interview on Tuesday, George said, “We told them about the challenges (and) the lack of funds. We were able to express to them that, while we don’t disregard the gravity of their situation in finding the funds, we thought that priority had to be given to the persons who were actually doing the work, meaning the players and the technical staff (who have not received) a cent since last year.”

George, the former T&T men’s Under-15 goalkeeper coach, said, “Some sort of balance had to be struck between those two and, at the moment, the balance is off, because you can’t be trying to address (debts), while not fulfilling the requirement to those who continue to work. I thought it was unreasonable."

He was hopeful about the outcome of the meeting.

“They listened, they agreed that the challenges that we face are great and they said that on Friday they’ll come back to us. We are hoping that on Friday we’re going to know when persons are going to be able to receive the monies that they are owed.”

George and Angus Eve were the NFCTT representatives at Monday’s meeting, while the normalisation committee members present were Nigel Romano, Judy Daniel and Trevor Gomez.

Were the normalisation committee members assured that chairman Robert Hadad would be briefed about the meeting?

“They said he would not have been able to make the meeting,” George replied. “They spoke with the authority of the entire body.”

George believes the issue should have been rectified a long time ago.

“The situation with non-payment is unreasonable anyway. The length of time that guys (are) without renumeration is unacceptable. It should not have had to come to this point. This is one of the things that we expressed to them.

“Too often we find, in local context, that the priority given to players and staff is way too low. The experience that these guys have in business, I don’t think this model will be used in any other business, where you can have people working months without receiving a cent.

“That is not good for any type of business,” George added. “We expressed that to them, and we hope that things can have a major change going forward.”

Najjar: John-Williams and Wallace connection best for T&T football
« Reply #598 on: May 05, 2021, 02:25:59 PM »
Najjar: John-Williams and Wallace connection best for T&T football
By Walter Alibey(T&T Guardian)

Despite being vilified in contrasting ways, the pair of David John-Williams and William Wallace, both former presidents of the T&T Football Association, are being seen as the ones to steer T&T football to a position of stabilisation, together.

So says former coach and Technical Director Hannibal Najjar on Tuesday, as he believes both individuals have assets that will be helpful to T&T football moving forward.

Najjar said, both men agreed with the idea of working together in principle last year, and he gave the assurance he will attempt to reach out to them again to see what can be done. This means both men would have to put aside their differences to join the same slate for the T&TFA Election, which will be determined by the current Normalisation Committee, being led by businessman Robert Hadad.

In November 2019 the team of John-Williams was replaced by Wallace's United T&TFA, following a hotly contested election at the Home of Football in Balmain, Couva.

John-Williams failed to convince the membership that he was transparent and accountable during his reign as president, as this was challenged by United T&TFA member Keith Look Loy in the courts midway during his four-year term of office which started in November 2015.

John-Williams was also chastised for his handling of the construction of the Home of Football, among many other issues. But later, the same membership joined forces to remove Wallace, after a FIFA said that the Wallace administration had placed local football on the brink of insolvency and illiquidity, despite them being in office for just three months.

Najjar, who described the sport as being the lowest of low at this point said: "I believe that William Wallace has the spirit in him to be a part of something, anything, that will help football, really from a gentle leadership place. It's like having two kinds of leaders, one who is determined but has a gentle approach to how he would have led, and one who is determined and has a more courageous, bolder way to go forward, which is what David has. I am going to call both of them and speak to them that I am going to try to re-engage the idea of both of them being brought in, in some way, initially, separately and or together by the Normalisation Committee, for them to see how they can utilize what is existing and not to try and do it on their own."

At present, the Hadad-led normalization committee of Attorney Judy Daniel, and businessmen Nigel Romano and Trevor Gomez, is nowhere close to achieving the mandate set out by the sport's world governing body of 1. Establishing a debt repayment plan that will be implementable by the TTFA; 2. Review and amend the TTFA Statutes and ensure their compliance with the FIFA Statutes and requirements before duly submitting them for approval to the TTFA Congress; 3. Run the TTFA’s daily affairs; 4. Organize and conduct elections of a new TTFA executive committee for a four-year mandate.

According to Najjar: "I feel hopeful, and I feel we have hit our heads up against a wall right now and I think Hadad and them are concerned with the image that is out there right now, with all that is going on and them being rejected or some question mark over their heads by the coaches, particularly the local coaches, and these committees that they have kind of ostracized."

Najjar who coached T&T between 2002-2003, believes it will foolish for the membership to write off both men because of their past, as they still have so much to offer.

Contacted for a comment, Wallace said he prefers to stay out of the football right now as there are too many people with personal agendas. John-Williams on the other hand refused to comment.

Coaches, players to receive wages, stipends by month-end
« Reply #599 on: May 08, 2021, 11:14:24 AM »
Coaches, players to receive wages, stipends by month-end

A number of national football coaches and players have finally gotten a reason to smile. Some 40 coaches and an unknown amount of players will receive payments of salaries and stipends dating back to April 2020.

Confirmation of this came on Friday afternoon, following another meeting between the members of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee Trevor Gomes and Nigel Romano, and the National Football Coaches of T&T (NCFTT) which was represented by its interim president Jefferson George and Angus Eve, a former national coach, virtually.

Both Romano and Gomes gave the commitment that payment will be made by the end of May.

Only a few days ago, the members of the national football coaches organisation called on coaches and players to stay away from training sessions as there was no definite date for payment of salaries to coaches, as well as no confirmation that local players who were training with the national team, would have been given stipends.

Chairman of the normalisation committee Robert Hadad had said his committee could not pay stipends as they were not obligated to do as such. The local football boss also told Guardian Media in January that paying stipends would have been setting a dangerous precedent. However, he has reconsidered his position, in the wake of threats by players to walk away from the team.

George said they are satisfied with the commitment given by the normalisation committee and they are only now waiting on a time for payments to go to the bank now. The payments will be for coaches of all national teams, as well as players of the senior national team.

Guardian Media asked if stipends would be offered to players on the country's futsal and beach soccer teams as well, but George said representation was only made to the coaches and players who were specifically affected by the recent development.

He admitted, however, that his organisation did have a contingency plan in place, just in case things didn't go according to their plan.

"We had also planned to approach the Ministry of Sports and Community Development and the government to find out whether our members can apply for the grants being offered to unemployed people. And if they could have, then we would have pursued that option," George told Guardian Media Sports Friday evening.

The last time coaches were paid salaries was on December 23, last year and that payment was for three months only. They were also given the assurance that the remaining amounts would have been paid by January this year.

Since coaches have different contracts, the normalisation committee would clarify the months that last year's three-month payment was for, as they attempt to bring salaries up to date.

George said the family of former national player and coach Clyde Leon who died recently, will receive retroactive payments. George said he will take personal responsibility to ensure that this happens. Leon was an assistant coach of this country's Under-15 team.