April 20, 2024, 07:46:09 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the USA WNT vs T&T WNT Game (15-Oct-2014)  (Read 12455 times)

Thread for the USA WNT vs T&T WNT Game (15-Oct-2014)
« on: October 15, 2014, 10:10:57 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T WNT vs USA WNT 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship/2015 World Cup Qualifiers game at the Sporting Park Kansas City, KS 7:30 PM CST (8:30 PM EST) on the 15th of October 2014 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

USWNT Twitter Feed

Possible Online Streams.

Foxsoccer2go.com

Possible TV Station.

FOX Sports 2

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Kimika Forbes, Tinesha Palmer.

Defenders

Ayanna Russell, Rhea Belgrave, Arin King, Liana Hinds, Brianna Ryce, Khadisha Debessette, Lauren Hutchinson, Patrice Superville.

Midfielders

Khadidra Debessette, Maylee Attin Johnson, Janine Francois, Karyn Forbes, Anique Walker.

Forwards

Mariah Shade, Dernelle Mascall, Tasha St Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner.

Coach - Randy Waldrum.

United States of America Squad

Goalkeepers

Ashlyn Harris, Hope Solo.

Defenders

Julie Johnston, Whitney Engen, Meghan Klingenberg, Ali Krieger, Kelley O’Hara, Christie Rampone, Becky Sauerbrunn.

Midfielders

Morgan Brian, Tobin Heath, Lauren Holiday, Carli Lloyd, Heather O’Reilly, Megan Rapinoe.

Forwards

Sydney Leroux, Alex Morgan, Christen Press, Amy Rodriguez, Abby Wambach.

Coach - Jill Ellis.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2014, 03:44:42 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the USA WNT vs T&T WNT Game (15-Oct-2014)
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2014, 10:19:35 AM »

Will be a difficult game for our women to win but I believe they can get the job done.

This game will give us an insight of how much we have improved since the Caribbean Cup.

2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship in Focus: Trinidad & Tobago

IN FOCUS: TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association
Founded: 1908 (Joined FIFA in 1964)
Head Coach: Randy Waldrum
FIFA World Ranking: 86
CONCACAF Ranking: 9
FIFA World Cups: None
Best FIFA World Cup Finish: None

Trinidad & Tobago Women’s National Team Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (3):   Kimika Forbes, Afiyah Matthias, Tinesha Palmer

DEFENDERS (8): Ayanna Russell, Rhea Belgrave, Arin King, Danielle Blair, Liana Hinds, Brianna Ryce, Khadisha Debessette, Lauren Hutchinson

MIDFIELDERS (4):  Khadidra Debessette, Maylee Attin Johnson, Janine Francois, Karyn Forbes

FORWARDS (5): Mariah Shade, Dernelle Mascall, Tasha St. Louis, Ahkeela Mollon, Kennya Cordner

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO ROSTER NOTES

- Trinidad & Tobago qualified for the 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship by defeating Jamaica 1-0 in the final of the inaugural Caribbean Football Union Women’s Caribbean Cup in Port of Spain.

- Mariah Shade – named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player – struck for the lone goal in the eighth minute.

- The Soca Princesses completed the final round with a perfect 4-0-0 record, winning Group B while scoring 20 goals and conceding none.

- Trinidad & Tobago’s head coach is Randy Waldrum, one of the top college coaches in U.S. history who won 399 games spanning 24 seasons at Tulsa, Baylor and Notre Dame. He won two NCAA titles with the Fighting Irish.

- Waldrum is currently the head coach of the Houston Dash in the NWSL, where he coaches U.S. players Whitney Engen and Meghan Klingenberg.

- Waldrum also coached the U.S. Under-23 WNT in 2012-2013.

USA VS. TRINIDAD & TOBAGO:

- The U.S. WNT has played seven matches in its history against Trinidad & Tobago with four of them coming in CONCACAF qualifying events. The USA is 7-0-0 in those games.

- The most recent meeting came during the Olympic qualifying tournament in 2004, a 7-0 victory in San Jose, Costa Rica, that featured a hat trick from Shannon Boxx.

- The last meeting in Women’s World Cup qualifying came in 2003 during a challenging 3-0 victory in Fullerton, Calif. on goals from Brandi Chastain, Cindy Parlow and Tiffeny Milbrett.

- Trinidad & Tobago’s best result against the USA came in 1994, a 3-1 U.S. victory in Scarborough, Tobago, in the only match between the two countries that was played in Trinidad & Tobago.

- The USA has gotten into double-figures in goals three times against Trinidad & Tobago; at the first CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament in 1991 (10-0), at the qualifying tournament for the 1995 Women’s World Cup in Montreal, Canada (11-1 in a match that featured a brawl) and at the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup in 2000 (11-0 in a tournament that was not a qualifying event).

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2014, 01:04:06 PM »
I wonder how close I will be to the starting line up.

Kamika Forbes
Rhea Belgrave
Arin King
Ayanna Russell
Liana Hinds
Karyn Forbes
Maylee Johnson
Tasha St. Louis
Akheela Mollon
Kennya Cordner
Mariah Shade

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2014, 01:11:50 PM »
Have my tickets in hand & they say 7:30 PM  start tonight for our Women's game  so wouldn't want anyone to tune in late as all advertising we have been seeing is saying 8:30 PM.

Cheers  19

« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2014, 01:23:26 PM »
Have my tickets in hand & they say 7:30 PM  start tonight for our Women's game  so wouldn't want anyone to tune in late as all advertising we have been seeing is saying 8:30 PM.

Cheers  19

You are in Central Standard Time so it is 7:30 pm which is 8:30 pm Eastern Standard Time.

« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2014, 03:45:07 PM »
National Under 20 captain Anique Walker and defender Patrice Superville have been drafted into the squad due to injuries to Danielle Blair and Afiyah Matthias.

« Reply #7 on: October 15, 2014, 05:56:17 PM »
tnt...play de fitball

« Reply #8 on: October 15, 2014, 06:32:07 PM »
Good luck lady socawarriors. This will be a tough opening game in faraway Kansas where you will try to blunt the expected USA blitz but remember the best opportunities for 3 points will be against Guatemala and Haiti. We expect that the margin of the score will show a lot of improvement. Doh worry, you've won our support. Lets go !!!!

« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2014, 06:35:46 PM »
Looking sharp in the tunnel.

« Reply #10 on: October 15, 2014, 06:36:42 PM »
I thought I saw Anique Walker in a pic with the squad. I just assumed it was an old pic

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #11 on: October 15, 2014, 06:37:01 PM »
Link for those who dont have access otherwise http://cricfree.tv/live/watch/usa_vs_trinidad_and_tobago/60264

« Reply #12 on: October 15, 2014, 06:39:26 PM »
LIVE VIDEO STREAM: USA Women vs T&T Women
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/woso-streams

« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2014, 06:50:19 PM »
0-0 after 8 minutes.

« Reply #15 on: October 15, 2014, 06:57:20 PM »
We look woefully overmatched.  13 minutes and already we holding on for dear life.  We conceding way too many set pieces and every clearance is just "anywhere will do"... usually right back to an attacking player.  No composure whatsoever.

« Reply #16 on: October 15, 2014, 07:09:54 PM »
We doing better than our Men's team versus the US.  0-0 in the 30th minute.

Blessings

socafighter

« Reply #17 on: October 15, 2014, 07:11:48 PM »

« Reply #18 on: October 15, 2014, 07:13:12 PM »
We look woefully overmatched.  13 minutes and already we holding on for dear life.  We conceding way too many set pieces and every clearance is just "anywhere will do"... usually right back to an attacking player.  No composure whatsoever.

Agreed. We can't seem to 3 passes together, we're slower to balls that are 60-40 in our favour and really just surviving on grit. I'm pleased to see them as determined as this, but there needs to be a little more to their game still. Hoping for the miracle all the same.  ;D

« Reply #19 on: October 15, 2014, 07:16:08 PM »
they need to use d ball better though, d mids to weak and slow to try and beat dey way through d middle dey gettin stop every time

« Reply #20 on: October 15, 2014, 07:16:25 PM »
AT SOME POINT WE WILL NEED TO START PLAYING ATTACKING FOOTBALL. the game cannot just be played in our half of the field!

Offline hg495

« Reply #21 on: October 15, 2014, 07:17:15 PM »
USA getting frustraitedddddd I love ittttttt
if yuh never get ah buss toe playing small goal den yuh never play football in trini when yuh was small hehehehe

« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2014, 07:23:12 PM »
Agreed. We can't seem to 3 passes together, we're slower to balls that are 60-40 in our favour and really just surviving on grit. I'm pleased to see them as determined as this, but there needs to be a little more to their game still. Hoping for the miracle all the same.  ;D

25 minutes later and we seem much more settled.  The defense is much more composed, though midfield still a mess.  Really impressed with Arin King so far, doing everything to keep Wambach in check.  Kimika Forbes is playing on another level right now... phenomenal game so far.

« Reply #23 on: October 15, 2014, 07:24:14 PM »
The expectations of some of the forumites here really does amaze me.  Coming up against the world's best women's team in their home territory on the back of a roller coaster preparation and men still upset that we 0-0 after 30mins.

The game plan has to be simple.  Keep it tight vs USA and go for the wins vs Guatemala and Haiti.

smh

Offline hg495

« Reply #24 on: October 15, 2014, 07:27:40 PM »
aayyyyyyy greatttttt showing in the first halfff dayyyyyy
if yuh never get ah buss toe playing small goal den yuh never play football in trini when yuh was small hehehehe

« Reply #25 on: October 15, 2014, 07:28:01 PM »
Well done to the girls so far!! 0-0 HT

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #26 on: October 15, 2014, 07:28:41 PM »
This USA team thrashed Mexico 7-0 last month, good going girls and a few attacks as well.

Offline hg495

« Reply #27 on: October 15, 2014, 07:30:10 PM »
win loose or draw I'm already totally proud or the women  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: hopefully we adjust quick in the nxt half because the yanks surely will. the goalie , #5 and the thick dogula holding strong.

Offline chelsealife

« Reply #28 on: October 15, 2014, 07:31:50 PM »
win loose or draw I'm already totally proud or the women  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: hopefully we adjust quick in the nxt half because the yanks surely will. the goalie , #5 and the thick dogula holding strong.
This lol smh

« Reply #29 on: October 15, 2014, 07:32:19 PM »
The team has settled somewhat and not looking terribly outclassed. But it is still an exercise in backs and forwards for the most part. Hopefully our conditioning and timely substitution serves us well in the second half. Our keeper knows her stuff. Go T&T. Goal difference is important.

Blessings
« Last Edit: October 15, 2014, 08:13:25 PM by Lower St. John »