March 28, 2024, 12:20:33 PM

Author Topic: TTFA Constitution Thread  (Read 26751 times)

Re: Reform commission for TTFA.
« Reply #60 on: July 13, 2015, 06:28:54 AM »
TTFA constitution unanimously amended
By STEPHON NICHOLAS (NEWSDAY).

All eyes are on this country’s men’s and women’s team competing abroad in the Concacaf Gold Cup and Pan Am Games respectively, but perhaps the most significant achievement for football in this country has taken place off the field-of-play.

Yesterday, the Executive of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) under president Raymond Tim Kee accepted the recommendations of a Reform Commission and voted unanimously to the amendment of their constitution.

It is the culmination of 18 months work dome by the Commission which included Chairman Raoul John, TTOC head Brian Lewis, ex- WIPA president Dinanath Ramnarine, Senator Elton Prescott, Dr Sheila Rampersad, Shaka Hislop and Patrick Raymond.

Chief among the changes implemented is the setting of term limits for the president. A president will now be allowed just two four-year terms, effectively ending a past era which saw former boss Oliver Camps reign for 19 years.

The next president and vice-president of the TTFA will also enjoy a more comprehensive mandate from football stakeholders as clubs from the Pro League and Super Leagues will now each have a vote for elections.

The Executive Board has also been widened to include representation from the regional associations, Referees Association and Women’s Association. The Commission had also recommended the Players Association be included as well, but it was later decided that body should be functioning more efficiently before getting consideration.

Speaking exclusively with Newsday yesterday at the conclusion of the passing of the new constitution, Tim Kee beamed with pride at the historic venture.

“Everything that is worth pursuing must have a foundation. In any organisation, a constitution, which is more a roadmap to take you where you want to go, quite apart from doing that, tells you how the operation not only operates, but how it is set up to operate, and that has to do with its structure.

We want our constitution to enjoy a kind of pioneer status in this new direction so other sporting bodies can emulate,” he explained.

He revealed that FIFA’s governing body and head of Member Associations, Primo Corvaro, were all pleased with the new document.

“What excites me is the comment from the parent body, FIFA, who from 209 constitutions, has special mention of the work that this Commission did and went as far to say that they hope many countries would emulate what we have done and come up with something with the kind of integrity that this one has,” he noted.

The Port-of-Spain Mayor continued: “What we have done is shift the paradigm from Executive-centric to one that is broader. This one has the clubs and clubs now have a vote as to who would be president...We have also restricted the president’s chair to not more than two years (terms) consecutively. This wasn’t so before, a man could have been president for 100 years.”

Tim Kee revealed that the TTFA will be recruiting specialised personnel to assist in marketing and finance to better maximise the potential of the organisation.

“It’s no longer a case where I like you and I just give you a position. It’s not that way, that has changed,” he declared.

He also paid tribute to the Reform Commission which he believes did an immaculate job.

“The reason for bringing those individuals to frame the constitution, we needed to have a complement of people who nobody could question their character or integrity,” he stressed.

Meanwhile, Ramnarine, who also headed the Implementation Committee (Brian Lewis, Senator Prescott, attorney Mervin Campbell, Raoul John, Oswald Downer), thanked Tim Kee and his administration for allowing the Reform Commission free reign to conduct their duties independently and without any interference or pressure.

“This is a very bold initiative and very rarely do you see the president of an organisation selecting the calibre of people and say ‘look, football needs your help, come and help us. We want you to put a structure that would take Trinidad and Tobago football forward’. Well done to president Tim Kee.

Today is an important day for Trinidad and Tobago football and the TTFA will now be a leader in sporting organisations when it comes to democracy,” he pointed out.

« Reply #61 on: July 13, 2015, 07:28:45 PM »
No comments?

« Reply #62 on: July 13, 2015, 07:36:59 PM »
Well, I left this alone on purpose. One question that comes to mind is ... after setting a meeting for within 24 hours recently, didn't they say the meeting was delayed until later than "yesterday". Or has time flown while we've been pointing fingers?

Offline socalion

« Reply #63 on: July 13, 2015, 08:09:36 PM »
In light of this .....new constitution ...... My question is  when will Election be held ?   as i'm sure many forumites will like to know as well... We tried ah de  petty politics , and all de masty  nack and forth between tim kee and sancho ..... All we want are  conscientious, serious  minded elected officals to  run de affairs of football in de country ....  us de fans of football  nationally tired of all  de  political B/S...

« Reply #64 on: July 19, 2015, 06:55:09 AM »
TTFA election tentatively set for Nov; Wired868 examines new constitution.
By  Lasana Liburd (wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) hopes to elect its first president under the new constitution by November 2015, after the vital new document was ratified by delegates for its membership on Sunday evening.

Former West Indies Players Association (WIPA) CEO Dinanath Ramnarine, who also served on the Constitutional Reform Panel (CRP) and Independent Reform Committee (IRC) will head the Electoral Committee for the upcoming elections.

“The election should take place around November,” Ramnarine told Wired868, “but before we do that, we have to sit with the member associations and all the members and consult with them on this constitution.

“This has to now go down to every single level.”

Thus far, current TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee has been coy about whether he would stand for re-election. However, there is no indication that he will bow after a controversial two-year stint.

Tim Kee, who is also the Port of Spain Mayor and PNM treasurer, was elected unopposed in November 2012 to complete the term of outgoing president Oliver Camps. His tenure should have ended in November 2014 but, controversially, FIFA gave him a seven-month deadline until a new constitution could be passed and adapted by the relevant bodies.

That June deadline was also missed. And it now seems likely that Tim Kee would spend 12 months in office beyond his 2012 mandate.

However, Ramnarine hailed the football president for fulfilling his promise of delivering a new constitution, which takes the TTFA closer to its roots of “one club, one vote.”

“Tim Kee has to take credit for  putting together a formidable (constitutional reform) team and allowing the process to be truly independent,” said Ramnarine, who worked alongside Senator Elton Prescott, TTOC president Brian Lewis, archivist Patrick Raymond, former 2006 World Cup player Shaka Hislop, MATT executive member Dr Sheila Rampersad, former referees head Osmond Downer and Raoul John. “Not once did we feel any pressure from (Tim Kee) or any other member of the executive.

“To see the clubs now have a huge say in the election of the president… It is a step in the right direction that the key stakeholders can now have a major role to play.”

In the end, FIFA and the IRC agreed on a compromise between the ideal of one club, one vote and the former structure that placed the balance of power in the six zonal associations.

For the upcoming elections, all 10 Pro League clubs will have a vote as well as eight representatives of the 15 Super League teams. So clubs will directly account for 18 of the 47 potential voting delegates or 38 percent of the electorate.

In contrast, the previous constitution allowed for just two votes from the Pro League and none from the Super League out of a potential 78 ballots. It meant that clubs had just 0.02 percent of the electorate under the previous constitution.

The other 29 voting delegates for the 2015 TTFA presidential election are as follows:

Three delegates each: the Central, Eastern, Eastern Counties, Northern, Southern and Tobago zonal bodies;

Two delegates each: the Women’s, Referees and Futsal associations;

One delegate each: the Primary School, Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL), Beach Soccer, Veteran Players and Trinidad and Tobago American Soccer Youth (TTAYSO) associations.

There is provision in the constitution for one delegate each for a players and coaches association, once active, which would mean a total of 49 delegates.

A presidential candidate does not need to have working experience in football and must only be nominated by one delegate.

Voting will be conducted by secret ballot and, for the post of president, successful candidates must get more than 50 percent of the valid votes cast. If there is no majority winner, the candidate will the least votes will be eliminated and a vote retaken until, if necessary, there are two candidates remaining.

The post of president will have a limit of two full terms.

In the case of the vice-presidents and ordinary member, if there are more than three candidates, the three candidates with the most votes from the first ballot will proceed to a second ballot.

If there are three candidates or less for one position, whoever obtains the most votes shall be elected.

The TTFA general secretary, who is appointed by the Board of Directors—formerly referred to as the Executive Committee—on the advice of the football president, must provide all delegates with a list of candidates by no later than 10 days before the election.

Current general secretary Sheldon Phillips praised Tim Kee, FIFA official Primo Corvaro, the reform commission and the various member associations for their collaborative effort in creating the new constitution.

“Passage of this document is a powerful statement that the TTFA is committed to good governance principles,” said Phillips, “and ensuring all its constituents: players, coaches, administrators, referees and now clubs, have a say in how the FA will be governed and operate.”

Tim Kee and Phillips have had a controversial spell in charge of the local game. Among other things, they struggled with debt to current and past players and coaches, endured a fractious relationship with the Government, failed to account for money ferreted out of the TTFA under the previous administration and suffered through scandals like a mysterious $400,000 licensing fee for an Argentina friendly and a messy fund raiser for deceased player Akeem Adams.

But the new TTFA constitution was something that even Tim Kee’s critics on the Executive Committee eventually agreed to support.

“My experience is that sometimes you have to give new things a chance to see how they pan out,” said TTFA vice-president Rudolph Thomas. “I am prepared to give this new constitution a chance. It has provisions which will take us into new and progressive environments and I am prepared to support that.”

But there was a caveat.

“If you don’t have the kind of vision that sees the TTFA as a responsible, international organisation, then nothing will work,” Thomas told Wired868. “And you have to align that vision with the appropriate personnel… If all the right things come together, I am optimistic.”

In November, the opportunity will be there for candidates who believe themselves to be the right people to lead the TTFA into a new period of success.

The TTFA’s voting delegates

Ten delegates: The Trinidad and Tobago Pro League;

Eight delegates: The National Super League;

Three delegates: The Central, Eastern, Eastern Counties, Northern, Southern and Tobago FAs;

Two delegates: Women’s, Referees and Futsal associations;

One delegate: Primary Schools, SSFL, TTAYSO, Beach Soccer, Veteran Players, Players and Coaches associations.

« Reply #65 on: July 19, 2015, 07:29:27 AM »
Well forum, there it is!!!

« Reply #66 on: July 19, 2015, 06:20:19 PM »
Well?!

« Reply #67 on: July 20, 2015, 01:31:21 AM »
Mods could you put this at the head of the list until elections. This constitution is an important part of the ongoing argument for TTFA transparency. The framework of the new constitution is out and the election  for a new president geared for November.

« Reply #68 on: July 20, 2015, 08:12:42 AM »

We need names of the people....

« Reply #69 on: July 20, 2015, 08:32:38 AM »
Let's tear this constitution apart forumites. ;D. Thanx Flex!!!
« Last Edit: July 20, 2015, 08:34:22 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #70 on: July 20, 2015, 08:33:43 AM »

Names, like who?

« Reply #71 on: July 20, 2015, 09:30:07 AM »

Names, like who?

Of who holds the voting rights.. The eastern counties and everyone.. We want full names to see who is deciding the future of our football, that is true transparency brother... Why should we be left in the dark as to who is voting to empower men like TK..

« Reply #72 on: July 20, 2015, 10:27:27 AM »
did the TTFA issue a statement about this change? or sean fuentes on vacation?

« Reply #73 on: July 20, 2015, 11:45:48 AM »
did the TTFA issue a statement about this change? or sean fuentes on vacation?

He's taking a siesta with the rest of players because the heat from the game was too much yesterday..

« Reply #74 on: July 20, 2015, 11:48:30 PM »

Names, like who?

Of who holds the voting rights.. The eastern counties and everyone.. We want full names to see who is deciding the future of our football, that is true transparency brother... Why should we be left in the dark as to who is voting to empower men like TK..

Well, you can write to the various entities listed and asked them for the name of the their officers who are given the power to vote.

« Reply #75 on: July 21, 2015, 07:49:38 AM »

Names, like who?

Well, you can write to the various entities listed and asked them for the name of the their officers who are given the power to vote.

I'll ask lasana brother... That's easier lol

« Reply #76 on: July 22, 2015, 10:17:37 AM »
I promise to pay you tomorrow for a job done today. Reform that.

« Reply #77 on: July 25, 2015, 06:43:04 PM »
Football players at every level and every creed and race are mediocre. Reform that.

« Reply #78 on: August 17, 2015, 05:03:48 AM »
TTFA reform process complete.
T&T Express Reports.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) has announced the completion of its constitutional reform process.

Working for the last 18 months, the Raoul John-led a team consisting for former Newcastle United and ESPN analyst Shaka Hislop, senator Elton Prescott, Olympic Committee chairman Brian Lewis, Patrick Raymond, Dr. Shida Rampersad and former West Indies Players Association president Dinanath Ramnarine, worked with former local Referees Association president Osmond Downer to produce the new TTFA constitution.

TTFA president Raymond Tim Kee said the Association had no choice but to do things differently from the past, therefore a reform committee made up of eminent persons was put together to reform the TTFA constitution.

“The new document will speak of not only how things ought to be done, but will look also at the restructuring of the organisation,” Tim Kee said.

“In the restructuring effort, what we ensured was there were checks and balances ensured. Accountability and transparency are two main pillars (upon) which this constitution was developed.

“So, we will be having an office run by compliance and audit, to ensure not only that accounts are done in a particular way, but also that the systems are adhered to, to ensure good governance.

“I am sure we have done enough to ensure there is not a recurrence of those mistakes (of the past),” Tim Kee declared.

« Reply #79 on: August 17, 2015, 10:49:23 AM »
Well done. We all await the fruits of these promises.

« Reply #80 on: August 18, 2015, 07:45:26 PM »
Former Trinidad and Tobago forward, Steve David, talks to TTFA President, Raymond Tim Kee, and General Secretary, Sheldon Phillips, about all matters concerning Trinidad and Tobago football.
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/sGqvs9S_fcc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/sGqvs9S_fcc</a>

« Reply #81 on: November 19, 2015, 11:23:28 PM »
Now might be a good time to revisit Page 2 of this thread.

« Reply #82 on: November 26, 2015, 07:27:52 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/RpqH8Vr94sY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/RpqH8Vr94sY</a>

« Reply #83 on: December 20, 2016, 01:49:07 PM »
What are each of these delegates saying or will say come March.
Pro League and Super League have a big chunk by themselves equal to the Zones.

Three delegates: The Central, Eastern, Eastern Counties, Northern, Southern and Tobago FAs;

One delegate: Primary Schools, SSFL, TTAYSO, Beach Soccer, Veteran Players, Players and Coaches associations.

« Reply #84 on: December 20, 2016, 01:50:58 PM »
What are each of these delegates saying or will say come March.
Pro League and Super League have a big chunk by themselves equal to the Zones.

[/quote]

I posted parts of the constitution on parts of my other thread, check it out... it will show you the process and so forth

« Reply #85 on: December 20, 2016, 04:38:47 PM »
Contro, your job is to convince the pro-league and the super league groups, not to vote for DJW next election. You have 2 and half years to do that. If you get your people to do that, then all is yours. You and your group can take TT football to a different direction we have never seen before.

« Reply #86 on: December 20, 2016, 05:53:57 PM »
Contro, your job is to convince the pro-league and the super league groups, not to vote for DJW next election. You have 2 and half years to do that. If you get your people to do that, then all is yours. You and your group can take TT football to a different direction we have never seen before.

You can't convince people who are corrupt by facts, or a well thought out mandate..

They are convinced by being paid off, you may have a few of them that I know that are not on that vibe but the majority is not by mandate..

You saw that at the recent election, there were other candidates that were much better but the cabal voted against someone who was above board..

So now you have spies on the board here who are hell bent on trying to muzzle me, before this board use to be talk yuh talk...

« Reply #87 on: December 20, 2016, 09:23:24 PM »
Contro, nobody trying to muzzle you.

« Reply #88 on: December 21, 2016, 07:25:56 PM »
Contro, nobody trying to muzzle you.

My apologies they can't..

They tried to ban me before because I pong the whole lot of them that they were begging to get me banned...

You see we are surrounded by hypocrites on here, they love dishing out but when they start to get licks and can't handle they run to get you banned or muted..

Cowards... I hope you see that SANTHIEF just drop Williams from the defense.. lol this puppet is a joke

« Reply #89 on: December 22, 2016, 06:30:03 AM »
Contro, while you are correct that nobody cyah stop you, you must remember that freedom of speech comes with a certain amount of responsibility. If all of us were to go viral all at the same time, the mods would certainly expel all of us. Which would mash up the forum. Most of us speak our minds a fair amount of time. But I honestly think most of us restrain ourselves from inflammatory language to keep the discourses civil. I think most of us have used our flame throwers at times and the rest of us understood or try to understand the reason for the sudden burst of vitriolic language from the forumite or forumites.

Breds, you are not feeling more pain about our football more  than anyone on this forum. The fact is, most of us are outside and can't actively participate to change the direction of football. That what makes it worse. Yes speak your mind. But show some restraint. That goes for me too.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 04:25:42 PM by Deeks »