Convict Surrenders Himself to Police After Escaping To Watch CPL Finalhttp://lateoclocknews.com/convict-surrenders-himself-to-police-after-escaping-to-watch-cpl-final/POSTED BY: LATE O'CLOCK NEWS JULY 27, 2015
After becoming one of the country’s most wanted men during a prison escape on Friday afternoon, Christopher Selby surrendered to police officers yesterday. Following his recapture, Selby spoke to The Late O’clock News exclusively, in order to shed some light on his reasons for escaping Port of Spain’s Royal Jail:
“Well I’m a big cricket fan, and I was real looking forward to watching the CPL final, but I was trying to find a live stream for the game and I couldn’t find one. I ask the guards to let me out for the match, but they say they didn’t have anymore weekend passes. That was when them fellas had approach me and tell me they was going to break out, but I still wasn’t sure I wanted to leave.”
What eventually made up his mind was Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan’s tweet after the Trinidad and Tobago’s Red Steel’s victory over the Jamaica Tallawahs last Thursday. After the game, Kahn tweeted that he would come to Trinidad in order to watch the finals of the Caribbean Premier League live. This was apparently the straw that broke the camel’s back, as Selby, who describes himself as a “Huge fan since birth” and is a proud member of SRK Universe, the biggest fan club dedicated to the beloved movie star, decided that nothing would stop him from seeing his childhood hero.
“Man, I grow up watching Shah Rukh Khan. I was following the Bollywood scene from small, and that man have real talent boy. I see Kuch Kuch Hota Hai for the first time as a boy, and since then I must be watch it 100 times, and then 100 more times since I was in prison, and you know something? It does still make me cry every damn time. In fact, the other day self I had to stab up a man in the bathroom when he start to tell me some kinda nonsense about “Salman Khan is a better actor”. I couldn’t let that slide. SRK is the truth”.
Selby’s plan to escape almost did not come to fruition following a string of losses suffered by Red Steel. With tears in his eyes he explains “When they did lose to Tallawahs for the first time and then to Guyana Amazon Warriors, I didn’t know what to do. Is like when them Babylon had ketch me the first time, it was the same feeling. I just…I never expect them to come this far. I never expect them to win. I doh care what happen to me now. I could just stay in prison and be on facebook whole day now, at least until next year CPL”.