March 28, 2024, 03:39:59 AM

Author Topic: Randy Waldrum Thread  (Read 21599 times)

Re: Waldrum: We will qualify over Ecuador.
« Reply #30 on: November 02, 2014, 02:48:24 AM »
$9,200 for Ecuador charter.
T&T Express Reports.

ANTHONY HARFORD’S All Sport Promotions is staging a charter to Ecuador for the first-leg of the World Cup qualifier between the Trinidad and Tobago women’s national football team and Ecuador on Saturday.

The charter caters for just 20 supporters and will see the touring party depart on Friday and return on November 10.

The package includes hotel accommodation (double occupancy), breakfast and a group dinner on the night of the match. The cost also includes a match ticket, airport transfers and a city tour.

Persons wishing to have a single hotel room will pay a further $650. Interested persons are asked to call  740- 9293 by noon on Wednesday.

« Reply #31 on: November 02, 2014, 05:02:12 AM »
Hope the stadium is ram for this one! Good luck girls :)

« Reply #32 on: November 03, 2014, 09:23:47 AM »
What's the latest as it relates to the camp?
Any training matches played?
Any pics?

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #34 on: November 03, 2014, 04:12:02 PM »
Article features a picture of our women's team and info on the playoffs.
http://www.cbc.ca/sports/soccer/women-s-world-cup-2015-field-nearly-set-1.2814733
Women's World Cup 2015 field nearly set
Only three places remain for next year's tournament

And then there were three.

Cameroon, Costa Rica, the Ivory Coast, Mexico, Nigeria and the U.S. have all qualified for the FIFA Women's World Cup Canada 2015, leaving just three berths up for grabs for next summer's 24-team tournament.

The three remaining finalists will come from the winners of two separate playoffs and the Oceania championship

« Reply #35 on: November 03, 2014, 07:17:02 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmXF7f1ajSI&feature=youtu.be

Thanks ...

Also, when yuh have a minute, please fill in the blank above regarding the liaison question.

« Reply #37 on: November 03, 2014, 08:22:10 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmXF7f1ajSI&feature=youtu.be

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/lmXF7f1ajSI&amp;feature=youtu.be" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/lmXF7f1ajSI&amp;feature=youtu.be</a>
« Last Edit: November 03, 2014, 08:23:50 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #38 on: November 05, 2014, 03:06:12 AM »
Women Warriors leave for Ecuador today.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Guardian).

Today, three days before T&T faces Ecuador away from home in the first leg of a two-match 2015 Fifa Women’s World Cup playoff, this country’s players and staff will arrive in Guayaquil, a city at sea level.

This comes after six days of high-altitude training in Mexico City, Mexico, where head coach Randy Waldrum and several support staff members, including a conditioning coach, team doctor, trainer and a massage therapist pooled their skills together to prepare the players for competition in Quito, Ecuador’s capital.

The match will be played at the Estadio Olímpico Atahualpa a 40,000-plus seater stadium, in the world’s highest official capital city. “We need to be at sea level for two days and then go back up to altitude, as this is what the science of altitude preparations tells us,” Waldrum explained in correspondence from Mexico, yesterday. “The science we are using with our conditioning coach is next level.

We are monitoring each player with heart rate monitors and such so we can keep an eye on each individual and how they are coping. The programme we have also tells us how many calories we are burning per session so our nutritionist can better refuel our athletes individually and collectively. We are leaving no stones unturned,” the Houston Dash and former T&T Under-17 women’s coach added.

The T&T Football Association (TTFA), Waldrum said, “has been great in providing us the necessary personnel required to qualify the team.” Regarding the fitness of individual players, some of whom lacked match fitness and carried knocks at the Concacaf Women’s Championship, Waldrum said he preferred to refrain from discussing such details close to the first leg match.

“Needless to say, many of whom were injured during the Concacaf tournament are getting healthier each day. I feel better about them playing in this first leg, so that is all good news.”

Asked if he was concerned that the college players, who weren’t made available for training in Mexico, may be unable to keep pace with the rest of the players in Ecuador, Waldrum responded: “The science tells us that if players cannot train in altitude, then the best way to cope with it is to come in 48-66 hours before the game and play close to time of arrival.” He said the US college-based players will meet the team by Friday.

Waldrum, who was named senior women’s team head coach in July, prior to his team’s championship win at T&T-hosted CFU Women’s Caribbean Cup, said he is grateful for the support his team has received over the past four months.

« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 03:46:19 PM by Flex »

« Reply #39 on: November 05, 2014, 11:02:36 AM »
Proud of you lady warriors. Good job coach Randy.
Good luck and doh feel pressure playing fuh country. Just do your thing
and frighten the crap out of those Ecuadoreans whose fate will lie in the Final game, in T&T!

Offline socalion

« Reply #40 on: November 05, 2014, 04:53:31 PM »
Trinidad  women   warriors win final warmup  6-0  before heading off to ecuador  ... !! nice to see they were in a game situation  prior to  saturday's game !!!...  Best wishes to the coaching staff  and the entire team  stay bless 

« Reply #41 on: November 05, 2014, 05:57:09 PM »
T&T Women score 6-0 win in final warm up.
Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Women’s Team pulled off a 6-0 victory over the Marco Soccer Academy eleven in their closing warm-up game in Mexico City on Tuesday prior to their departure for Ecuador.

T&T got a first half goal from Tasha St Louis to go into half time with a slim advantage before taking full control in the second half. Ahkeela Mollon notched a double while Candice Edwards, Kennya Cordner and Dernelle Mascall added further items in the second half.

The T&T team arrived in Guayaquil on Wednesday and will journey to Quito on Friday ahead of the World Cup playoff away leg on Saturday.

T&T head coach Randy Waldrum said he was satisfied with the run of events during the training camp in Mexico City at the CECAP High Performance centre, which is one of three operation centres used by the Mexican Football Federation.

“It was a very useful exercise for us over the past few days,” Waldrum told TTFA Media. “The players were comfortable and we had access to excellent facilities.

“It was what we wanted here at altitude, a good run before going back down to sea level in Guayaquil ahead of the game back at altitude in Quito.”

Commenting on the match on Tuesday, he added.

“We got four goals just by applying the press we spoke of at half time and there could have been more goals for us. This is a good sign for us going into Ecuador.”

Mollon was also pleased with the team’s showing, saying “The subs gave us the spark we needed and it was good to see Tasha looking like the Tasha we are accustomed to and it was also a good chance to see the new additions to the squad."

The new additions to the squad include Candice Edwards, Jasmine Sampson and Iyesha Olliverre.

« Reply #42 on: November 06, 2014, 06:13:52 PM »

« Reply #43 on: November 06, 2014, 06:18:47 PM »
Not called up but,

Dennis Named Player Of The Year In CACC

Waterbury, Conn. - Senior Renel Dennis (Queens, N.Y.) was named Player Of The Year and coach Matt Micros was named Coach of The Year as Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference awards were announced on Monday.

Dennis - who also was named to the All-CACC First Team -  finished the regular season with 16 goals and 36 points to lead the CACC. Dennis, who was injured most of last season scored three or more goals four times this season, including a four goal performance against Goldey-Beacom on September 20. She also scored three goals against Chestnut Hill (Sept. 13), Nyack (Sept. 30) and Bloomfield. She also added a postseason goal to her resume during Post's 3-0 win over Goldey-Beacom in the first round of the CACC Tournament.

Read More...

« Reply #44 on: November 07, 2014, 07:41:35 AM »
Not called up but,

Dennis Named Player Of The Year In CACC

Waterbury, Conn. - Senior Renel Dennis (Queens, N.Y.) was named Player Of The Year and coach Matt Micros was named Coach of The Year as Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference awards were announced on Monday.

Dennis - who also was named to the All-CACC First Team -  finished the regular season with 16 goals and 36 points to lead the CACC. Dennis, who was injured most of last season scored three or more goals four times this season, including a four goal performance against Goldey-Beacom on September 20. She also scored three goals against Chestnut Hill (Sept. 13), Nyack (Sept. 30) and Bloomfield. She also added a postseason goal to her resume during Post's 3-0 win over Goldey-Beacom in the first round of the CACC Tournament.

Read More...

Is she on the TTFA radar
« Last Edit: November 07, 2014, 07:43:07 AM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #45 on: November 08, 2014, 04:09:58 AM »
My Ecuadorean colleague tell me this morning that Atahualpa ent no easy place to play.
He played there before and he say is real licks if you ent accustom.
One possible good thing he say is dat de stadium may not be ram.

We have to make sure to ram out we home ground.

I would be surprised if it ram. Footage from the CONMEBOL qualifiers didn't reveal an overwhelming level of support.

This game is likely to be one of the last "big" events before things change. Earlier this year, the go ahead to modernize the stadium went through. After 60 plus years, iz a bit of a relic.

They modernized the airport fairly recently ... so the stadium would be a second major municipal project.
What's proposed is damn impressive.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/S_GswORzm5Q" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/S_GswORzm5Q</a>

« Reply #46 on: December 04, 2014, 02:49:36 AM »
Waldrum: Build going forward
...it will be a shame to just let it go
By Ian Prescott (Express).

AMERICAN Randy Waldrum has urged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) and THE Government to learn from past mistakes and not just let the national women’S football programme fall back into the obscurity from which it came, following the Women Warriors agonising failure to qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women’S World Cup.

The Soca Warriors lost a two-leg Inter-continental playoff 1-0 on aggregate against Ecuador for a spot in the World Cup. A highly-rated American coach of the women’s professional team Houston Dash, Waldrum donated his services for free in a bid to qualify T&T for a first appearance at a senior women’s World Cup.

As disappointed as he is, Waldrum said T&T’s women footballers had touched many hearts around the world. He called them a Cinderella team.

“We’ve developed some good momentum here and I don’t think we need to just stop and let it go,” Waldrum said. “The next step going forward to start to build on it. As disappointed as we are, it will be a shame to just let it go down and take a back seat once again. We can’t have that happen. We need to go forward.”

“I am really proud of the group, but extremely disappointed for them. Especially those older players, who have put so much into the game,” Waldrum added. “I think the future is bright. We have a lot of good upcoming talent like Anique Walker and the Debesette twins. But for those players who this might be their last opportunity, I feel very disappointed for them.”

Waldrum felt his team played well against Ecuador, whose game plan he said, was to sit and counter and take advantage of set plays. “The two areas that I am disappointed in is that as much as we had the ball, we did not create enough clear opportunities to create great shots on goal.

‘’We had a lot of services and crosses into the box, but we did not get the clear shots. The other thing, defensively, was giving up the foul late in the game. Those are things we addressed all week, that there was no need to foul a player out wide. We did and (as a result) we are not going to the World Cup.

“I think we were much better tonight that we were in Ecuador. We were much healthier than we were at CONCACAF,” Waldrum said. “We got three or four chances I thought we should have scored. We didn’t, and when you keep teams hanging around it happens.”

« Reply #47 on: December 04, 2014, 09:06:59 PM »
Saying it and doing it is such a different thing.

« Reply #48 on: December 05, 2014, 08:27:23 AM »
Saying it and doing it is such a different thing.

He honestly believed in the team and that we would have qualified or he would not have given his services for free probably hoping that once we had qualified he would be taken care of.

Offline Trinitozbone

« Reply #49 on: December 06, 2014, 02:08:52 PM »
Who said services were for free? I read elsewhere that Sheldon Phillips made a bargain that he would be paid  later when the TTFA got sponsorship. We need to find out how much these fellas including Hart are being paid for doing little or nothing to develop our teams. Waldrun was doing two jobs , coaching team in Dallas and giving his son  to oversee when he has commitments. You mean we don't have coaches here who can fo the job? We need a part-time coach for our national team? This is insulting! it appears that the new gimmick is to search for players playing  at a higher level or in better organized and disciplined organizations and bring someone looking Caucasian hoping the local business sector will sponsor and you good to  go. But it has failed in both instances , God does not reward frauds!
People start thinking objectively. I see only praises for these coaches and licks for our own coaches like Shabazz, Marlon Charles and others. We have experienced people who are right here.
I was looking at a scrap book of the skipper of the Strike Squad and I saw an article where the Strike Squad was voted as one of the top 10 playing teams in the World in 1989. Style, rhythm , compactness, control , technical soundness all the elements of a great team , now that Waldrun has spoken highly of that team to take blame off him, let me hear what these glad boys on the website have to say!
We can't have pick up sides and expect to go to World Cup. It needs strong team leadership and vision , good administration, corporate and government sponsorship, real supportive fans not spectators.
Those of you who think we will qualify for the next World Cup with this  bunch of jokers, you all better think again and call for real changes and a serious approach! This is our resources being expended willy nilly. Do not be a bunch of wimps! Where is Lasana when we need him to ask the real questions and dig deeper into the mess we are in! Are we getting value for the money being spent??

Offline SWF Reporter

Waldrum discovered TTFA rejection through press; W/Warriors hunt new coach
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868.com)

Former Trinidad and Tobago National Women’s Senior Team head coach Randy Waldrum, who took the “Women Soca Warriors” to within one goal of a FIFA 2015 Women’s World Cup place, allegedly found out about his rejection for the post through the media.

Last week, Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president Raymond Tim Kee told the Trinidad Express that the football body decided against re-appointing the Texan, due to his inability to commit fully to the job of national head coach.

Waldrum is also the head coach for US National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) team Houston Dash.

“I would not like to excommunicate Randy from the coaching staff,” Tim Kee told Wired868, “but we have two tournaments around the corner and we don’t have the luxury of time… In my mind, he is not entirely out of it. But for this Olympic and Pan Am (tournaments), we have to make a serious decision going forward.”

Tim Kee suggested that he would consider re-hiring Waldrum in the future. But the coach was not thrilled at finding out about his rejection through the media.

“I have not been told anything other (than) being sent the (Express) article,” Waldrum told Wired868.

Tim Kee admitted that he only asked general secretary Sheldon Phillips to contact Waldrum on Saturday, after TTFA’s decision not to re-appoint him was already public.

And Phillips, according to Waldrum, sent him the URL for the Express article.

The football president suggested that Waldrum was partly responsible for the TTFA’s poor communication for supposedly failing to inform the football body of the extent of his club commitments.

“I have not (called Waldrum) but I asked the general secretary to give him a call… after the article was published,” said Tim Kee. “Randy and I had a long conversation (last year) about going forward but this thing with (Houston Dash) was never part of the conversation.

“I didn’t think I (should have) to call him and ask what is going on. He could have called me. I’m not making any excuse…”

However, the football president conceded that “it creates a problem for me too” when he learns about decisions through the media and insisted he did not mean to disrespect the Texan coach.

“I have huge respect for the relationship he was able to build with his players,” said Tim Kee. “There is no animosity or disrespect (towards him), (the decision) was just about having someone fill in for these two tournaments. I would probably call him tonight.”

For his part, Phillips said his interaction with Waldrum on Saturday was informal and not meant to be official confirmation of the TTFA’s decision.

“I only sent the article to Randy to ask whether he had seen it,” said Phillips. “Up until that point, as far as I knew, there had not been a final decision. I spoke to Randy again on Sunday about the decision although it was more of a chat.

“To be honest, the article had a tone of finality which wasn’t the case… It is just the schedule means he is unavailable for that period of time.”

Tim Kee said he will meet technical committee chairman Richard Quan Chan on Thursday to discuss potential head coaches for the National Under-20 and Senior Women’s Teams for the immediate future.

At present, St Ann’s Rangers women’s coach Jason Spence, who is the assistant coach for the under-20 and senior teams, has run combined sessions for the two squads with assistance from St Augustine Secondary coach Desiree Sargaent.

Tim Kee claimed that Waldrum declared himself unavailable for the Toronto 2015 Pan American Games and requested that assistant coach Jason Spence handle the team in his absence. He also supposedly requested that his son, Benjamin Waldrum, and an unnamed US-born physio be contracted by the TTFA.

Tim Kee said he balked at both suggestions although he revealed that Spence is now being considered for the post of National Under-20 Team head coach.

“My opinion is we have people here who I believe should be given an opportunity to be exposed at that level under a coach they can learn from,” said Tim Kee. “I don’t want to bring three or four coaches from abroad.

“I always believe in training people and having them as understudies… So I was thinking about the transference of knowledge.”

« Last Edit: May 14, 2015, 02:15:40 AM by Flex »

Madness.

I have to take back my words on Waldrum blanking the TTFA  :-[ that I posted in that other thread.

What really going. Tim Kee needs to give up this post. His last couple of interviews comes of aloof. Why does everyone have to work with him, but he not working with anyone? I don't like the how he sounds in these interviews. He seems to be a real pr@#k.

:banginghead:

Sickening disrespect and stupid attempt at damage control by Uncle Tim.
Well, that's the TTFA culture for you. Uncle Tim learnt well from Daddy Jackulito Renraw.
99% here recognize the systemic TTFA disease but a few like it so ... and probably need it to be so.
Lasana, watch yuh contents & careful how you report this stuff. Yuh treading on dangerous ground.
You could be in danger of being called "yuh f**ker".
Kelvin Jack, we need you soon.
Horner yuh agree this time?

The level of crassness and unprofessionalizm reported in that article is astounding. SMH

Tim Kee really have Jack traits.

And Sheldon is following closely, ah really disappointed in Sheldon, I expected more, Flex spoke highley of him once.

I dont undestand the unprofessional way and how is it benefiting them to run the TTFA this way?

The football president suggested that Waldrum was partly responsible for the TTFA’s poor communication for supposedly failing to inform the football body of the extent of his club commitments.

“I have not (called Waldrum) but I asked the general secretary to give him a call… after the article was published,” said Tim Kee. “Randy and I had a long conversation (last year) about going forward but this thing with (Houston Dash) was never part of the conversation.

Sometime earlier this year or late last year I posted that Waldrum last regular season game with the Dash was in September. Tim Kee......

old style "business man" right dey with d attitude...........but is d apparent and shocking lack of basic organization skills dat gettin me........dat fella didn' used to work clico............ :o ........... well dais probably not ah good argument in he favor dey...............lawd have mercy

Needless to say I'm hearing a slightly different version of events, but not different enough to exonerate the FA from this latest self-inflicted injury.

I think Waldrum wanted to get his son in to gain some experience and develop a resume.