March 28, 2024, 09:01:41 AM

Author Topic: Calypso 2015 Thread  (Read 19644 times)

Re: Calypso 2015 Thread
« Reply #30 on: January 19, 2015, 01:04:13 PM »
Bevon St Clair - awful "2015 commentary"

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/uPEF0Oz1p7Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/uPEF0Oz1p7Y</a>
« Last Edit: May 18, 2015, 02:40:08 AM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #31 on: January 20, 2015, 12:40:56 AM »
Wendy Garrick Calypso not one drop.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/39Z_r3c5yX4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/39Z_r3c5yX4</a>

« Reply #32 on: January 20, 2015, 04:08:26 PM »
Duane O'Connor- Stand Strong.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/V3WAq9qUn10" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/V3WAq9qUn10</a>

Something missing in this for me. Lacking a final punch. Disappointing because I expected more from him

« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2015, 04:10:07 PM »

ALLYUH LISTEN TO KAISO!

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Hrdv0JYBvwc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Hrdv0JYBvwc</a>

« Reply #34 on: January 21, 2015, 07:02:53 PM »
Jus Go - Ras Kommanda

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Q0dmqApfBpY&amp;x-yt-cl=84359240#t=14" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Q0dmqApfBpY&amp;x-yt-cl=84359240#t=14</a>

« Reply #35 on: January 22, 2015, 03:44:14 AM »
Calypso Poem  :beermug:

http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Calypso-Poem-289360531.html

<a href="http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Calypso-Poem-289360531.html" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Calypso-Poem-289360531.html</a>
« Last Edit: January 22, 2015, 05:52:29 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #36 on: January 22, 2015, 05:51:17 AM »
Calypso Poem  :beermug:

http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Calypso-Poem-289360531.html

<a href="http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Calypso-Poem-289360531.html" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.tv6tnt.com/news/Calypso-Poem-289360531.html</a>
Excellent!!  :beermug:
« Last Edit: January 22, 2015, 05:53:20 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #37 on: January 22, 2015, 09:01:25 PM »

ALLYUH LISTEN TO KAISO!

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Hrdv0JYBvwc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Hrdv0JYBvwc</a>

Yes Sar boss Kaiso

« Reply #38 on: January 25, 2015, 05:39:15 AM »
Kurt Allen - King #2

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BtKYMEz8Qj8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BtKYMEz8Qj8</a>

« Reply #39 on: January 25, 2015, 05:50:09 AM »
Kurt Allen - King #2

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BtKYMEz8Qj8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BtKYMEz8Qj8</a>

This is one for Skinner Park!

I can see the toilet paper waving for this one but this time for a positive reason rather than for a negative one!! :thumbsup:

« Reply #40 on: January 25, 2015, 08:25:03 AM »
Chucky Gordon - From The Heart

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/lokVeevk5gE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/lokVeevk5gE</a>

« Reply #41 on: January 25, 2015, 08:32:25 AM »
To call the songs on this thread weak is an understatement.
Of course, we have the same problem as always, plenty music, but you can't get it anywhere but on the radio. Even so, I've heard nothing that I'd listen to after dimanche gras.

« Reply #42 on: January 25, 2015, 09:56:44 AM »
To call the songs on this thread weak is an understatement.
Of course, we have the same problem as always, plenty music, but you can't get it anywhere but on the radio. Even so, I've heard nothing that I'd listen to after dimanche gras.

If you don't like this one here (https://www.facebook.com/lilparksculturaldevelopmentfoundation#!/video.php?v=661317740657540&comment_id=665231303599517&pnref=story) by Karene Asche then you need to call it quits!

« Reply #43 on: January 25, 2015, 11:26:09 AM »
Helon Francis - Stalwart "2015 Trinidad Calypso"

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/L93pSU1OgQ8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/L93pSU1OgQ8</a>

« Reply #44 on: January 25, 2015, 12:00:44 PM »
Ras Kommanda - Trinbago Is Mine

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/mkbicq2c3WQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/mkbicq2c3WQ</a>

« Reply #45 on: January 25, 2015, 12:01:41 PM »
TIGRESS - What You Willing to Die For

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VLDCexfA5EY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VLDCexfA5EY</a>

« Reply #46 on: January 25, 2015, 02:10:21 PM »
TIGRESS - What You Willing to Die For

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VLDCexfA5EY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VLDCexfA5EY</a>

Not bad. I will like to see her presentation for the performance of this song
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 02:24:37 AM by Sando prince »

Re: Carnival 2015
« Reply #47 on: January 25, 2015, 05:43:45 PM »

« Reply #48 on: January 29, 2015, 08:47:38 PM »
More to come from the 2012 Monarch, stay tune-in.

« Reply #49 on: January 30, 2015, 01:12:42 AM »

I aint hear nothing yet from Mr Punch-line aka Cro Cro   ;D

« Reply #50 on: January 30, 2015, 02:08:04 AM »

I aint hear nothing yet from Mr Punch-line aka Cro Cro   ;D
Me to

« Reply #51 on: January 30, 2015, 03:17:54 AM »
alana sinnette - new politics "calypso 2015"

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/3-RSvy4bp2s&amp;x-yt-ts=1422503916&amp;x-yt-cl=85027636#t=229" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/3-RSvy4bp2s&amp;x-yt-ts=1422503916&amp;x-yt-cl=85027636#t=229</a>

« Reply #52 on: January 30, 2015, 08:47:23 AM »
alana sinnette - new politics "calypso 2015"

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/3-RSvy4bp2s&amp;x-yt-ts=1422503916&amp;x-yt-cl=85027636#t=229" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/3-RSvy4bp2s&amp;x-yt-ts=1422503916&amp;x-yt-cl=85027636#t=229</a>

This one hitting the mark for me_yes Sar boss' song- tell it like it is! Call name and bring them out

« Reply #53 on: January 30, 2015, 01:37:28 PM »
^^ Yes dat tune from Ms Sinette  :beermug:

Very lyrical and jab after jab at politicians.

« Reply #54 on: February 06, 2015, 12:09:55 AM »

« Reply #55 on: February 07, 2015, 02:17:29 PM »
Brian London -  Wishful

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/MKi8TqqHTp0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/MKi8TqqHTp0</a>

« Reply #56 on: February 07, 2015, 02:19:34 PM »
Brian London - Put Them Up

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/b_1I_4aPVGI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/b_1I_4aPVGI</a>

« Reply #57 on: February 09, 2015, 12:04:23 AM »
Aloes, Shadow out Calypso Monarch
Former monarch gets toilet paper greeting...

Kevon Felmine (T&T Guardian)
Published: Monday, February 9, 2015

Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna looks at the crowd waving toilet paper at him during his performance of his calypso "Bounce Back" at Calypso Festa in Skinner Park, San Fernando on Saturday.

After 19 years in the National Calypso Monarch competition Devon Seales is hoping to make his mark at Sunday’s finals where he will come up against reigning monarch Roderick “Chucky” Gordon. Both Seales and Gordon will face stiff competition from two former monarchs—Karen Asche and Duane O’Connor— who delivered passionate performances on Saturday before a massive Skinner Park audience at the Calypso Fiesta show.

However, the other two monarchs in the competition Winston Bailey, the “Mighty Shadow” and Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna did not advance. There was no bouncing back to calypso lovers’ favour for Sugar Aloes as he was greeted with toilet paper from the get go. It was a humiliating appearance for the veteran calypsonian who saw only drapes of white plies while performing his calypso, Bounce Back.

Other finalists who sent the crowd into a frenzy were Selvon “Mistah Shak” Noel and Victoria “Queen Victoria” Cooper who delivered hard hitting political commentaries. The Original De Fosto Himself (Winston Scarborough), who was overwhelmed by the crowd’s positive response to him after three years of toilet paper reception, will also return to the big stage at the Queen’s Park Savannah.

It was a hair raising performance from 38-year-old Seales who dubbed himself as Mr Consistent as he had the audience echoing his chorus “Go Now Please” from his song, My Humble Plea. Seales tough talking political commentary brought life to the show, saying afterwards that the audience was in agreement with his song.

He said, “It is a wonderful feeling. This is my 19th year at the Skinner Park competition and normally I would be considered as Mr Consistent, but I think this is the first performance where I got the crowd so loud in singing along with me. I think it expresses the sentiment of the nation. They are in agreement with me.” Seales said it was important to make a good showing as there were other good contenders in the show and would “leave it up to God” in the finals.

Equally sizzling as Seales was Mistah Shak with Target, which sounded like a second installment of his 2014 calypso, Bois. Instead of beating Government minister with “calypso bois” like last year, he became the “Kaiso Hitman.”

Saying that the People’s Partnership was destined to lose this year’s general elections, he threatened the People’s National Movement, singing, “Anytime you fail, I shooting all the snakes in the balisier.” Even President Anthony Carmona and his wife Reema came in for some criticism. Karen Asche was also labelled as a favourite for the title with her social commentary Every Knee Shall Bow, which called on powerful people in society to humble themselves.

Finalists:-

Joanne Rowley “Tigress"   - What you Willing to Die for
 Myron Bruce     “The Incredible Myron B”    -
 Devon Seales     - My humble Plea
 Victoria Cooper “Queen Victoria”    - Venting
 Heather Mac Intosh    - Ah Gone
 Duane O’Connor   - Citizen’s Pride
 Winston Scarborough “The Original De Fosto Himself”   - Games 
 Selvon Noel “Mistah Shak”         - Target
 Karen Asche    - Every knee shall bow
 Brian London      - Wishful
 Neville Brown “Bunny B”   - Multi Crisis

« Reply #58 on: February 09, 2015, 07:25:36 AM »
I'm not sure how anyone could write an article about tthis year's kaiso fiesta and not make reference to the glaring omission of Kurt Allen.

King number 2 is the most original and in my opinion the best song I've heard for the year with possibly Karene Asche's 'Every knee shall bow' tied..

More importantly his performance was boss. You don't get into a competition with the highest score, put down a performance like that and get beat by lame ducks like Duane O' Connor, Myron  B, Bunny B, and worse yet, a song that shouldn't even be in the competition (i.e. I wish this was a kaiso)

There is definitely more in the mortar than in the pestle.

Shadow was never going to make the finals on his performance and Aloes should not even have been there.

I haven't heard Chalkdust but his omission from the semis had me puzzled.

« Reply #59 on: February 09, 2015, 07:37:48 AM »
Even so, I've heard nothing that I'd listen to after dimanche gras.

Out of curiosity, can you tell me any songs from the last few years that fall into that category for you?